Hamburg is Germany's second largest city and the country's biggest port. Between the fish dishes on almost every menu and the seagulls flying overhead, it's hard to forget you're near the water when you're in Hamburg. The city has been a major ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

bus stop three blocks from our Hotel. It was one of the best tours as far as getting a good look at the city. The included harbor cruise of our purchase was outstanding. We took the English version and the narrator was outstanding as to his knowledge of the Harbor and the volume of construction taking place in the area
. Truly recommend it.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Especially enjoyed the boat trips although the lake trip is only in German. It was nice to relax on the boat as our feet were tired. The river trip has one in English. That was very interesting as Hamburg is a busy port with a lot going on. We saw one container ship that was enormous. Actually don't know how it stayed afloat! St Michael's Church is not to be missed. It doesn't look like much from the outside but is truly a feast for the eyes inside. You can also go up the tower for a fee and have a 360 degree view of the city.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

very nice we enjoyed it we do it again

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience! I visited Hamburg by hop on hop off bus and by boat, port-lake cruises, in one day. Very good value for money. I am glad I saw so many things in such a short period of time!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was really really great. All the city tour bus drivers are really kind. And they know the booking papers. We just got on the bus. It was really easy to see on the second front with baby.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Quality and value exceptional. Will continue to use your service wherever we travel.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Hamburg is truly beautiful and perfect for a mini city break. The train service is excellent and not too hard too use. ALTHOUGH the Hamburg card isnt really that good value for money, firstly as the fares for the trains arnt that expensive and also i saw NO-ONE over the 4 days ever buy a ticket, and saw no ticket collectors working on the trains, and also unlike London there were no ticket gates etc. In hindside we could have probably travelled around the whole time, like the local Germans clearly do without playing a penny!
We stayed at Sofitel and it was truly beautiful!
Food and places to eat were nice., although the locals werent overly polite. Id def. recommend the boat trips and some time at the Harbour. The roofless bus, although good for getting around, theres not really many ''sights'' in Hamburg that needed pointing out

Doing what: Hamburg Card

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! One of our travelers has written to us to comment on the transportation system in Germany, with the following helpful information:

In Germany, locals buy weekly, monthly, or even annual riding passes. While there are no ticket gates like in London, plain clothes police make their rounds on all public transport. Being caught without a ticket is an automatic 40 Euro fine payable to the officer.

We hope this information helps you, and future travelers during your stay in Hamburg!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour, excellent value, excellent weather..

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This hop on hop off city tour was very convenient and allowed me to see the city. I would and have recommended the tour to others traveling in Hamburg.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Its better with tour guides, but some guides lack in explaining the facts in the English language. Its also difficult for the guide to explain the facts in 2 different languages because you have driven by the historical site or place to see. (not enough time for them to talk) I have experienced bus tours with headphones (pre-recorded information) in a variety of languages. I really enjoyed the tour of Hamburg, the guides were very helpful and cordial. Thanks sincerely, Brian

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This Hamburg Hop on Hop off are so special, the tour guide so funny and generous. The city is beautiful and absolutely a must to visit.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable about Hamburg, He alternated between English and German very well, Since it was raining and cold, I stayed on the bus for two times around. The tour would be even nicer in warmer months when the top and windows are down,

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

English speaking guides are not equal, some good some bad. Great way to see areas that you want to explore further.

enter your review here.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Overall, a very good experience especially if you have a limited amount of time in Hamburg and want to maximize your time

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a fantastic trip. We all loved it.

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message