• USD ($)
  • English
Trade has always been Hamburg’s raison d’etre, and today the Port of Hamburg is the largest in Germany. The sprawling port takes up more than an eighth of the city, with around 12,000 ships a year delivering and picking up goods. A river ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

You should tell us where to board the bus and which "Hop On / Hop Off line the ticket is good for.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We found Hamburgh to be a lovely city,but the hop on hop off bus tour was an absolute disaster. The buses did not have an audio system and the only commentary we received was from the German driver. Initially he only spoke in German but after we spoke to him he threw in a few lines of English which because of his accent and tone of voice ,made him virtually impossible to understand. The commentary was so bad we did not even go on the Lake Alster tour,which also had no audio system. Both tours were a complete waste of money for us.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor and Lake Alster Cruises

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice we enjoyed it we do it again

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Promised English was very limited. No English on lake tour at all. Instructions on where to start tour were not clear. Bus tours took several hours but harbour cruise only once a day @ noon. Tour guide said I would make it to the harbour in time but not even close!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The guide seemed knowledgable and the tour thorough, however the entire tour was in German, and I couldn't understand a word. You should put that in the description...

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Actually pretty worthless. Not the card's fault. It is just that there apparently is no payment required for riding public transportation in Hamburg. There are machines to buy tickets but no one asks for tickets, you just get on and ride. Saw very few tickets being purchased.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Worth it if you use a lot of public transportation, but not much of a value for admission to museums and other attractions. Also a big pain to have to pick it up at Tourist Information office at Central RR station. Why couldn't the card be waiting for us at our Hotel?

Doing what: Hamburg Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This was very disappointing. There was minimal English commentary. However the worst thing was that they didn't stop where they said they would. People were asking to get off at places marked on the map as stops and they refused. This was at the Fish Market and behind the central bus station.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The second I got on the bus and the tour guide saw that I was english speaking, he immediately told me I was the only one on the bus he had to speak English for. So for the entire tour he spoke about 5 minutes in German, then would say in English for example ,"that's a church".

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was really really great. All the city tour bus drivers are really kind. And they know the booking papers. We just got on the bus. It was really easy to see on the second front with baby.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quality and value exceptional. Will continue to use your service wherever we travel.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent opportunity see Hamburg.Windscreen wipers upstairs would be nice.
Good value.

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

great, useful, I saved money in museums, transportation, canal cruise, I loved it

Doing what: Hamburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message