Hamburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Church St Michaelis (Michaeliskirche)

The baroque Protestant Church of St. Michaelis - or Michaeliskirche - is a Hamburg landmark. Its famous clock tower soaring above the city roofs has been a beacon for sailors since the 1680s. The copper dome and gold clock of St. Michaelis’ ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the harbour cruise. It was a very good look at the shipping industry up close. We used the head set on the Lake Alster cruise but could still hear (loud and clear) the captain/guide doing the tour in German.. Maybe everyone should use the ear phones.
Otherwise, it was also pleasurable.
The hop on/hop off is always a great way to see any city, Hamburg included. I found the excessive graffiti a little off-putting, but, for a quick look at Hamburg, it did the trick.
My friend found it funny that people from Hamburg are indeed called Hamburgers!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Only fault was the Lake Alster tour which was only in German and we didn't know what or where were were looking at!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour is pretty comprehensive and does what it says on the tin. The downside to this tour is that on the bus if you're lucky about 30% of the guided talk will be in English (as overheard by the guide themselves) and proved to be true. On the Lake Alster cruise there was no English guide. We also found the information from viator limited to locate the bus initially and once tickets obtained still insufficient information to readily identify either of the boats. A call to the 'emergency contact' number helped at the harbour and just choosing the right line of people worked for the lake. Worth doing but you may prefer to find a tour that has predominantly English guides for a more informative tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

No English spoken and no headsets! Not for the English speaking groups

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We signed up for an English speaking tour and 99% was in German. There were many English speaking tourists on the bus and we were very disappointed. The ride through the city was lovely.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Hamburg with this package and the Hop on/Hop off bus tour guides were exceptional. However, were VERY disappointed with the supposedly "English" tour of the River Elbe. We checked even before we boarded the boat that this was, an English tour as advertised. The guide led the tour mostly in German, with a few English sentences thrown in here and there. A wonderful German couple, who were also surprised also at how very little English was spoken for the advertised tour, saw our confusion and provided translation for us which made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We read that there would be a guide that spoke English but the guide spoke very little and spoke in a monotone that it was hard to hear when she was speaking German or English. We were disappointed in the tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Especially enjoyed the boat trips although the lake trip is only in German. It was nice to relax on the boat as our feet were tired. The river trip has one in English. That was very interesting as Hamburg is a busy port with a lot going on. We saw one container ship that was enormous. Actually don't know how it stayed afloat! St Michael's Church is not to be missed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but is truly a feast for the eyes inside. You can also go up the tower for a fee and have a 360 degree view of the city.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The English component of the on board commentary was limited, therefore we felt we missed a lot of ten detail being communicated to the customers who understood German. Whilst we appreciated all we could see, it was disappointing to not understand much of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good for seeing hamburg and getting a lovely overview of the beautiful city.

Visitors will get more out of the tour if they understand German as the English commentary (available in summer) was quite limited and varied a lot in quality / length depending on the guide.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

You should tell us where to board the bus and which "Hop On / Hop Off line the ticket is good for.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was difficult to communicate in English and at lake alst

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice we enjoyed it we do it again

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Promised English was very limited. No English on lake tour at all. Instructions on where to start tour were not clear. Bus tours took several hours but harbour cruise only once a day @ noon. Tour guide said I would make it to the harbour in time but not even close!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message