As the second largest city in Bavaria and the main transport and tourism hub of Franconia, set on the Pegnitz River, Nuremberg’s (Nürnberg) popularity among tourists is undeniable. With a history dating back to 1050, the city is one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Briiliant - our Guide was great, friendly, very knowledgable, respectful of all members of our party, and always conscious of the need of some members to catch a train.
I asked about the War trial Court rooms, and AFTER the tour ended on his own time he went out of his way to take us to the court rooms.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Achim, was great. Intelligent discussion, especially about the Nazi past. The most difficult part of the tour, was the cold weather. There were not many sheltered places to stop and talk, so most of it was outside. First two hours was old town Nuremberg, and disappointing to my wife was that although we got to see the Durer house, and the imperial castle, it was walking around outside these, and not going in, but for me, this was a great way to get my bearings so we could spend the next day doing these in depth. For example,the Durer house museum took 1-2 hours, itself. Lunch was at the excellent Bratwursthustle, quick and so good we went back again the next day. The sauerkraut was the best we have ever had, and the special Nurnberg brats were outstanding. Quick public bus ride to the Nazi Party Rally Grounds was easy, but by then the temperature dropped even more, and the wind picked up, and the guide suggested it was "too bloody cold" to take the walking tour of the 22 acre site, and not one person protested. Instead, after a quick walking tour of the unfinished Congress hall, we then went to the Documentation Center museum on the grounds. Unlike the boring sounding name, this was one of the best museums we had been in ever, clearly documenting the rise of the Nazi party, and its consequences. The architecture was outstanding and emotional, especially the long dark tunnel/bridge to exit. It really was like coming back from immersion in a different time to present day. Achim provided excellent commentary and some in depth philosophical discussion during quiet times as we rode the tram back to Hauptbanhof (central railroad station).

And his Lebkuchen shop stop near the Albrecht Durer hotel did prove to be a good one. We compared them to others available at the ChristKindlesMarkt, and the bakery fresh ones really were very good.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an incredible trip and day in Nuremberg. Our check-in, meeting, and departure were very easy and we were well informed on how the day would unfold. Our time in Nuremberg while seeing the numerous WWII sites, mixed with the beauty and charm of the city, were a perfect combination. Our guide, Keith, has a vast knowledge of the city, and incredible insight regarding WWII history. He also has a very pleasant and kind demeanor in shepherding the group with a pace that worked for everyone. I would highly recommend this trip and look forward to others offered through Viator.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was brilliant ,very informative .Our tour guide Was brilliant .You must do the walking tour with her , she takes you to places which you would not see by coach. Worth every penny and stunning place .

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent trip on the train to and from Nuremberg - a good way to go from Munich. The guide was very good - taking time to meet and talk to each member of the group. The walking part of the trip was very informative and we enjoyed walking round the city.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and tour guide Keith was really infiormative.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic day made so by the excellent guide

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing trip, and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. She was very considerate when conducting the walking tour of the city. We had a very nice lunch at a restaurant recommended by our guide. They served the most delicious Nurnberg sausages. We had a very pleasant experience taking this tour.

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was well conducted, and much information was obtained. Our guide was well informed and expressed himself in a knowledgeable and pleasant manner. We would certainly use him again and recommend him to others.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was fantastic. We had a great time in the the old town section of Nuremberg and then an enlightening time at the Nazi rally grounds and documentation center. We throughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was very informative and educational. The visit to the parade and rally grounds in the afternoon was the highlight of the tour. Our guide was most helpful and informative. We traveled by train to and from Nuremberg and with our guide used city transportation to get around the city. There is a fair amount of walking involved which is necessary to experience the parade and rally grounds. All in all this tour was everything we expected and maybe a little more and for this reason we rated it five stars.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! And what a wonderful informative day with passionate, friendly and personable Franciska unfolding huge amounts of relevant information right from the beginning . A full and well balanced day and great value for money! Perter our driver was great too.

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very knowledgable tour guide. Interesting tour of "Old Town" and the parade grounds. There was a train strike on the way home causing us to come to a stop however, the tour guide handled it promptly by switching us to another train causing only a 40 minute delay. Definitely recommended for those who are interested in history.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message