For those visiting the Grand Canyon in winter, there are some essential planning tips and recommendations you should keep in mind. During winter the North Rim is closed, although the South Rim is still an excellent option full of scenic hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very relaxing and the only way to see the breathtaking Grand Cayon. From Sedona it is a 1.5 hr car trip to the train station. So our day started early but well worth it!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth every penny. Instead of being dumped off a bus and told where and when to return, you are directed to the best views and most interesting sites by a very knowledgable guide. My guide new a great deal about the geology, flora and fauna as well as history of the Grand Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim by Tour Trekker

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The grand canyon tour was awesome. Our tour guide provided great jokes, stories, video, and music on both the drive to and from the canyon with a variety of topics. He is extremely knowledgeable about the grand canyon and about Las Vegas as well. The grand canyon was vast, immense, and beyond beautiful. Everyone should see it once. It definitely something you can't just take one picture of. Terrific time- once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim by Tour Trekker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our driver from the local tour operator was punctual and kind. He narrated the entire trip to the canyon and he gave us all the tips on how to stay safe. He gave us trivia, not only about the canyon, but also about the endless things to do in the Las Vegas area. He kept us entertained with fun facts, music, and videos. We stopped several times on the way to stretch our legs, use the restroom, get souvenirs, take photos, etc. We were fed a basic, but delicious deli lunch. The ride was extremely comfortable. Upon arriving at the canyon we were taken to stunning view points. Our driver was very knowledgeable and made the best use of our time. We never felt rushed, and really were able to soak in the awe-inspiring views.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim by Tour Trekker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a great adventure, starting with a shootout before boarding the train. The journey takes just over 2 hours and our assistant was very informative, answered any questions put to her, a real asset to the company.On arrival we had lunch and then took the bus tour all of which are included in the cost.I would recommend the Grand Canyon Railway adventure package to all age groups. A must do if you are in Williams AZ.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed our trip. The train ride was wonderful. We took the Freedom bus tour and the driver was very up on all the names and places of interest. Good time was had by all!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved it our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very interesting. It was the best part of our 3500 mile trip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a good time, and the train ride gave us an opportunity to visit with people from around the world.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fantastic time. Best way to see the Grand Canyon.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The train ride was great. We had children with us from age 5 yrs. to 18 yrs. and they had a great time. The entertainment on the train was a lot of fun. The Marshalls interacted with the kids and made us all laugh. My only disappointment was the bus tour of the Canyon was to short we only got to stop twice to view the Canyon and didn't get to see any of the building that were there. I didn't realize this when I booked the trip as I might have decided to stay over night so we could see more. Our guide on the bus was very informative. All in all the trip was great. Trip to short.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed our train ride and tour of the Grand Canyon very much! Enjoyed the singing and the snacks that we got on the train. The buffet was delicious. The bus tour was very enlightening and we stopped at different places to get a good view of the different areas of the Grand Canyon. I was a little bit diappointed in the train robbery felt the robber rushed through our part of the train. It could have been because our train left a half hour later than we were supposed to . Over all I would do it again.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great trip to take with my grandkids. They enjoyed the train, especially the "train robbery" on the return trip. The PSA in our car (Kathie with a K) was very knowledgable and a lot of fun. We also enjoyed the musicians that entertained on both legs of the trip. The bus tour we took at the Grand Canyon was enjoyable, the driver/guide was informative and we stopped at a couple of great viewing spots on the south rim. Such a beautiful and magnificent place to visit. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the buffet lunch. I originally booked without the lunch because I knew it would be a waste for 2 small children (and it was!) but I was called and told only the tour with the lunch was available so I paid the extra for it. So I basically spent around $60 so I could eat a little and they each had a drink and a piece of bread. More kid-friendly foods like hot dogs, burgers, pizza, jello, would be a vast improvement for visitors with families. I didn't think the food I ate was anything special or worth the cost, either, would have rather spent that time and money exploring the venues in the town at the South Rim. My recommendation is to take the train, the bus tour if it's your first visit and try to book it without the lunch since there are good options at other places.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have been on the rim twice and on the River for 7 days. If you can, ride the River. If not, the train is a wonderful experience. The view of the Canyon is breathtaking. All people involved with the experience are very special and gifted people as they keep you entertained throughout the ride. If you need medical help for any reason, it comes quickly and with compassion and expertise. I highly recommend the train trip.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip. Laura, the "MC" of our Rail Car was excellent and made the trip a real joy. . . . laughing, involving everyone and also very informative. The brunch was very lack-luster but acceptable. The bus tour was fantastic. . . we had enough time at the 3 stops and learned a great deal about the Canyon, history and facts. I'll recommend this every day!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Good for history learning..

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message