• USD ($)
  • English
Located in El Peten, Tikal is the crown jewel of Mayan ruins in Guatemala. Though it has many of the same beautiful temples as its well-known counterparts in Mexico, Tikal stands apart because of its location deep in the jungle. Trekking like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our trip was awesome! The tour was outstanding. Logistics upon arrival and at every single venue were spot on so we had the confidence of being cared for along the way to and from Antigua, the airport, the parks, and the hotel. Erdo, our guide simply made the trip! He was patient, informed, flexible to our needs, explained the Mayan history and culture with knowledge and pride, spoke English well, and was additionally an expert on birds, animals, and trees. To say the least, we learned a lot from Erdo.
Our night at the hotel Camino Real was great. We sampled the buffet of Guatemalan tipicos dishes and enjoyed the balmy night air along with the sounds of the woodlands around us.
As a frequent visitor to Guatemala, amid all the concerns regarding safety, I must say we never once felt any concern. This is in large part due to the confidence we had in the tight logistics. Someone always knew right where we were, and the arrangements were always in place: To pay the park fee, at our lunch stops, at the hotel reception, the early morning pickups. It means a lot to the traveler who may have heard of the safety concerns to have this kind of coordination. We were able to spend 100% of our time "taking it all in". I would say that a person looking for the jungle experience, needs to understand this is not Manhattan! Come prepared to walk, climb, and enjoy in "Guatemalan Time"! Many thanks to Viator for a spectacular experience!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed the trip. Our tour guide "Henry" was cordial and informational. We were pleasantly surprised with the complimentary lunch. The guide gave us enough time to explore by ourselves. The pickup and drop were properly coordinated and executed. On the whole, I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I have only good things to say about the tour and the local vendor who provided it. Even though our flight from Guatemala City to Flores/Tikal was delayed by technical problems, the guide met our delayed flight and made up time in Tikal by his expert knowledge and ability to perfectly adapt the pace to our small group's interests (very active and extensive walking).

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

que buen viaje. guías muy estudiados y ruinas increíbles. muy buen servicio.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent tour,led by our English speaking guide, Miguel. His knowledge of the Mayan culture, history and archeology was immense. It did rain for almost the entire time, but somehow that didn't matter much to me. They sold cheap rain ponchos at the entry way to Tikal (20 Q). It is highly likely that I will return someday for a longer tour, and perhaps stay in Flores for several days, rather than try to squeeze it into one day. This was spectacular.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an enjoyable and educational trip. Despite the constant rain the day of our trip, our guide was enthusiastic and made the visit very enjoyable. A wonderful lunch was included.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We had an amazing guide, Miguel, and he shared a lot of information about Tikal. It rained the entire time we were there almost, which was annoying but I'd like to meet the person who can control the weather! Miguel just kept on with the tour and despite being wet, it was very enjoyable. I would point out that you need to me at a medium level of fitness for this tour as it involves 3-4 hours of hiking/walking. The paths are steep, not always graded, bumpy etc. Anyone with physical mobility issues would find this tour very difficult. The lunch was surprisingly good, and the transport arrangements were all well taken care of from Antigua to Tikal and back again without issue. Recommended!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

BAD EXPERIENCE
Went to Tikal on 1/20/2014. Was picked up at hotel and driven to airport. Brought passport which was needed and boarded 20-seat plane for the 45-minute trip. Carlos was our guide. He walked at a furious pace throughout the hike in the rain and mud. He talked to whoever was in front of him, which was nobody. Only those who kept up with him could hear him. On numerous occasions, I shouted from near the rear of the nine-person group that "we couldn't hear a damn thing you're saying!" He was aloof as if talking to the GODS. The trip is a 5-7 mile hike made palatable by a guide who would share their thoughts to the group. This action was not part of Carlos's repertoire. The site is overwhelming. Carlos as a guide is UNDERWHELMING!!! We had lunch at the site. They served cream of asparagus soup to which I am lactose-intolerant. There was no other option. Entrée was either beef or chicken. After spending $340 for the excursion, YOU HAD TO PAY FOR A SODA!! COME ON! We completed the day at the site by racing past the souvenir stand. I was afforded a quick opportunity to purchase something. Bad business, CARLOS!
Overview: We asked other people from other groups about their experience to which their guide was excellent. Unfortunately, our group grabbed the short straw. With a guide who was sensitive to their group, this tour would be fine.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Trip was good, but an unknown person died with possibly heart attack at Tikal during our visit.
There was no medical emergency medical help, not even a walk i-talki to contact any emergency personnel.
It is dangerous place to visit without any emergency help. We found out the batteries for Walk i-talki is out over a year.
I will not recommend any one to take this trip with this kind of situation.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had fun. The tour guide for Tikal was okay and it rained heavy most of the day (hence the rain forest), but the experience was adventurous. Plus the lunch after the tour was great! The tour guide for Yaxha was a lot kinder and funnier. Easy hike, with the chance to climb up the stairs of the actual temples, as opposed to Tikal having modern wooden stairs. A lot quieter and less tourist, so intimate guided tour. Great service by driver and guide all day long.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our trip was fun and very informative. The guide spoke understandable English and took us all over the park. He knew the park well and lots about the Mayan culture and practices. Also, lunch was good. We were picked up at our hotel and returned at the end of the day, which was very helpful. However, I wish that I had an itinerary for the day telling me what time the flights were. The time frame did was not according to the website.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip, magical place, but a little too long in the airport waiting to go to tikal. Thank you for a special trip with my 16 year old daughter.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

I was able to see Tikal, which was my goal, but there was so much standing around and waiting around that we could have seen a whole lot more. We stopped at a souvenir shop and stood there for at least half an hour. When people have traveled across the world to see a sight, waiting around in a souvenir shop is the last thing they want. Also, perhaps due to the slow pace of the trip, we did not have time to explore the area on our own, as the trip description promised. The tour could have been a lot better, and so much more could be seen if the pace could be kicked up a notch!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

SUPER RECOMENDADO!!!
IR A GUATEMALA Y NO IR A EL TIKAL ES COMO NO IR A GUATEMALA.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message