Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 655 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was informative, thought provoking and we came away feeling that we had a good understanding of this complex and stimulating city. We had a great guide in Kathrine; intelligent, warm and very approachable.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were warned, weather in late October can be dicey....and when we got on the bus, they gave us the news that the Eagles nest was not accessible that day...guide was clear and concise, giving options, etc...we chose to go to Salzburg for the day and WOW! Easy to find the Bus, right where they say its going to be! Super friendly and we had a great time!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was looking forward to this tour and it did not disappoint even though the weather was not perfect. The lady German tour guide was excellent. We asked if we could walk to the Berghof. It was a short walk through the woods. Only one wall seemed to exist and the area was overgrown with trees. A short walk further on and we came across The Zum Turken Hotel, still standing. Strangely we were the only members of the group that went. The journey to the Eagle's Nest was breath taking and the town of Berchtesgaden was beautiful.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was so much more than I expected! My husband loves history and especially anything WWII related, so this was his choice, along with the Normandy tour, out of our 2 1/2 week Europe trip. I have to say that I am so glad he insisted on this one. It was extremely informative and the most stunning views of our entire trip. The views alone are worth it, add on the history with the museum, the bunker, and then the Eagle's Nest and I highly recomend this tour to everyone, whether you're a WWII buff or not. Our tour guide (I forget his name, an older German man) made the tour even more enjoyable. He was extremely funny and kept us all laughing. What a great experience!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent! I learned a lot about the history. I feel I understand WWII and the aftermath a lot better now.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent and personally, the best of all our guides over 7 weeks in Europe. He was English but spoke German so we had no issues with accent when listening to him. His knowledge of WW1 and WW2
History and the lead up was excellent, as I came to appreciate better how the countries got into the situation they did, that cost so many lives.. thanks

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What can I say---you must do this place---went went on this tour on our first night---right before Oktoberfest...a pre-warm up night! People dancing on tables with strangers...conga lines ...all with huge glasses of beer [that were more like pitchers...the band was terrific and the singing of "ein prosit" became the mantra of our Oktoberfest week! The band was authentic German....and this place is always packed with people...lots of fun! We went up in the Olympic Tower at night---and we could see the lights of the Wei sen festival tents and rides....so big and amazing! A great way to start Oktoberfest and meet a lot of interesting people :-)

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this trip! We had a wonderful guide--Jeff-- who really made it enjoyable. The castle is breathtaking and the climb up is definitely steep, but worth it. Jeff warned us it was steep and he did not sugarcoat it! Nevertheless it was a memorable say that I will never forget!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Berlin. Our guide with Julian, and he was wonderful. He brought us to Cold War sights around the city we otherwise would have missed, and provided a very detailed discussion on the importance of all the sites and how they all connected to the chronological history of the period. We learned so much! Biking around the city was a blast and lunch was delicious!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing, the sights were every bite as beautiful as advertised. Our tour guide (Anya) was completely knowledgeable of all the questions asked, very informative, warm and friendly to all. Highly recommend this tour for value and beauty. Comfortable and very clean coaches.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Scottish guide Keith (?) guided us around Munich for 2-1/2 hours to highlight important Nazi sites. He was very thorough and had a good sense of humor. 85% of Munich was destroyed during WWII, but many Nazi sites were left intact. So much of what we saw was re-built including Marienplatz where the tour started after travelling from the Munich Bahnhof. Munich was starting to get crazy because they were getting ready for Octoberfest and a lot of the activities had already started. We arranged the tour through Viator. Two of the many interesting sites were the Hofbrauhaus and Feldherrnhalle/Dodger’s Ally. The first floor of the Hofbrauhaus where Hitler started his rise to power and gave many speeches was not damaged. On the ceiling you can still see the swastikas blended into the painting and not painted over after the war. The Feldherrnhalle is where the Nazis made a memorial to the failed 1923 overthrow of the government and dodger’s ally where many Germans tried to avoid passing by the memorial which required them to salute it or be punished. Many were punished by not saluting as they passed and by trying to avoid the memorial. Felderrnhalle and Odeonplatz is the site of many Nazi party speeches and gatherings. This tour fills in a lot of information about the beginnings of the Nazi party.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day of shopping at Swarovski. Innsbruck was a place we definitely want to revisit. Far less commercial than Salzburg but just as pretty. The guide Margit was brilliant and took care of all passengers and gave very clear instructions about departure times and meeting points etc. Was not able to get a map to orientate ourselves but you don't really need it like Salzburg.

Doing what: Swarovski Crystal Worlds and Innsbruck Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As part of our 12 day tour to Germany we choose to spend 3 days in Munich. An important site for my wife was to tour Dachau as her parents were survivors of the Holocaust. The day tour of Dachau was excellent as the tour guide that we had was very knowledgeable of World War II and the concentration camps through out Germany and how Dachau was started and its history. We have traveled thought out the world and have not had a better tour guide. Thank you Viator!
Mort Harris

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fanstastic tour! Our tour guide was excellent! However a word of warning - don't do the uphill hike to Marienbrueke unless you have warmed up and you are super fit (especially on a warm day). It's a long day but so worth it! The castle is amazing! It is a 2 hour (slow but beautiful) train trip to Fussen through the country side of Bavaria - nice time to relax and take in the sights.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip was amazing. Our guide was unexpectedly leading 2 trips, but she handled it nicely. She did a great job explaining everything, spoke good english. The train ride to and from was a little long but provided a chance to catch a quick nap. Its a decent hike up, not a long hike, just steep. Very fascinating history. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide at the end of the day was also nice enough to give us train tickets to use the subway in Munich, a part of the price goes towards paying for train tickets, so we had asked her where a place was, she told us where and said "I'll give you tickets to go there I was going to give them out but everyone left". So she saved me about 25$ American

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message