Granada ATTRACTIONS See all

Generalife Gardens

The Generalife was built as a summer palace for the Muslim emirs, a place of retreat where they could kick back with their harems and take some time away from the world. Its charming gardens – undoubtedly the highlight of the Generalife - are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour-lots of info. Gus was a funny guide. We really enjoyed the Palace and gardens and Gus pointed out much that we would not have known about

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Cynthia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour was comprehensive in terms of viewing each area of the site. It was not comprehensive in terms of history--the combination of Moors, Jews, and Catholics in Spain is both exciting and intriguing but little of this was given any attention in the tour. I think tours in Toledo do a much better job. I also think that Córdoba has much to offer in terms of gardens and Moorish architecture. I am glad that we went and if you haven't seen the Alhambra it is definitely a must in Granada.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Katie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We got picked up and dropped off by bus, completely stress free. The palace and gardens are absolutely beautiful and our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Paula F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The tour was a waste. And the sign-up was deceptive. We thought we were having a private tour. Instead, we were part of a group of 30 their maximum that were herded through the buldings and gardens by an unenthusiastic guide. It would have been much less expensive and more informative to rent an audioguide and do it on our own. The subcontractor Granavision was unresponsive to emails and phone calls prior to our trip. Viatour let us down on this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Griselda A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up at our hotel in s timely manner and tour of thr Alhambra and Generalife Gardens was very thorough and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Katherine R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We are glad that we purchased this Viator tour as we would not seen half as much if we had attempted to tour on our own. The Alhambra and Gardens are huge and you need a minimum of 4 hours to do it justice. Our guide William was lovely and most informative. Would recommend this Tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

GI Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Antonio was wonderful, informative and passionate about the Palace and gardens.
Super tour one not to miss, lots of history and interesting facts, we learnt lots.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Kenneth V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a long tour - very informative, interesting. At the end you can continue the tour in town or head to the Generalife Gardens. We chose to go back in to town. We walked back to town much closer than you think and thought our guide was terrific Bea.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Eurotrip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Alhambra was AMAZING. The staff at Granavision and the Alhambra...not so much. Incredible lack of communication and direction. We were all given ONE ticket and we ALL asked the tourguide if he was giving the tour of the Gardens. He said that he didn't work for the gardens, only the Alhambra and that we could go back to the tour office after the tour to find out about the gardens. After the Alhambra tour we went ALL the way back to the Granavision tour office only to find out there was a mistake and that we needed separate tickets for the gardens and palace there. We hoofed it ALL the way back to the gardens where two people collecting tickets only spoke Spanish, refused to let us in, and kept pointing for us to return to the Alhambra Palaces. Frustrated we walked ALL the way back to the entrance to ask a lady how the tickets work. She began yelling at us telling us that the tickets we had DID work for the entrance to the gardens. We walked ALL the way back to the gardens where miraculously the tickets worked. This dampened an experience that should have been great. Lots of NO COMMUNICATION and DIRECTION forcing you to ask for direction and communication only to be yelled at for asking. We found this to be very common in Spain altogether. Alhambra AMAZING! Granavision and staff at Alhambra Get your act together. Communicate! Give clear directions! Do better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Siegfried K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An amazing trip along the spanish history. Great buildings and garden. A competend guide, spoken very well german.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Michelle Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The tour was as marketed, we got to get into the Alhambra and Gardens and did not have to wait in line. However, the hotel pickup was very confusing since we had waited for them outside our hotel at the specified time but the company had planned for us to take a taxi to meet up with the group which the company did pay for. The guide showed us all the key sites but he was not very enthusiastic and I would have liked to get more background on the different parts of the Alhambra.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

blackbotom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

First of all, I'm not a big fan of this kind of tour. But it was a good solution to visit the Alhambra since there was no tickets left on direct sales.

- Crowded, group of 27 people. For me it's nice only if you can escape the group and crowd.
- Hotel pick up is not really true. You have to walk to a meeting point. Mine was very closeby my hotel Puerta Real, but pick up was 30 min late and coach has to make 2 other stops. I could have had time to go to the Alhambra by myself bus. Also note you can't choose your pick up slot 1.15 or 3.15pm. At the end we started the visit after 4.30pm for a scheduled pick up time at 3.15pm. Since they have to transfer us from the bus to their office in the Alhambra to pick up headphones and tickets, then from their office to the entrance then meet up and mix us with another group. Distances are not far. When there's 4-6 people this is quick but when you're 27 it's an other story. So the 'skipping line' was rather poor and actually most of the waiting was causing by the fact that we were creating the line!
- Regarding information given during the tour. It was rather average. Tour guide was nice and informative but if you're looking for interesting facts I would recommand to hire a private guide. This is more common knowledge.
- After the tour finished we were able to spend time on our own in the gardens if we wanted to. I went back on my own and didn't use the drop off option. Only a few went back with the bus. Note that you can't re-enter all places and if you go to the last afternoon slot, lighting won't be the same pictures.

