• USD ($)
  • English
Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 583 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Keith Warnack is an amazing guide, full of information and knows his history! His witty and upbeat personality made it even better than I expected and will definitely be taking more tours w/your company in the near future. As a crew member with United Airlines, I raved about Keith and many are interested in Dachau and other tours so expect some business!!! Thank you, I truly enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Mario S
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very enjoyable trip to the lovely city of Heidelberg, with a thorough commentary from tour guide Krista while visiting the ruins of the Castle and the walking tour of the town centre. The Rhine Valley tour in the afternoon provided a pleasant trip on the River Boat, with a good dinner at the Zum Anker Restaurant afterwards.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a good tour and mostly because we had an excellent tour guide who was from Ireland. Can't remember his name but he got us together and made sure we stayed together on the train and at Dachau. He was very informative and straight forward when describing things. He knew his history. Dachau is quite "sanitized" today and our guide made sure that we saw through that and told us how it really was. Worth the trip.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organized. Highly recommend if you like the WWII history.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is one my son wanted to do since he is a history buff of World War II. I had really very little knowledge about Eagle's Nest, so I was a bit reluctant at first. I have to say that the tour was more than I expected! We enjoyed the beautiful sights, as we drove in a comfortable bus, and our guide gave us information along the way. Once we got there, you realize how magnificent this place is and the exceptional feat to build this high in the Bavarian Alps in only 2 years. Never mind it was built for Hitler on his 50th Birthday; it is a lovely place to see and visit with views that will blow you away!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour. Definitely do the train instead of a huge bus. The castle itself is amazing, and my tour guide had very interesting stories about the art that was stored there during the war.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Kerri M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of my favourite days on my entire Europe trip! Alun our guide was fun and interesting. Easy meeting point at the station. Train down to Salzburg was comfortable and fast. On the train, Alun gave us our map with some points of interested marked out, talked us through our plan and once there, he walked us around for 45 mins of so, getting our bearings, then left us to explore this wonderful city on our own for about 3.5 hours which was perfect. My main reason for visiting was mainly for Sound of Music sites, of which I managed to see about 4 (3 with the group, then 1 on my own afterwards), wished I'd had a bit more time to get out to some of the others, or at least done a bit more research myself before hand so I knew exactly where to head to get to some of the main ones. However! Apart from Sound of Music, it was great seeing the birthplace of Mozart, also where the delicious Sacher Torte originated from, and the pedestrian shopping street has amazing atmosphere and lots to see and do (and buy!). Definite must, great value for a great day!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Barnaby made it a valuable experience as he gave an excellent summary of these times. He interspersed humour with a great deal of factual information. Recommend it to anyone interested in the Cold War history.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour visits many of same places that the Discover Berlin half day walking tour also covers. However it is a completely different narration. Rather than the humorous and fun tour, you are given a highly detailed darker history. Anyone who is into WWII history would probably love this tour so if you are aiming for that, do this. Otherwise, if you just want a fun and quick way to see the town, then probably the Discover Berlin walking tour is more for you. But unless you want to see the same land marks twice, you probably don't need to do both of these.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour may not be for everybody. But for people with a genuine interest in WW2 history, German history, or just fascinating history in general will appreciate this tour. Jeff was our guide, and was very affable and accommodating. He's been doing this for many years and he knows his stuff. The walk was not strenuous for anyone with a modicum of mobility. My only advice would be to bring a bottle of water if your going in summer as it can get pretty toasty outside.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Tassie Bev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing and beautiful places, good steady coach drivers, adequate bathroom stops (and a toilet on the coach if necessary), all transfers efficient and smooth, lovely hotels booked for us with good rooms and excellent breakfasts, and yet we were still largely independent. Yes, we could have done much of the same tour for a somewhat cheaper price if we had booked each bit ourselves, as we have done for the majority of our travels, but for once it was good to have it all organised for us and it would have been difficult getting back to Munich in the evening after a wonderful day in Hohenschwangau. All 3 meals that we ate at Hotel Muller were excellent and they catered extremely well for my gluten-free diet, as did Hotel Spitz for my Rothenburg breakfast. Viator had informed the kitchens of both hotels and they were ready and aware of my requirements.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was very thorough and made everyone very aware of what this place means.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour with Diana. Just a warning - the uphill walk is a hike with parts that are 30 degrees. There is a bus option for the not so fit.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent. Our tour guide, Jeff, was extremely knowledgeable about the entire Dachau memorial site. He was very sensitive to the nature of the site and the guest's needs on the very warm day of our tour. Dachau is a difficult place to witness, but Jeff did a great job in showing us what it meant to history.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and freindly. The only downer for me personally was we unknowingly booked the trip on a public holiday and due to a rock concert we were unable to visit the Nazi Rally Grounds. We were however able to visit the courtroom where the War Criminal Trials took place so this was some compensation.
All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Nuremberg Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message