Trade has always been Hamburg’s raison d’etre, and today the Port of Hamburg is the largest in Germany. The sprawling port takes up more than an eighth of the city, with around 12,000 ships a year delivering and picking up goods. A river ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

No English spoken and no headsets! Not for the English speaking groups

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

We signed up for an English speaking tour and 99% was in German. There were many English speaking tourists on the bus and we were very disappointed. The ride through the city was lovely.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We found Hamburgh to be a lovely city,but the hop on hop off bus tour was an absolute disaster. The buses did not have an audio system and the only commentary we received was from the German driver. Initially he only spoke in German but after we spoke to him he threw in a few lines of English which because of his accent and tone of voice ,made him virtually impossible to understand. The commentary was so bad we did not even go on the Lake Alster tour,which also had no audio system. Both tours were a complete waste of money for us.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent opportunity see Hamburg.Windscreen wipers upstairs would be nice.
Good value.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Commentary was 99% German, didn't understand where we were or what we were looking at !
Thought we would have headphones so we could listen in English
Would not recommend this tour if you do not speak German !!

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Difficult to find the location to catch the bus. There were multiple hop on hop off buss systems. Was raining heavy the day we were there. Got soaked trying to find the right bus system. They should have a prerecorded translation - it would be easier to understand.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The cruise and the bus tour were fantastic, staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The only issue was the local tourist information office were not aware of the viator and our original booking did not have the information related to the local tour operator on it. but we were finally directed to the correct tour company and the staff were very helpful.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The river cruise was great. The bus tour was terrible. English speaking guests beware. This is not a German/English tour. It is 85% German and 15% English. The tour guide told long, apparently funny stories in German and did not repeat them in English. We got off midway. The lake tour was pretty.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Hop on hop of tour great
Harbour curuse was good had a great day

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Hop on hop of tour great
Harbour curuse was good had a great day

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Guide very knowledgable but more spoken in German than English, but would defenately recommend to friends

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

I'm sorry to say that if you don't understand German, forget this trip particularly the harbour cruise. We sat there like idiot on the harbour cruise while all enjoyed laughter and jokes and not a word of English was spoken. As for the bus tour, I understand and speak a good deal of German although my wife speaks none and i explained to her that what they were explaining in English was about one tenth of what they were saying in German. It would seem that these tours are directed at German tourists and not International. Hamburg is a beautiful city to see but as for the method of our sightseeing I wouldn't waste my money again!!!

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

It was very disappointing. In Hamburg we had to pay a cab 7 euro to get to the bus and 8 euro to get back Way to far. The distance from the bus to the boat on the lake was at lease a mile. I am so glal i didn't sign up for a hoponhopoff at all ten of our stops. The guide in Hamburg was very nice but they didn't give me all of the tickets I needed and almost didn't get to go on boat ride. We skipped the harbor tour. We were tired and frustrated. Sorry, I know some travelers love this alternative to high priced tours but for us it just didn't work..

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message