As the second largest city in Bavaria and the main transport and tourism hub of Franconia, set on the Pegnitz River, Nuremberg’s (Nürnberg) popularity among tourists is undeniable. With a history dating back to 1050, the city is one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chris was wonderful...very knowledgeable...gave us all the highlights and made our time there more enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Nuremberg Sightseeing Including Old Town, Rally Grounds and Nuremberg Courthouse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a dream trip from Munich. Having just four of us on the tour was a plus - all bonded well. But it was our guide Jeff who really made the journey memorable by understanding what all of us wanted. As we four were all into history and WW2, he tailor-made and tweaked the trip on the spot to suit us. The result was a beautiful day visit to old Nuremberg and after that the Nazi rally grounds, Documentation Centre and even the Nuremberg Trial Room Warning: The court is still used and you can't see it if there's a hearing in session. Jeff warned us about that but we were lucky to find it empty. The Trial Room and the Nazi Documentation Centre cost us 5 euros extra each but it was worth it to see how things were then the exhibits/museums are excellent and, hence, a must visit. We also got to ride on all forms of transport on this visit -- the train from Munich, the Nuremberg underground, a tram and even the local bus -- all taken care of by Jeff. A wonderful day to say the least!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The train ride to Nuremberg was relaxing and our tour guide Keith was fantastic! He is an American who has lived in Germany for 14 years and VERY knowledgeable on everything we threw at him and we thoroughly enjoyed his company. He even gave us recommendations on some places in Munich to check out and he was spot on. Thanks Keith!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very interesting tour, our tour guide was so informative, never knew this history that he shared on the Nazi regime, how they controlled so many things.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Jason is an American who lives in Germany. His knowledge of Nuremberg and the Nazi Party rally grounds is exceptional. Anyone going to Nuremberg needs to be on a tour with Jason to gain an appreciation for the town of Nuremberg and what happened at the Nazi Party Rally grounds.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent. Jason, our guide, extremely knowledgeable on Nuremburg and WWII. We thoroughly enjoy it!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were so glad we booked this tour. Everyone was very friendly. Sabri was a wonderful guide, and we learned so much more than we would have exploring on our own. The tour was well organized.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day trip! Loved the history. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very experienced and knowledgeable guide, good mix of organised and free time. Timing about right for a day out, train journey very comfortable.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Keith was a fantastic guide who knew so much history and was engaging and willing to take some of us to the courts of Nuremberg trials. He made the tour and the time went too quickly.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Briiliant - our Guide was great, friendly, very knowledgable, respectful of all members of our party, and always conscious of the need of some members to catch a train.
I asked about the War trial Court rooms, and AFTER the tour ended on his own time he went out of his way to take us to the court rooms.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Achim, was great. Intelligent discussion, especially about the Nazi past. The most difficult part of the tour, was the cold weather. There were not many sheltered places to stop and talk, so most of it was outside. First two hours was old town Nuremberg, and disappointing to my wife was that although we got to see the Durer house, and the imperial castle, it was walking around outside these, and not going in, but for me, this was a great way to get my bearings so we could spend the next day doing these in depth. For example,the Durer house museum took 1-2 hours, itself. Lunch was at the excellent Bratwursthustle, quick and so good we went back again the next day. The sauerkraut was the best we have ever had, and the special Nurnberg brats were outstanding. Quick public bus ride to the Nazi Party Rally Grounds was easy, but by then the temperature dropped even more, and the wind picked up, and the guide suggested it was "too bloody cold" to take the walking tour of the 22 acre site, and not one person protested. Instead, after a quick walking tour of the unfinished Congress hall, we then went to the Documentation Center museum on the grounds. Unlike the boring sounding name, this was one of the best museums we had been in ever, clearly documenting the rise of the Nazi party, and its consequences. The architecture was outstanding and emotional, especially the long dark tunnel/bridge to exit. It really was like coming back from immersion in a different time to present day. Achim provided excellent commentary and some in depth philosophical discussion during quiet times as we rode the tram back to Hauptbanhof (central railroad station).

And his Lebkuchen shop stop near the Albrecht Durer hotel did prove to be a good one. We compared them to others available at the ChristKindlesMarkt, and the bakery fresh ones really were very good.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an incredible trip and day in Nuremberg. Our check-in, meeting, and departure were very easy and we were well informed on how the day would unfold. Our time in Nuremberg while seeing the numerous WWII sites, mixed with the beauty and charm of the city, were a perfect combination. Our guide, Keith, has a vast knowledge of the city, and incredible insight regarding WWII history. He also has a very pleasant and kind demeanor in shepherding the group with a pace that worked for everyone. I would highly recommend this trip and look forward to others offered through Viator.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was brilliant ,very informative .Our tour guide Was brilliant .You must do the walking tour with her , she takes you to places which you would not see by coach. Worth every penny and stunning place .

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent trip on the train to and from Nuremberg - a good way to go from Munich. The guide was very good - taking time to meet and talk to each member of the group. The walking part of the trip was very informative and we enjoyed walking round the city.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and tour guide Keith was really infiormative.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day made so by the excellent guide

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing trip, and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. She was very considerate when conducting the walking tour of the city. We had a very nice lunch at a restaurant recommended by our guide. They served the most delicious Nurnberg sausages. We had a very pleasant experience taking this tour.

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was well conducted, and much information was obtained. Our guide was well informed and expressed himself in a knowledgeable and pleasant manner. We would certainly use him again and recommend him to others.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was fantastic. We had a great time in the the old town section of Nuremberg and then an enlightening time at the Nazi rally grounds and documentation center. We throughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was very informative and educational. The visit to the parade and rally grounds in the afternoon was the highlight of the tour. Our guide was most helpful and informative. We traveled by train to and from Nuremberg and with our guide used city transportation to get around the city. There is a fair amount of walking involved which is necessary to experience the parade and rally grounds. All in all this tour was everything we expected and maybe a little more and for this reason we rated it five stars.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! And what a wonderful informative day with passionate, friendly and personable Franciska unfolding huge amounts of relevant information right from the beginning . A full and well balanced day and great value for money! Perter our driver was great too.

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message