Located in El Peten, Tikal is the crown jewel of Mayan ruins in Guatemala. Though it has many of the same beautiful temples as its well-known counterparts in Mexico, Tikal stands apart because of its location deep in the jungle. Trekking like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Smooth travel arrangements, 2 delicious lunches, and 2 excellent guides. My only concern was that I would have liked to stay in Flores rather than in a hotel on the lake, a long distance away -- nonetheless, that hotel was lovely and relaxing after a strenuous day walking through Tikal.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great day trip to Tikal. Our guide, Juan Sandoval, was fantastic! He made the day extremely enjoyable. He was knowledgeable and presented all of the information he shared in a fun and entertaining way. It is a long day since you have to get up at the crack of dawn, but well worth the investment. If you have more time, you could definitely spend more time, but if you only have one day, it's well worth doing. And if you are physically able, definitely climb to to the top of the temples that you are allowed to, especially Temple 5. The view from there is surreal!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tikal was awesome! Also our your guide for the Tikal part was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip from San Ignacio

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tikal offered one of the most awe-inspiring days of my life! A powerful experience combining an expert Mayan guide with the sheer majesty of history, culture, architecture, nature and astronomy rpresented by this World Heritage site.This city was on my bucket list for many years, and, now, I only hope I am able to travel again through the Peninsula to sites in Mexico, Guatemala, Belize and Hinduras. Tikal amd Peten are not to be missed on any journey to Guatemala!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was great and all the staff that we worked with were very helpful. I have only two complaints:

1. There was a long rest stop at a gift shop on the trip between the airport at Flores and Tikal National Park. We were there for at least thirty minutes. It felt like a huge waste of time.

2. The return flight from Flores to Guatemala City was delayed by 1.5 hours. The staff at the airport did not communicate this delay at all and offered no compensation.

Otherwise, the national park itself and the tour were great.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip. A must do.
If you are staying in Antigua don't even think of driving or ride a bus.
A friend of ours did this trip a felt very sorry of his option.
The roads are narrow and not much safe and it is, at list, a 7 to 10 hours journey (one direction).
A little confusion at Tikal arrival airport and some delay, but all in all, everything went easy and smooth.
The guide (Vinicius) was nice, hellpfull and provided all the information we wanted to know.
The lunch is good and you can choose your prefered meal between meat, pasta, chicken or vegetarian.
Tikal is a awesome place. We couldn't be more amazed.
Recommended A+++

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. We had a terrific guide and enjoyed a delicious lunch among the jungles of Tikal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very enjoyable tour. Our guide picked us up from the airport on time, took us in a nice bus and didnt stop giving us information for the next 4 hours. Highly recommended. The guides English was good and he was very knowledgeable. He took us all around the site, not only to see the Mayan ruins but also brought us to find howler monkeys and toucans. My boyfriend and I were being picked up at Tikal itself after the tour so we missed getting a mini-tour of the island which I can imagine wouldve been very enjoyable! Cannot recommend this enough.

Doing what: Tikal Day Tour from Flores

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed the tour, and Lucas, our guide, was lovely. Informative without overloading the brain. The only hiccup was our pick-up, which was delayed by 45 minutes as they had gone to the wrong hotel. However, they picked us up and we joined the rest of the group prior to arriving at Tikal in any case.

Doing what: Tikal Day Tour from Flores

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our trip to Tikal was fantastic. Viator made it so easy. They picked us up at our hotel, flight was easy, airport pickup in Flores was easy. Our guide, Fernando, was excellent and spoke terrific English. It was an amazing trip. Well-organized. I would use Viator again for other trips.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide Manuel spoke English very well. He was very knowledgeable. The trip was exactly what I wanted: a plane trip from Guatemala City to Flores, a bus ride to Tikal, a walking tour of Tikal, a lunch, and a flight back to Guatemala City. Perfect.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very Interesting tour. Everything were on high level. Exactly at 5 AM, responsible person pick up me to Guatemala city Airport. At Flores Airport our guide meet me and some other persons with shuttle. We reached Tikal site at 10 AM and immediately we started to explore this amazing place. Great. Special thanks to our guide Lopez (name is very difficult for me). He supported us for exploring not only historical monuments, but very nice nature and animals from this region.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I have only good things to say about the tour and the local vendor who provided it. Even though our flight from Guatemala City to Flores/Tikal was delayed by technical problems, the guide met our delayed flight and made up time in Tikal by his expert knowledge and ability to perfectly adapt the pace to our small group's interests (very active and extensive walking).

