Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 692 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour exceeded what we expected. In depth knowledge and stories of the Cold War. Would totally recommend it to anyone interested in the Cold War and East/West Germany conflict.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This Tour was awesome, our guide JJ was so knowledgeable and entertaining, he made the trip so enjoyable. We went in February so it was a little cold but the short stop in the middle of the trip, was enough to have coffee and warm up. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, our tour guide, Tarek, was interesting and passionate about not only the Cold War History but also keen to help us see and experience the modern Berlin. Thoroughly recommend this amazing tour!

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent, interesting and informative. Our guide was Callum, he was very knowledgeable and engaging. He also helped us out afterward showing us where to go out and the best transport options etc. The tour was as described. Best walking tour I've done.

Doing what: Berlin Off-the-Beaten-Path Walking Tour: Neighborhoods of Kreuzberg, Mitte and Friedrichshain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We got a great view of the city, saw buildings etc that we wouldn't know what they were. Nice and warm on the bus. Easy to get around.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tour guide was knowledgable and friendly, warm and welcoming. Time at each place was perfect! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide met us at the time and place arranged. He was full of information and energy about the subject! He even had a picture album with historical pictures of the sites we visited. He explained in detail the history of the rise of Hitler from his arrival in Munich to his leadership of the Third Reich. His approach to the subject was even handed and informative. This tour is a must to appreciate the surviving WWII historical sites in Munich. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were met on time at the place arranged. The tour guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the site. He covered the history of Dachau from WWI to its liberation at the end of WWII. He approached the tour from the perspective of the prisoner experience. He asked thought provoking questions of the group to further enhance our understanding of the site. Very professional and receptive to questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Bruce N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful day, with lots of snow, the visit toLinderhop and Neschanstein was lovely. Just be aware of the long and steep climb to Neuschwanstein Castle. While there were horse drawn carriages the queue was very long and our young daughter struggled with the climb.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very informative. Weather was quite horrible though. People should be warned that they have to purchase ABC metro tix for this outing. We could've save lots of money had we known....

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tobi was our guide, before commencing our journey everyone was given the opportunity to get comfortable with the Segway. Once we were all comfortable Tobi led us around the city particularly the East of the city providing a great insight into life before, during and after the cold war, Tobi was able to share his experience of life in Germany making this a fascinating insightful tour, highly recommend anyone to join this.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful time on the trip, it left on time and returned on time, we were well looked after throughout the day and the driver was excellent, he (Jack) was full of stories and information about the region we were traveling through and was very informative and funny. He was explained correctly time lines for the day and made sure the bus was warm enough and we had enough food and drink for the trip, He was also very helpful at recommending other sights to see after the trip. The castle was fantastic to see and the town of Rothenburg was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed the excursion and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was awesome. After showing our drivers licence and doing a testdrive, the segways were reset to travel at 20kmph... on the roads. The guide was friendly and knowledgable taking us on a fun historical tour for almost four hours. My tip is if you go in late November, take thick warm gloves, and be prepared for how cold it is. Highly recomended tour.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunningly gorgeous. Neuschwanstein is simply amazing, a must see for anyone in the area. Seeing the castle as you walk up to mountain towards it is breathtaking. When you finally get to the top (a 15 minute walk), you can then choose to go yet further up. This is also a must do, you can climb up to a bridge that overlooks the castle. This is where the beautiful photos really come from, as you can get a bird's eye few of the castle, and the land falling away behind it. Linderhof was more of an interesting place, than it was gorgeous. The castle is full of eccentricities, that make it interesting but also far out of touch with todays tastes. That being said, the trip into the alps, and simply being in that mountain range around Linderhof is worth the trip. Unbelievable area, gorgeous landscape, fresh air! The trip to that area alone, made the trip to Linderhof worth it.

All told, this trip really makes for a fairy-tale day, with the mountain ranges, fantastic castles and quaint little villages.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide had a lot of knowledge about both the Nazi Era and the Cold War Era. It was a fascinating trip and interesting to hear his take on things, as well as learn from a very knowledgable, studied guide on the history of Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message