Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 981 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

travis g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour and the tour guide were great. There should be a warning with this trip regarding the taxing climb to the castle and in the castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

mungee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely, the highlight of my recent personal WWII Tour of Munich, Krakow and Warsaw!
I say highlight, because the beauty of Southern Bavaria and the Obersalzberg, in particular, was breath-taking!
Although I took the tour to visit Hitler's tea-house Kehlsteinhaus/Eagle's Nest the tour was so much more!
Travelling through the lush green countryside and seeing the awesome views of Berchtesgaden and Konigssee lake from Eagle's Nest are sight that will live with me for the rest of my life.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

mungee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent tour!
I went on the tour primarily to see the Nazi Rally Grounds and the semi-complete Nazi Congress Hall, but I so enjoyed seeing the non-Nazi sights of Nuremberg.

Almost totally rebuilt after the damage/devastation that it suffered in WWII, the city remains a magnificent example of a Medieval German Town.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

PHAM L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a very hot day and the tour was 4+ hours but Peep the tour guide made it a wonderful trip for us. I liked the history that she told us. I also loved her interpretation of the cause of wars, sympathy and the significance of books. Thank you very much for everything.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

C K s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Oren is a wonderful guide. Bus is clean and comfortable. Tour gives you basics of Dresden. It and #39;s not tiring and great variety of food to eat, at nice restaurants like Emila or Edilweiss. We sat on the Church and heard a live choir. Have an ice cream and e marvel at rebuil town after war.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

gilliank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really well organized, loads of fun, the guide Marc was enthusiastic and full of great information. I took my 2 kids on the tour and they loved it, I'd recommend it as a great way to see Berlin and learn about the Cold War :

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

Kat M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a great experience! I have never been to Berlin before and this was a great orientation to the city. I came in having done some research but feeling a bit lost afterwards I felt I had a better orientation to the city and then had a specific list of places I wanted to explore further. Also, my highly unscientific poll showed that Hanna is pretty much the best tour guide in Berlin, possibly the entire world. : Really, she's great- very personable, answered all history, cultural, and random questions thrown at her regarding Berlin. Plus, her love for the city shined through. A great experience overall!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

linda b conner C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the highlight of our 10 days in Germany and the Czech Republic. Cesar was exceptional! He met us at our hotel at 10:00 a.m. and immediately asked us what we wanted to focus on during our tour so he could meet our expectations. He had so much historical knowledge and was masterful at weaving story threads throughout our walk. He has a terrific sense of humor and was just a pleasure to spend the day with. We even talked him into sharing a beer with us at the end of our afternoon. We all came away feeling we had learned so much about Berlin, Germany, Hitler and WWII. Cesar is terrific, and you're guaranteed an incredible experience if you're lucky enough to have him as your guide.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: World War 2 and Cold War Sites in Berlin

Howard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A really nice cruise plus wine tastings. Our guide was very fun and had a warm sense of humor. The boat can be a bit chilly and windy so have a jacket available.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

WENDY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Thought it was excellent value for money and I and #39;m sorry can and #39;t remember our guides name (he was Australian born) Felt much more educated on the whole situation of the Cold War.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

johnbird274

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To be honest I paid for others to go on this tour but didn and #39;t go myself.
It was a long day but they were very happy with everything. Worth doing if you only have one cruise day at Warnemunde

Doing what: Warnemünde Shore Excursion: Berlin City Highlights Tour

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Sue C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Food and service excellent tour relaxing on a beautiful warm sunny evening excellent value for money

Doing what: Berlin Sightseeing Dinner Cruise Including a 3-Course Meal and Drinks

Justin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Matt was a fantastic guide. He provided lots of information, history, and was enthusiastic for a tour that lasted more than 3 hours. He also organized the transportation to and from the camp. He even helped us with suggestions around the city afterwards.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent - guide Rick one of the best we have ever had on these tours. Good information and encouraged group participation and reflection. I enjoyed that he moved at a good pace on the tour but always took time for questions 10/10

I would have liked a warning about the queues to get a pass for the Reichstag but that is not really viators responsibility

