Considered to be one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Lake Atitlán, located in the Guatemalan Highlands, is the deepest lake in Central America and surrounded by three volcanoes. Created from a volcano (the lake fills a caldera which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a fabulous day trip to Lake Atitlan and Santiago de Atitlan. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, solicitous, and went out of his way took extra time to stop in the leather-making village just north of Antigua on the way back. A great day - thank you!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely beautiful but the boat ride back was very rocky. Mirko was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Michelangelo was VERY knowledgeable and an absolute delight to spend the day with. He took great care of us, taught us a lot about the area, and left us wanting to book a longer stay at Lake Atitlan.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very complete and enjoyable day. 2 hours each way from Antigua, but worth the drive. We had a very knowledgable and pleasant tour guide. We had a chance to see the lake and enjoyed the shops and other sights in Santiago.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day with Mike our tour guide. He took us to Chichicastenago first where we toured the town and the large market on a Sunday. Mike lead us through the very large crowded market and gave us a few tips on what items should sell for. Then he gave us some time to shop. Next we went to Panajachel for a late lunch and had fresh black sea bass. Then we explored the town, and went back to Antiqua with our treasures from the markets. Mike was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Guatamala and was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery. Boat ride is about 45 mins each way and relaxing if you have been on the go-go-go. The trip to the Mayan village is ok. Just like anywhere else, the same souveniers and gifts are repetitve in nature. Really nothing else to do there except for browsing and maybe have a cup of coffee.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good trip, overall. Be sure to take photos from a vista point of lake and mountains before you get to the lake because later the volcanoes are covered by clouds. Our guide, Armando, gave us a lot of information and kept us engaged. The village at Santiago de Atitlan is interesting. Some uphill walking. Couple of nice coffee shops. Do bargain when buying local handicrafts. A local painter Nicolas de Reande and his family have a small gallery. Interesting paintings. Lunch at Panajachel can be a challenge. Try to stay away from Cassablanca restaurant. Perhaps, Atlantis maybe a better bet.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Spectacular! We loved this trip - the lake is magnificent, the landscape serene, and our guide Michael-Angelo (he guided us for 2 days) is second to no other! We were there in Sept 2014 - the weather was perfect, we walked around in t-shirts, shorts and hiking shoes. We carried a weather proof jacket (it can get cold on the boat and some spray at the bow; and the wind and rain is likely to pick up in the afternoon). Santiago Atitlin is unique - a whole town preserved in its own culture. Whilst walking through markets the lives, colours, aromas and vibrocity of this town touch your senses.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful with all of the knowledge about Guatemala. I learned so much that I would never had learned had we been on our own. Lake Atilan is absolutely gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and made sure we had a great time. It rained for part of the trip but we made the best of it. The restaurant where we stopped at was the best ! It overlooked the lake. It was gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's a 3 hr drive to the towns. The roads are windy and long, if you get car sick

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed our time on the Lake.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

The drive was extremely uncomfortable. A car which could accommodate only 3 people came to pick us up and we were 4 people in the car. I was squeezed in between two adults - my butt and back hurt a lot. And also the drive of about 4 hrs one way did not help in any way. I am extremely disappointed!!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great trip. The guide was amazing and he was very knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a private tour. Thank you
Bonnie Lawrance

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message