• USD ($)
  • English
Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 575 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour. Definitely do the train instead of a huge bus. The castle itself is amazing, and my tour guide had very interesting stories about the art that was stored there during the war.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Kerri M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of my favourite days on my entire Europe trip! Alun our guide was fun and interesting. Easy meeting point at the station. Train down to Salzburg was comfortable and fast. On the train, Alun gave us our map with some points of interested marked out, talked us through our plan and once there, he walked us around for 45 mins of so, getting our bearings, then left us to explore this wonderful city on our own for about 3.5 hours which was perfect. My main reason for visiting was mainly for Sound of Music sites, of which I managed to see about 4 (3 with the group, then 1 on my own afterwards), wished I'd had a bit more time to get out to some of the others, or at least done a bit more research myself before hand so I knew exactly where to head to get to some of the main ones. However! Apart from Sound of Music, it was great seeing the birthplace of Mozart, also where the delicious Sacher Torte originated from, and the pedestrian shopping street has amazing atmosphere and lots to see and do (and buy!). Definite must, great value for a great day!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Barnaby made it a valuable experience as he gave an excellent summary of these times. He interspersed humour with a great deal of factual information. Recommend it to anyone interested in the Cold War history.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour visits many of same places that the Discover Berlin half day walking tour also covers. However it is a completely different narration. Rather than the humorous and fun tour, you are given a highly detailed darker history. Anyone who is into WWII history would probably love this tour so if you are aiming for that, do this. Otherwise, if you just want a fun and quick way to see the town, then probably the Discover Berlin walking tour is more for you. But unless you want to see the same land marks twice, you probably don't need to do both of these.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour may not be for everybody. But for people with a genuine interest in WW2 history, German history, or just fascinating history in general will appreciate this tour. Jeff was our guide, and was very affable and accommodating. He's been doing this for many years and he knows his stuff. The walk was not strenuous for anyone with a modicum of mobility. My only advice would be to bring a bottle of water if your going in summer as it can get pretty toasty outside.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Tassie Bev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing and beautiful places, good steady coach drivers, adequate bathroom stops (and a toilet on the coach if necessary), all transfers efficient and smooth, lovely hotels booked for us with good rooms and excellent breakfasts, and yet we were still largely independent. Yes, we could have done much of the same tour for a somewhat cheaper price if we had booked each bit ourselves, as we have done for the majority of our travels, but for once it was good to have it all organised for us and it would have been difficult getting back to Munich in the evening after a wonderful day in Hohenschwangau. All 3 meals that we ate at Hotel Muller were excellent and they catered extremely well for my gluten-free diet, as did Hotel Spitz for my Rothenburg breakfast. Viator had informed the kitchens of both hotels and they were ready and aware of my requirements.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was very thorough and made everyone very aware of what this place means.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour with Diana. Just a warning - the uphill walk is a hike with parts that are 30 degrees. There is a bus option for the not so fit.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent. Our tour guide, Jeff, was extremely knowledgeable about the entire Dachau memorial site. He was very sensitive to the nature of the site and the guest's needs on the very warm day of our tour. Dachau is a difficult place to witness, but Jeff did a great job in showing us what it meant to history.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and freindly. The only downer for me personally was we unknowingly booked the trip on a public holiday and due to a rock concert we were unable to visit the Nazi Rally Grounds. We were however able to visit the courtroom where the War Criminal Trials took place so this was some compensation.
All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I thought I knew a great deal about The Cold War, but our guide on this trip taught us a whole lot more. I would definitely recommend this walking tour to anybody interested in history. It really gives you an insight into the reality of the way of life for both East and West Berliners during the Cold War Years.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was wonderful. It was a recorded tour which was fine. I would do this again with no reservations. Plenty of time in Rothenburg and the night watchman's tour was great. I could have stayed an extra day or may take a longer tour. No issues with the staff, no issues with the hotel. The hotel had free wifi and I was able to Skype with my Wife in the states and let her see was I was seeing live from just out side the hotel. I really look forward to doing this again and bring the Wife.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a worthwhile experience. It was both moving and memorable. The guide was very helpful and respectful, giving insights into the atrocities of Hitler and the Third Reich. It is a memorable site and does not glorify war.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

JohnRash
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great walking tour of Berlin with Finn as our guide. Finn provided us with a great insight into Berlin and the 2nd World War.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message