Hamburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Church St Michaelis (Michaeliskirche)

The baroque Protestant Church of St. Michaelis (Michaeliskirche) is a Hamburg landmark. Its famous clock tower soaring above the city roofs has been a beacon for sailors since the 1680s. The copper dome and gold clock of St. Michaelis’ ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked online and did have any printed voucher. The lady inform us we need a paper voucher I requested to speak with her supervisor and they help us to get with our tour hassle free. Excellent customer service.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall good. Hop on hop of buss would be better if they used multi language head sets like lake Alster cruise used. The harbour cruise was magnificent,

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Bus tour was great.

Lake Alster tour was very disappointing. The tour was only in German, even though the commentator knew we only spoke English.

The other tour was also only in German and the only time they had an English speaking tour was at 12pm ONLY!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mit der Hamburg Card sind wir meistens von unserem Hotel aus mit der S-Bahn zum Bahnhof gefahren. Von dort aus gab es viele Möglichkeiten in alle Richtungen weiter zu fahren. Wir benutzten auch die U-Bahn als auch die Busse. Mit der Card fühlt man sich völlig Unabhängig. Auch eine Fahrt mit die Fähre nach Finkenwerder wurde mit eingebaut. Wir saßen auf Deck und kamen sehr erfroren auf Hamburg Landungsbrücken wieder an.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great combination. We started with the hop-on hop-off tour, so we saw very much of the city on the first day. Next day we enjoyed the harbour cruise and the Lake Alster tour. As it was a bit colder we went below deck and you could warm up with drinks.
Each time its a joyful experience to be in possession of this combo card.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the harbour cruise. It was a very good look at the shipping industry up close. We used the head set on the Lake Alster cruise but could still hear (loud and clear) the captain/guide doing the tour in German.. Maybe everyone should use the ear phones.
Otherwise, it was also pleasurable.
The hop on/hop off is always a great way to see any city, Hamburg included. I found the excessive graffiti a little off-putting, but, for a quick look at Hamburg, it did the trick.
My friend found it funny that people from Hamburg are indeed called Hamburgers!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Only fault was the Lake Alster tour which was only in German and we didn't know what or where were were looking at!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour is pretty comprehensive and does what it says on the tin. The downside to this tour is that on the bus if you're lucky about 30% of the guided talk will be in English (as overheard by the guide themselves) and proved to be true. On the Lake Alster cruise there was no English guide. We also found the information from viator limited to locate the bus initially and once tickets obtained still insufficient information to readily identify either of the boats. A call to the 'emergency contact' number helped at the harbour and just choosing the right line of people worked for the lake. Worth doing but you may prefer to find a tour that has predominantly English guides for a more informative tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Hamburg with this package and the Hop on/Hop off bus tour guides were exceptional. However, were VERY disappointed with the supposedly "English" tour of the River Elbe. We checked even before we boarded the boat that this was, an English tour as advertised. The guide led the tour mostly in German, with a few English sentences thrown in here and there. A wonderful German couple, who were also surprised also at how very little English was spoken for the advertised tour, saw our confusion and provided translation for us which made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We read that there would be a guide that spoke English but the guide spoke very little and spoke in a monotone that it was hard to hear when she was speaking German or English. We were disappointed in the tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Especially enjoyed the boat trips although the lake trip is only in German. It was nice to relax on the boat as our feet were tired. The river trip has one in English. That was very interesting as Hamburg is a busy port with a lot going on. We saw one container ship that was enormous. Actually don't know how it stayed afloat! St Michael's Church is not to be missed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but is truly a feast for the eyes inside. You can also go up the tower for a fee and have a 360 degree view of the city.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The English component of the on board commentary was limited, therefore we felt we missed a lot of ten detail being communicated to the customers who understood German. Whilst we appreciated all we could see, it was disappointing to not understand much of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good for seeing hamburg and getting a lovely overview of the beautiful city.

Visitors will get more out of the tour if they understand German as the English commentary (available in summer) was quite limited and varied a lot in quality / length depending on the guide.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Did not use it. You had to go across town from where we were to redeem the voucher. Not a good purchase.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

You should tell us where to board the bus and which "Hop On / Hop Off line the ticket is good for.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was difficult to communicate in English and at lake alst

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice we enjoyed it we do it again

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Promised English was very limited. No English on lake tour at all. Instructions on where to start tour were not clear. Bus tours took several hours but harbour cruise only once a day @ noon. Tour guide said I would make it to the harbour in time but not even close!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Actually pretty worthless. Not the card's fault. It is just that there apparently is no payment required for riding public transportation in Hamburg. There are machines to buy tickets but no one asks for tickets, you just get on and ride. Saw very few tickets being purchased.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Worth it if you use a lot of public transportation, but not much of a value for admission to museums and other attractions. Also a big pain to have to pick it up at Tourist Information office at Central RR station. Why couldn't the card be waiting for us at our Hotel?

Doing what: Hamburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quality and value exceptional. Will continue to use your service wherever we travel.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

great, useful, I saved money in museums, transportation, canal cruise, I loved it

Doing what: Hamburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Hamburg is truly beautiful and perfect for a mini city break. The train service is excellent and not too hard too use. ALTHOUGH the Hamburg card isnt really that good value for money, firstly as the fares for the trains arnt that expensive and also i saw NO-ONE over the 4 days ever buy a ticket, and saw no ticket collectors working on the trains, and also unlike London there were no ticket gates etc. In hindside we could have probably travelled around the whole time, like the local Germans clearly do without playing a penny!
We stayed at Sofitel and it was truly beautiful!
Food and places to eat were nice., although the locals werent overly polite. Id def. recommend the boat trips and some time at the Harbour. The roofless bus, although good for getting around, theres not really many ''sights'' in Hamburg that needed pointing out

Doing what: Hamburg Card

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! One of our travelers has written to us to comment on the transportation system in Germany, with the following helpful information:

In Germany, locals buy weekly, monthly, or even annual riding passes. While there are no ticket gates like in London, plain clothes police make their rounds on all public transport. Being caught without a ticket is an automatic 40 Euro fine payable to the officer.

We hope this information helps you, and future travelers during your stay in Hamburg!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message