Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 606 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I have never taken an organized tour to a concentration camp before. I usually go on my own so I can go at my own pace and reflect, but I am glad I took this one. The camp was huge and hard to cover in one day, so having a guide to explain things and ask questions of was very helpful. Our guide, Taylor, was exceptionally good and knowledgeable about the camp and World War II. He pointed out or explained things that you wouldn't necessarily find in a guidebook or on the audio tour. I think if I had gone on my own I would have missed some things or might not have been able to cover as much ground. Those on the tour should be aware that once we arrived at the station, we walked the distance to the camp, just at the internees would have upon their arrival (reflective time). It is probably about 1.5 miles. Some people were able to take the bus back to the station (since we were on our feet almost the full day--they tell us to pack our own lunch), but since it runs only about once an hour, it was very crowded. I think that is why they don't rely on the bus to take you to the camp. (The camp was well attended on a weekday, so I wonder why the schedule is so infrequent.) All in all, a very well organized tour, very informative and very efficiently run. (Taylor was very good in making sure that each person knew where to leave the train on their return to Berlin, which I thought was very considerate.)

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic scenery,Swarovski tour was terrific.Plenty of time to enjoy

Doing what: Swarovski Crystal Worlds and Innsbruck Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a beautiful sunny day to take the train out to Potsdam with a mixed group of adults and children with our bike guide, Craig. This is an amazing way to see this historical and highly unusual architectural city. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the history of Potsdam from the Prussia leaders to the WWII take over by the communist. If you have just a few days in Berlin, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour with Mike was excellent. the private tour provide so much more than just news about the camp. Life at the time, some of the history about the Reich Stag, Berlin Wall, Brendanburg (sp) Gate, lunch, Museum Row, The interaction and question to help understand the time, war, allies etc. The Holocaust Memorial - everything came to life more with Mike. Great tour, Great guide. Well worth the money. Thank you Mike.

Doing what: Warnemünde Shore Excursion: Private Sachsenhausen and Berlin Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best tour we took during our two week visit to Europe. Mat the guide is an expatriate Brit who was funny and interesting and guided us through some of the landmarks in Munich near the altstadt (old city). Not only was it informative about the early history of Munich, but also of the Nazi impact on the city and the effects of the war. But, this is the educational part of a tour that is also really a barrel of fun as you zip through Munich on a Segway. Learning to use it is a snap (it was our first time and we are both 58 years old), and riding it is a gas! We got some interesting looks from bystanders as we cruised down the streets, along the river, and through the park.

Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Firstly, I thought Craig was wonderful. So informative and also very respectful towards the victims of Dachau and the holocaust I general.
Andy, the Scottish tour guide for the Third Reich Tour, was also very good and knew his stuff and added a bit of humour in to it now and again, which was great!!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour conducted by a very knowledgeable guide. The group was a bit large, but fortunately the guides voice carried well. The walk is not strenuous, and does not cover a very long distance. I am a WWII history buff and found the tour to be very worthwhile.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

For this tour we had Alex. She made this tour a great experience. She was very knowledgeable, and took the time to answer any questions that people might have. After the tour she even showed us where to find good restaurants and other things to do. Dresden itself was a beautiful city. The day in Dresden began with an hour long tour where we were showed the main points and a few pictures of what the city looked like before the war. It was very insightful! My only gripe is that we spent a lot of time standing in one spot. It could have benefited from telling us more about the city inside of the bus, and then showing us the places after. I think it would have allowed us to see even more. We were given 3 hours of free time, which was enough time for me to feel as if I had seen everything. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Keith Warnack is an amazing guide, full of information and knows his history! His witty and upbeat personality made it even better than I expected and will definitely be taking more tours w/your company in the near future. As a crew member with United Airlines, I raved about Keith and many are interested in Dachau and other tours so expect some business!!! Thank you, I truly enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very enjoyable trip to the lovely city of Heidelberg, with a thorough commentary from tour guide Krista while visiting the ruins of the Castle and the walking tour of the town centre. The Rhine Valley tour in the afternoon provided a pleasant trip on the River Boat, with a good dinner at the Zum Anker Restaurant afterwards.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a good tour and mostly because we had an excellent tour guide who was from Ireland. Can't remember his name but he got us together and made sure we stayed together on the train and at Dachau. He was very informative and straight forward when describing things. He knew his history. Dachau is quite "sanitized" today and our guide made sure that we saw through that and told us how it really was. Worth the trip.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organized. Highly recommend if you like the WWII history.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is one my son wanted to do since he is a history buff of World War II. I had really very little knowledge about Eagle's Nest, so I was a bit reluctant at first. I have to say that the tour was more than I expected! We enjoyed the beautiful sights, as we drove in a comfortable bus, and our guide gave us information along the way. Once we got there, you realize how magnificent this place is and the exceptional feat to build this high in the Bavarian Alps in only 2 years. Never mind it was built for Hitler on his 50th Birthday; it is a lovely place to see and visit with views that will blow you away!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour. Definitely do the train instead of a huge bus. The castle itself is amazing, and my tour guide had very interesting stories about the art that was stored there during the war.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message