Greece ATTRACTIONS See all

Archaeological Museum of Olympia

The site of the Ancient Olympic Games in Olympia in the Peloponnese was lost to time and earthquake until 1875 when excavation began to uncover the ancient stadium (which could seat 20,000), the Temple of Zeus, the Temple of Hera (where the Olympic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, due both to the places it took us and especially because our guide, Emilios, was a highly educated and thoughtful man (he was trained as an engineer but has been a guide for decades) who brought alive the myths associated with each place, and also told us the real history and how the two were intertwined. Along the way he also told us about the importance of olives to the Greeks, how each family has at least one olive tree from which it produces both oil and soap, why eating olives must be cured and how, the difference between Kalamata olives and those grown below Delphi, and many other things. Unfortunately, Emilios is aging, and it seems inevitable that he will be retiring before too long, so I would urge you to take one of his tours while they are still available.

The visit to Nafplion was a real plus. It is beautiful and a nice respite from ancient stones.

Our tour was actually the first three days of a four-day tour, the last day to the monasteries of Meteora. We needed to be back in Athens so we were put on a different bus at Delphi, one that had brought others for a one day trip to Delphi. We had Emilios for the visit to the site at Dephi but we had another guide for the trip back to Athens. He, too, seemed to be knowledgeable but unfortunately his accent was so heavy that we had trouble understanding what he was saying.

The hotels and meals were also excellent, and the lunch restaurants (not included in the price of the tour) were excellent and reasonable for the quality of food. Only the restaurant at Olympia was not as good as the rest. Although the restaurants were very good, I would have been happy to have gone to at least one ordinary taverna in the course of the trip.

We were perhaps fortunate in that our bus was less than half full, so we had ample opportunity to talk to Emilios and also to the other people on the tour, most of whom were also interesting.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was great!
Our tour guide Dimitra (My spelling is definitely incorrect) spoke very good English and she was both friendly and helpful. She organized the tour in good pace and her explanation on site and in museums were very professional. She also helped us arrange our luggage transfer.

We stayed in Amalia Hotel at both Olympia and Delphi. The hotel is very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast at the hotel was also good.
The only problem we encountered at the Olympia was that our hotel's Wi-Fi did not work.

If you are interested in Greek history and ancient civilization and you can afford the time, I highly recommend this tour.

Going on this tour in May or early June should be better than late June, July or August, since it was not crowded and weather was very nice - around 70 F (20 C) during the day and mostly sunny.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was great! We saw a lot!
Our tour guide Dimitra (My spelling is definitely incorrect) spoke very good English and she was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. She organized the tour in good pace and sequence, and her explanations on site and in museums were very professional. She also helped us arrange our luggage transfer.

We stayed in Amalia Hotel at both Olympia and Delphi. The hotel was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast at the hotel was also good.
The only problem we encountered at the Olympia was that our hotel's Wi-Fi did not work. We could not go online.

If you are interested in Greek history and ancient civilization and you can afford the time, I highly recommend this tour.

Going on this tour in May or early June should be better than late June, July or August, since it was not crowded and weather was very nice - around 70 F (20 C) during the day and mostly sunny.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing, well organised and so interesting. Our guide Stachis (spelling?) was extremely knowledgeable. He was the best ever teacher, carrying information from one day to the next - joining up the dots! He made the long journeys pass more quickly too by letting us know beforehand when and where we would be stopping, and breaking up the travel with local history and geographical information. The tour stops were well arranged giving time to stretch legs. Most of the lunch stops were good, particularly at Olympia and the Amalia hotels were excellent. Thanks to George the driver - he managed to miss the dog wandering in the road without causing us any more inconvenience than dropped books and maps. There is a BBC4 documentary by Dr Michael Scott entitled Ancient Greece: The Greatest Show on Earth, and I would recommend watching this before your trip - and again on your return. It all slots into place!

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our guide Cassandra did a great job explaining the significance of key attractions and even some “off the beaten path” attractions that most tourists wouldn’t even know to look for. She really made the trip a big success for me. She was multi-lingual, which was a great benefit to everyone. All the attractions were great, but Olympia and Delphi were without a question the best parts of the tour for me.
I stayed in the four star hotels, all of which were very nice. I would strongly recommend these accommodations over the three stars. Based on the feedback I received from fellow travelers who chose the three star hotels, the three stars were not nice and in fact one of the travelers upgraded to the four star hotel after the first night. 90% of my group stayed in the four star hotels.
The only “negative” was it is a lot of stuff packed into three days. This trip spread over four days would be perfect with more time to relax in the towns. Personally I’d rather see and do more than less, but just be prepared to be constantly on the move with a ton of driving and not a lot of R and R time. Another minor negative is that these tour companies receive kickbacks from proceeds at shops and restaurants along the way, so they’ll make a few stops in shops where you do a tour and spend 30 minutes shopping. I assume all tour groups have this, just be prepared. The only one that was a bit much was the ceramic shop outside of Mycenae. The guy used poor used car-salesman like tactics on his “discounted” replicas, which were WAY overpriced relative to other shops with similar goods. The main guy also hit on my wife, which she didn’t appreciate, nor did I since I had to hear about it on the bus the rest of the day.
It would be next to impossible to cover this much ground, learn a lot, and know where to stay without an organized tour so I would strongly recommend this to anyone looking to cover a ton of attractions over a limited amount of time.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

