Granada ATTRACTIONS See all

Generalife Gardens

The Generalife was built as a summer palace for the Muslim emirs, a place of retreat where they could kick back with their harems and take some time away from the world. Its charming gardens – undoubtedly the highlight of the Generalife - are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I liked Alhambra a lot! The ruins are nice, gardens - beautiful, but the Nasrid palace is AWSOME!!!
+ Enrique (our guide) who told us a lot of stories related to the Alhambra made this trip very pleasant.
Thanks for this great experiance!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent! We were able to skip the line to get into Alhambra, which saved us some time since the lines can get quite long. Our guide was really informative and taught us all about the history and the architecture of the palace and the gardens. It's such a beautiful place to see, and you really have to see it in person! Photos don't do it justice. I had a great time and learned so much!!! I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A comprehensive, informative tour of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Beautiful walk through this awe inspiring fortress. The views of Granada are spectacular. If you're traveling here in the summer, take the morning tour to avoid the hottest time of the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide made the experience especially worthwhile. For us it was just enough time to see Alhambra and Generalfie Gardens. We had been advised to purchase tickets in advance and are glad we did. They make sure you are set with a group in you chosen language and all runs smoothly. Would recommend to other travelers.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Somewhat spoilt by lengthy delay to start tour, apparently due to an issue with tickets. We were asked to meet at a pre-arranged spot at 0930 and had to wait for over an hour for others to be collected, met etc. A better idea would be to have one place everyone meets (except those close to Alhambra) rather than one here, one there - and why wait for latecomers? If they're not on time, they should miss out - as happens in the real world. People should be warned they must be on time or miss out on the tour, otherwise people who inconvenience others are rewarded, and those who were on time are punished - doesn't make sense. Once the tour started, our guide Tariq was very good, well informed and pleasant - probably too much so as we had a couple of idiots in the party. Also, we though the group too big - about 12 - 15 people would work better. Since the Alhambra we have seen other, better, places in Spain, e.g. Alcazar in Seville, fantastic - especially the gardens. However we were pleased to visit the Alhambra.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Felt very rushed through the tour, but especially when walking through the gardens. Kept losing sight of the tour guide and thus wasn't able to hear the explanations very well. I guess the Alhambra is the star attraction and will be crowded at all times, so this tour was a very superficial overview. In order to get a better feel for the place, visit it again on your own with an audio guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I couldn't have been more pleased with the tour. The bus showed up on time and our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a passion explaining the history of Alhambra and the gardens. I would recommend victor tours and plan on using them in the future.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Our guide was great, very knowledgable and a nice guy. The tour would be more engaging if a colour map and some historical notes (a booklet) was included with the tour. It also would have been a nicer experience we could have stopped in the gardens, after the tour was finished for a glass of wine and cheese and had a chance to chat to our guide.
In general there were too many people in the alhambra for the tour to be an enjoyable experience, like everyone, we were rushed through each area with only a couple of seconds at each location.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Well worth while. A must for all to see. The gardens were wonderful. Guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Paul N
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We booked this tour because we couldn't find tickets for the self guided tour. Alhambra Palaces are a great place to visit. We were coming from Seville and after visiting the Real Alcazar in Seville we were used to the architecture, however we found the Nasrid Palace to have the most beautiful Moorish architecture. Unfortunately we got soaked by rain during the Generalife Gardens tour, something we didn't expect in Granada, but only the tour guide with his good sense of humor and knowledgeable information saved it for us! The tour company still needs to work a bit on the organization of the pick up part. Overall it was a good tour, I would recommend it to those who don't have time or interest to visit on their own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The guided tour of the Alhambra and Generalife gardens was well organised. We were given very clear instructions about where to collect our tickets and to join up with the tour guide. The English speaking guide was knowledgeable and the audio equipment to hear her commentary worked well. Calling the tour a 'half day tour' is a little misleading - our tour started at 4.15pm and ended at 6.50pm - hardly a half day!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

First of all, when I booked the tour, it gave me options of morning and afternoon. The afternoon time said 2:00 - 4:00, so I figured that meant that we would be touring during that time period. When we got to Granada, I was told that we would be picked up at 3:45 at the hotel and that our tickets to tour the palace were for 5:00. Not a huge problem, but we had a flight out that night, so I was concerned about getting enough time to tour. I called the local operator and had a hard time trying to explain my situation and their reply was "the Alhambra closes at 8:00 anyway." Very misleading in terms of when the tour would be. We made sure to be at our hotel at 3:45 to get picked up and the bus did not arrive to get us until 4:10. When we arrived at the Alhambra, we were hurried to the tour guide, who was fussing about our late start and how we might not be able to accomplish everything. The group was way too big - 28, I believe, and only two of the people spoke Spanish, but the tour guide had to repeat everything twice because of those two people. Why don't they have the groups separated by language? We were RUSHED through and given very little time to really absorb and take in the beautiful place. I had tried to ask the local company if we could just go up and walk around the grounds on our own before the tour started and was told no. Turns out that we could have gone up there because there are parts of the grounds where you can walk around. You do have to have a ticket for the Palaces and the Generalife Gardens and they are very strict with how many people are allowed to enter. If I went back, I would research it better and possibly try to book something through the hotel I was staying at. Or possibly, bite the bullet and do a private tour. Our tour guide was good in terms of keeping us on schedule and we did get to see most of it, but it felt very rushed and if you stopped to take a picture, you would get left behind.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens with Viator was great. Very well organised and our tour guide was excellent. The only thing I would say was that it was a large group and we were moved through very quickly, so it felt a bit rushed. However, it was great that we were able to stay longer after the tour and go back to anywhere we wanted to spend more time at on our own. Viator saved us time with the prepaid ticket and were value for money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Our tour guide was very nice. Granted, the carvings and mosaics and gardens are lovely, but the place is soul less. If I were the tour guide I would struggle to inject any joyful interesting commentaries to the tourists. Talk about the lifestyle and customs as opposed to a long winded very forgetful list of names and dates. The amount of guards on the doors and the ridiculous amount of times we had to have our tickets scanned makes you think there must be the crown jewels in there rather than endless empty rooms. I have visited places all over the world and there is NOTHING special about the Alhambra and it's ridiculously expensive to see it! I will tell anyone who asks me to avoid it as it's a complete waste of time and money. Sorry.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The guide had great knowledge of the local history and an obvious love of his country and what had transpired. Good descriptions of the buildings, grounds, use. We happened to be touring on a cold, wet day, but if the weather had been better (and later in season), I would have wanted more time to go through the gardens, etc.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message