Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 925 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Haldor G. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was really good tour, we covered a lot of ground, stopped at interesting sites and our tour guide Dani did an outstanding job. She know everything about the city it seems and is easy to listen to warm and funny.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

Barry J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Educational, great insight into war history.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Catherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing introduction to Berlin. Darren, the guide , was brilliant. For the rest of our weekend his knowledge and insights stayed with us and helped us make sense of so many of the sights we visited afterwards. I would wholeheartedly recommend that anyone visiting the city does one of these tours as their first induction! Amazingly good value for money.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Chingor Cecilia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I normally like to explore on my own, however, since I have a limited amount of time at Munich I wanted to get the most out of it. Not disappointed with the viator / local tour operator half day tour to Dachau. Guide Matt is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and did the tour in an objective and dignified manner. The tour covers train and bus rides so you don't have to worry about logistics to the site, and lots of narration from Matt. Not a lot of building structures are left on site so having a tour guide to fill in the details really helped. Could you do this on your own? Yes, but probably not with as much understanding if you haven't been studying in advance about this subject.

The tour ended at about 2pm for our group back at the Munich main train station, which seemed longer than promised half day? but I am not complaining. If you have onward trains to catch be sure to buy flexible tickets for the day or just buy after you return to the main train station.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good overview of WW2 events. Our tour guide Oscar was very knowledgeable and looked after the entire party.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

JulesPureLife

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely smooth process. So happy that we had a tour and a guide for this experience. What a beautiful spot. Warning to anyone with knee/ walking problems: there is a lot of walking and stairs on this tour. The castle is a 45min walk up a hill, but there is the possibility to pay 2 euros to go up by bus, and 3 euros to go down by horse-drawn carriage.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Pamela J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way to see the sites and to get around Potsdam. Good English commentary. Be aware of the days the palaces are open.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Potsdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Pamela J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour guide. Be aware that in one afternoon you can only get an overview of the historical city center and maybe see one museum. There is a lot to see there.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip. This was a trip you could make on your own, but you gain a much better understanding having a guide. The guide meets you at the station, is with you on the train and then walks with you to the Camp. Our guide John from Dublin was excellent, he was so animated that you really got a feeling for what the prisoners went through. It is a long day, with a lot of walking and was cold when we went, so wrap up warm. It is also advisable to take some food. Make sure that you purchase the right train ticket - you need all three zones. You could wait until you meet your guide and then he/she will advise you.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Tamar G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was e GREAT tour!!!
It is so much fun and easy to ride the sagway, and this is thanks to the guys there who give you the best guidance as to how to ride it safely.
and the greatest thing was the tour guide Patrick Full of knowledge and so intelligent and funny!
We were 4 not very young women and it was our first experience with a sagway tour and afterwards we gave a promise to ourselves that we'll do it again in every city we come to explore.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour of Dachau was sobering, but excellent. Our guide,Steve, was very knowledgeable and respectful of the place we were visiting. He gave an unbiased view and told us so much background we were unaware of. He was great on the Third Reich walking tour later too. My feet ached a bit at the end but it was awesome to get so much in perspective. We could never have found those places on our own. Thanks!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Simon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jamie was able to recount the history of war torn Berlin superbly well, taking us right from 1945 through to 1989 showing us some fascinating landmarks along the way, that without a guide you would no doubt miss. Highly recommended in helping to sort through the enormously complicated politics of Cold War Berlin.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Victoria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour with a brilliant tour guide. We had rubbish weather and it's definitely worth wrapping up warm otherwise you will be cold but would definitely recommend the tour

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Jacqueline G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

