Perched on the southwestern-most tip of the vast Lake Geneva, the city of Geneva makes the perfect base from which to explore both the French and Swiss lakesides and there are numerous Swiss towns worthy of a day trip. On the opposite side of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ADITYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There are actually no words to say for this tour. I must say it was one of the outstanding tours ever undertaken from Geneva, Switzerland.

On the day of the tour, it was raining in Geneva and bit foggy in Gruyeres. So this made the trip more fantastic as the views were awe inspiring. On the first stop to the Chocolate Factory in Broc, the slot timings were specially reserved for us to see the factory. The Audio Guide was fun to hear and the processes in the factory is what one should watch and enjoy. At the end you get to taste lots of chocolate from which, one could decide the chocolates to buy from their official shop. The collection is huge so have some time in hand to do the shopping. Next was an uphill drive to a small city. Upon arrival, walked via car parking garages and then bit uphill to see the local cheese production, specially opened for the trip. The preparation was delicious and the best thing was all the travelers were doing the cooking which was another one of a kind experience. After the tasting it was the visit to the city of Gruyeres, a small town with a castle and splendid mountains to see. Later on, the tour continues to the Montbovon station where one catches the Golden Panoramic Express Train to Montreaux. I kept my eyes open all the time, as it was amazing to see the scenery from the train. After a drink stop at Montreaux, next was a short picture stop at Vevey and then the trip concluded back to Geneva in the evening.

If one is visiting Geneva, do take this tour and am pretty sure one wouldn't regret spending the money on it.

Special thanks to the tour guide Maggie and the bus driver Maurice for making the trip wonderful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Krunal India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unexpectedly Outstanding Trip

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was fantastic! Beautiful views, comfortable bus ride, very knowledgeable and polite tour guide, Simon. He made sure we stopped in picturesque areas of town to take pictures which was great. Ferry ride to castle was spectacular! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Emma W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great. Lovely tour guide. Good coach. Very good. My only criticism would be that we were often having to wait for one particular group at each stop point they were late a couple of times. I wonder whether we could have been told that we must stick to the timings for the day to work. Other than that, it was great!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was fabulous! The scenery was breathtaking, the chocolate testing scrumptous and the wine tasting was fun too. The tour was a glimpse into small town farming life in Switzerland amid the backdrop of the Swiss Alps. Our tourguide was knowledgable and kept things interesting. Totally recommend for a day tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Mr m j W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see a lot in a short amount of time. Money well spent. Very enjoyable. Loved the cruise!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Marc C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

the tour guide Margret was amazing, very informative

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Fadi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Extremely Nice The guide, the visited places were perfect. Make sure to pick this trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

hannah-alexander

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, jam packed day full of the best of Switzerland. Beautiful views, delicious food, comfortable bus and amazing tour guide. If you only do one thing in Switzerland, do this!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice - enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Kerry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour and tour guide. In retrospect, would NOT do the Golden Panaramic Express Train most of the train ride was through tunnels so not very panoramic.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Lem M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Made coming to switzerland worth it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have taken many tours over the years and this by far was one of the best. Great tour guide Maria - and chocolate, cheese and wine - and train - it doesn't get much better than that.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

RAJEEV S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one the best tours that we took on the Trip to Switzerland besides Mt. Titlis and many others. Since we had the Swiss Pass it acted as the bonus for us with access to most of the museums for no charge.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Petula P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant tour guide Maggie, really knowledgeable and really friendly and helpful.
Beautiful views of Lake Leman, Alps, and castle was fascinating. Great trip, well worth it.
Had a great time, met lots of lovely people. Even saw Freddie Mercury!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Faisal I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip, and the tour guide was perfect too. Most important, tour started on time and finished on time.
Thank you

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a perfect day. There were only 18 of us on the tour and our guide, Yolanda was wonderful.
One of the highlights of the tour was a trip to the Olympic Museum. It's interactive and fun. We were a little rushed for lunch we had less that 45 minutes to find a restaurant, eat and meet at the boat for a short cruise to the Chateau. The Chateau de Chillon was very interesting, you take a self-guided tour so you can do as much as you want. In Montreux we walked around the lake which was magnificent. It was a great day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely brilliant and a real taste of Switzerland in a day. Yolanda was an excellent and arresting guide who really knows her stuff about Geneva and Gruyeres, and what can I say about the sights only delicious chocolate factory, fondue and wine, fascinating our journey out of Geneva and memorable Lake Geneva, Gruyeres castle and the panoramic train journey. One of the best tours I have ever been on and I learned so much in one day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

pabacct

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an amazing 10 hour day, which felt like an entire holiday on its own. Yolanda our guide sustained her energy and enthusiasm the entire time. We felt informed and well taken care of from the start to the finish. We would recommend this to any travellers who want to get a feel for a diverse set of experiences

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Louise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great full day tour with Maggie as guide and Mauritis the driver. Chillon Castle was amazing.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Ilham G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent. Remarkable sites, outstanding views of the nature and lake. Great time and food in Gruyeres cheese factory. Our guide, Yolanda, luckily the same as in the previous trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Chillon Castle, was just wonderful and perfect. Highly recommended trip, you will have unforgettable views and impressions.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Ilham G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip. All sites were remarkable. Outstanding views of the nature and especially of the lake. The guide, Yolanda I hope the spelling is correct, was just wonderful: very sociable, kind, careful, knowledgeable and very charming. Highly recommended trip and you're lucky if you do it with Yolanda.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Lauren O United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I really enjoyed the whole day - Yolonda is so knowledgable about the country and conveys so much during the otherwise down times. The chocolate tour is surprisingly really well done, the cheese farm is fantastic and such a unique experience, and the train was incredible...I personally would've liked more time at the vineyard, but it was already the favorite day of my trip. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Rosemary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A really fantastic tour, our tour guide was excellent, not too many people which was also great and overall a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message