Granada ATTRACTIONS See all

Generalife Gardens

The Generalife was built as a summer palace for the Muslim emirs, a place of retreat where they could kick back with their harems and take some time away from the world. Its charming gardens – undoubtedly the highlight of the Generalife - are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Picked up on time from hotel. Medium sized groups of roughly 12 people were formed and walked through the entire Alhambra and Generalife gardens. Following the tour you have the option to get back on the bus and head back to your hotel or walk to the town center through the Alhambra gardens.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour. Bus pick up from hotel on time. Groups of roughly 12 people formed. Tour the entire Alhambra and gardens then you have the option to continue back to the hotel by bus or walk down into the town through the gardens which is what most people chose. Great tour well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enrique L. was a great guide. The Alhambra and Generalife Gardens speak for themselves as a worthy destination. It is very crowded and difficult to book on your own, so I highly recommend this tour. It's worth every penny for the history, and ease of travel to and from the site.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

LGAB
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A great tour of the beautiful Alhambra and Generalife Gardens. Our guide, Fernando, was excellent - one of the best tour guides we've ever had. It is SO important to have a guide that is informed, interesting, enthusiastic and intelligible - and Fernando had all of those qualities. Just be warned, there is A good amount of walking involved, and the Alhambra grounds are pretty difficult to walk on, so definitely wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was not entirely impressed with the tour guide for this tour. We did the tour in Italian and English. It seemed like he was focusing more on speaking proper English and there was no inflection in his stories which made them boring and flat. When we went into the actual palace neither my cousin or I heard him say anything about the fountain with the lions (the most recognizable part of the Alhambra). When asked about the fountain on the way back to the bus after the tour he just casually said that yes he did say something about it. It seemed that he didn't enjoy what he was doing. We also toured the gardens first and then the palace and it seemed like he took too long in the gardens and quickly sped through the palace.

The Spanish guide seemed like she really liked what she was doing even though we didn't see or hear her since we weren't in that group so I don't want to say the entire company does a bad job, but I was not impressed in the least by our tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Alhambra is amazing and the gardens are beautiful. Our guide was raised in Granada and very knowledgeable about its history

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic tour, one of the best that we have ever been on, and our tour guide, Gustavo, is one of the best tour guides we have ever experienced. He combined humor, charm and incredible knowledge about not just the Alhambra and the gardens but about the local and regional history as well. It is obvious he loves his job. This is a place not to be missed and this tour is well worth it. Ask for Gustavo!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

AMAZING!! This is the way to see the Alhambra. This tour picks you up at your hotel, organises your tour guide and takes you back to your hotel. Great stuff. And the tour guide through the Alhambra was brilliant. He was passionate about the site and the history, which made the tour all the more interesting. The only negative was that our ticket did not include the Generalife Gardens for some reason? Still, it was worth it

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The organisation for this tour was perfect - transport pick up on time - timing of tour just enough without being tiring. Our guide was excellent - enthusiastic presentation - very fluent in her descriptions and historical accounts. Our group loved the time spent in Generalife gardens before we explored the Palace and fortress. Surprisingly the presence of many other simultaneous tours did not interrupt our access to the many sites of Alhambra.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Was better than expected, a bit confused at the beginning as they sorted over 100 people into groups. But the gardens were in flower and very nice to wander through in spite of the crowds, and time passed quickly. Our guide was good, as a rule I hate tours, but only way to do this I think and it was done as well as can be expected in one of the worlds " most famous " sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Great to jump the queue, informative guide, bonus walk through town after gardens! Absolutely loved the Alhambra!!! Tour slow to start as we gathered participants from different places and then spent more time replacing broken headsets.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

This tour had the potential to be amazing, as you would expect, but a number of aspects made it less than expected. Firstly, the tour pick up is stated as between 9.15am and 9.45am. Upon arrival at our hotel we were give a message that it would be 8.45am. A small issue and easily overlooked, had it not been for what followed. Upon arrival at Alhambra we were handballed around 2-3 guides, and ultimately had no idea who was our original guide or what company we were with - which was problematic given the sheer number of people milling around at the monument. There were 8 of us on the english speaking tour, and I gather we were merged with another group due to the small number. At no time did I hear the guide introduce herself, she had no visible tour group operator identifiers on her person (often they carry an item to ensure they are visible to the group) and unfortunately her English was well below what you would expect when an english-speaking tour is booked. The bulk of the visit was pleasant, even if we couldn't always understan what the guide was saying, and she also rambled a bit in places and it was overall a somewhat disjointed commentary. Still, we were grateful for the opportunity to be shown the main sights without wandering around aimlessly on our own - the site in its entirety is massive. Anyway, after two hours the guide announced that the Alhambra tour was complete and we could either decide to stay and wander around the free parts of Alhambra on our own, or walk down to the city and continue the tour by visiting the exterior of the cathedral and a few other spots. This caused much confusion, as the tour page states, the tour is of Alhambra and Genralife Gardens, with pick up and drop off at your hotel by minibus. The 8 of us who started together were very confused and the guide knew nothing about the minibus drop off. All in all, this was very disorganised and we felt we had no choice but to walk back.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It was very convenient having a pick up and drop off from my hotel as well as no lining up for entrance. The length - around 2.5 - 3.0 hrs and the pace of the tour was just enough for me, you will have time to take photos and go to the washrooms if needed. I felt that we covered the must see spots of the Alhambra and Generalife. For those who wish to stay in the gardens after the tour you are able to do so if you feel that 3.00 hrs were not enough. Our guide was very knowledgeable and humorous.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I liked Alhambra a lot! The ruins are nice, gardens - beautiful, but the Nasrid palace is AWSOME!!!
+ Enrique (our guide) who told us a lot of stories related to the Alhambra made this trip very pleasant.
Thanks for this great experiance!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent! We were able to skip the line to get into Alhambra, which saved us some time since the lines can get quite long. Our guide was really informative and taught us all about the history and the architecture of the palace and the gardens. It's such a beautiful place to see, and you really have to see it in person! Photos don't do it justice. I had a great time and learned so much!!! I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message