Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 759 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bleesed with a fine weather, my 10:30 cruise has turned very enjoyable and rewarding.
I had more than enoug time to climb the tower of Cologn Cathedral before the cruise started.
And I leisurely walked along the Rhein to have a wonderful lunch at noon.

Doing what: Cologne Combo: Sightseeing Cruise and Meal at Hard Rock Cafe Cologne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour. It wAs a very humbling experience, and the memorial site is respectfully preserved. I really appreciated how honest our German guide was about World War II. She helped me see how much guilt is wrapped up in this country over that time in history. Recommended!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Afternoon Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent, the guide Emily was very friendly and full of knowledge. Warmly recommended!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend tour if you are interested in World War Two history or just want to pay your respects. Our tour guide was informative and respectful.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tarek was our guide and gave an excellent tour - it was very interesting to visit many areas relating to the cold war and to hear more about what really happened here at that time. Checkpoint Charley was not included in the tour - but we visited it the day before on our other tour.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour is a must see. It was very informational and the guide covered difficult topics with the utmost respect for the atrocities that occurred here and in other camps during the war.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Ron was incredibly knowledgeable, enthusiastic and a real pleasure to learn from. Whilst the tour focused on Cold War history, it actually covered much more than that and at the end of the five hours (ran over a tad...!) we had a much greater understanding of Berlin's history. Recommend!

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Rick, was extremely knowledgeable in Cold War history. We saw many sites throughout East Berlin of historical significance during this era.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Not much WWII history, but the Nuremberg museum was great

Doing what: Nuremberg Third Reich and Roman Empire Historical Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Calum was the guide, and he was very interesting and knowledgeable. Even though I was staying in the Prenzlauer Berg area, he pointed out many things I was not aware of. Enjoyed stopping at the Turkish market in Kreuzberg for our lunch stop. All is all, I very much enjoyed the tour, and highly recommend it.
However, it was strange that they did not have my name when I arrived for the tour. Also, your confirmation e mail should contain the meeting place as well as the time even though it is on the voucher. I spent 15 minutes figuring out where at the TV Tower Platz we were supposed to meet.

Doing what: Berlin Off-the-Beaten-Path Walking Tour: Neighborhoods of Kreuzberg, Mitte and Friedrichshain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The weather must have been waiting for us to start the tour at 3 pm because that is when the rain came down. However, the tour guide was entertaining enough to prevent me from wanting to not complete the tour by going into a cosy cafe or beer hall. I liked his jokes, especially the cat joke about 'Mein fur herr'. I looked it up on the Internet and discovered that there in fact a website devoted to fans of cats that resemble Hitler and one can submit a photo of your Hitler cat to this website and by Kitler type things like a Kitler T-shirt and bag. It was good that the guide made jokes or else the tour would have been too serious and one needs to be entertained when on holiday. The subject of Hitler is rather sensitive so it is a difficult tour perhaps to take tourists on and I think that the guide did a good job and held out well in the rain. He had a loud voice so he was easy to hear. He appeared to be really interested in the subject of Hitler, Nazis, and Munich during the bombing raids - was interesting to know that the Virgin Mary, the New Town House and the towers of the Frauenkirche were used as markers during the RAF and US Air Force bombing raids. I later learnt from reading about Munich that the Virgin Mary is the patroness of Munich. That is why she appears in several places in the town centre. I noticed her on the walls of a few buildings while during this walking tour. Perhaps the tour guide should mention this fact. I told my two landlords I stayed with during my time in Munich about the Htiler tour. I showed them the photographs I took of the plaques that are fixed to the one wall in the arch way of the New Town House leading off Marieplatz. One of them translated for me what the plaques said. The guide did not translate them both for us. He spoke about the one that is all about the destruction in Munich by the US Streitkrafte. The other one which he did not mention is about the mass migration of the people caused by WWII.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very interesting tour and informative guide, Cesar. Gave a very good insight to what happened in the final days of the war and now I'm back reading the books as it brought the texts to life.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Whatever else anyone does on a break in Berlin - do this tour. Especially if you are interested in the history of the Cold War in Berlin and how it touched people's lives.

Doing what: East Berlin and Cold War Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was fabulous! Props to Ian, extemely knowledgable, even for the most intricate details, and lots of fun!! Also thanks to Bazza for taking over towards the end of the night...he was a true hero! ; )

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding tour, George our Tour Guide took great care of us, his knowledge and humour made our daz.

