There are plenty of things to do in Guatemala City, but it’s what is nearby that truly offers an opportunity to fall in love with the country. In fact, three days in the area is likely not enough time, especially when, there are so many magical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Great driver. Great guide. All went smoothly.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superó mis espectativas / more than.i explected, strongly suggested. A must! In central america.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The trip was good. The transport arrangements were perfect but there was some confusion at Flores airport since we were waiting for two passengers who were already at a local hotel. The rest was fine.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great hike. It is not easy but well worth the effort.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely beautiful but the boat ride back was very rocky. Mirko was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing, Antigua is charming and like something out of a storybook.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good trip, overall. Be sure to take photos from a vista point of lake and mountains before you get to the lake because later the volcanoes are covered by clouds. Our guide, Armando, gave us a lot of information and kept us engaged. The village at Santiago de Atitlan is interesting. Some uphill walking. Couple of nice coffee shops. Do bargain when buying local handicrafts. A local painter Nicolas de Reande and his family have a small gallery. Interesting paintings. Lunch at Panajachel can be a challenge. Try to stay away from Cassablanca restaurant. Perhaps, Atlantis maybe a better bet.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An easy drive from Guatemala City. Interesting historic town but watch out for the very uneven cobble-stone streets and pavements. Be prepared for a lot of walking. The views from Cerro de la Cruz are lovely. The coffee museum is interesting. In their gift shop they sell a coffee liquore - it is really good. A lot of choice in handicrafts. Of course do bargain. Our guide, Armando, knows the town and its history very well and kept us engaged and interested throughout. Overall a nice trip but the walking over the cobbled stones really tired us out. The tour part as organized by Viator was good.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Spectacular! We loved this trip - the lake is magnificent, the landscape serene, and our guide Michael-Angelo (he guided us for 2 days) is second to no other! We were there in Sept 2014 - the weather was perfect, we walked around in t-shirts, shorts and hiking shoes. We carried a weather proof jacket (it can get cold on the boat and some spray at the bow; and the wind and rain is likely to pick up in the afternoon). Santiago Atitlin is unique - a whole town preserved in its own culture. Whilst walking through markets the lives, colours, aromas and vibrocity of this town touch your senses.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Vinny was extremely informative and comprehensive. The site itself is the most impressive I've ever seen. Transportation was smooth except for the fact that our 3-person party was split between two airplanes, which wasn't ideal. I would highly recommend this particular tour to anyone.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader was outstanding in terms of subject matter knowledge, articulateness in English, consideration of our wants, and personality. Likewise, the driver was excellent. Overall, a 5-star experience!

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very professional and for Volcano enthusiasts it a must see! Hike is a little challenging in the beginning but if you power through no need for the horse(Even though you get asked a million times to take the horse!). I love that the tours are so professional in every country conducted by partners of Viator. Winston was a treat and he was on time to pick us up and get us back safely! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent and exceeded our expectations. Guatemala was a wonderful place to visit and we reccomend it to all for a Latin American destination. The transportation, guides and hotels were all very good. We were met at the airport by a driver and he was easy to find with a clear sign. The hotels were all top class with excellent breakfasts. The tour schedule fit our needs precisely as we only had a short time to visit and we needed to be in Antigua for certain nights to attend a family function. Based on this experience, I would highly reccomend this tour and would use Viator for future bookings.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour made even more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable driver/guide. He patiently answered all the questions we posed and never once did he rush us through the tour. Well done Belisario!

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

choose this company was an excellent decision. They are responsible, friendly. The guides who are with us are high-level
My tour was led by Eric, a wonderful person, and very professional.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message