Although Chichicastenango is not located in Guatemala City – it’s a two-plus hour drive – it is well worth a visit. This indigenous town is known for its market, which is held on Thursdays and Sundays. The largest market in Central America, here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Helen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide was rude and had no interest in giving you time to have a proper look around - it was almost a march around the town. Then left us at the most expensive restaurant in Panachal - when asking the staff it turned out that the guide got free lunch if he brings customers in. Poor organisation and wouldn't recommend to people

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

Laura U

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This trip was wonderful, the driver was the best one we could have! He told us a lot of the history about Guatemala. He was an expert on driving besides it is a difficult road. The only thing we miss was our walk through Santander Street, we just went to it by car and that was it! We wonder why?

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is ok. Market and Lake are a long drive from Antigua. Market I believe is almost 3 hrs and lake is around 1 - 1:30 hr from the Market and drive back from lake is around 3 hrs. Roads are windy and you might get sick driving up and down the hills. Traffic jams can be expected too. Market itself is nice and colorful. You can find lot of stuff to buy and you can negotiate the prices too. Our guide Ramirez I believe was a nice guy and very informative and kept us engaged throughout the trip. Lake is beatuiful surrounded by volcanoes but you wont have much time to spend at the lake. We had lunch near a lake side resturarant and spent around 15-20 mins and headed back. We couldn't find good place to walk around lake. More of resturants where we were stopped and it was dirty to walk.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

lalyblue61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Emilio was the best guide. Without him, it may not have been as enjoyable. Warning: the market day may not be for everyone. Emilio helped us enjoy this intriguing place through his knowledge and enthusiasm about his culture and Guate's fascinating history. Thank you for working with great guides!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichicastenango Market and Lake Atitlan from Antigua

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed this tour the driver gave us lots of information about the region and the markets and plenty of time to explore and have lunch at our leisure, recommended.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of my favorite tours ever. Our tour guide from Guatemalan adventures was very knowledgeable of the areas we visited and, especially, the Mayan culture. I've spent several weeks in these areas about six months ago but learned and saw much more on this tour. The hotel in Panajachel was excellent. I toured in many countries and this was in the top five tours I've ever taken

Doing what: 2-Day Chichicastenango and Lake Atitlan Tour from Guatemala City or Antigua

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!! I was impressed with every detail. Everyone was early, the tour guides were personable and knowledgable and went out of their way to provide a great experience, and the hotels were beautiful!! I would highly recommend this to everyone!! Guatemala was beautiful.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

Liani S United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It's a beautiful lake to visit. I recommend to visit during off season because you can enjoy a walk by the lake peacefully. But if you're members of younger crowds, perhaps July - August visit fits you better.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

maui_kazowee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Michelangelo was VERY knowledgeable and an absolute delight to spend the day with. He took great care of us, taught us a lot about the area, and left us wanting to book a longer stay at Lake Atitlan.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

susanhanson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day with Mike our tour guide. He took us to Chichicastenago first where we toured the town and the large market on a Sunday. Mike lead us through the very large crowded market and gave us a few tips on what items should sell for. Then he gave us some time to shop. Next we went to Panajachel for a late lunch and had fresh black sea bass. Then we explored the town, and went back to Antiqua with our treasures from the markets. Mike was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Guatamala and was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent and exceeded our expectations. Guatemala was a wonderful place to visit and we reccomend it to all for a Latin American destination. The transportation, guides and hotels were all very good. We were met at the airport by a driver and he was easy to find with a clear sign. The hotels were all top class with excellent breakfasts. The tour schedule fit our needs precisely as we only had a short time to visit and we needed to be in Antigua for certain nights to attend a family function. Based on this experience, I would highly reccomend this tour and would use Viator for future bookings.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

Khai V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is one of the best tours we've been on. During the booking process, Victor from the tour company took his time to answer all our questions, concerns and help us customize our tour to include Pacaya Volcano and Hot springs which wasn't part of the original itinerary. He also help us maximize our day in Antigua by upgrading the walking tour into a full day tour so we can also visit all the towns around Antigua.
All the hotels are nice and comfortable. Porta Del Lago offers amazing view from the room and Tikal Futura in Guatemala City is also a nice hotel, it connects to a mall so we were able to go inside an elevator, go up 2 floors and enter the mall, hang out with locals and try out at the famous Pollo Campero.
The tour guides are friendly and informative, speak perfect English. Driver is great also. The level of service throughout the tour is all you can ask for.
We had a great time. The food in Guatemala is delicious, the people are friendly and the scenery is beautiful. Highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

sandra e

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's a 3 hr drive to the towns. The roads are windy and long, if you get car sick

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Bonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great trip. The guide was amazing and he was very knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a private tour. Thank you
Bonnie Lawrance

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

Mei-Lan O

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Nancy S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

This tour was a big disappointment. I have seen the ruins of Mexico including the Sun and Moon pyramids, Palenque, Uxma and Chitza-Itza. Those ruins are fairly well preserved and restored, many with some of the original colorings and reliefs intact. Tikal was ok, but had none of the original colors and reliefs. Our guide there spoke great English but he didn't tell us anything about the traditions and rituals of the Mayan people who lived there. Yaxha was not interesting and Ixhimche wasn't worth going to at all. The only thing I enjoyed was our hotel in Antigua, its proximity to the market place, the boat ride across the lake and the Pacaya Volcano. Our tour guide that we had for the first 4 days was only 50% intelligible. We had to work very hard to understand him, unfortunately. I have taken many trips and have never felt like I wasted my money until now. It just was not worth the cost.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Klaus P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very interessting to see the local mayan people and their way of live. Same guide as in Copan.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message