Looking forward to going on our next trip with George to the Black forrest.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From the moment Herbert, our driver, picked us up at the ship, this tour was simply the most professional and enjoyable of all the tours and shore excursions we've taken! Herbert was prompt, the van was clean and comfortable, and the drive to and from the city included stops at a very clean rest stop that had a restaurant and gift shop, in addition to very clean restrooms. Our guide, Ashleigh met us at the Museumplatz, where we began our walking/riding tour of the city. Ashleigh was extremely knowledgeable, enhanced her commentary with black and white photos taken during World War II and the Cold War, and is absolutely passionate about Berlin and its history - all of which added to our visit to this incredible city. We provided Ashleigh with a list of attractions we hoped to see prior to our visit and she accommodated our requests and then some, including sharing her favorite spot for bratwurst and beer. From the Museumplatz to the Berlin Cathedral, from Humboldt University and St. Helwig's to Gendarmes Square, from many stops along the former Berlin Wall to Checkpoint Charlie, from the Holocaust Memorial to the Kaiser Wilhelm Church, from the Schloss Charlottenburg to the Unter den Linden and the K'dam - we did it all and in the company of two very professional, very friendly and accommodating people. If you only have one day in Berlin, we can't recommend Insider Tours enough!

Doing what: Warnemünde Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Berlin's World War II and Cold War Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great, great tour. Worth every minute. If you are at all interested in history this is a great way to spend a few hours. Our guide was Barnaby and he knows his history and how to explain it to non-historians. He will tell you how Karl Marx and a banana shortage in Nov 1989 are related. You see all the major Cold War places and understand at the end how silly and tragic the whole splitting of Germany and Berlin really was. They have other tours as well. We took the Potsdam tour the next day and that was a hit as well. Do it!

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing tour! I was hesitant that it would be too time-crunched and touristy, but the operators did an amazing job of spacing everything out and making sure you have the chance to take everything in at least on a topical level. Picked up a lot of great information about Munich and the area's history along the way, and really enjoyed the time wandering around in Hohenschwangau before the climb up to Neuschwanstein. Just a word of warning, the climb uphill is a pretty intensive 40-minute, all-uphill walk and there are a bunch of stairs to climb within the castle. Totally manageable for most, but some within the group were struggling with the continuous uphill part. All in all would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jamie was an absolutely fantastic guide through Berlin. Highly recommend this trip, just wear comfy walking shoes. Don't forget to tip your guide afterwards. The guides mainly work of gratuities and they most certainly earn it.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A fantastic tour. The coach trip was very comfortable and our guide was knowledgeable and very approachable. As it was a warm sunny day it made the area and the castles even more breathtaking. Stunning scenery and beautiful castles made it a perfect day. The only thing I would advise future tourists about, especially as it will become extra busy now summer is coming, is to take lunch with you or buy something at Oberamagau. The few places at Neuschwanstein selling sandwiches sold out very quickly and we didn't want to sit down and dine so had to make do with cakes etc. Apart from that a brilliant day out and well worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The straightforward presentation of the information at the memorial site was excellent and powerful. Keith, our excellent guide was very knowledgeable, informative, and personable. He also had a great speaking voice.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very sobering but rewarding tour. Our guide was well experienced and presented a sensitive day in a very professional manner.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe that everyone should attend a tour like this to see, and to learn from, the interesting and sad past of the horrors conducted around the time of WW2. This is the core message that was so amazingly delivered by our wonderful tour guide, Jared. Jared is so knowledgable and delivers outstanding information that will make this tour one of the most interesting you will attend. With his education in psychology, and vast knowledge of history, we were able to have an even better experience as he tied so much of what we were seeing and feeling deeper into the context of history and how it relates to Germany today. Absolutely wonderful job done by Jared, who even helped us once we got back on the train back to Berlin by trying to get us where we needed to go and answering any last minute questions that we may have had. I recommend anyone attending this tour to first visit the Topography of Terror in Berlin to get a solid background learning to even further help make this tour meaningful.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I always highly recommend private tours, whether they be walking or otherwise. This tour further reiterated this as we had an exceptional experience in touring Berlin. This was so much in part thanks to JJ, our amazing tour guide. While I have done many tours, I found JJ to be amongst the top of the guides that I have had with an education in history and a fantastic and sometimes wonderfully humorous touring method.

In roughly four hours, JJ took us all over Berlin and broke down an intense and expansive history of Berlin/Germany into understandable and memorable terms. He was exquisite at matching sightseeing with information retention and by the end of our tour, I felt I had seen everything I needed to see within Berlin. I would highly recommend this as a starter for anyone's trip to Berlin you will want time afterwards to dive deeper into certain buildings, or to visit certain museums - all of which JJ recommended or for anyone who does not have long in Berlin but wants to get a strong feel for the city and to view it's major attractions and even some off the beaten path. If you do purchase this tour, call the tour company who seem to be fantastic and ask if JJ is available - you won't regret it.

Note that we did walk about 11km so for anyone with mobility issues, I would use caution even though JJ was more than wonderful in letting us go at our own pace.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message