Hamburg, Germany's second largest and most notorious city, is known for its magnificent harbor and for the Reeperbahn in St Pauli (the biggest red light district in the world and where the Beatles came to fame). Renowned for its wonderfully odd mix ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Hamburg with this package and the Hop on/Hop off bus tour guides were exceptional. However, were VERY disappointed with the supposedly "English" tour of the River Elbe. We checked even before we boarded the boat that this was, an English tour as advertised. The guide led the tour mostly in German, with a few English sentences thrown in here and there. A wonderful German couple, who were also surprised also at how very little English was spoken for the advertised tour, saw our confusion and provided translation for us which made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Personalized commentary was excellent but the stops were too long sitting in the sun. Lovely city is Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Especially enjoyed the boat trips although the lake trip is only in German. It was nice to relax on the boat as our feet were tired. The river trip has one in English. That was very interesting as Hamburg is a busy port with a lot going on. We saw one container ship that was enormous. Actually don't know how it stayed afloat! St Michael's Church is not to be missed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but is truly a feast for the eyes inside. You can also go up the tower for a fee and have a 360 degree view of the city.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good for seeing hamburg and getting a lovely overview of the beautiful city.

Visitors will get more out of the tour if they understand German as the English commentary (available in summer) was quite limited and varied a lot in quality / length depending on the guide.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Supposedly an English / German tour . Mmmmmmm not really 99% German and when I prompted the translator he started to speak English . Bit disappointing I'm familiar with German and hamburg so I was ok keeping up , but for my wife it was appalling ! So my recommendation do the boat trip. Not the bus !

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This hop on hop off city tour was very convenient and allowed me to see the city. I would and have recommended the tour to others traveling in Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We have done HoHo tours in a variety of countries and found our Hamburg experience to be a very positive one. The drivers and tour guides were very friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy their jobs. Their commentaries were humorous and timely, and the English versions were quite easy to understand. As a native German speaker, I was able to appreciate how skillfully they constructed their English comments to capture the humor and content of the German version.

Special kudos to one of the drivers who went above and beyond his duties to provide us with train and bus routing information to get to a point of interest quite a distance from the center of Hamburg. It was very evident that the staff has a strong sense of customer service and they attempt to meet their customers' needs.

One aspect of our experience that reduced my rating by one star is the commentary on the cruise portion of our trip. The commentator rattled off his lines in German and English as though he were saying a rosary. With the distractions of the boat engine, the wind, harbour traffic and the repeated malfunctioning of his microphone, it was very difficult to follow what he was saying. The cruise company would be well advised to do some communications training with their tour guides to ensure that clients actually derive some information from the commentary.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Disorganised; no offer of a route map, and poor explanation about stopping the bus, if there were no new passengers at the stop. Guide's English mediocre, and very strongly aimed at the German-speaking passengers. Tour itself was interesting, and well planned, if you knew anything about Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Well, Hamburg is beautiful and glad we got to see it but, unfortunately, although the tour guide spoke perfect English to us when we asked her to do some commentary in English, she did very, very little commentary in English - even when we asked her two other times during the bus ride. VERY disappointed, Viator. I am surprised because your tours are usually so good but this one was very lacking!

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

There was no bus marked "Hop on Hop Off", but we were told all trip buses were HOHO. The Hamburg bus had no translation ear phones and everything was in German only. Once in a while the driver gave a very small review in English. Even with the map, we were very confused as to what we were seeing. I would not book this HOHO again.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Its better with tour guides, but some guides lack in explaining the facts in the English language. Its also difficult for the guide to explain the facts in 2 different languages because you have driven by the historical site or place to see. (not enough time for them to talk) I have experienced bus tours with headphones (pre-recorded information) in a variety of languages. I really enjoyed the tour of Hamburg, the guides were very helpful and cordial. Thanks sincerely, Brian

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable about Hamburg, He alternated between English and German very well, Since it was raining and cold, I stayed on the bus for two times around. The tour would be even nicer in warmer months when the top and windows are down,

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This Hamburg Hop on Hop off are so special, the tour guide so funny and generous. The city is beautiful and absolutely a must to visit.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Overall, a very good experience especially if you have a limited amount of time in Hamburg and want to maximize your time

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message