While is was a long day, it was worth it. Our guide, Alex, provided a great detailed description of the history of Dresden on the trip down and we had a great walking tour when we arrived. We were given plenty of free time to walk the city ourselves and visit the museums/galleries. A definite for those interested in seeing amazing architecture and knowing more about WWII history.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

johnrussopt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very well done and informative. You need a tour guide for this place, you aren't able to grasp the whole scope of the camp without the tour guides. Would recommend to anyone whose in Berlin and wants to learn about Sachsenhausen and the Holocaust/Concentration Camps/WW2.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Charlie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastically entertaining 4hr walk through mostly East Berlin and 800 years of Berlin history including Albert the Bear, all the Freidrichs and Wilhelms and both World Wars and beyond. Brian's a Texan theatre director and it shows in the way he brings everything to life before your eyes. How he retains all this information and, more importantly, doesn't trot it all out by rote, but makes it sound fresh is beyond me! I can barely remember family birthdays...
We did the walk on a snowy cold Thursday and somehow it added to the experience. We brought a packed lunch but there IS a half hour break at a café about 2/3's of the way through, so they choice is yours. When we come back to Berlin we'll definitely be doing another walk with these Tours. Worth every Euro.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommended and the best 12 euros I spent in Berlin. If you have an interest in the Cold War or recent German history, this is the one for you.

Our Guide, Barnaby, supplemented the tour high points with anecdotes and made it even more informative.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Anish G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I think the only word which comes to my mind, when I think of this tour is wonderful

And the credit for the same go to two things.

1. Jeff One of the best tour guides I have ever met anywhere.

2. The March weather

Its a very well organised tour for someone who wants to spend just a day in Salzburg, getting to see nearly everything in town.

They are right in saying that you get time off for personal roaming around.

Jeff is an excellent historian and a very warm person, I am glad he was there that day, which made I trip all the more special.

One must spend time in the old city and get to learn about Mozart, his tastes, his rich history. Feasting Hohensalburg is a worth a visit especially on a clear day, where fleeting glimpses of the Alps are visible

Highly recommended from Munich for everyone interested.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

kay g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Sabri, was one of the most knowledgeable and nice guide I have ever had. He made it esay to understand how all the pre-war era went and how Hitler found his way in there.
It was a great moment, with very nice sights and a fascinating storyline.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Washington C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Celia was very well informed had a great pace and was entertaining. We would highly recommend this tour. Dress warm and be ready to walk.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

s.norman789

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We booked this trip before we travelled to Berlin as to be honest, I didn't really think it's a place we would necessarily choose to go to for a city break, so thought a day trip was ideal.
Our Aussie guide Alex was brilliant and very knowledgeable, especially as she majored in history, so was able to give us loads of information with great relish, that we might never have found out! Even though the tour was over 10 hours long, Alex made the day very enjoyable and we had great fun. She took us to the most important places and explained about the devastation during WWII together the rebuilding of the city. Even though so much was destroyed the city still has a magical charm about it and the surrounding countryside is lovely, so maybe a longer trip could be incorporated next time. We had a few hours to ourselves to explore the city, which was really nice to do and to browse in the porcelain shops, which were fabulous.
We had an amazing day and would highly recommend it. It's most definitely well worth taking this tour and hopefully you'll get Alex as your guide.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

John M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Deeply moving experience. Our tour guide Sabri was incredible. He handled the tour with the knowledge and tact that is required of a place like Dachau, and his knowledge of not only Dachau but also German WWII history is staggering. Our small group had dozens of in-depth questions, and he was able to answer each one. My wife and I are not the kind of travelers that typically use guided tours we like to read and explore on our own. We were blown away by how much value Sabri added to this experience, and we walked away thankful that we were able to tap his knowledge. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

djlipscomb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip was very enjoyable. There was a lot of provided information about the town. We loved all the history of the old town including the ww2 history. Jason was a very good guide with a lot of knowledge of the tour. He was a pleasure to spend the day with. We will definitely sign up for more tours

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

s.norman789

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a tour everyone should try and do when on a Berlin city break. It was very emotional and made one feel very humble when we were shown the terrible conditions people had gone through to try and stay alive, or not as in some cases. Our guide Barry was phenomenal and very passionate about the whole tour. He was so knowledgeable and tried to involve everyone during the day with giving their opinions and putting forward their views. I would definitely recommend this tour and if you get Barry as your guide, then it's a double whammy.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

KHALED SABRY I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing Tour , every thing went perfect - Schedule was very sharp .
Amazing views at Linderhof castle and Neuschwanstein with a short stop at a beautiful village which we buy some souvenirs.
Tour guide was so helpful and gave us all information about History of those two Castles which we were not aware before.
i recommend this tour to every one coming to Germany.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message