Considered to be one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Lake Atitlán, located in the Guatemalan Highlands, is the deepest lake in Central America and surrounded by three volcanoes. Created from a volcano (the lake fills a caldera which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide was wonderful with all of the knowledge about Guatemala. I learned so much that I would never had learned had we been on our own. Lake Atilan is absolutely gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and made sure we had a great time. It rained for part of the trip but we made the best of it. The restaurant where we stopped at was the best ! It overlooked the lake. It was gorgeous.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It's a 3 hr drive to the towns. The roads are windy and long, if you get car sick

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was very helpful and informative. We enjoyed our time on the Lake.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

The drive was extremely uncomfortable. A car which could accommodate only 3 people came to pick us up and we were 4 people in the car. I was squeezed in between two adults - my butt and back hurt a lot. And also the drive of about 4 hrs one way did not help in any way. I am extremely disappointed!!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great trip. The guide was amazing and he was very knowledgeable. We were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a private tour. Thank you
Bonnie Lawrance

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My husband and I were the only ones booked on this tour, most tour operators would have cancelled, not Viator they sent a car with a driver. We had a great time this man (sorry his name escapes me at the moment) went out of his way to give us such a great day. MY husband is from Guatemala however he learnt a lot about his country on this trip. We will never forget all the kindness shown to us.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time. Tour guide was knowledgeable and kind. Boat ride was fun. Shopping in the market was fun. And lunch was good.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up promptly at 7AM at our hotel in Guatemala City. The van ride took about 3 hours to arrive at Panajachel with a rest stop half way there. We crossed Lake Atitlan and took a tour of Santiago. Santiago is very interesting with the Mayan markets and street vendors selling all types of local handcrafts. Our guide explained the interesting combination of Mayan and Catholic religion. I found this fascinating. We headed back across the lake which was very choppy. (Hint) sit in the back of the boat if you can, I was drenched by the time we got back.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

This tour was a big disappointment. I have seen the ruins of Mexico including the Sun and Moon pyramids, Palenque, Uxma and Chitza-Itza. Those ruins are fairly well preserved and restored, many with some of the original colorings and reliefs intact. Tikal was ok, but had none of the original colors and reliefs. Our guide there spoke great English but he didn't tell us anything about the traditions and rituals of the Mayan people who lived there. Yaxha was not interesting and Ixhimche wasn't worth going to at all. The only thing I enjoyed was our hotel in Antigua, its proximity to the market place, the boat ride across the lake and the Pacaya Volcano. Our tour guide that we had for the first 4 days was only 50% intelligible. We had to work very hard to understand him, unfortunately. I have taken many trips and have never felt like I wasted my money until now. It just was not worth the cost.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very interessting to see the local mayan people and their way of live. Same guide as in Copan.

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great guide, great experience, would highly recommend

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message