Shamian Island (literally translated as “Sandbar” Island), a 44-acre sandbank separated from Guangzhou by a canal, was given as a concession to the French and British governments after the First Opium War in 1841. The island quickly grew into a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was outstanding. Our driver called us at our hotel the night before the tour to arrange the start time. Our guide and driver picked us up promptly at the agreed-on time. Our guide spoke English very well, had grown up in the area, and gave us an excellent description of each of our stops. We stopped at a Buddhist Temple first. It happened to be the first day of the Lunar Month and there was a lot of activity there. We made two other stops before lunch. Both were very interesting and our guide told us about the history and customs at each stop. The lunch was excellent - very nice restaurant, very good food, and great service. We made three stops after lunch, including "Chinatown in China", as our guide joked. It was a great shopping district where the streets were closed off to traffic. The driver was excellent and the mini van was air-conditioned and very comfortable. It was a very educational, lively, and thoroughly enjoyable tour. I stongly recommend it. Guangzhou is large (17 million people) and would be extremely difficult to get around in without a good knowledge of the City. The tour made for a great day.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My wife and I thought the Pearl River Night Cruise a quite remarkable experience. Never before have we seen lighting used in the way it is on the Pearl. Brilliant fireworks have their place in ephemeral displays of light, colour and spectacle, but the elegance and the sheer number of riverside features, buildings, bridges, boats, ferries, all illuminated by the brilliant placement of lighting, made for a memorable experience for us both.
It is a trip we highly recommend that any visitor to Guangzhou take in. Thanks to you and our guide on the night.

Doing what: Pearl River Night Cruise in Guangzhou with Private Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We only had 1 full day in the city so I convinced my husband that we should book this trip. It was definatly worth it. We were picked up from the hotel by our guide. Jack spoke fantastic English and was extremely knowledgable in the city and it's history. We saw lots of interesting things. The old kings buriel place was very interesting.
We had a lovely lunch and dropped off at the end of the day. It was a little expensive but we had a driver and a guide exclusively to ourselves for 6 hours. It was worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I highly recomend this tour, great guide who spoke english fluently and was very very knowlegeable and very willing to answer any questions we had. Great sights well worth the experience. Only disappointment was the lunch was in a restuarant that was a little run down but food was fine.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We only had a couple of days to spend in Guangzhou so we decided to book this whole day tour to take in the most of the city. We were very glad that we did. Frank, our tour guide, was very informative. The sites that we visited were all very interesting. But the comments and site-seeing between these was very interesting as well.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I was on a business trip to Guangzhou with my colleagues and this tour is a wonderful intro to the city! Time well spent!

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Compliments to our tour guide Louise Liu, she is very knowledgeable on all the places of interest we visited.
She is also very flexible, I mentioned to her that when I made the bookings I specifically mention that I wanted to have a Cantonese lunch as apparently a Western lunch was arranged for us.
How can one not have Cantonese food in Guangzhou...she was quick and kind enough to change the venue of our lunch place and brought us to one very nice restaurant that most local frequent and the food was just heavenly.
Considering the entrance fee that is charged for the places of interest (which is not a lot), would encourage Viator to consider your pricing strategy, you are indeed a bit pricey.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We paid extra for a pick-up from the airport but couldn't find our guide. A clearer meeting point should be made.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message