Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 777 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My guide Steve was extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour was comprehensive. You need 5 hours 3.5 for the tour and transportation to and from Dachau to complete the tour. Be aware, there is a lot of walking and standing in this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Kai, was passionate about WWII history. Rather than lecture us for hours, he consistently engaged us by asking questions and welcoming questions we asked him. I'm so grateful he was our guide through Dachau and will certainly recommend him to friends and family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were only four people in the Minibus and they didn't cancel the tour, our guide was very sympathic and joyfull. He was a great guy. Thanks a lot for this trip, just looking forward to others...

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I travelled from Hanover to join this walking tour, met up with the group and tour guide Ysanne at Hackesher Market in Berlin on a beautiful warm sunny day for our 4 1/2 hour walking tour.
Ysanne was from the UK and had been living in Berlin for a number of years, she was very informative and passionate with all her information she gave us and loved all the history of Berlin. How fortunate were we to have someone with so much knowledge. I really wished I could have had a few days in this amazing city.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a must-see for anybody interested in the history of the world. This tour was professionally conducted by our guide Rick. An insight into the the two world wars of last century revealed how quickly any nation can descend into a downward spiral of self-destruction. Very educational and thought provoking.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our knowledgeable tour guide , Taylor, led us through the sites of the Berlin of the Second World war, leading us to places we never would have found on our own. He gave us the history of each area and presented an unbiased account of the era. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely smashing. The 3 hr Spree river cruise was good. The highlight for me was the dinner and the concert afterwards. With the musicians and MC dressed in typical 1700:s clothing made it a great night.

Doing what: Charlottenburg Palace: Dinner and Concert with River Spree Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended!! Safe, friendly, informative, entertaining and intimate tours of Berlin's well or lesser known landmarks. A must when visiting Berlin. Looking forward to jumping on another bike tour in London, Paris or Barcelona. Thanks guys and a special thanks to our tour guide, Alex!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beware - the Germans really mean it when they require a driver's license to rent a Segway. Our 15 year old was denied a Segway, and had to complete the tour on an electric bicycle, not because it is safer but because bicycles are not considered registered vehicles. This tour covered all of Berlin's greatest hits in a relatively superficial fashion, but in a time frame that walking would never accomplish. We mentally bookmarked the places we found most interesting and returned later on foot, for instance to the Holocaust memorial.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bleesed with a fine weather, my 10:30 cruise has turned very enjoyable and rewarding.
I had more than enoug time to climb the tower of Cologn Cathedral before the cruise started.
And I leisurely walked along the Rhein to have a wonderful lunch at noon.

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. It wAs a very humbling experience, and the memorial site is respectfully preserved. I really appreciated how honest our German guide was about World War II. She helped me see how much guilt is wrapped up in this country over that time in history. Recommended!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Afternoon Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent, the guide Emily was very friendly and full of knowledge. Warmly recommended!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend tour if you are interested in World War Two history or just want to pay your respects. Our tour guide was informative and respectful.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tarek was our guide and gave an excellent tour - it was very interesting to visit many areas relating to the cold war and to hear more about what really happened here at that time. Checkpoint Charley was not included in the tour - but we visited it the day before on our other tour.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour is a must see. It was very informational and the guide covered difficult topics with the utmost respect for the atrocities that occurred here and in other camps during the war.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Ron was incredibly knowledgeable, enthusiastic and a real pleasure to learn from. Whilst the tour focused on Cold War history, it actually covered much more than that and at the end of the five hours (ran over a tad...!) we had a much greater understanding of Berlin's history. Recommend!

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Rick, was extremely knowledgeable in Cold War history. We saw many sites throughout East Berlin of historical significance during this era.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not much WWII history, but the Nuremberg museum was great

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Calum was the guide, and he was very interesting and knowledgeable. Even though I was staying in the Prenzlauer Berg area, he pointed out many things I was not aware of. Enjoyed stopping at the Turkish market in Kreuzberg for our lunch stop. All is all, I very much enjoyed the tour, and highly recommend it.
However, it was strange that they did not have my name when I arrived for the tour. Also, your confirmation e mail should contain the meeting place as well as the time even though it is on the voucher. I spent 15 minutes figuring out where at the TV Tower Platz we were supposed to meet.

Doing what: Berlin Off-the-Beaten-Path Walking Tour: Neighborhoods of Kreuzberg, Mitte and Friedrichshain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The weather must have been waiting for us to start the tour at 3 pm because that is when the rain came down. However, the tour guide was entertaining enough to prevent me from wanting to not complete the tour by going into a cosy cafe or beer hall. I liked his jokes, especially the cat joke about 'Mein fur herr'. I looked it up on the Internet and discovered that there in fact a website devoted to fans of cats that resemble Hitler and one can submit a photo of your Hitler cat to this website and by Kitler type things like a Kitler T-shirt and bag. It was good that the guide made jokes or else the tour would have been too serious and one needs to be entertained when on holiday. The subject of Hitler is rather sensitive so it is a difficult tour perhaps to take tourists on and I think that the guide did a good job and held out well in the rain. He had a loud voice so he was easy to hear. He appeared to be really interested in the subject of Hitler, Nazis, and Munich during the bombing raids - was interesting to know that the Virgin Mary, the New Town House and the towers of the Frauenkirche were used as markers during the RAF and US Air Force bombing raids. I later learnt from reading about Munich that the Virgin Mary is the patroness of Munich. That is why she appears in several places in the town centre. I noticed her on the walls of a few buildings while during this walking tour. Perhaps the tour guide should mention this fact. I told my two landlords I stayed with during my time in Munich about the Htiler tour. I showed them the photographs I took of the plaques that are fixed to the one wall in the arch way of the New Town House leading off Marieplatz. One of them translated for me what the plaques said. The guide did not translate them both for us. He spoke about the one that is all about the destruction in Munich by the US Streitkrafte. The other one which he did not mention is about the mass migration of the people caused by WWII.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very interesting tour and informative guide, Cesar. Gave a very good insight to what happened in the final days of the war and now I'm back reading the books as it brought the texts to life.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Whatever else anyone does on a break in Berlin - do this tour. Especially if you are interested in the history of the Cold War in Berlin and how it touched people's lives.

Doing what: East Berlin and Cold War Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was fabulous! Props to Ian, extemely knowledgable, even for the most intricate details, and lots of fun!! Also thanks to Bazza for taking over towards the end of the night...he was a true hero! ; )

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour, George our Tour Guide took great care of us, his knowledge and humour made our daz.

Looking forward to going on our next trip with George to the Black forrest.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message