Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 684 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide met us at the time and place arranged. He was full of information and energy about the subject! He even had a picture album with historical pictures of the sites we visited. He explained in detail the history of the rise of Hitler from his arrival in Munich to his leadership of the Third Reich. His approach to the subject was even handed and informative. This tour is a must to appreciate the surviving WWII historical sites in Munich. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were met on time at the place arranged. The tour guide was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable about the site. He covered the history of Dachau from WWI to its liberation at the end of WWII. He approached the tour from the perspective of the prisoner experience. He asked thought provoking questions of the group to further enhance our understanding of the site. Very professional and receptive to questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Bruce N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful day, with lots of snow, the visit toLinderhop and Neschanstein was lovely. Just be aware of the long and steep climb to Neuschwanstein Castle. While there were horse drawn carriages the queue was very long and our young daughter struggled with the climb.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very informative. Weather was quite horrible though. People should be warned that they have to purchase ABC metro tix for this outing. We could've save lots of money had we known....

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tobi was our guide, before commencing our journey everyone was given the opportunity to get comfortable with the Segway. Once we were all comfortable Tobi led us around the city particularly the East of the city providing a great insight into life before, during and after the cold war, Tobi was able to share his experience of life in Germany making this a fascinating insightful tour, highly recommend anyone to join this.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a wonderful time on the trip, it left on time and returned on time, we were well looked after throughout the day and the driver was excellent, he (Jack) was full of stories and information about the region we were traveling through and was very informative and funny. He was explained correctly time lines for the day and made sure the bus was warm enough and we had enough food and drink for the trip, He was also very helpful at recommending other sights to see after the trip. The castle was fantastic to see and the town of Rothenburg was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed the excursion and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was awesome. After showing our drivers licence and doing a testdrive, the segways were reset to travel at 20kmph... on the roads. The guide was friendly and knowledgable taking us on a fun historical tour for almost four hours. My tip is if you go in late November, take thick warm gloves, and be prepared for how cold it is. Highly recomended tour.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunningly gorgeous. Neuschwanstein is simply amazing, a must see for anyone in the area. Seeing the castle as you walk up to mountain towards it is breathtaking. When you finally get to the top (a 15 minute walk), you can then choose to go yet further up. This is also a must do, you can climb up to a bridge that overlooks the castle. This is where the beautiful photos really come from, as you can get a bird's eye few of the castle, and the land falling away behind it. Linderhof was more of an interesting place, than it was gorgeous. The castle is full of eccentricities, that make it interesting but also far out of touch with todays tastes. That being said, the trip into the alps, and simply being in that mountain range around Linderhof is worth the trip. Unbelievable area, gorgeous landscape, fresh air! The trip to that area alone, made the trip to Linderhof worth it.

All told, this trip really makes for a fairy-tale day, with the mountain ranges, fantastic castles and quaint little villages.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide had a lot of knowledge about both the Nazi Era and the Cold War Era. It was a fascinating trip and interesting to hear his take on things, as well as learn from a very knowledgable, studied guide on the history of Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great combination. We started with the hop-on hop-off tour, so we saw very much of the city on the first day. Next day we enjoyed the harbour cruise and the Lake Alster tour. As it was a bit colder we went below deck and you could warm up with drinks.
Each time its a joyful experience to be in possession of this combo card.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was extremely rewarding albeit obviously unsettling and emotional. Jeff Cox was our tour guide and he was kind, funny, and extremely knowledgeable. Absolutely worth it, and a very short travel time.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Briiliant - our Guide was great, friendly, very knowledgable, respectful of all members of our party, and always conscious of the need of some members to catch a train.
I asked about the War trial Court rooms, and AFTER the tour ended on his own time he went out of his way to take us to the court rooms.

Doing what: Nuremberg Nazi Party Rally Grounds and Old Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was by far the best tour I have been on yet. I did 5 other viator tours and this was just outstanding. It was the highlight of my month long trip to Europe.
First, they take you to the Linderhof Palace, where they hand you over to another guide that actually works there. You can't take pictures of the interior (which is beautiful!), but you can try. Our Viator guide encouraged us to try, though they seem pretty strict about not doing it. Anyways, you have a bit of time before and after the tour to take pictures outside the palace before heading back to the bus. By the way, you are somewhat in the mountains, and the view is just wonderful.
Then they take you to a little village, which was my favorite part. It was breathtaking. We stopped for about 45 minutes, which was just enough time to get some ice cream (only 1 euro!) and shop for souvenirs (which were really great!).
Afterwards, you go to the Neuschwanstein castle, where they let you go free for about 3-4 hours. The guide does not guide you, and many people were confused. He hands you a ticket with your entry time to the castle, points you in the direction to go, and tells you what time to meet back at and where. There are different trails you can take, or a horse carriage if you like, he gives you a map so you know where to go. Still, a ton of people were confused. Just listen to what he is saying carefully and you shouldn't be confused. Many people weren't listening on the bus when he was telling us all the info. (snoozing, talking to their kids, etc.) The 3-4 hours gives you time to eat, shop, and go to the castle. Make sure you stop at the bridge to take pics!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message