• USD ($)
  • English
Hamburg, Germany's second largest and most notorious city, is known for its magnificent harbor and for the Reeperbahn in St Pauli (the biggest red light district in the world and where the Beatles came to fame). Renowned for its wonderfully odd mix ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Supposedly an English / German tour . Mmmmmmm not really 99% German and when I prompted the translator he started to speak English . Bit disappointing I'm familiar with German and hamburg so I was ok keeping up , but for my wife it was appalling ! So my recommendation do the boat trip. Not the bus !

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This hop on hop off city tour was very convenient and allowed me to see the city. I would and have recommended the tour to others traveling in Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We have done HoHo tours in a variety of countries and found our Hamburg experience to be a very positive one. The drivers and tour guides were very friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs. Their commentaries were humorous and timely, and the English versions were quite easy to understand. As a native German speaker, I was able to appreciate how skillfully they constructed their English comments to capture the humor and content of the German version.

Special kudos to one of the drivers who went above and beyond his duties to provide us with train and bus routing information to get to a point of interest quite a distance from the center of Hamburg. It was very evident that the staff has a strong sense of customer service and they attempt to meet their customers' needs.

One aspect of our experience that reduced my rating by one star is the commentary on the cruise portion of our trip. The commentator rattled off his lines in German and English as though he were saying a rosary. With the distractions of the boat engine, the wind, harbour traffic and the repeated malfunctioning of his microphone, it was very difficult to follow what he was saying. The cruise company would be well advised to do some communications training with their tour guides to ensure that clients actually derive some information from the commentary.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Disorganised; no offer of a route map, and poor explanation about stopping the bus, if there were no new passengers at the stop. Guide's English mediocre, and very strongly aimed at the German-speaking passengers. Tour itself was interesting, and well planned, if you knew anything about Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Well, Hamburg is beautiful and glad we got to see it but, unfortunately, although the tour guide spoke perfect English to us when we asked her to do some commentary in English, she did very, very little commentary in English - even when we asked her two other times during the bus ride. VERY disappointed, Viator. I am surprised because your tours are usually so good but this one was very lacking!

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

There was no bus marked "Hop on Hop Off", but we were told all trip buses were HOHO. The Hamburg bus had no translation ear phones and everything was in German only. Once in a while the driver gave a very small review in English. Even with the map, we were very confused as to what we were seeing. I would not book this HOHO again.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Its better with tour guides, but some guides lack in explaining the facts in the English language. Its also difficult for the guide to explain the facts in 2 different languages because you have driven by the historical site or place to see. (not enough time for them to talk) I have experienced bus tours with headphones (pre-recorded information) in a variety of languages. I really enjoyed the tour of Hamburg, the guides were very helpful and cordial. Thanks sincerely, Brian

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable about Hamburg, He alternated between English and German very well, Since it was raining and cold, I stayed on the bus for two times around. The tour would be even nicer in warmer months when the top and windows are down,

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This Hamburg Hop on Hop off are so special, the tour guide so funny and generous. The city is beautiful and absolutely a must to visit.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Overall, a very good experience especially if you have a limited amount of time in Hamburg and want to maximize your time

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This is certainly worth doing especially if you are in Hamburg for a very short time - it gives you a good idea of the city. The commentary was very useful and the guide exceptionally friendly. I also recommend the harbour tour.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

I'm sorry to say that if you don't understand German, forget this trip particularly the harbour cruise. We sat there like idiot on the harbour cruise while all enjoyed laughter and jokes and not a word of English was spoken. As for the bus tour, I understand and speak a good deal of German although my wife speaks none and i explained to her that what they were explaining in English was about one tenth of what they were saying in German. It would seem that these tours are directed at German tourists and not International. Hamburg is a beautiful city to see but as for the method of our sightseeing I wouldn't waste my money again!!!

Doing what: Hamburg Shore Excursion: Hamburg Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Harbor Cruise

Nick
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We use the red hop-on hop-off double decker wherever we go so we know the brand well. We were very surprised that on our bus there was no multi choice language audio system. The guide spoke through a microphone. If we had been German or fluent in German we would have had what was obviously a well informed and apparently very humorous visit. However the descriptions in English were, to say the least minimal, spoken at speed in a thick accent very difficult to follow. Hamburg franchisee should ensure that their buses are up to date with audio multilingual. if they are not don't use them, use one of the other competitors who have.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The tour bus only stopped one place to "Hop-on/Hop-off" so the name is misleading.
Also, I only speak English, and certainly did not get the same tour as the German speakers. The guide would talk for 2 minutes in German and then in English say, "Right hand is the oldest post office in Hamburg." This was very frustrating. Also, no world war II history was discussed during the tour. I understand it is a sensitive topic to Germans and was not promised, but prospective tour guests should be aware of this. Other than that, the people were nice, the bus was clean, and it indeed did last 2 hours.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

I bought the bus AND boat tour online, the coupon they emailed me only said 'bus', I called to confirm by phone that my tour was indeed both and over the phone they said YES... but when i got to the tour boat I couldn't get on because my coupon didnt say boat on it. SO I had to buy two more tickets for the boat so I wouldn't miss the tour. By the way... the tour cruise was nice.

Update: Viator addressed my issues promptly and was reimbursed for the part of my tour that I (obviously accidentally) was not given tickets for in Hamburg. I would definitely recommend this tour to others. I especially liked how I got to pay for this in my home currency so I got to avoid foreign transaction fees.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message