For those visiting the Grand Canyon in winter, there are some essential planning tips and recommendations you should keep in mind. During winter the North Rim is closed, although the South Rim is still an excellent option full of scenic hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The train ride was great. We had children with us from age 5 yrs. to 18 yrs. and they had a great time. The entertainment on the train was a lot of fun. The Marshalls interacted with the kids and made us all laugh. My only disappointment was the bus tour of the Canyon was to short we only got to stop twice to view the Canyon and didn't get to see any of the building that were there. I didn't realize this when I booked the trip as I might have decided to stay over night so we could see more. Our guide on the bus was very informative. All in all the trip was great. Trip to short.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed our train ride and tour of the Grand Canyon very much! Enjoyed the singing and the snacks that we got on the train. The buffet was delicious. The bus tour was very enlightening and we stopped at different places to get a good view of the different areas of the Grand Canyon. I was a little bit diappointed in the train robbery felt the robber rushed through our part of the train. It could have been because our train left a half hour later than we were supposed to . Over all I would do it again.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great trip to take with my grandkids. They enjoyed the train, especially the "train robbery" on the return trip. The PSA in our car (Kathie with a K) was very knowledgable and a lot of fun. We also enjoyed the musicians that entertained on both legs of the trip. The bus tour we took at the Grand Canyon was enjoyable, the driver/guide was informative and we stopped at a couple of great viewing spots on the south rim. Such a beautiful and magnificent place to visit. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the buffet lunch. I originally booked without the lunch because I knew it would be a waste for 2 small children (and it was!) but I was called and told only the tour with the lunch was available so I paid the extra for it. So I basically spent around $60 so I could eat a little and they each had a drink and a piece of bread. More kid-friendly foods like hot dogs, burgers, pizza, jello, would be a vast improvement for visitors with families. I didn't think the food I ate was anything special or worth the cost, either, would have rather spent that time and money exploring the venues in the town at the South Rim. My recommendation is to take the train, the bus tour if it's your first visit and try to book it without the lunch since there are good options at other places.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have been on the rim twice and on the River for 7 days. If you can, ride the River. If not, the train is a wonderful experience. The view of the Canyon is breathtaking. All people involved with the experience are very special and gifted people as they keep you entertained throughout the ride. If you need medical help for any reason, it comes quickly and with compassion and expertise. I highly recommend the train trip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip. Laura, the "MC" of our Rail Car was excellent and made the trip a real joy. . . . laughing, involving everyone and also very informative. The brunch was very lack-luster but acceptable. The bus tour was fantastic. . . we had enough time at the 3 stops and learned a great deal about the Canyon, history and facts. I'll recommend this every day!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good for history learning..

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time. The guide on the bus tour was fantastic, very informative. On the train the guides were pleasant and offered many interesting facts about the area that the train traveled through. Want to take the grand kids on the Polar Express in December.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first visit to the Grand Canyon and we had a tight time frame so this was a "perfect" way to experience the majestic beauty of the canyon without having to worry about parking, if you're making a "wrong" turn or where you're going to eat. We set out on the train from Williams, AZ--very relaxing, and I was finally able to enjoy the scenery after a 27 hr car drive there! We booked first-class both ways on the train and it was worth the reclining seats and extra leg room! Once at the canyon we loaded onto our bus--first stop was the Buffet Lunch! Pretty basic but there was no waiting in any line so we were off to see what we came to see within a half hour!! The bus took us to two different areas of the south rim where we were able to spend about a half hour at each site--breath-taking views!! There was still about an hour of "free" time left once the bus tour was over so plenty of time to continue exploring the south rim and a visit to the gift shops! I would definitely recommend this tour if you're a first-time visitor to the Grand Canyon!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our trip was absolutely awesome. I've been to the Grand Canyon a couple of times but taking the train was worth every penny. It started out with a Wild West show that actually continued on the train ride to and fro. We then boarded the train. Got a wonderful view of the country side including wild life animals. Our guide on the train was very informative and funny. They had entertainment on the trip, the young men playing and singing were incredibly talented. After arriving at the Grand Canyon we boarded the bus and he took us to lunch which was delicious and filling. We then boarded the bus where Oscar, our tour guide gave a trip around the south rim with a few scenic stops. Oscar was funny and very informative. The train trip back was exciting as they had a train robbery. Very interactive trip with lots of laughs. I suggest doing taking this trip, it's worth it!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent movie, excellent facility and staff! Highly recommend! VIATOR is a great company to do business with. I Will choose them over and over again! Priced right, variety of tours offered, EXCELLENT!!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a fantastic time! Train ride was amazing and the people working on the train were always aware of our needs. Once we got to the Grand Canyon, the bus tour was a great idea and we were given plenty of time at each stop to enjoy the views! Our bus tour guide did a great job.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had so much fun! The train ride was awesome, such majestic views (before we even got to the Grand Canyon). Once at the Grand Canyon we were overcome with the "grandness" of it all!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great experience! We took the train from Williams, AZ on New Years Day with our four children (ages 15, 17, 19, and 20). They LOVED it! The train ride was perfect (we opted for first class which was really nice especially with the drinks and snacks provided). Mimi took great care of us and the entertainers were really fun. The bus tour of the Grand Canyon was a wonderful way to spend the few hours we had there and was well worth the money. It was an awesome trip, and we would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great trip from start to finish, we had a VERY informative guide who really knew his stuff. there was plenty of time at each stop to enjoy the views and take pictures. as we were a small group we didn't have a buffet as such we just had whatever food we required from the food court which was alll good. the train was comfortable and the entertainment made the time go by. i would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message