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an excellent tour,led by our English speaking guide, Miguel. His knowledge of the Mayan culture, history and archeology was immense. It did rain for almost the entire time, but somehow that didn't matter much to me. They sold cheap rain ponchos at the entry way to Tikal (20 Q). It is highly likely that I will return someday for a longer tour, and perhaps stay in Flores for several days, rather than try to squeeze it into one day. This was spectacular.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We had an amazing guide, Miguel, and he shared a lot of information about Tikal. It rained the entire time we were there almost, which was annoying but I'd like to meet the person who can control the weather! Miguel just kept on with the tour and despite being wet, it was very enjoyable. I would point out that you need to me at a medium level of fitness for this tour as it involves 3-4 hours of hiking/walking. The paths are steep, not always graded, bumpy etc. Anyone with physical mobility issues would find this tour very difficult. The lunch was surprisingly good, and the transport arrangements were all well taken care of from Antigua to Tikal and back again without issue. Recommended!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

BAD EXPERIENCE
Went to Tikal on 1/20/2014. Was picked up at hotel and driven to airport. Brought passport which was needed and boarded 20-seat plane for the 45-minute trip. Carlos was our guide. He walked at a furious pace throughout the hike in the rain and mud. He talked to whoever was in front of him, which was nobody. Only those who kept up with him could hear him. On numerous occasions, I shouted from near the rear of the nine-person group that "we couldn't hear a damn thing you're saying!" He was aloof as if talking to the GODS. The trip is a 5-7 mile hike made palatable by a guide who would share their thoughts to the group. This action was not part of Carlos's repertoire. The site is overwhelming. Carlos as a guide is UNDERWHELMING!!! We had lunch at the site. They served cream of asparagus soup to which I am lactose-intolerant. There was no other option. Entrée was either beef or chicken. After spending $340 for the excursion, YOU HAD TO PAY FOR A SODA!! COME ON! We completed the day at the site by racing past the souvenir stand. I was afforded a quick opportunity to purchase something. Bad business, CARLOS!
Overview: We asked other people from other groups about their experience to which their guide was excellent. Unfortunately, our group grabbed the short straw. With a guide who was sensitive to their group, this tour would be fine.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Trip was good, but an unknown person died with possibly heart attack at Tikal during our visit.
There was no medical emergency medical help, not even a walk i-talki to contact any emergency personnel.
It is dangerous place to visit without any emergency help. We found out the batteries for Walk i-talki is out over a year.
I will not recommend any one to take this trip with this kind of situation.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had fun. The tour guide for Tikal was okay and it rained heavy most of the day (hence the rain forest), but the experience was adventurous. Plus the lunch after the tour was great! The tour guide for Yaxha was a lot kinder and funnier. Easy hike, with the chance to climb up the stairs of the actual temples, as opposed to Tikal having modern wooden stairs. A lot quieter and less tourist, so intimate guided tour. Great service by driver and guide all day long.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip, magical place, but a little too long in the airport waiting to go to tikal. Thank you for a special trip with my 16 year old daughter.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

I was able to see Tikal, which was my goal, but there was so much standing around and waiting around that we could have seen a whole lot more. We stopped at a souvenir shop and stood there for at least half an hour. When people have traveled across the world to see a sight, waiting around in a souvenir shop is the last thing they want. Also, perhaps due to the slow pace of the trip, we did not have time to explore the area on our own, as the trip description promised. The tour could have been a lot better, and so much more could be seen if the pace could be kicked up a notch!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

SUPER RECOMENDADO!!!
IR A GUATEMALA Y NO IR A EL TIKAL ES COMO NO IR A GUATEMALA.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

This tour was a big disappointment. I have seen the ruins of Mexico including the Sun and Moon pyramids, Palenque, Uxma and Chitza-Itza. Those ruins are fairly well preserved and restored, many with some of the original colorings and reliefs intact. Tikal was ok, but had none of the original colors and reliefs. Our guide there spoke great English but he didn't tell us anything about the traditions and rituals of the Mayan people who lived there. Yaxha was not interesting and Ixhimche wasn't worth going to at all. The only thing I enjoyed was our hotel in Antigua, its proximity to the market place, the boat ride across the lake and the Pacaya Volcano. Our tour guide that we had for the first 4 days was only 50% intelligible. We had to work very hard to understand him, unfortunately. I have taken many trips and have never felt like I wasted my money until now. It just was not worth the cost.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Of course we enjoyed the splendor of Tikal. To view the heart of an ancient civilization more than 3,000 years old was incredible. The trip that Viator promised was up to par. Everything was as planned. The plane trips to and fro, the van to the park, the tour and the afternoon lunch was all as expected. The personnel were very good and we learned a lot from our guide. I highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message