Grand Turk is celebrated for its uninterrupted miles of white-sand beaches and calm turquoise sea, the ideal setting for a family holiday, beach lover’s escape or romantic getaway. Fringing the island’s entire west coast is the world’s third largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I recently went on the excursion to Gibbs Cay in Grand Turk with Frankie and Cal. I am very disappointed in this tour, and I feel that your description does not at all reflect the experience we had. The tour was supposed to be two hours. Our tour was only one hour. Frankie showed us one stingray and then spent the rest of the time smoking on the boat with the Cal. In the description that I paid for, it states, Bob in the water with your knowledgeable guide to learn about the stingrays habitats, breeding patterns and life alongside humans. There was virtually no interaction with your guides and any of us on this tour. In fact, the only way we could pet the stingray and learn anything about them was to pretend that we were on the tour with the other group who had wonderful guides that were very involved with all of the customers. There was no offer to hold up the stingrays so we could take photos with them. It was complete involvement.

The description also reads, enjoy stops along the reef to dive into the warm Caribbean water, which teems with sea life. There were no stops along the reef to dive into the water. We went straight to Gibbs Cay and then back all within 60 minutes.

With only one day in Grand Turk, we spent a lot of time deciding how to spend our valuable day there. We were terribly disappointed with this day which did not measure up to your description by any means. I hope you will find better tour guides who actually want to be there and interact with your customers so that no one else wastes their time and money on this tour.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Trip, walking on the small island was wonderful, snorkeling with the stingrays was wonderful, our guides were very accommodating, and helpful.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

michael g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our cruise ship arrived late and the boat was still waiting for us. Great service, very friendly crew and a wonderful experience. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Grand Turk. Worth every penny! They kept us up to date via email and were very professional.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

rausin.pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an excursion booked but they had a problem with their boat. They work tandem with White Sands charters and tours so they took us on one of their excursions to Gibbs Cay. The owner of White Sands was awesome and we really enjoyed the excursion, our captain and crew were wonderful!!! Great experience with some great underwater video with the stingrays!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Bradley D T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a very nice time. Staff was fun, personable, laid back and helpful! Just make sure to clarify the meeting time - cruise boat time vs. island time.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Patricia R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It was just OK, they did not show up at our scheduled time, but in their defense they could not get ahold of us on our ship. The stingray part was great. The snorkeling not so great, the water was way to rough, some of us did not get in the water.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Kimberlygarcia52

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a wonderful experience !! The tour guides were awesome, they took their time explaining everything to us. It was my first time snorkeling and i felt super comfortable in the water. The boat was clean and easy to find. Would definitely do it again !!

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Roger K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable-- Can we get the website adress to see the pictures that were taken on that day?

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Heather J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

More time snorkeling and less time at Gibbs Cay would have been nice. Very few stingray at Gibbs Cay and though our guide caught one for us to touch and pet, the rest of the time spent there I has wished we would have spent out viewing the reef.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Pat S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wow what a trip. I'd do it again.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Maxine

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

I was the only one booked on this tour, so the owner didn't even show up, instead, he called one of the other tour comapnies and I went with them. The boat broke down and we had to wait to get it fixed. The other 6 people on the trip were also on a cruise, so instead of missing the cruise ship, we forgoed the snorkeling part of the trip. We saw 3 stingrays and held one to take a couple of photos. Very disappointing and would never recommend this company to anyone.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

C V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an excellent tour! The time of our cruise arrival changed after we booked, but that was no problem . The captain and mate were waiting for us, and our group of 5 had the boat to ourselves. We did go to similar areas as the larger tour boat, but we had a guide in the water with us alone to point out interesting sea life. He even dove down and came up carrying a nurse shark for us to touch! The boat is clean and quick twin engine and the snorkel equipment was in good condition and sanitized. They offered us soft drinks and local beer included . A pleasant and personalized snorkel adventure !

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Tony H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tim and JJ were great. They took us to a shallow site 12-15 feet to snorkel first and then we went to a deeper site by the wall. We got to spend around 2 hours in the water. There were 11 in our group, 4 of us plus another 7 on the boat but there was plenty of room. We saw lots of different kinds of fish and even got some pictures of a small shark. We were never rushed and Tim told us a lot about the history of the island on the boat ride. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Dennis F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour operator was not at the location to begin the tour. He finally called and said Viator had not sent him the confirmation. He did work it out for another operator to do the tour although about an hour late. Somebody dropped the ball on this deal

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

briana r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this and would do again in an instant! Our guide was very informative and we felt like we were along for the ride with a friend and not an instructor. We lucked out and were the only 3 people that were booked for the day which was awesome because he tailored the trip for our time and what we wanted to view. Our daughter is only 4 and he was very accommodating and patient with her and my boyfriend was thrilled because our guide spent time teaching him how to dive deeper into the reef to view the most beautiful fish. This was an experience of a lifetime

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Mike L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had booked this tour for my group of 4. We easily found Jake on the beach, just a short walk from the cruise port. Unfortunately, rough waters prevented Jake from being able to take us on this tour. He apologized repeatedly, although he had no control of the rough seas. He did offer that we could go with another tour company on the Gibbs Cay snorkel and sting ray tour which was on the less rough side of the island if we'd like - same price, they just transferred our voucher. Of course we went. There were only 6 others on the tour with us - so no crowd and no rushing. We all had a great time. Having the sting rays swim around you and through your legs was incredible. Nobody else on the cruise ship was able to go on the cruise's snorkeling tour because of the rough waters. They didn't have this option! So happy to have booked a private tour like this.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Lonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a good time! It was just the four of us and Jake was full of fun facts and even took us snorkling at a nearby reef so Gibbs Cay would clear out a bit before we went. He was great with my 3 year old and really cares about the wildlife. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Margie C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour. The four of us who booked were taken over in a speed boat to a private island called Gibbs Cay. Apparently there are 60 islands that comprise the Turks. There was nothing on the island but people that were taken over by boat. The sand was white and beautiful and the water was warm and crystal clear and beautiful shades of blue. We saw two large stingrays and probably six smaller ones. We saw a trumpet fish and other fish that swam around us. It was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Jeanette E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Seeing, swimming with, and being close enough to touch the stingrays was AWESOME! The guides were very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable with the area, as well as accommodating given that our ship was late to port due to a medical emergency. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

katiegray29

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Jake was great, he told us the history of Grand Turk while he took us to a shallow site and then a deep site for snorkeling. He didn't feed the fish, which I liked. He let us explore the reef on own and didn't rush us at all. He told us where to get a great lunch (Jack's Shack for jerk chicken).

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

ROBIN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

GREAT TIME WITH THE STINGRAYS!!! JAKE IS A GREAT GUY, VERY HELPFUL WITH MY MOM WHO IS HANDICAPPED AND ALSO WITH THE KIDS ON BOARD. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND CRYSTAL SEAS!!!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Shari M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tim and JJ did a great job! Water was beautiful and we saw quite a few stingrays and fish! Thanks!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

heathervergara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour with the tour company! We had a party of 10 so had Tim and JJ from the tour company all to ourselves. They let us customize our afternoon and let us stay out almost 2 hours longer than the tour officially lasted. It was like being out with a couple friends. Tim was great with my 3-year-old and even dove in to save her floatie when the wind caught it. JJ took the older kids off to a reef to see some amazing fish and dove down to let them pet a nurse shark. Stingrays beautiful. Best day on our 7-day cruise.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Lynda C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The water and snorkeling spots were amazing. Jake was the best. Funny, informative and knowledgeable about the area. Great being on a small boat with only four people. Handrail getting back in was loose so boat needed some minor repairs and upkeep.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message