Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 801 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Jared was a very informed guide. His knowledge of both the site and its important context within this horrific part of history kept his group aware of the tragic trail they were following. Powerful tour and well worth the long walk in the hot sun.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was my absolute favorite tour!! Brian B. did a fabulous job. He was welcoming, informative, engaging, and really brought Berlin alive for myself and my daughter. She remembers almost 95 of the tour which with the amount of travel we have done this summer is amazing. It was incredibly hot and Brian made sure all stops were within shade as much as possible too, just really took the time to be aware of his audience. I cannot say enough great things about Brian and Inside Berlin tours

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Steve was very knowledgeable about WWII history, we were short on time due to our train being delayed, but he made sure that we got to see the most of it and learn of the history.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

After our travel through 9 Eastern European cities in 3 weeks, in which we all did tours, we had to conclude that JJ, our tour guide in Berlin, was the best of all of them. He is an excellent tour guide, not only very knowledgeable, but also very humorous and he even recommended us some good restaurants afterwards. Therefore I can highly recommend JJ as a tour guide through Berlin, he will not disappoint!!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Our guide Kathryn was excellent. Her knowledge of Berlin was of the highest order. She spoke loud and clearly and it was a pleasure listening to her talk about the history of Berlin. She showed us places which wouldn't normally be known unless you were previously aware of them. It was a very hot day and Kathryn was very considerate making sure we were in shaded areas when she spoke and catered for everyone's needs during the tour.
Berlin is a very interesting city and for a capital city the traffic is very light. It's history is long and can't just be remembered for its Dark days during the nazi regime. I would definitely recommend this city and this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very humbling but not as confronting as we expected it to be. Movies had desensitised us. Learnt many facts we were not aware of.

We had to do both tours on the one day as we were flying out next day. The tour operator informed us the Munich walking tour is only done in winter.

At the end of the two tours we were the only ones who also did the morning tour who finished without pulling out of the Minich walk. This could be something you could clarify with the operator.

Don't get us wrong, we thought the tours were very informative but two on the one day was obviously too much for most people.

Cheers

Kayjohn

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Margret was a very good tour guide and provided us with detailed information all throughout the bus tour. Both castles were beautiful and Neuschwanstein is a must see for everyone visiting Bavaria. Be aware there is a very steep hill to climb to get to this castle. Recommend taking the shuttle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Southern Bavaria is one of the most-beautiful spots on Earth, so this did not disappoint. Anya, our tour guide was friendly and informative. Just beware....lots of walking....lots of steps....so, if that's an issue for you, reconsider this tour.

The selection/recommendation for lunch should be changed, however. Very loud heavy-metal music was being played by the cooks behind the counter. Not only was the music offensive, but it did not fit the surroundings.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

In my 5 years of taking tours throughout Europe, Barnaby was by far the best tour guide I have ever had! The Cold War walking tour of Berlin was very informative with the right amount of humor thrown in.
Excellent!! Excellent! Would give it 6-stars if i could!

Doing what: Best Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour...our guide was so knowledgeable and presented such a sensitive topic in such a respectful manner. Would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in the history of World War II.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Danny was an excellent tour guide. Very knowledgeable and aware of her tour group. NEVER felt rushed. Nice and relaxing way to see the city! We did the superior tour and it was perfect!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour with Optional Königsplatz and Olympiapark Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My guide Steve was extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour was comprehensive. You need 5 hours 3.5 for the tour and transportation to and from Dachau to complete the tour. Be aware, there is a lot of walking and standing in this tour.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Kai, was passionate about WWII history. Rather than lecture us for hours, he consistently engaged us by asking questions and welcoming questions we asked him. I'm so grateful he was our guide through Dachau and will certainly recommend him to friends and family.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were only four people in the Minibus and they didn't cancel the tour, our guide was very sympathic and joyfull. He was a great guy. Thanks a lot for this trip, just looking forward to others...

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I travelled from Hanover to join this walking tour, met up with the group and tour guide Ysanne at Hackesher Market in Berlin on a beautiful warm sunny day for our 4 1/2 hour walking tour.
Ysanne was from the UK and had been living in Berlin for a number of years, she was very informative and passionate with all her information she gave us and loved all the history of Berlin. How fortunate were we to have someone with so much knowledge. I really wished I could have had a few days in this amazing city.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a must-see for anybody interested in the history of the world. This tour was professionally conducted by our guide Rick. An insight into the the two world wars of last century revealed how quickly any nation can descend into a downward spiral of self-destruction. Very educational and thought provoking.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our knowledgeable tour guide , Taylor, led us through the sites of the Berlin of the Second World war, leading us to places we never would have found on our own. He gave us the history of each area and presented an unbiased account of the era. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely smashing. The 3 hr Spree river cruise was good. The highlight for me was the dinner and the concert afterwards. With the musicians and MC dressed in typical 1700:s clothing made it a great night.

Doing what: Charlottenburg Palace: Dinner and Concert with River Spree Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended!! Safe, friendly, informative, entertaining and intimate tours of Berlin's well or lesser known landmarks. A must when visiting Berlin. Looking forward to jumping on another bike tour in London, Paris or Barcelona. Thanks guys and a special thanks to our tour guide, Alex!

Doing what: Best Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beware - the Germans really mean it when they require a driver's license to rent a Segway. Our 15 year old was denied a Segway, and had to complete the tour on an electric bicycle, not because it is safer but because bicycles are not considered registered vehicles. This tour covered all of Berlin's greatest hits in a relatively superficial fashion, but in a time frame that walking would never accomplish. We mentally bookmarked the places we found most interesting and returned later on foot, for instance to the Holocaust memorial.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bleesed with a fine weather, my 10:30 cruise has turned very enjoyable and rewarding.
I had more than enoug time to climb the tower of Cologn Cathedral before the cruise started.
And I leisurely walked along the Rhein to have a wonderful lunch at noon.

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. It wAs a very humbling experience, and the memorial site is respectfully preserved. I really appreciated how honest our German guide was about World War II. She helped me see how much guilt is wrapped up in this country over that time in history. Recommended!

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Afternoon Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent, the guide Emily was very friendly and full of knowledge. Warmly recommended!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend tour if you are interested in World War Two history or just want to pay your respects. Our tour guide was informative and respectful.

Doing what: Best Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message