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Sean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent tour, and this is nicely complimented by the same group's walking tour of Potsdam. Berlin has such a deep, interesting history with a lot of tragedy, which makes for many interesting stories around every corner. We started among many older buildings and progressed into spaces that were more directly shaped by World War 2 and the reconstruction of Berlin, and our excellent guide, Rick, made everything feel like a part of the same story, even spaces whose roles changed drastically over the centuries. This is an excellent tour of an excellent city highly recommended.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Lynn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I am a single in Europe on business for 6 months traveling by myself. Instead of eating dinner by myself again I decided to book this tour and see the sights while noshing my way through Berlin. It was a lot of fun to meet people and ride around on a beautiful night. If you are a hard core biker that is looking for a lot of biking, this is not the tour for you. For the rest, it is a lovely mix of food, fun and sightseeing. I loved seeing the parts of the Berlin wall and the pictures on the buildings in the former East Berlin of cold war scenes, since I was here in college in 1974 when it was Communistic. Our guide was great! extra plus - the bubbly on the bridge near Museum Island.

Doing what: Evening Berlin Food Tour by Bike

Brad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a wonderful day trip. Scheduling was easy with daily departures from the Munich Central Train station. The tour guide was very courteous and knowledgeable of the Salzburg area and history and was able to make recommendations on food and locations where we might find very specific local novelties. On the tour, you'll see all of the key tourist attractions plus enjoy a wonderful train ride to and from Munich. Plan on lots of walking around the city. One final note, our guide Ardit, was great and a good representative for Viator. I look forward to our next visit and plan on booking another trip with them.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our favorite excursion of our trip to Germany and Austria. We have toured a number of castles and palaces around Europe and Neuschwanstein Castle was our favorite. We loved Rothenburg we just wished we had more time there. We had the opportunity to walk along its wall, tour the medieval city and have dinner. It was a long but perfect day. Peter was the best guide and did an excellent job of showing us the sights. He even dropped us off at our hotel afterward, which we did not expect.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: Neuschwanstein Castle and Rothenburg Day Trip

Shaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day, the 2 guides Alec and Ryan were awesome, 2 different guides with 2 different takes of the history of the castle and the area. The bike ride was lovely and very easy.
Be aware of the hike up to the castle, it really is a hard trek, but so worth it if you're up to it!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Patricia A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

On 16 May 2016, as per our prebooked 'Berlin City Highlights Tour', we were welcome by your representative outside the cruise terminal at Warnemunde. We set out on time in a clean and spacious coach. The driver was polite and friendly.

We were guided to the most famous must see landmarks around the city. We appreciated the day trip with the tour guide's knowledgeable stories. He even shared with us some old photos for historical sites, buildings etc. The itinerary was appropriately arranged for a few hours travel. We finished the pleasant and memorable trip with a traditional German meal at Lowenbrau Am Gendarmenmarkt Restaurant.

Doing what: Warnemünde Shore Excursion: Berlin City Highlights Tour

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was extremely informative and knowledgeable not only about the concentration camp itself, but of many other camps as well as details surrounding World War II. Learned a lot of interesting facts and thought it was definitely worth the money paid for such a long 5 hours and thorough tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Kirsti L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Manuel the guide was personable, warm and knowledgeable - I took a local with us on the tour and they said they learnt from it. The Bier Garten meal and mixing of the tour group - also a cool thing.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A delightful day trip from Munich. Meet at the central train station easy to find and then walk with group and guide to board the train. Its a 2 hour trip up to Nuremberg. Once there you walk via an underground tunnel from the train station and emerge right at the entrance to old town Nuremberg. This is a really nice town to visit. Much of the old town survived the bombings of WWII and remains in tact. We had a fabulous lunch on our own at a nice pub pointed out by our guide that had been serving food since 1498! Food and beer was fabulous. After some free time to shop we jumped a bus and went up to the old Nazi rally grounds. It was nice to see and the unfinished Nazi government building now a museum / documentation center was also worthwhile to see. This trip was an excellent value and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. We considered a private tour - but found the group tour to be a much better value.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see tour for anyone touched by the tragedy of WWII. The trip to Dachau was moving. The guide was knowledgeable and while somber and tragic, the tour was most educational. This is a must see if you have never been to a concentration camp. Be ready for some serious walking, between both tours and the walk to the train station from our hotel 1 mile each way we logged 10 miles on our fit bit. Good thing my wife and I are walkers and in good shape. If 10 miles is too much for you, I'd suggest doing Dachau one day, and the Third Reich Walking Tour on a second day. Doing both tours in one day will be too much if you are not in shape.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message