• USD ($)
  • English
There simply is no better way to gain an understanding of the intricate Chinese tea culture than to spend a day in a traditional Chinese tea village. Though tea shops are seemingly scattered around every street corner in the downtown center of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I had an awesome time on this trip, Frank our tour guide was superb- very knowledgable (not just about the tour but you can ask him anything about Shanghai!) and great to chat to. There were 7 of us on the tour and Frank somehow managed to pace the tour to suit all our needs, including toilet breaks etc. We had an unfortunate mishap when our minibus broke down on the highway- it was clearly a one off and no one's fault and the driver and Frank were really apologetic. By the time we had got out of the minibus, Frank turned round to us and said he has already spoken to the tour company and another minibus was on its way. Really impressed with the service, and even though we arrived late, we still did the whole trip fully and it did not spoil the tour in the slightest. West Lake was beautiful and I enjoyed the tea ceremony. Although it was quite a hard sale on the green tea, which I succumbed too, I now actually wish I bought more: when I got back, I spoke to my Shanghainese friends about the tea and whether it was worth it, and they said the superior grade Longjing tea from Hangzhou is renowned and the best. Great tour and tour company.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide for the day was Frank. A very interesting and comical guy. Very knowledgeable as well. Got to know very interesting people doing this tour. Love the tour even though our tour van broke down just outside the toll gate. We had to wait for another mini van to pick us up and the guys had to help push the broken down vehicle to the side of the highway. But none of us mind for the people on this tour were just wonderful. Full of life! Can't remember much of Hangzhou though but I really enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

A wonderful excursion. Very small group, great guide, The most beautiful place we saw while in China.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Really enjoyed this beautiful area. It truly was "heaven on earth" Enjoyed guide, Chris. Such a beautiful area. Great lunch also.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Tour was good but the excellent tour guide (Frank) really made it. The drive was a bit long but the conversation was good.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was a nice gentlemen. Although, I was disappointed with the long roundtrip drive from Shanghai, short amount of time at the lake, and lack-luster 'Western-style' Chinese lunch.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

the drive was much longer than planned and the sights weren't exceptional. there is a fast train that goes there- that might be a better option to explore the area.
the tea plantation was pretty

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

It was super hot the day we did this tour and the air conditioning on the very long bus ride to Hangzhou was not very effective. We sat outside on the boat cruise because of the heat, so didn't really get the full effect. The tour guide was interesting and was happy to answer questions. The tea plantation was interesting as long as you are happy to get the hard sell on expensive green tea products. The biggest disappointment was the lunch which seemed to be made especially for westerners, i.e. not very authentic, very sweet and not nearly as good as the other real Chinese meals we had during our stay in Shanghai.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Lovely day! Transport and driver excellent. The guide (Frank) was helpful, knowledgeable and very organised; he spoke good English and made the day very enjoyable. The tea factory and learning about green tea was really interesting. Particularly liked the gardens and lake area.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Hangzhou is a beautiful city,the lake is fabulous.It turned out to be a private tour, the car was luxurious, the guide and driver ok (nothing special). It is a long journey from Shanghai. I would prefer if the Felai Peak could be part of the tour,since it takes so much time to go in Hangzhou. The lunch was poor with no variety (the worst meal we had in China).The tea plantation is interesting, but too expensive (40 euros for a few gramars) and the employers a little 'pushy'.

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very nice and relaxing tour, nice views

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Great place!But the tour guide was rude and horrible! He should Be accomodating when we are asking questions.He's always in a hurry, he should understand that we are there to take some time to enjoy the scenery and take pictures. He should also volunteer on taking SOME of our pictures.worst tourguide

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

JENNIFER R
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was great! It turned out to be a private tour. My guide Catherine was simply the best. She took care of me and explained all the things that I need to know about Hangzhou, West Lake, Lingyin Temple, Meijiawu, etc. I definitely recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Hangzhou - Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message