Recognized as one of the “Ten Scenes of the West Lake,” the “Viewing Fish at Flower Harbor” refers to the practice of watching thousands of red carp swim in unison in a spot known as Red Carp Pond.  Located at the center of this 50 acre park, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Yes I would recommend this trip. The guide was very good and was happy to explain life in China in general I thought his base knowledge was excellent. Tea tasting very commercial

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide Frank was very articulate and knowledgeable. The sights were worth the cost.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This was a very nice tour including the boat ride on West Lake. The guide was knowledgeable. The driver however was very very reckless and aggressive in his driving ( I am able to compare him to 5 other drivers we had for tours in China) and it made my overall rating of this really very good tour lower.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The Tour was over all good.
However, the west lake visit could have been shortened a bit. It was a long walk around the lake, and then a ride by the boat around the lake. walking and boat riding was almost the same, repeating the same scenes and wasting time that could have been used to see another attraction in Hangzhou.

Lunch was acceptable. Soft drinks were served room temperature (not from the fridge). Who drinks soft drinks room temperature? when asked for ice, i was given the answer, this is cold enough, you don't need an ice in a rude way.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The town Hangzhou very nice, but the tour was planed very bad, tour guide is not talkative at all, spent 4 hours in the bus to get there and no time to see park or other attractions. I would not recommend this tour, unless you what to stay 8 hours in the bus and experience traffic.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A trip well worth doing, a very good day out beautiful scenery right up into the mountains stunning views of the lake and tea plantation, Chris our guide was very informative of local knowledge and history he made the trip even better, the lunch stop was good in a local hotel, your take loads of photos.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had rain, but this did not make this tour any less beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour, especially for a change of pace from Shanghai.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The description of this tour suggested a countryside experience and I was not expecting the over 6 hour round car trip. The lake was beautiful but by the time we got there it was absolutely crawling with people and impossible to take photos without lots of strangers in them. The tea plantation visit was interesting but I would have liked to actually get closer to the fields and people and I felt that the focus was more on selling the product. Hotel pick up was prompt, the car was comfortable and the guide Frank was great- personable, interesting and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had an awesome time on this trip, Frank our tour guide was superb- very knowledgable (not just about the tour but you can ask him anything about Shanghai!) and great to chat to. There were 7 of us on the tour and Frank somehow managed to pace the tour to suit all our needs, including toilet breaks etc. We had an unfortunate mishap when our minibus broke down on the highway- it was clearly a one off and no one's fault and the driver and Frank were really apologetic. By the time we had got out of the minibus, Frank turned round to us and said he has already spoken to the tour company and another minibus was on its way. Really impressed with the service, and even though we arrived late, we still did the whole trip fully and it did not spoil the tour in the slightest. West Lake was beautiful and I enjoyed the tea ceremony. Although it was quite a hard sale on the green tea, which I succumbed too, I now actually wish I bought more: when I got back, I spoke to my Shanghainese friends about the tea and whether it was worth it, and they said the superior grade Longjing tea from Hangzhou is renowned and the best. Great tour and tour company.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide for the day was Frank. A very interesting and comical guy. Very knowledgeable as well. Got to know very interesting people doing this tour. Love the tour even though our tour van broke down just outside the toll gate. We had to wait for another mini van to pick us up and the guys had to help push the broken down vehicle to the side of the highway. But none of us mind for the people on this tour were just wonderful. Full of life! Can't remember much of Hangzhou though but I really enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

A wonderful excursion. Very small group, great guide, The most beautiful place we saw while in China.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Really enjoyed this beautiful area. It truly was "heaven on earth" Enjoyed guide, Chris. Such a beautiful area. Great lunch also.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Tour was good but the excellent tour guide (Frank) really made it. The drive was a bit long but the conversation was good.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was a nice gentlemen. Although, I was disappointed with the long roundtrip drive from Shanghai, short amount of time at the lake, and lack-luster 'Western-style' Chinese lunch.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

the drive was much longer than planned and the sights weren't exceptional. there is a fast train that goes there- that might be a better option to explore the area.
the tea plantation was pretty

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message