Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 894 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gijs K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Jared was a nice bloke who did just the right things as a tour guide. He told us about himself just enough to get a sense of friend feelings an about the staggering history of Berlin while guiding us trough various parts of Berlin. All together we now have a much better knowledge about the history of Berlin also pre WW2 now thanks to his guidance. His stories are amusing and informative and helped us with picking out places we wanted to see on a more detailled level. Keep up the good work Jared, you are one of the best tour guides we've had.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Kelly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I learned so much on this tour. I loved every minute of it. If you are interested in the Cold War this is definitely the tour for you. You can't get anything better and the price is great!

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Penny T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

we went with temps hovering below zero with snow on the ground, so it was freezing, but that gave us a greater appreciation of what the prisoners went through. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and approachable, and aware of not letting us freeze! We learnt so much compared to a different camp we did by ourselves with a map and audio guide! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

peg's Travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really great up close and personal experience at the part of Berlin that was effected the war. What a great insight. Our guide was very knowledge and could answer all of our questions about the area. Well done and we left with smiles on our face with a deeper understanding of the area.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Debbie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Cold war Walking Tour of Berlin was fantastic! I can honestly say, it was the best tour we have ever been on. It took in all the key sites of the Cold War, and more. Our tour guide John J.J. was fantastic, his knowledge of Berlin and the Cold War was huge, and he was great fun and very helpful.
This tour is a must when visiting Berlin.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Rong-Fuh L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were a group of four friends from Taiwan and China. We had a great time to join this tour. Our tour guide was kind, patient, and knowledgeable. Thank you so much for your services. I will definitely look forward to arranging your tour package next time.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Steve was a really great tour guide, he had a lot of knowledge and explained it in a way that wasn't an information overload. The day had a great time schedule, not too early of a wake-up but gives plenty of time at the memorial with also an hour left up to us. Definitely worth it, was a cold day with a bit of wind and he worked the tour so we weren't outside for too long at each point, which gave us a chance to warm up. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

johnnycocheroo454

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Superb insight into the Cold War from Barnaby. Everything from the main mechanics that led to the fall of the Berlin Wall through to the more quirky things that the Cold War caused including a complete lack of bananas in November 1989.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Lucie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was full of amazing facts and figures that even cold war history enthusiasts may not know. Tour guide Taylor was great. Funny, approachable and stayed behind to guide people to where they wanted to go once the tour has finished.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent tour led by a top-class guide JJ. Informed and personable, JJ was the ideal guide for the three of us as he eloquently described the history of the Cold War sites we visited during this four-hour walking tour.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: World War 2 and Cold War Sites in Berlin

Lee Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was easily the best part of my trip in Germany! Our guide was terrific. As someone mostly interested in WWII history, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was excellent mainly due to our guide Michael. Michael was not just giving a guided tour, it was obvious that he has a passion for the history of Sachsenhausen, his knowledge of the camp and other information regarding the war was amazing. A really worth while trip.
Des and Catherine O'Brien, Dublin

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

rosemary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide Adam was amazing. The tour was long and a lot of standing, so bring comfortable and warm clothes. However, it was definitely worth it. If I had gone without a tour guide, I don't think I would have fully understood every step of the process. Learned so much.

Doing what: Full-Day Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about many topics pertaining to Nazi Germany, Sachsenhausen itself and German culture regarding the Second World War. The tour's additional information made the visit very moving - I don't think I would have appreciated the whole picture if I had not attended with a knowledgeable tour guide. I thus recommend this tour as a must if you are thinking of visiting Sachsenhausen.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Sophie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I would 100 recommend this tour to anyone. Tobi was such a great guide, and was hugely knowledgeable on not just the places we visited, but on the history of Berlin in general. The tour itself is a great way to see some of the top sites, and in a much more time efficient way than on foot!

I'd recommend taking the tour at the beginning of your trip if possible, as it's a great way to gather your bearings of the city, and pinpoint places that you'd like to see again in a bit more detail at a later time.

If taking the tour in the winter months, be sure to dress warmly. Segwaying doesn't require much physical exertion and Berlin gets pretty cold. I'd especially recommend taking gloves, although there are some to borrow if you do forget.

Once again, we absolutely loved the tour and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Kevin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was by far the best tour we had while in Europe. Our guide Matti was great. He explained all the sights in great detail and also took the time to explain the historical significance of each site regarding the war. He also included some personal stories from his family about what it was like to live in a divided Berlin. I would highly recommend this tour as a great overview of Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Kurt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour to take if you want to see the important sites of the Cold War era in Berlin. The tour is four hours long and includes a lunch break.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Allan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a long day trip, but well worth the effort, as Dresden is a most interesting and beautiful city. Our guide, Alex, was entertaining and informative, kept us awake on the outward trip and let us sleep on the return journey. The tour of Dresden was extensive and included many highlights that we had wanted to see, but also provided sufficient free time for shopping, cake discoveries etc.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

Emily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing trip! It was easy to meet up with the group and our guide Cesar was so knowledgable about every aspect of WWII and answered every question flawlessly. Please go with this tour it is very worth your time and money.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. The Castle itself was amazing. Th train ride to and from was also very interesting, just to see so much of the German countryside. After a month, I don't recall our guides name, but he was informative and entertaining. Very knowledgeable about the Castle and King Ludwig.
The only disappointment was beyond his control, the Lake Mary bridge was closed so had to settle for a bit lesser views.
I would highly recommend this tour. Just be aware, it's a bit of an uphill hike from where the horse cart drops you and the entrance. Also, lots of stairs inside. But well worth the effort.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Lyndi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was incredible! Our tour guide Francesca made the tour better than we could have ever anticipated, her background in archeology and history was the perfect addition to every stop we made, those additional history bites made us feel more tied to the story and what we were seeing. The bus was clean and very comfortable and the group was warm and welcoming. Perfect day to spend outside of Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Arnold V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you're into WWII this is a must.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

lesfantome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great tour! Our charming guide JJ delivered an excellent balance of incredibly interesting WWII facts and untold stories combined with just the right touch of intellectual humor. Thank you Viator and JJ.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Lindy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was not ran due to the lack of participants, instead I joined the Nuremberg/Heidelberg tour. Our guide, Oliver, was great!! Not only did he share about the culture in Germany, but also the history of Germany. During our visit to Courtroom 600, he explained how the Germans cope with the aftermath of the war and the life lessons that were learned. Since it was already dark by the time we reached Heidelberg, we had the castle all to ourselves while learning about its history. Touring the old city of Heidelberg after sun set was a whole new experience!

Oliver made it a memorable trip by bringing us to try the famous Nuremberg sausages, German Spezi and Heidelberg cookies. It was a fun and exciting trip :

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: Neuschwanstein Castle and Rothenburg Day Trip

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was excellent. Far exceeded my expectations, and I obtained the full experience of the terror and horror that went on. I had looked forward my whole life to being a witness as to what happened there and I did and one more thing off the bucket list to do!
Could not have been better I am very pleased and my wife a Jew was too!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message