Hamburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Church St Michaelis (Michaeliskirche)

The baroque Protestant Church of St. Michaelis - or Michaeliskirche - is a Hamburg landmark. Its famous clock tower soaring above the city roofs has been a beacon for sailors since the 1680s. The copper dome and gold clock of St. Michaelis’ ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall good. Hop on hop of buss would be better if they used multi language head sets like lake Alster cruise used. The harbour cruise was magnificent,

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great combination. We started with the hop-on hop-off tour, so we saw very much of the city on the first day. Next day we enjoyed the harbour cruise and the Lake Alster tour. As it was a bit colder we went below deck and you could warm up with drinks.
Each time its a joyful experience to be in possession of this combo card.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the harbour cruise. It was a very good look at the shipping industry up close. We used the head set on the Lake Alster cruise but could still hear (loud and clear) the captain/guide doing the tour in German.. Maybe everyone should use the ear phones.
Otherwise, it was also pleasurable.
The hop on/hop off is always a great way to see any city, Hamburg included. I found the excessive graffiti a little off-putting, but, for a quick look at Hamburg, it did the trick.
My friend found it funny that people from Hamburg are indeed called Hamburgers!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Only fault was the Lake Alster tour which was only in German and we didn't know what or where were were looking at!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour is pretty comprehensive and does what it says on the tin. The downside to this tour is that on the bus if you're lucky about 30% of the guided talk will be in English (as overheard by the guide themselves) and proved to be true. On the Lake Alster cruise there was no English guide. We also found the information from viator limited to locate the bus initially and once tickets obtained still insufficient information to readily identify either of the boats. A call to the 'emergency contact' number helped at the harbour and just choosing the right line of people worked for the lake. Worth doing but you may prefer to find a tour that has predominantly English guides for a more informative tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

No English spoken and no headsets! Not for the English speaking groups

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We signed up for an English speaking tour and 99% was in German. There were many English speaking tourists on the bus and we were very disappointed. The ride through the city was lovely.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Hamburg with this package and the Hop on/Hop off bus tour guides were exceptional. However, were VERY disappointed with the supposedly "English" tour of the River Elbe. We checked even before we boarded the boat that this was, an English tour as advertised. The guide led the tour mostly in German, with a few English sentences thrown in here and there. A wonderful German couple, who were also surprised also at how very little English was spoken for the advertised tour, saw our confusion and provided translation for us which made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We read that there would be a guide that spoke English but the guide spoke very little and spoke in a monotone that it was hard to hear when she was speaking German or English. We were disappointed in the tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Especially enjoyed the boat trips although the lake trip is only in German. It was nice to relax on the boat as our feet were tired. The river trip has one in English. That was very interesting as Hamburg is a busy port with a lot going on. We saw one container ship that was enormous. Actually don't know how it stayed afloat! St Michael's Church is not to be missed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but is truly a feast for the eyes inside. You can also go up the tower for a fee and have a 360 degree view of the city.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The English component of the on board commentary was limited, therefore we felt we missed a lot of ten detail being communicated to the customers who understood German. Whilst we appreciated all we could see, it was disappointing to not understand much of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good for seeing hamburg and getting a lovely overview of the beautiful city.

Visitors will get more out of the tour if they understand German as the English commentary (available in summer) was quite limited and varied a lot in quality / length depending on the guide.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

You should tell us where to board the bus and which "Hop On / Hop Off line the ticket is good for.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was difficult to communicate in English and at lake alst

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice we enjoyed it we do it again

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Promised English was very limited. No English on lake tour at all. Instructions on where to start tour were not clear. Bus tours took several hours but harbour cruise only once a day @ noon. Tour guide said I would make it to the harbour in time but not even close!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent opportunity see Hamburg.Windscreen wipers upstairs would be nice.
Good value.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The bus tour was rather crowded with a woman behind me digging her knees into the back of my seat. Most of the commentary was in German, with the little English commentary there was coming after we had passed the place referred to. The lake cruise had no English commentary at all, although I could tell that the captain/guide was amusing, shame we missed the jokes. There didn't seem much point to the cruise as there seemed little to look at, I enjoyed the bracing air and the chance to rest for an hour. The tour description said there would be tea included in the price, but we were not offered any or directed to anywhere to get some. We didn't bother to go for the harbour cruise.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Commentary was 99% German, didn't understand where we were or what we were looking at !
Thought we would have headphones so we could listen in English
Would not recommend this tour if you do not speak German !!

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Difficult to find the location to catch the bus. There were multiple hop on hop off buss systems. Was raining heavy the day we were there. Got soaked trying to find the right bus system. They should have a prerecorded translation - it would be easier to understand.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Minimal narration in English though tour guide asked at start of tour how many passengers are English speaking. As a result, did not benefit from an understanding of the sights. Will be helpful if tour guide mentioned each stop on the map as the bus approached by number so passengers will know where we are. We had to guess where we were.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The bus tour was ok bit it would have better to have had headphones like they do on some other buses. The boat tour of the harbour was very good but the tour of lake alter was a bit boring would have better having a canal tour instead

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The Hop On - Hop Off tour bus was great and worthwhile. Te free river cruise that came with it is not to be missed. The lake tour was good but not offered in English like the 12 noon river tour was. All in all, worthwhile.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message