I highly recommend going to see the Palace and Gardens, but not with this kind of tour group. When you do the maths it doesn't worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Robin J USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide, Alberto, was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and fun. The Alhambra was amazing as were the gardens well worth the effort.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Ravindra W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A little too long. Took an hour to get in after meeting the group and the kids were bored. The garden is beautiful and the tour took us thru the gardens first which was wonderful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Fred D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The Alhambra and the Garden tour was worth it. The guide was knowledeable and made the experience enjoyable. The reason for 3 stars is the pick up and drop off arrangements. We were told to meet outside a souvenir shop and to arrive early. We got there early and had to wait outside. It was hot. There were no seats. The bus was late. When It did arrive a young man escorted us a few blocks to get on the bus. The bus dropped us off at the tour operator's facility where we could use the WC, snack bar and have a photo taken. We were broken down into groups and escorted to the garden part of the tour. We had a late admission time to the Alhambra. When we finished the tour I felt like we were being rushed back to the bus. We had a hard time keeping up with the guide. We were did get on the bus the driver was told the pick up locations so he could make the drop offs. The driver stopped at one hotel to let people off, then drove to a place where he told us to walk. He pointed in the direction we needed to go. If we hadn't been in that area the night before, we would have been lost. Pick up and drop off needs improvement.
Also with this survey...I should be told to log in first before my review, otherwise whatever is written is lost.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Ildiko B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The pickup was late, we had to call twice because we weren't sure whether they left us there or what. Once on the tour, it was difficult to hear the guide properly because the audio system wasn't clear enough. It was much better to just hang close to the guide and have one ear without the headphones. We didn't have enough time to see places properly, we were just being rushed from one side to the other. The guide herself was nice and helpful though, appreciated and she did mention that we can stay longer and enjoy the gardens if we wanted to. We only bought this because it was the only ticket available. For the amount we paid, I would've expected a bit more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Sofi W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The area is well worth a visit! Spectacular views, gardens and buildings.
Unfortunately the guide's English had a strong Spanish accent, which made it hard to understand, especially for our teenagers.
The guidance was also hard to follow due to the poor language in total in both pronunciation and incoherency. We can unfortunately not recommend the guided tour due to the English guide.
The logistics and arrangement worked out fine!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Edelweiss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Alhambra and Generalife is a wonderful experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff at Granavision were very friendly and helpful and the guide, Alberto, was excellent. Unusually, besides being very knowledgeable about the site and the history of the area, he also had an encyclopedic knowledge of the plants and flowers in the grounds. It added a layer of depth to the tour.

The tour is a little rushed and the palaces themselves are fantastic, but crammed full of people. The Alhambra do a creditable job of limiting the number of tourists they allow in per day, but it still ends up being a scrum in the palace buildings. My advice would be to do the tour and then to do a second visit without a tour as you will then have your bearings and will be able to take your time through the gardens and other parts of the site. It is huge and gorgeous.

I highly recommend this tour and Alberto, the guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Jean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour, not to be missed! Our hotel pick up was on time, however, we had to return to one hotel to pick up people who were not ready the first time we stopped there. Once we got to the tour office, there was some confusion in getting people into groups - I felt sorry for the ladies trying to organise everyone - but one can understand the importance of restricting each group to 30. Our tour guide Esther was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable - she obviously loves Granada, the Alhambra and the Gardens. We had 2 1/2 hours visiting the Generalife Gardens and Alcazaba before our allotted entry time to the Alhambra - loved every minute of the afternoon. We took the option to walk back down into town.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Robyn L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Alhambra is a beautiful place and the guide was very informative. He also gave us some very good tips on what to do in Granada which was very helpful. I would recommend this tour but suggesting taking the option of walking through the gardens to the town as we had to wait for quite a while for the bus to take us back.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

suefox100

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very informative guide - Eduardo - from whom we learnt a lot but felt the tour was a little long by the end everyone was wilting in the extreme heat! One or two too many houses and not long enough in the gardens. Very well organised though and overall, worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Yvonne Marina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a huge problem trying to book tickets from UK. Viator came to our rescue and were brilliant. Fantastic, amazing, not to be missed tour. Guide was lovely. So much to see and so interesting. Suggest afternoon tour better as you can stay in gardens after official tour and it's cooler.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Frederick T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful guided tour of the Alhambra and Gardens. Small group and extremely knowledgable guide Antonio made this experience one to remember. Tours are not normally my thing, but I would do this one over in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Rachael N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

We would highly recommend going to see the Palace and Gardens, they are stunning. What let the rating down was our experience being in a tour group. We started off a few minutes late as some people were late which meant we began rushed. I counted about 27 of us and some were English and some were Spanish which meant that our guide had to say everything twice which didn't flow very well. Our guides translation was not great either which meant we had to really concentrate hard to work out what she was trying to say. It wasn't a pleasant experience and we didn't learn that much about the palace. Also because everything was said twice the commentary didn't flow very well and we didn't have time to ask questions. When we were in the main part of the palace we felt very rushed, didn't have much time to look around at the detail and take photos. After the tour finished we were able to spend time on our own in the gardens if we wanted to. A few people commented on how disappointed they were with the tour. We went back to the visitor centre to complain but we were told this is the way the tours are run and that the palace is very busy so you don't get much time inside. I would recommend the palace and gardens but either go on your own or with a private guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Edward O

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Our first part of the tour to Alhambra was fantastic. The guide was so knowledgeable. The tour of Generalife Gardens was not good because it was hurried. We had 2 different guides who repeated much of the same information.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message