Hamburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Church St Michaelis (Michaeliskirche)

The baroque Protestant Church of St. Michaelis - or Michaeliskirche - is a Hamburg landmark. Its famous clock tower soaring above the city roofs has been a beacon for sailors since the 1680s. The copper dome and gold clock of St. Michaelis’ ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Hamburg with this package and the Hop on/Hop off bus tour guides were exceptional. However, were VERY disappointed with the supposedly "English" tour of the River Elbe. We checked even before we boarded the boat that this was, an English tour as advertised. The guide led the tour mostly in German, with a few English sentences thrown in here and there. A wonderful German couple, who were also surprised also at how very little English was spoken for the advertised tour, saw our confusion and provided translation for us which made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Especially enjoyed the boat trips although the lake trip is only in German. It was nice to relax on the boat as our feet were tired. The river trip has one in English. That was very interesting as Hamburg is a busy port with a lot going on. We saw one container ship that was enormous. Actually don't know how it stayed afloat! St Michael's Church is not to be missed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but is truly a feast for the eyes inside. You can also go up the tower for a fee and have a 360 degree view of the city.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The English component of the on board commentary was limited, therefore we felt we missed a lot of ten detail being communicated to the customers who understood German. Whilst we appreciated all we could see, it was disappointing to not understand much of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good for seeing hamburg and getting a lovely overview of the beautiful city.

Visitors will get more out of the tour if they understand German as the English commentary (available in summer) was quite limited and varied a lot in quality / length depending on the guide.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

You should tell us where to board the bus and which "Hop On / Hop Off line the ticket is good for.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was difficult to communicate in English and at lake alst

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice we enjoyed it we do it again

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Promised English was very limited. No English on lake tour at all. Instructions on where to start tour were not clear. Bus tours took several hours but harbour cruise only once a day @ noon. Tour guide said I would make it to the harbour in time but not even close!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent opportunity see Hamburg.Windscreen wipers upstairs would be nice.
Good value.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The bus tour was rather crowded with a woman behind me digging her knees into the back of my seat. Most of the commentary was in German, with the little English commentary there was coming after we had passed the place referred to. The lake cruise had no English commentary at all, although I could tell that the captain/guide was amusing, shame we missed the jokes. There didn't seem much point to the cruise as there seemed little to look at, I enjoyed the bracing air and the chance to rest for an hour. The tour description said there would be tea included in the price, but we were not offered any or directed to anywhere to get some. We didn't bother to go for the harbour cruise.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Commentary was 99% German, didn't understand where we were or what we were looking at !
Thought we would have headphones so we could listen in English
Would not recommend this tour if you do not speak German !!

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Difficult to find the location to catch the bus. There were multiple hop on hop off buss systems. Was raining heavy the day we were there. Got soaked trying to find the right bus system. They should have a prerecorded translation - it would be easier to understand.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Minimal narration in English though tour guide asked at start of tour how many passengers are English speaking. As a result, did not benefit from an understanding of the sights. Will be helpful if tour guide mentioned each stop on the map as the bus approached by number so passengers will know where we are. We had to guess where we were.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message