Guangzhou ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of the Six Banyan Trees (Liurong Temple)

One of the oldest and most famous historic sites in Guangzhou, the Temple of the Six Banyan Trees (Liurong Temple) was originally built in 537 AD to serve as a shrine for Buddhist relics from India. The temple grounds suffered from a series of fires ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

taylorxx6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

i enjoyed the complete tour and guides
thank you shaun

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good day if very long. The 2 hr coach trip to Canton was, to me, the best bit, as one saw so much of rural china.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

F M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guide was confident and funny. We were taken about he lower part of china, the tour took a whole day. Learned about the dragons and got to see the panda actually moving, then they just lie there sleeping. Areally interesing and full on tour

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

John I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Even the heavy rain could not dampen the fascination of this city. The guide was excellent and clearly explained the places that we visited as indeed also the food at the excellent lunch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing day. Also a very long day. Highly recommend bringing some food and drinks with. Lots of transit time.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gary M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Long day - Leaving at 7 AM returning at 12 AM. This was a nice tour and worth the time. I enjoyed seeing the sights on the boat and bus rides from place to place. It was nice to get on a direct train back to Hong Kong! Glad tour director said that lunch would be very late in the day so that we had time to get food before starting the trip!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jodie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, very friendly guide. Great day!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Courtney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was so great!!

Such a long day but so much to see and do, it was worth every cent. Very interesting and so much fun, I highly recommended this if you are in Hong Kong.

Our tour guides 'Michelle' and 'Richard' were so great, thanks for the awesome day/night guys :

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had an absolutely fantastic time. Our tour guide Michelle looked after us from the moment she collected us to the moment she dropped us back at hotel. Her commentary on the sites and tour was excellent. Michelle kept the group together, so everyone could enjoy the day. The tour was a big day but was the highlight for my wife and I on our Hong Kong holiday.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

joyce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

loved it. Michelle was fantastic. Had a great day.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an amazing tour so interesting. My first China experience Thank you to Alex and the team for a great day

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

cuillinskye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Magnificent day on the Guangzhou trip. Was a long day but travelled by boat, bus and train. Our guide Alex kept us entertained and informed from the beginning and was well organised in getting us through immigration on the outward and inward journeys. Worth doing to get a feel for mainland China

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rebecca M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Highly recommend - great mix of sites and wonderful meal (museum, temple, dim sum, shopping, Shamian Island) - and loved our guide!

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

JANET O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip well worth the money- best trip we did in Hong Kong great day.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rita Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour is great as you are taken to the historical sights of the city. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and being a private tour meant that the driver of the van was ready and waiting for us each time. This made you feel special and being taken care of in such a busy and large city where English is not the first language.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fantastic tour and I highly recommend it. It gave my family including two kids 12 and 14 a great insight in China and certainly left us wanting to see more. The tour was well organised and very well timed. We had a guide who accompanied from start to finish who was entertaining and highly informative. We picked up a second guide in Shekou who was sensational and had a fantastic recall of interesting statistics and information. Don't be put of by the length of this tour. It is certainly worth it. We were picked up at 7.15am and got back to our hotel around 9pm however, we were all so engaged with the tour that we didn't really notice the time passing by. My kids absolutely loved the whole day.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Julia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

well organised, well planned, a really enjoyable experience

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michelle C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great! Our tour guide and driver picked us up on time at our hotel. The tour company called us the night before confirming our pickup time. The tour guide Jan-Ming? was very friendly and enthusiastic in teaching us about her city and culture. Our driver was quiet, but polite and absolutely fearless in traffic. We visited the burial site of the Nanyue King, the Temple of Six Banyan Trees, the Chen Clan Academy, strolled the streets of Shamian Island and along the Pearl River, had a nice lunch at a downtown hotel restaurant, and walked along a busy shopping street maybe Beijing Road?. There were a few shopping opportunities along the way. Overall, this was a great tour and an interesting learning experience. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

DENIS J LINEHAN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an extremely well organised most important and interesting outing. The mainland guide was particularly impressive with english of a very high standard and a very wide knowledge of both the history and geography of his country.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lynn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour. I would give this trip 5 stars. Our tour guides Michelle and Albert were incredible. They were so knowledgeable, funny, and organized. They really made this a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jacky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a very long day out but well worth the day out.. We were picked up by a great guide called Alex he explained all we needed to know about our day before we left Hong Kong. When arriving in China we were met by another guide can't remember his name and he was brilliant gave us the history of China very interesting. The lunch was great the Pandas were fun but didnt get to see them up close. The train trip home was quite and you could catch up on your sleep.!! .Would recommend this trip to anyone that wanted to see China in a day. Jacky and Russell, Queensland

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Devang K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Connor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Despite being a very long day this was a most enjoyable tour, the long trip to Guangzhou was well worth it with the hustle and bustle of the new city combined with the old city charm being a major plus, the little Chinese market we visited (complete with snakes and chook beheading) was fun and the lunch stop was awesome with plenty of yummy food and cheap beer for purchase. The panda's were sleeping whilst we were there and were not really visible - but that was fine as we saw Pandas on other tours / locations.

All in all a great day with some good sights - the train on the way home serves ICE COLD PINTS OF BEER which they are not shy of allowing you to buy as many as you like!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Melvin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide on the tour, lots of different places to see and good dim sum lunch

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message