There are plenty of things to do in Guatemala City, but it’s what is nearby that truly offers an opportunity to fall in love with the country. In fact, three days in the area is likely not enough time, especially when, there are so many magical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good trip, overall. Be sure to take photos from a vista point of lake and mountains before you get to the lake because later the volcanoes are covered by clouds. Our guide, Armando, gave us a lot of information and kept us engaged. The village at Santiago de Atitlan is interesting. Some uphill walking. Couple of nice coffee shops. Do bargain when buying local handicrafts. A local painter Nicolas de Reande and his family have a small gallery. Interesting paintings. Lunch at Panajachel can be a challenge. Try to stay away from Cassablanca restaurant. Perhaps, Atlantis maybe a better bet.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An easy drive from Guatemala City. Interesting historic town but watch out for the very uneven cobble-stone streets and pavements. Be prepared for a lot of walking. The views from Cerro de la Cruz are lovely. The coffee museum is interesting. In their gift shop they sell a coffee liquore - it is really good. A lot of choice in handicrafts. Of course do bargain. Our guide, Armando, knows the town and its history very well and kept us engaged and interested throughout. Overall a nice trip but the walking over the cobbled stones really tired us out. The tour part as organized by Viator was good.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Spectacular! We loved this trip - the lake is magnificent, the landscape serene, and our guide Michael-Angelo (he guided us for 2 days) is second to no other! We were there in Sept 2014 - the weather was perfect, we walked around in t-shirts, shorts and hiking shoes. We carried a weather proof jacket (it can get cold on the boat and some spray at the bow; and the wind and rain is likely to pick up in the afternoon). Santiago Atitlin is unique - a whole town preserved in its own culture. Whilst walking through markets the lives, colours, aromas and vibrocity of this town touch your senses.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Vinny was extremely informative and comprehensive. The site itself is the most impressive I've ever seen. Transportation was smooth except for the fact that our 3-person party was split between two airplanes, which wasn't ideal. I would highly recommend this particular tour to anyone.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour leader was outstanding in terms of subject matter knowledge, articulateness in English, consideration of our wants, and personality. Likewise, the driver was excellent. Overall, a 5-star experience!

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very professional and for Volcano enthusiasts it a must see! Hike is a little challenging in the beginning but if you power through no need for the horse(Even though you get asked a million times to take the horse!). I love that the tours are so professional in every country conducted by partners of Viator. Winston was a treat and he was on time to pick us up and get us back safely! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent and exceeded our expectations. Guatemala was a wonderful place to visit and we reccomend it to all for a Latin American destination. The transportation, guides and hotels were all very good. We were met at the airport by a driver and he was easy to find with a clear sign. The hotels were all top class with excellent breakfasts. The tour schedule fit our needs precisely as we only had a short time to visit and we needed to be in Antigua for certain nights to attend a family function. Based on this experience, I would highly reccomend this tour and would use Viator for future bookings.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour made even more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable driver/guide. He patiently answered all the questions we posed and never once did he rush us through the tour. Well done Belisario!

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour made even more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable driver/guide. He patiently answered all the questions we posed and never once did he rush us through the tour. Well done Belisario!

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

choose this company was an excellent decision. They are responsible, friendly. The guides who are with us are high-level
My tour was led by Eric, a wonderful person, and very professional.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very tiring in this heat but once in a lifetime experience. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is one of the best tours we've been on. During the booking process, Victor from the tour company took his time to answer all our questions, concerns and help us customize our tour to include Pacaya Volcano and Hot springs which wasn't part of the original itinerary. He also help us maximize our day in Antigua by upgrading the walking tour into a full day tour so we can also visit all the towns around Antigua.
All the hotels are nice and comfortable. Porta Del Lago offers amazing view from the room and Tikal Futura in Guatemala City is also a nice hotel, it connects to a mall so we were able to go inside an elevator, go up 2 floors and enter the mall, hang out with locals and try out at the famous Pollo Campero.
The tour guides are friendly and informative, speak perfect English. Driver is great also. The level of service throughout the tour is all you can ask for.
We had a great time. The food in Guatemala is delicious, the people are friendly and the scenery is beautiful. Highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our trip to Tikal was fantastic. Viator made it so easy. They picked us up at our hotel, flight was easy, airport pickup in Flores was easy. Our guide, Fernando, was excellent and spoke terrific English. It was an amazing trip. Well-organized. I would use Viator again for other trips.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide Manuel spoke English very well. He was very knowledgeable. The trip was exactly what I wanted: a plane trip from Guatemala City to Flores, a bus ride to Tikal, a walking tour of Tikal, a lunch, and a flight back to Guatemala City. Perfect.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very Interesting tour. Everything were on high level. Exactly at 5 AM, responsible person pick up me to Guatemala city Airport. At Flores Airport our guide meet me and some other persons with shuttle. We reached Tikal site at 10 AM and immediately we started to explore this amazing place. Great. Special thanks to our guide Lopez (name is very difficult for me). He supported us for exploring not only historical monuments, but very nice nature and animals from this region.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message