• USD ($)
  • English
Trade has always been Hamburg’s raison d’etre, and today the Port of Hamburg is the largest in Germany. The sprawling port takes up more than an eighth of the city, with around 12,000 ships a year delivering and picking up goods. A river ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was really really great. All the city tour bus drivers are really kind. And they know the booking papers. We just got on the bus. It was really easy to see on the second front with baby.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quality and value exceptional. Will continue to use your service wherever we travel.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent opportunity see Hamburg.Windscreen wipers upstairs would be nice.
Good value.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

great, useful, I saved money in museums, transportation, canal cruise, I loved it

Doing what: Hamburg Card

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

If you can understand german the tour would be excellent, commentary was broadcast around the bus,there was not a facility to select your language and listen through headphones. 90% of the commentary was in german which after a short time became very annoying.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Hamburg is truly beautiful and perfect for a mini city break. The train service is excellent and not too hard too use. ALTHOUGH the Hamburg card isnt really that good value for money, firstly as the fares for the trains arnt that expensive and also i saw NO-ONE over the 4 days ever buy a ticket, and saw no ticket collectors working on the trains, and also unlike London there were no ticket gates etc. In hindside we could have probably travelled around the whole time, like the local Germans clearly do without playing a penny!
We stayed at Sofitel and it was truly beautiful!
Food and places to eat were nice., although the locals werent overly polite. Id def. recommend the boat trips and some time at the Harbour. The roofless bus, although good for getting around, theres not really many ''sights'' in Hamburg that needed pointing out

Doing what: Hamburg Card

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! One of our travelers has written to us to comment on the transportation system in Germany, with the following helpful information:

In Germany, locals buy weekly, monthly, or even annual riding passes. While there are no ticket gates like in London, plain clothes police make their rounds on all public transport. Being caught without a ticket is an automatic 40 Euro fine payable to the officer.

We hope this information helps you, and future travelers during your stay in Hamburg!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The bus tour was rather crowded with a woman behind me digging her knees into the back of my seat. Most of the commentary was in German, with the little English commentary there was coming after we had passed the place referred to. The lake cruise had no English commentary at all, although I could tell that the captain/guide was amusing, shame we missed the jokes. There didn't seem much point to the cruise as there seemed little to look at, I enjoyed the bracing air and the chance to rest for an hour. The tour description said there would be tea included in the price, but we were not offered any or directed to anywhere to get some. We didn't bother to go for the harbour cruise.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Commentary was 99% German, didn't understand where we were or what we were looking at !
Thought we would have headphones so we could listen in English
Would not recommend this tour if you do not speak German !!

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Difficult to find the location to catch the bus. There were multiple hop on hop off buss systems. Was raining heavy the day we were there. Got soaked trying to find the right bus system. They should have a prerecorded translation - it would be easier to understand.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The cruise and the bus tour were fantastic, staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The only issue was the local tourist information office were not aware of the viator and our original booking did not have the information related to the local tour operator on it. but we were finally directed to the correct tour company and the staff were very helpful.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Supposedly an English / German tour . Mmmmmmm not really 99% German and when I prompted the translator he started to speak English . Bit disappointing I'm familiar with German and hamburg so I was ok keeping up , but for my wife it was appalling ! So my recommendation do the boat trip. Not the bus !

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The river cruise was great. The bus tour was terrible. English speaking guests beware. This is not a German/English tour. It is 85% German and 15% English. The tour guide told long, apparently funny stories in German and did not repeat them in English. We got off midway. The lake tour was pretty.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This hop on hop off city tour was very convenient and allowed me to see the city. I would and have recommended the tour to others traveling in Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour, excellent value, excellent weather..

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message