Insider's Guide to Gold Coast

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The Gold Coast is one of the most popular holiday destinations in Australia, with more than two million visitors flocking to it for their share of beachside glamor. It's a heady mix of Miami-style glitz, high-rise apartments, airport-sized shopping ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Debbie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely fantastic day

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from the Gold Coast

Rob L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing trip. Even with the boat fee and reef tax this is a great price for what you get. The accommodation, whilst basic, was good. Harry, the guide, really makes the trip. He will do anything to make sure you have a good time, and answered every question anyone threw at him. Luckily for us there was only 6 people on our tour which meant we had a more personalised time, but Harry really goes the extra mile to make sure everyone is happy.

The drive both ways is broken up into a couple of stops depending on where other guests are being picked up and the activities the group wants to do. The Snake and Reptile park was good fun, whilst the Bundaberg Rum Factory is definitely recommended! The sunset tour round 1770 is a nice end to the first day, and there are some wonderful views.

The boat trip out to the Great Barrier Reef is worth the price alone. It is a fantastic day, Lady Musgrave Island is beautiful and the glass bottom boat ride to it from the pontoon lets you get your first view of the reef. Lunch on the boat was great, lovely choice of food, and plenty of it. Snorkelling over the Reef is incredible, it really is amazing. We paid the extra to go Scuba Diving as well, and absolutely loved it. Having never Scuba'd before it was perfect for us as there was only a small group 3 for the instructor to take diving, and the high level of the reef means you are never excessively far from the surface.

We also booked a surf lesson for the final morning which was great fun, and very well priced. The meals in 1770 were good, and we were well fed throughout the 3 days.

Doing what: 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Tour: Lady Musgrave Island and the Town of 1770

karyn_lau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

animal show is amazing, long wait for most of the rides, best to go in the morning, entertaining for almost everyone

Doing what: Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea World and Wet n Wild

Xyncyn Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely worth the cost where you get to visit all 3 Theme Parks at such a saving price!

Doing what: Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea World and Wet n Wild

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We have watched Steve Irwin for many years and wanted to see what he had achieved at Australi Zoo. We were not disappointed. An excellent zoo that clearly placed the welfare of its animals at the top of its agenda.

Doing what: Australia Zoo by Croc Express Coach

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money and the trip to the reef was very informative. Harry our driver and guide for the trip was very informative and nothing was to much trouble to make the whole trip extra special

Doing what: 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Tour: Lady Musgrave Island and the Town of 1770

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a fantastic way for our family to spend Fathers Day. Wonderful commentary, and whales pretty awesome too. Thank you.

Doing what: Morning or Afternoon Gold Coast Whale Watching Cruise

joycemqsee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you have a day to spare, the additional activities is well worth the trip. Sand Tobogganing, quad biking and dolphin feeding was suburb.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an experience!
The zoo was fabulous. We saw all of the shows. Including the Tiger feeding.
The food in the zoo was surprisingly good. Healthy and tasty options available.
Water fountains around the park to fill your water bottles.
The zoo staff were fantastic.
You leave the zoo at 3.30pm. Initially we were disappointed as we thought we would be there until 5pm, however it was more than enough time to see everything. We even had time for an afternoon ice cream before the bus collected us.
We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Our coach driver was friendly and very chatty.
Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Australia Zoo by Croc Express Coach

Zhuoying L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best ever cruise experience! Me and my girlfriends had a lovely evening on board a very nice sailboat watching the sunset. The seafood dinner was fresh and delicious and the staff very friendly. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Gold Coast Sunset Cruise with Optional Seafood Dinner

Colin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent full day at the zoo. Well organised pickup and return to hotel. There was plenty of time at the zoo to attend the main show and walk the entire grounds. This would have to be the best maintained zoo I have ever seen. There was always a staff member in sight if you had any questions and the facilities were excellent. The main show is a must see so get there in time.

Doing what: Australia Zoo by Croc Express Coach

Katie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Harry was an amazing tour guide! He did a great job catering the tour to what we all as a group wanted to see and eat which made the trip. He was full of fun facts the reef was beautiful for being at the end of the barrier reef.

Doing what: 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Tour: Lady Musgrave Island and the Town of 1770

Grace Chey Sing T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great value for money, enjoy the time at theme park

Doing what: Gold Coast Theme Park Pass: Movie World, Sea World and Wet n Wild

melissakalen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved Australia Zoo and so glad we went. Perfect amount of time. Book your adventure as soon as you walk in because they fill up quickly. We posed with a giraffe and pet a cheetah and it was great! My daughter and I even rode the camels which was probably the best value of anything. Loved the tour!

Doing what: Australia Zoo by Croc Express Coach

Melissa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Booking this tour was the best decision I made when coming to Australia! Such a great deal for your money, and Harry, our tour guide made it a blast. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable, and the Great Barrier Reef day was spectacular! I already want to go back!

Doing what: 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Tour: Lady Musgrave Island and the Town of 1770

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience, new friends for life and awesome tour guide Harry! :)
Hop on the Nemo bus for an unforgettable trip!! Don't forget to remind Harry for his macadamia nutcracker and his luigi joke at dinner time! Have fun!

Doing what: 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Tour: Lady Musgrave Island and the Town of 1770

Roxanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome! Our driver was incredibly knowledgeable and fun. The zoo was outstanding. It was a great day! Thanks!

Doing what: Australia Zoo by Croc Express Coach

Mrs J H H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even on a very wet day when there were no beach activities happening this was a great tour.. They did all they could to show us different things on the island when what was planned could not happen because of the weather. It was a joy to go into the sea with the dolphins.

Doing what: Tangalooma Resort Moreton Island Day Cruise with Optional Dolphin Feeding

behnaz g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

that was amazing but unfortunatly that day was cloudy :-

Doing what: Gold Coast SkyPoint Observation Deck Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message