There are plenty of things to do in Guatemala City, but it’s what is nearby that truly offers an opportunity to fall in love with the country. In fact, three days in the area is likely not enough time, especially when, there are so many magical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Douglas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Unbelievable place, great tour guide, very worth it all around.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour! Our tour guide Winston was very informative. He picked us up from our hotel in Guatemala city and shared information all the way to Antigua. His van was clean and safe. Great experience!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

analia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Maite A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good experiencia
Very good frienly and good speaker guise tour

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Caroline G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Beautiful place, Nice trip.
The only thing was that the driver was really unsafe in driving. We didn't feel comfortable in the car with him.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Song H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got a private tour! The day is packed with activities and plenty of chances to shop and taking photos. Highly recommended if you want the best of two worlds Mayan ruins and Spanish history in one short period of time. I had only one day and this tour is ideal.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Margareta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This day trip will give you a taste of the rich historical surroundings - our guide was fluent in english and knew a lot :- highly recommended

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Helen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide was rude and had no interest in giving you time to have a proper look around - it was almost a march around the town. Then left us at the most expensive restaurant in Panachal - when asking the staff it turned out that the guide got free lunch if he brings customers in. Poor organisation and wouldn't recommend to people

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

BORIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply Amazing!! They pick u up from hotel n after tour is over n go back to your destination they drop u off.. Tour guy was awesome, must dress for alot of trail walking n comfortable clothes... But just awesome seeing these treasures!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

K. Alison H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

In our opinion, the English Tour guide lacked English vocabulary and mispronounced several English words which would have made it difficulty to understand by non-native English speakers. As an example, he talked about the site of Tikal being surrounded by condominiums. In addition, his tour lacked continuity and his presentation lacked any enthusiasm or passion.
I recommend, based on 30 years of management experience, that this tour guide would benefit greatly by improved training, guidance and feedback from his supervisor. In most cases of poor performance, the supervisor/management is at fault.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

sbowenlane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a fantastic tour with a wonderful guide. I had so many great experiences on this tour like riding the small tut tut vehicles, taking the boat to the other small town, visiting the large Catholic Church built in 1549, visiting the Idol of Mayans, eating a great meal and seeing how the people live and work. This tour is magnificent and my guide, Hiemi was the best.
Susan Lane, Maine in USA

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well organized, good guide

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Andrew S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Very enthusiastic and interesting tour guide. Unfortunately the city doesn't have a lot of sites.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Mychal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Super cool trip from Guatemala City. You fly up to Flores early in the morning. About an hour drive up to the park. The trails are fairly easy to walk, but climbing the different temples could be challenging if you're not in some decent shape. You don't have to climb the temples if you don't want to. The Tikal ruins are absolutely amazing and are truly a sight to see. I highly recommend this tour. The guide for the day was Abel, he was fantastic, spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge to share. The lunch in the park after the tour was good as well. Be prepared to pay a few bucks for beverages at lunch as they're not included. Overall, was a great day and would have loved to spend more time at the ruins.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Randall D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Tikal is beautiful and well worth the early morning departure. A side trip to the lake near Flores was very nice. However, we arrived at the airport for return to Guatemala City several hours early. This was a disappointing and boring ending to an otherwise great adventure.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Randall D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good tour, knowledgeable tour guide. A nice way to get to know the city.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

y_kchin

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice tourguide and driver but terrible traffics

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

KAREN M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour itself was amazing. Truly a GREAT experience. The ONLY issue I had was when we were checking in at the Flores airport to fly back to Guatemala city, they had the nerve to charge 20 quetzales each person as a tax fee. I told them that my tour had already been paid for and the clerk was rude and said talk to the tour company about it, but you are not boarding without paying for it. An advanced notice would have been appreciated. But, the food was GREAT and a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

floryglazer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The guide, the food, and all the people was great, I am from Guatemala and is my 4th time to Tikal but I learned so much from Alex and Marlon our guides, They accommodate my husband to see the magnificent temples since he fell at the airport and couldn't walk that well. Great Job, I will give 10 stars but you only have 5. I will recommend viator and this trip 100, THANK YOU GUYS

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Guatemala City

Kyle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was amazing. We were in Guatemala for 12 days and this was probably the highlight of the trip. The guide was great and seemed to really be enthusiastic about what he did. He was very knowledgeable about bird species, plants, animals, and the history of the sites. All of the tour buses were very clean, the food was excellent, the flight was great on a regional carrier.

The hotel we stayed at was unbelievable! It was located on the shore of a large lake in the jungle and seemed like the type of place James Bond would stay. There were howler monkeys, birds, etc. right near the premises so you really felt like you were on an adventure.

The ruins themselves are worth a trip to Guatemala alone. Tikal was great, but we really liked Yaxha as there were only a few other tourists there and it felt very, very adventurous. The views were the best there as well.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Guatemala City

JAM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip, you get picked up at your hotel, move to the airport, at landing they are waiting for you to take you to Yaxha or Tikal, good lunches, the tour guys are kind and they know a lot about mayan civilization.

They take you to your hotel on Peten in the afternoon with enough time for a drink, pool, beach walk or whatever other activity you want to do yourself.

DINNER IS NOT INCLUDED, I thought it was, i was surprised it was not, i guess i read wrong.

The order of the places you visit can change and the will tell you al pick up time, we booked Tikal first but we went Yaxha first, not big deal.

You return to Guatemala City around 7:30pm.

Tour guys physical and by phone are very open and always willing to help and answer questions.

We had a lot of fun, highly recommended!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Guatemala City

Nadezda T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a interesting tour, a good guide.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message