Often visited as a day trip from nearby Shanghai, Hangzhou has much more to see and do than is possible to fit into one day. So enchanting are the waters of West Lake (Xi Hu) and the peaks of the surrounding foothills that the early explorer, Marco ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Your guide is friendly and professional, best day tour to see the major attraction , I and my wife is only group on that day so it become the private tour , highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Hangzhou City Tour: West Lake Cruise and Lingyin Temple with Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Hangzhou is BEAUTIFUL, we loved the gardens, pagoda, and thought seeing the tea fields and area was beautiful. However, it is a 3 hour drive each way and our van had no air conditioning. It was miserably hot and there were times we had to ask the guide to stop so we could get water at a local rest stop. The tea stop felt more like a sales pitch, and I would've loved to spend more time seeing the fields and walking around. However, all things considered, if it's the only way you get to see Hangzhou, I'd highly recommend the tour. However, you could get there on the Bullet Train from Shanghai much quicker and likely with AC!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our day tour of Hangzhou was wonderful. The guide was knowledgeable and spoke English well. It was the best way for us to see everything we wanted to see!

Doing what: Hangzhou Your Way: Private Full-Day Hangzhou City Transport

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour, a little long

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The national park is breathtaking, the scenery is beautiful
Our guide Jackie was pleasant and well informed.
We had lunch in a hotel, the food was bland and boring. I suggested to Jackie that he should find another restaurant with more authentic cuisine.
On the way back the road was extremely uneven and bumpy. These were minor details compared to the overall wonderful experience

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Yes I would recommend this trip. The guide was very good and was happy to explain life in China in general I thought his base knowledge was excellent. Tea tasting very commercial

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide Frank was very articulate and knowledgeable. The sights were worth the cost.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This was a very nice tour including the boat ride on West Lake. The guide was knowledgeable. The driver however was very very reckless and aggressive in his driving ( I am able to compare him to 5 other drivers we had for tours in China) and it made my overall rating of this really very good tour lower.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Layla MH
Saudi Arabia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The Tour was over all good.
However, the west lake visit could have been shortened a bit. It was a long walk around the lake, and then a ride by the boat around the lake. walking and boat riding was almost the same, repeating the same scenes and wasting time that could have been used to see another attraction in Hangzhou.

Lunch was acceptable. Soft drinks were served room temperature (not from the fridge). Who drinks soft drinks room temperature? when asked for ice, i was given the answer, this is cold enough, you don't need an ice in a rude way.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The town Hangzhou very nice, but the tour was planed very bad, tour guide is not talkative at all, spent 4 hours in the bus to get there and no time to see park or other attractions. I would not recommend this tour, unless you what to stay 8 hours in the bus and experience traffic.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A trip well worth doing, a very good day out beautiful scenery right up into the mountains stunning views of the lake and tea plantation, Chris our guide was very informative of local knowledge and history he made the trip even better, the lunch stop was good in a local hotel, your take loads of photos.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had rain, but this did not make this tour any less beautiful. I would highly recommend this tour, especially for a change of pace from Shanghai.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The description of this tour suggested a countryside experience and I was not expecting the over 6 hour round car trip. The lake was beautiful but by the time we got there it was absolutely crawling with people and impossible to take photos without lots of strangers in them. The tea plantation visit was interesting but I would have liked to actually get closer to the fields and people and I felt that the focus was more on selling the product. Hotel pick up was prompt, the car was comfortable and the guide Frank was great- personable, interesting and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message