After decades, it was great to return to see Epidaurus, Mycenae and Delphi; and to see Olympia for the first time. The new museums at the sites are excellent. The hotels and our guide Casandra were wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We had a fantastic time on this tour. The drive to Olympia and Delphi was absolutely beautiful and breath-taking! The trip was very well organized with ample time at each place. The accommodation was nice at both Olympia and Delphi. The hotel at Delphi had a lovely view! Our guide Lillian was great and had amazing knowledge of Greek history which made the visits to all the archeological sites and museums even more interesting. Our group was also really nice and we all had a fun 3 days together! We would highly recommend this tour to everyone visiting Greece.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our tour guide was excellent very knowledgeable and friendly and bus driver was very friendly and helpful. The tour was wonderful and I would recommend it and do it over again. Note prepare that the first day of the trip is full schedule. But very well planned. The only thing we felt that the Olympia accomodations may need to be updated. Bring your bathing suits both locations had beautiful pools.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was beautiful and, most importantly, uncrowded in March. Wildflowers were everywhere. Our guide was informative. The first day was very long riding all the way to Olympia.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our three day tour. A lot of travel was involved, but considering the locations visited it was worth it. Our guide Lala (sp?) was exceptional. She was a wealth of knowledge and kept the tour running smoothly without being pushy. Everything was taken care of. Day two was by far the most busy, with a long bus drive from Nafplion to Olympia (3hrs plus stops), a tour of Olympia in the heat of the day, then an even longer drive from Olympia to Delphi (4 hrs plus stops). By the time we arrived in Delphi at 8.30pm we were pretty worn out. The following day was spent in Delphi, where our tour group continued on on a longer tour in the afternoon and we traveled back to Athens via another bus. For an indepth and well run tour we would definitely recommend this.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a very interesting and valuable tour to cover the main historical sites of Greece. The itinerary was well planned with enough time at sites. I am disappointed by the condition of the bus and its less effective AC system. The driver and guide were very humble and caring. Tour guide carried different folder each day with some graphics and old landscape diagrams. However, the travelers were slightly fed-up with him by repeating the same stuff many times with heavy Greek accent. At various stops I saw buses operated by other companies were in much excellent shape.

On first night in Olympia although the hotel was nice and big but we were the only one staying there with no choice of menu and no desert. Second night in Delphi, the hotel and food were good. On last day, another bus was suppose to bring us back Athens; all returners waited hours at the hotel without any attention by the hotel staff not even served water.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Our guide was outstanding, and the hotels were both comfortable and relaxing. The coach journeys were as pleasant as could be expected, with a good driver. The quality of the trips round the archaeological sites was excellent, with well thought through and informative tours- considerably enhanced by the communication and enthusiasm of the guide. We wondered, however, whether there were too many visits to souvenir shops, and the time could be better spent in getting to the hotels earlier. This would have enabled us to have a little more time to relax, especially at Olympia.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Our guide, Antonio was amazingly knowledgeable, and our driver Dionysus was incredible on the winding roads. I felt very safe. However, we were on a bus where approximately 1/2 of the people were Italian, so the Guide had to repeat everything in both English and Italian. This got very tiring after some time. At the sites, he was wonderful, but because he had to repeat everything in dual languages, there was little or no time for questions. We upgraded to the "first class hotels" but the hotel in Olympia (the Amalia) was awful and not very clean. The hotel in Delphi (Amalia Delphi) was much better. Food was very good. Though the trip wasn't "perfect" the experience was definately worth it. My favorite part was Delphi which was beautiful. I would highly recommend it for anyone who is physically fit enough to walk and climb a bit.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The sites we visited on this 3-day tour are excellent and rich in history. We are glad that we went. However, the tour could be more enjoyable if the tour company takes care the following points: (1) air conditioning in the bus barely worked. Eventually, we were transferred to a different bus from another company; (2) we paid for first class accommodation in a four-star hotel at Olympia and Delphi. The hotel may be at the most 3-star; (3) Our guide's spoken English was acceptable but it was not smooth. Many times she struggled to find the correct word. As a result her lengthy description became quite uninteresting. At times she treated the group like school children. The guides in our replacement bus and the Delphi to Athens bus were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

The trip was little too relaxing for me (30 years old) as Olympia and Delphi had absolutely nothing to do other than the historical sites. No wi-fi at the hotel in Olympia and in Delphi you can only use it in the lobby and only 50% of the time was working. It is just unacceptable for a 3/4 star hotel. Other than that, everything else was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Nafplion, Olympia, Delphi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message