Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 716 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Dachau Concentration Camp is a must visit. This camp was quite a haunting experience, not only seeing how the site but hearing the stories of hardship and torture that occurred. Our tour guide, Steve, brought the whole experience to life. As a World War II expert, he was able to impart information that you never come across in books and helped us understand the important role Dachau had in Nazi Germany. He shared with us first hand stories from survivors he has met throughout the years.

With only three days in Munich, I was uncertain about taking the time for this day trip. However, I'm glad I did the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the TV tower and dinner. Our waiter was very nice and looked after us very well. He did get busy towards the end of our meal and we had to wait a bit for our dessert, but it didn't matter as the view is superb. Would definitely recommend the Skip the line and the dinner. Worth every cent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Dinner atop the Berlin TV Tower

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the tour of the castle and the surrounding area. Ruth, our tour guide, was a wonderful source of information and history, and was especially enjoyable. The carriage ride was nice, however it was for the ride down, not up, to the castle. There is a good amount of walking uphill, which was fine for us, however, some tourists were not aware of this.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Is a must see!!! Our tour guide Elizabeth was very friendly and full of knowledge about our tour and the Bavarian history. The castle is truely magical!!!! Warning: A lot of Walking involved!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a dream trip from Munich. Having just four of us on the tour was a plus - all bonded well. But it was our guide Jeff who really made the journey memorable by understanding what all of us wanted. As we four were all into history and WW2, he tailor-made and tweaked the trip on the spot to suit us. The result was a beautiful day visit to old Nuremberg and after that the Nazi rally grounds, Documentation Centre and even the Nuremberg Trial Room Warning: The court is still used and you can't see it if there's a hearing in session. Jeff warned us about that but we were lucky to find it empty. The Trial Room and the Nazi Documentation Centre cost us 5 euros extra each but it was worth it to see how things were then the exhibits/museums are excellent and, hence, a must visit. We also got to ride on all forms of transport on this visit -- the train from Munich, the Nuremberg underground, a tram and even the local bus -- all taken care of by Jeff. A wonderful day to say the least!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed this excursion very much. The weather was kind to us which helped and our guide, Ursula was engaging and knowledgable. Be aware that the walk up to Neuschwanstein is hard work and took us about 30 minutes plus another 15 to get to the bridge. Despite all the huffing and puffing, it was well worth it. The castle is stunning and there are some amazing views from the bridge. My only disappointment was the very short stop in Oberammergau. A quick coffee and that was it......not enough time to appreciate the town itself.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were very happy with our 3 day Berlin Pass. Instruction to go to Hard Rock Cafe to validate voucher then Humbolt Box to collect pass are incorrect. Go straight to Humbolt Box near the Dom and Museum Island, they will have everything there for you. It would have been beneficial to have the booklet before we arrived so we could plan our Pass time efficiently. Bus tour is a great to get a feel of the city and the boat cruise very relaxing and informative too. Unlimited public transport each day was great especially when we were catching buses going in the wrong direction haha. Berlin has so much modern history, the transformation since WW2 is amazing. It is a progressive, vibrant city well worth visiting. I thoroughly recommend a bike ride in Teirgarten as well.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Our guide Matti was so knowledgeable and friendly. Despite being in a particularly large group, he managed to speak to everybody and ensure that all heard him. There was no sort of "sponsored" stop offs in any local stores that you sometimes get on walking tours. We simply got to see the amazing sights of Berlin (with a short lunch break) with all of its history spanning from the early days of the city (pre-Germany) right through both world wars, the cold war, unification and the shape of the future.

Matti was also able to contribute with stories from his own families experiences of the separation of Berlin which made it all the more fascinating.

In really cannot praise this tour enough, there is absolutely nothing to fault or criticise.

It is well worth doing, you will learn so much about this incredible city, all for excellent value for money.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Steve was a great guide, and his own 20 years of research and personal stories added so much to what could have been a 'by the book' tour. The group size of 24 was ok, though there was a lot of walking and transit and some folks had a hard time keeping up. The tour time is not enough to really explore the museum, as you only have about 45 minutes towards the end to do so. If you are really interested in doing so, you might consider staying on after the official tour has ended and just paying your own transit back.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour is awesome and perfect if you want to see the main sights in Berlin! Our guide Matti was really well informed and he even told us a few personal stories his family used to live in East Berlin. We saw all the important sights and were even given opportunities to take photos. Be warned, that as a walking tour, it obviously involves a fair amount of walking! I had no issues but some people started complaining.
I could not recommend this tour highly enough! It's a must do!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Highly recommended! Georgen is a wonderful and warm guide! He is pleasing and informative and it was a very enjoyable and relaxing trip!

Doing what: Guided Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a great day with Ian as our guide. He is a very knowledgable and sensitive man who informs us thoroughly and completely without bias towards any of the ethnic or cultural groups intered at Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Scottish guy whose name i sadly have forgotten was excellent! Very knowledgeable, full of interest and anecdotes and really interesting. I would totally recommend the tour. Enough history to keep my history buff husband happy but accessible to me, whose knowledge was poor before the trip. Really brought the whole place to life and explained things we had wondered about previously. Lots of our questions answered and more .It was freezing cold, so wrap up warm and wear sensible footwear.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent. Jason, our guide, extremely knowledgeable on Nuremburg and WWII. We thoroughly enjoy it!

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour exceeded what we expected. In depth knowledge and stories of the Cold War. Would totally recommend it to anyone interested in the Cold War and East/West Germany conflict.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This Tour was awesome, our guide JJ was so knowledgeable and entertaining, he made the trip so enjoyable. We went in February so it was a little cold but the short stop in the middle of the trip, was enough to have coffee and warm up. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, our tour guide, Tarek, was interesting and passionate about not only the Cold War History but also keen to help us see and experience the modern Berlin. Thoroughly recommend this amazing tour!

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent, interesting and informative. Our guide was Callum, he was very knowledgeable and engaging. He also helped us out afterward showing us where to go out and the best transport options etc. The tour was as described. Best walking tour I've done.

Doing what: Berlin Off-the-Beaten-Path Walking Tour: Neighborhoods of Kreuzberg, Mitte and Friedrichshain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We got a great view of the city, saw buildings etc that we wouldn't know what they were. Nice and warm on the bus. Easy to get around.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tour guide was knowledgable and friendly, warm and welcoming. Time at each place was perfect! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide met us at the time and place arranged. He was full of information and energy about the subject! He even had a picture album with historical pictures of the sites we visited. He explained in detail the history of the rise of Hitler from his arrival in Munich to his leadership of the Third Reich. His approach to the subject was even handed and informative. This tour is a must to appreciate the surviving WWII historical sites in Munich. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were met on time at the place arranged. The tour guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the site. He covered the history of Dachau from WWI to its liberation at the end of WWII. He approached the tour from the perspective of the prisoner experience. He asked thought provoking questions of the group to further enhance our understanding of the site. Very professional and receptive to questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Bruce N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful day, with lots of snow, the visit toLinderhop and Neschanstein was lovely. Just be aware of the long and steep climb to Neuschwanstein Castle. While there were horse drawn carriages the queue was very long and our young daughter struggled with the climb.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very informative. Weather was quite horrible though. People should be warned that they have to purchase ABC metro tix for this outing. We could've save lots of money had we known....

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tobi was our guide, before commencing our journey everyone was given the opportunity to get comfortable with the Segway. Once we were all comfortable Tobi led us around the city particularly the East of the city providing a great insight into life before, during and after the cold war, Tobi was able to share his experience of life in Germany making this a fascinating insightful tour, highly recommend anyone to join this.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message