Considered to be one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Lake Atitlán, located in the Guatemalan Highlands, is the deepest lake in Central America and surrounded by three volcanoes. Created from a volcano (the lake fills a caldera which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura U

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This trip was wonderful, the driver was the best one we could have! He told us a lot of the history about Guatemala. He was an expert on driving besides it is a difficult road. The only thing we miss was our walk through Santander Street, we just went to it by car and that was it! We wonder why?

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is ok. Market and Lake are a long drive from Antigua. Market I believe is almost 3 hrs and lake is around 1 - 1:30 hr from the Market and drive back from lake is around 3 hrs. Roads are windy and you might get sick driving up and down the hills. Traffic jams can be expected too. Market itself is nice and colorful. You can find lot of stuff to buy and you can negotiate the prices too. Our guide Ramirez I believe was a nice guy and very informative and kept us engaged throughout the trip. Lake is beatuiful surrounded by volcanoes but you wont have much time to spend at the lake. We had lunch near a lake side resturarant and spent around 15-20 mins and headed back. We couldn't find good place to walk around lake. More of resturants where we were stopped and it was dirty to walk.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed this tour the driver gave us lots of information about the region and the markets and plenty of time to explore and have lunch at our leisure, recommended.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Daniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome - Are tour guide Miguel was super knowledgeable, patient and everything else. The lake is stunning, the volcanos are super cool and the village that you visit with the church is very nice. Great tour!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Liani S United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It's a beautiful lake to visit. I recommend to visit during off season because you can enjoy a walk by the lake peacefully. But if you're members of younger crowds, perhaps July - August visit fits you better.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Julie

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Nice tour, our guide was very nice. He did the best he could with what there was to see. He was very informative.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a fabulous day trip to Lake Atitlan and Santiago de Atitlan. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, solicitous, and went out of his way took extra time to stop in the leather-making village just north of Antigua on the way back. A great day - thank you!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Mayesha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely beautiful but the boat ride back was very rocky. Mirko was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

maui_kazowee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Michelangelo was VERY knowledgeable and an absolute delight to spend the day with. He took great care of us, taught us a lot about the area, and left us wanting to book a longer stay at Lake Atitlan.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

DONALD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very complete and enjoyable day. 2 hours each way from Antigua, but worth the drive. We had a very knowledgable and pleasant tour guide. We had a chance to see the lake and enjoyed the shops and other sights in Santiago.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

susanhanson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day with Mike our tour guide. He took us to Chichicastenago first where we toured the town and the large market on a Sunday. Mike lead us through the very large crowded market and gave us a few tips on what items should sell for. Then he gave us some time to shop. Next we went to Panajachel for a late lunch and had fresh black sea bass. Then we explored the town, and went back to Antiqua with our treasures from the markets. Mike was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Guatamala and was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Lauren

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery. Boat ride is about 45 mins each way and relaxing if you have been on the go-go-go. The trip to the Mayan village is ok. Just like anywhere else, the same souveniers and gifts are repetitve in nature. Really nothing else to do there except for browsing and maybe have a cup of coffee.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Navnit B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good trip, overall. Be sure to take photos from a vista point of lake and mountains before you get to the lake because later the volcanoes are covered by clouds. Our guide, Armando, gave us a lot of information and kept us engaged. The village at Santiago de Atitlan is interesting. Some uphill walking. Couple of nice coffee shops. Do bargain when buying local handicrafts. A local painter Nicolas de Reande and his family have a small gallery. Interesting paintings. Lunch at Panajachel can be a challenge. Try to stay away from Cassablanca restaurant. Perhaps, Atlantis maybe a better bet.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Simone M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Spectacular! We loved this trip - the lake is magnificent, the landscape serene, and our guide Michael-Angelo (he guided us for 2 days) is second to no other! We were there in Sept 2014 - the weather was perfect, we walked around in t-shirts, shorts and hiking shoes. We carried a weather proof jacket (it can get cold on the boat and some spray at the bow; and the wind and rain is likely to pick up in the afternoon). Santiago Atitlin is unique - a whole town preserved in its own culture. Whilst walking through markets the lives, colours, aromas and vibrocity of this town touch your senses.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Belita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful with all of the knowledge about Guatemala. I learned so much that I would never had learned had we been on our own. Lake Atilan is absolutely gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Blain V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and made sure we had a great time. It rained for part of the trip but we made the best of it. The restaurant where we stopped at was the best ! It overlooked the lake. It was gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

sandra e

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's a 3 hr drive to the towns. The roads are windy and long, if you get car sick

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Jose R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed our time on the Lake.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

ANKIT J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

The drive was extremely uncomfortable. A car which could accommodate only 3 people came to pick us up and we were 4 people in the car. I was squeezed in between two adults - my butt and back hurt a lot. And also the drive of about 4 hrs one way did not help in any way. I am extremely disappointed!!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Bonnie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great trip. The guide was amazing and he was very knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a private tour. Thank you
Bonnie Lawrance

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

Octavio T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I were the only ones booked on this tour, most tour operators would have cancelled, not Viator they sent a car with a driver. We had a great time this man (sorry his name escapes me at the moment) went out of his way to give us such a great day. MY husband is from Guatemala however he learnt a lot about his country on this trip. We will never forget all the kindness shown to us.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Khurrum A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time. Tour guide was knowledgeable and kind. Boat ride was fun. Shopping in the market was fun. And lunch was good.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up promptly at 7AM at our hotel in Guatemala City. The van ride took about 3 hours to arrive at Panajachel with a rest stop half way there. We crossed Lake Atitlan and took a tour of Santiago. Santiago is very interesting with the Mayan markets and street vendors selling all types of local handcrafts. Our guide explained the interesting combination of Mayan and Catholic religion. I found this fascinating. We headed back across the lake which was very choppy. (Hint) sit in the back of the boat if you can, I was drenched by the time we got back.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message