Granada ATTRACTIONS See all

Baños Árabes (Arab Baths)

A hallmark of Granada’s Moorish tradition is its use of water – fountains, pools, trickling streams, and of course the Baños Árabes (Arabic baths). Although it might not reach quite the glorious heights of the Sultan’s own bath (Blind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour. Amazing tour guide and friendly and assistive staff. Highly recommend. The alhambra is out of this world and this is the group to discover it with. As for the Granada Hammam (Arab Baths) they were an experience to die for. Otherworldly and relaxing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The Alhambra tour is definitely worth doing and our guide Marco was fantastic, however, we did find it a bit disorganised. We also booked for the Granada Hammam tour and the massage but in our booking they hadn't let the Hammam know that we had booked the massage so they were insisting it wasn't part of our package. After wasting a lot of time they called the tour company and finally realised the error. At that stage it had pretty much ruined the serenity of the experience. The hammam was nice but I must admit I was expecting a bit more after reading all the reviews. That may have also been because a few days prior we had the opportunity of experiencing the Hammam in Seville and it was by far and away superior - it was magic - the building was nicer and set out better, the pools were bigger and deeper and they had a salt pool and a hydrotherapy pool on top of the steam room and warm, cold and hot baths. At the session we went to at 10pm they had an orchestra play while you relaxed in the baths (I don't know if this happens at every session). If you have the choice I wouldn't bother with the Granada Hammam I would opt for the one in Seville.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The transportation to and from the hotel was extremely convenient. The tour was informative, fun, and in multiple languages. The Arab Bath was amazing! The only down side was the group we were attached to. It was mostly giggling, obnoxious, young girls that dampened the experience for the rest of the people in the baths.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

the alhambra visit was good though a big group of 30 people i prefer smaller groups if possible. the guide was good and had excellent english not so impressed with the baths, people extremely noisy despite signs, not clear where and how to go about the process and massage was minimal and just okay. leave the baths to turkey in my opinion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2012

Would not recommend in the slightest. The Alhambra tour was pretty good and I would probably do that part again. However the whole tour was a mess. I was really miss lead about how the tour operates. I was under the understanding it was one big tour when in reality it was two very separate tours. The baths were shocking. I felt really uncomfortable because of people's behaviors in the pools and I had to wait until the very end for my massage even though I was one of the first to turn up. This was not a good experience and I would not recommend it what so ever.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The guided tour of the Alhambra was brilliant, the guide was very knowledgeable and passionate which came over really well. The baths were beautifully relaxing and just right after a day sightseeing. A great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The Alhambra is fantastic and, luckily, there weren't that many people. Our guide was well-informed and had a great personality. Since this was a birthday to myself, I opted for the baths. Certainly worth it. I was a little nervous about how I would know it was my turn for the massage because I was lounging in the sauna and the hot water area - I thought I had missed it. After a half hour of lounging, I asked the guy and he said another 30 minutes. Aaahhhhhh!!!! - more lounging - fantastic. I really enjoyed my day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Tour was satisfactory, better directions to the Baths would be helpful. Alhambra itself is beautiful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The Alhambra is gorgeous and the gardens really set it apart from other historic buildings. I appreciated the information the guide gave to help me appreciate my surroundings. Also, the strict rules about when to see what would have been impossible to decipher without a guide. I'm glad I decided to upgrade to the Arab bath with a massage. It was very relaxing and different from other touristy things. It wasn't crowded and it's unlike any activity in America that I can think of. The baths are separate from the Alhambra and slightly hard to find. It's in an alley further down from the tourist office in Plaza Nueva. The massage lasted about 20 mins. There are lockers when you can change into your swimsuit and store you stuff. No cameras allowed. Also, if you want to freshen up afterwards bring a brush. There are plenty of mirrors, lotions and hair dryers in the locker rooms.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My wife and I had just finished a bicycle tour from Seville to Granada. On the tour we visited many Moorish ruins, including baths.We had an excellent guide on our trip to explain the baths and their workings but it never came together until we experienced the bath. With the limited number of persons admitted, we were truly lost in time. The incense,candles,and music,along with the hot room, cold room, steam room,tea room, and pools gave a sense of what it was like a thousand years ago. The experience was unparalleled. Rick Lang Canada

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Spain doesn't have very good free wifi so I booked my tour last minute from a McDonald's then proceeded on a train to a hostel in Granada. Come to find out, it was necessary for me to confirm my hotel pick up by phone or internet, which was not at my disposal. By the time I checked into my hostel this was impossible so I did not get picked up from my hostel. Thanks to my hostel receptionist, I found my way to Alhambra by bus. The tour guide was adequate though at times his English was not that great. Some things were lost in translation like for instance, he said our tour included free wine and tapas and when I asked about this later, he said what are you talking about, that place is already closed. The whole experience of being guided through the massive Alhambra and Generalife in a structured manner and concluding it with the most relaxing time in the Arab baths was a grand experience and you could forgive the disorganization of having to find your own way to the Alhambra in the first place. Let's just say you have to be a little resourceful with this tour company, a little Spanish goes a long way but you won't regret the overall experience. If you were even more resourceful, you could probably buy the whole experience 20 euros cheaper on your own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This tour was a disaster. First, we were never picked up by the bus and instead had to find our own way on the public bus to the Alhambra. We were constantly calling the number provided by Viator only to get " this number is not in service" messages. Once up there, we could not locate the tour in the designated meeting place and were put on another tour with a guide who spoke very fast and was boring. They took our vouchers which left us with nothing to show for the arab baths. Once we got ourselves to the arab baths, no help to the tour, they were the high point of the day. My recommendation, don't do this tour just book them in advance on your own. Its cheaper and less stressful. Arab baths are definitely worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

I would like to state that the Alhambra is really quite amazing, though it is under renovation. The guide was knowledgeable and very pleasant, though I don't think that the adding of the tour guide made it worth doubling the price. Also , the group that one is suppose to contact, Granada vision, was a little lax in being on time, or even matching the time on the voucher. No one in the tourist office or the Alhambra knew anything about them, this should be changed as finding any one in that area is hard. I was asked about where I was staying, but sent to a predetermined pickup point, which is fine, it should just be noted on the voucher where the pick up points are so the traveler can chose one.As for the Arab baths, it was amazing, and I highly recommend them as an add-on. As I traveled around Spain after, I would recommend them to anyone I met who was going to Granada. Also, the price in Granada is less than the Arab baths in other cities, and so so nice. I can't speak highly enough about them.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

The Alhambra tour was fantastic. The guide informative and the place stunning. But when it came to the Arab Baths and massage the organization fell apart. There was no tour. We were dropped off and pointed in the vague direction of the bath. Our Alhambra tour ended at one PM. We expected to start our Bath tour within an hour to make up the eight hour tour. We were told after multiple calls and confusion that our massage was scheduled for six PM. NIT ACCEPTABLE

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

This tour was great, very informative. The baths and the massage were too short though.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message