• USD ($)
  • English
Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 531 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I Booked The Third Reich Tour Which was one of the highlights of my Trip. Excellent Tour Guide "Barnaby", Who has a great knowledge of Berlin and its history. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to improve their knowledge or has a vast knowledge on WW2.

Thanks

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgable. I learned many new things about this era. He had a book of photos to which he kept referring to give you an idea as to how areas looked prior to the start of the war and to the almost complete destruction after the war. The little facts he had made this tour exciting.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Tour guide - He was a very friendly, full of knowledge about Germany history included Salzburge and a very organised person. He was make sure that he let us know what we going to do, what should we will aware off. We were very enjoyed. The view point was very good as we took lots of nice photos of the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Salzburg is a beautiful city, especially when lit up for Christmas. The guided tour covers the main points of interest without getting into too much detail. Surprise the guide by knowing what the Doppler Effect is! The free hours leave time to choose 2 or 3 places to spend longer at. The views from Hohensalzburg fortress are magnificent on a clear day. Suggest taking the funicular railway since walking up and back eats too much into the free time available.

If you’re a Mozart fan needless to say you’re in your element with 2 museums, i.e. his wohnhaus – the house where he lived – and his geburtshaus – the house where he was born – to lose yourself in! Following this you can get lost in the world of red and gold which signifies the Mozart chocolate. Suggest the brand Reber does an infinately superior job to Mirabell. If you want to splash out move on up to the premium world of blue and silver where you will find the ‘Original Salzburger Mozartkugeln’ produced by Café Konditorei Fürst. The guide will point out one of their shops during the tour.

If you want to buy a Sachertorte at the Sacher Hotel shop be aware that it closes at 5 pm on a Sunday!

We were a large group so it was split in two and left in the charge of Susan and Geoff. There was a problem with the train. Having waited an hour or so it was announced that the train wasn’t going anywhere and we were to get off and on to the next scheduled train, in effect joining everyone who had originally planned to take the later train. You can only imagine the pandemonium! Despite all of this Susan and Geoff managed to set off from Salzburg station with a full complement of tourists!

The train journey is 2 hours each way so bring something to entertain yourself with!

The voucher says that you can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity, however you need to queue at the local agents office (Radius Tours) at the hauptbahnhof to exchange the voucher for a ticket.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An excellent tour and tour guide! Michael was informative, knowledgeable and extremely enthusiastic. Really enjoyed the walk. Was serious when the need arose and we learnt an awful lot about a subject we thought knew well!!
The stop for the warming bowl of soup half way round was a welcome bonus on a freezing day!
Thanks again for a memorable walk. An asset to Viator an Insider Tours.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a great tour. We went on January 9th, and were lucky enough to have a fine day. The castles are fabulous, even in winter when all the statues etc in the grounds are covered with wooden boxes to protect them. Our guide was very informative, and the bus was comfortable and warm. Our only gripe was the time we spent in Oberammegau. It was too short, and by the time we'd bought a coffee and had a quick walk around it was time to go. We got the horse and cart up to the castle. There was quite a queue, and we had to wait about 30 minutes, so if you take that option make sure you allow plenty of time before your time slot for the castle tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tour lead by Finn a Northern Ireland expat who has lived in Berlin for 6 years studying history so very knowledgeable and amusing. It was very cold and it was hard sometimes to find places out of the wind to listen to his talk but he managed well and walked quickly between places which helped warm us up! There is a great deal to cover and we only stopped once for a welcome coffee and cake but still didn't finish until well after 3pm it is amazing value for money and gives a really good overview of the city helped by a good guide.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Highly recommended!

The castles and their grounds and surroundings are beautiful, especially set against a brilliant blue sky contrasting with the glistening white underfoot.

Buses do not run up to Neuschwanstein castle during the winter season but it is possible to take a horse and cart shuttle to quite near the castle. There were 5 running on December 20th 2013. Each holds about 11 people and the driver. The queue time was at least 30 minutes for us so this in mind in terms of not missing your timed castle tour.

Oberammergau is very picturesque and was a nice stop.

The guide, Gerta, was efficient, helpful and extremely warm. I heard her giving all kinds of travel and local advice to various passengers. Steffan, the driver, was also very helpful.

It seems like a very long day but the longest unbroken journey we had was the 1.5 hours leg back to Munich.

The entire group of people who booked this trip the day we went filled 3 double decker coaches. Each coach, however, had its own guide and did the tour independently of the others. The coach was very clean, cosy and comfortable and had a WC along with cola, water and beer for sale on board.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, Carlos, was extremely knowledgable about the Third Reich and its devastating impact on Berlin and Germany as a whole. The tour is three hours long and absolutely jam-packed with information and historical tidbits that will intrigue people of all background-knowledge levels. Each stop is explained in great detail and put into context of the rest of the twentieth century (especially the directly obvious, the Berlin Wall). Sights such as the Reichstag, memorials to the persecuted groups of WWII, Hitler's bunker and the Luftwaffe building are covered in the tour. Highly, highly recommended.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Nick Jackson is fabulously well informed, holds and communicates a balanced opinion and has an engaging style of delivery which allowed him to access and inspire each member of our party, from age 16 through to 53, and each of whom varied in areas of interest and prior knowledge. The 2 tours he conducted for us (Private Walking Tour of predominantly World War 2 Berlin) and SachsenHausen Concentration Camp were stimulating and informative, there was no area upon which he did not hold informed knowledge, having read widely over many years. He was never in a rush, allowing us to pace the tours at any stage, and on both days over-ran the prescribed tours by adding in extra attractions at both our and his behest. He was a pleasure to 'travel' with and I would recommend him to all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp from Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Nick Jackson is fabulously well informed, holds and communicates a balanced opinion and has an engaging style of delivery which allowed him to access and inspire each member of our party, from age 16 through to 53, and each of whom varied in areas of interest and prior knowledge. The 2 tours he conducted for us (Private Walking Tour of predominantly World War 2 Berlin) and SachsenHausen Concentration Camp were stimulating and informative, there was no area upon which he did not hold informed knowledge, having read widely over many years. He was never in a rush, allowing us to pace the tours at any stage, and on both days over-ran the prescribed tours by adding in extra attractions at both our and his behest. He was a pleasure to 'travel' with and I would recommend him to all.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. I can remember the end of WWII, and this tour put everything to perspective. Caesar was a very very good tour guide.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Gail
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a a lovely trip. It was very cold outside, but the boat was very warm and comfortable. The staff was wonderful, the food was very good! We were able to get through the buffet line near the beginning, but when my husband went back for seconds, it was still just as delicious. Several kinds of meat were served, a salad bar, vegetables, soup, and all the wine or beer you could drink. The view was beautiful from the boat, but hard to take good pictures as it was moving. It lasted three hours. There was a live band aboard, but we were on the other side of ship, so the music was nicely in the background. Many people danced, and it was quite a party! There was much laughing and fun had by all!

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Recommended for history buff! The tour was highly interesting and from our guide Finn, we get to understand more of the Third Reich history in Berlin and also discover places that the public are unaware of.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good indeed, well organised, they were aware we were coming and had prepared for a member of our part who was in a wheel chair

Doing what: Cologne Rhine River Christmas Afternoon Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message