• USD ($)
  • English

Granada ATTRACTIONS See all

Generalife Gardens

The Generalife was built as a summer palace for the Muslim emirs, a place of retreat where they could kick back with their harems and take some time away from the world. Its charming gardens – undoubtedly the highlight of the Generalife - are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Our tour guide was very nice. Granted, the carvings and mosaics and gardens are lovely, but the place is soul less. If I were the tour guide I would struggle to inject any joyful interesting commentaries to the tourists. Talk about the lifestyle and customs as opposed to a long winded very forgetful list of names and dates. The amount of guards on the doors and the ridiculous amount of times we had to have our tickets scanned makes you think there must be the crown jewels in there rather than endless empty rooms. I have visited places all over the world and there is NOTHING special about the Alhambra and it's ridiculously expensive to see it! I will tell anyone who asks me to avoid it as it's a complete waste of time and money. Sorry.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The guide had great knowledge of the local history and an obvious love of his country and what had transpired. Good descriptions of the buildings, grounds, use. We happened to be touring on a cold, wet day, but if the weather had been better (and later in season), I would have wanted more time to go through the gardens, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent would highly recommend this trip. Very informative, fantastic views and gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour of Alhambra was wonderful. Our guide was organized and provided us with the history of this wonderful area. It was paced very well so that we got to see both the Gardens and the Palace leisurely.
My only complaint was the listening system. It was very staticky and at times was difficult to hear the guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed this tour of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens. Our guide Antonio was excellent. The only hiccup was the pick up - we were told to be at the pick up location at a particular time and we waited 40 mins for our pick up which was a bit off putting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I had a great time with a great guide for this tour. He was informative and easy to understand. I led all the history he included in his narrative. the pickup at the hotel was great as well. I stayed later and had lunch in the village and took photos i the gardens so I returned to my hotel with a nice walk.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great. We were picked up and taken directly to the Alhambra. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. Everything was very accessable. The gardens were beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is a very overcrowded sight and skipping the line was a bonus!!! Our guide was knowledgeable and her commentary was easy to follow. Don't judge the quality of the tapas and Spanish red wine by the complimentary sample given on the tour. Tres ordinaire, however the gardens were well worth the experience as was the Moorish architecture. Both moorish to the point were we want more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a beautiful tour. The Place and the gardens. This is one not to miss!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a beautiful tour. The Place and the gardens. This is one not to miss!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a wonderful way to visit the Alhambra - very informative and, on the whole, hassle-free. We didn't have to worry about booking tickets on-line or queuing early in the morning to buy tickets on the day. There was some anxiety for us, however, at the very beginning when we couldn't find our group at the designated meeting place (one of the car parks near the ticket booth.) In the information provided to us before the tour, the instruction was to phone the night before if you required hotel pick-up from your centrally-located hotel. As our hotel was only 15 minutes walk away we didn't bother. We arrived in the car park to find it swarming with people, all belonging to one group or another. We were somewhat worried that our group had entered the Alhambra without us. After asking various group leaders for help (including one who went to considerable trouble to try and catch a group leader who had been looking for someone but had already taken their group in), someone informed us that the Viator tour office was actually in a visitor information centre over the road. So I went to investigate while my husband hovered around the main gate, in case anyone was looking for us. It eventuated that, yes, the Viator tour meeting place was, in fact, in the visitor centre and, much to our relief, they hadn't left yet, even though it was well after 10 am. It seems that, although we hadn't rung the night before, they had gone to our hotel anyway to collect us. So, to avoid confusion all round, we would recommend using the hotel pick-up, even if you are staying nearby! Then, at least, you are with the group from the start. As for the actual tour, our guide spoke English well, was interesting and moved us through each section at a good pace. We had a short break for a small complimentary drink and tapas snack in a well-stocked souvenir shop, with toilets nearby. After the tour, we were free to remain in the Generalife gardens and to wander around the "city" again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The tour lasted over 3 hours. Most of the time was spent in the gardens. I thought that the tour of the palaces would include living quarters and furnishings. It only included two court yards and 3 throne rooms. There were sever checkpoints where we had to show our tickets. The tour guide told us after the "last one" that we would not need the tickets anymore. My wife discarded hers then when we were being led back to the bus we had to go through another checkpoint. We could not go through it and could not get to the bus. We had to take a taxi back to our hotel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The Alhambra and gardens were fantastic of course. We had booked an English speaking guide. However, on arrival we were put together with a mostly Spanish speaking group. Therefore the guide spoke a lot of Spanish and very little English. I think we missed out on a lot. Certainly from what I could hear other English guides saying. That was very disappointing. If I book an English speaking guide, I think I should get one. I felt that we would have been better off doing the self guided tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

We had booked this tour as we had done a similar Skip the Line tour at the Vatican earlier this year.
The Vatican tour was very busy but went like clockwork. The Alhambra and gardens tour does not have the same easy flow, gaining entrance through the visitor centre is a shambles, you are literally herded into language speaking groups. Everything is timed and the ticket you are given is checked at
Least 6 times, which means 6 separate queues, in the space of 1 hour and 45 minutes in the Alhambra. The attraction is that badly organised, it is literally jostle to take a photo and move on the the next spot.
You then get about an hour at a brisk pace through the gardens.
The pace of our tour had nothing to do with our guide, a lovely knowledgable lady called Ima, she simply did not have the time to share her knowledge.
The Alhambra Palace is worth a visit and is very interesting, however, I would have preferred more time in the gardens which are truly stunning.
Ima was great, but the company has to learn from the ease of a similar and busier tour at the Vatican.
One thing I will say is that if possible, visit Granada, the city is superb.
Mike

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Terrific tour with a very knowledgable guide. We loved the Nasrid Palaces and the Generalife Gardens especially. Although there was a lot of ground to cover, our guide, Enrique, did a fantastic job of making the Alhambra accessible and we came away with a very good sense of the history and lore of this UNESCO heritage site. Highly recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message