You can be forgiven for thinking that Halong Bay couldn’t possibly be a real place. After all, beauty like this only exists in movies, where high-tech equipment can create a landscape that is mesmerizing, awe-inspiring and perfect. Not only is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ricardo Reynald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It almost started with a disaster as we never got any email from the tour company to confirm where the pick-up point would be, especially we arrived in Hanoi on Sunday late afternoon and the tour was the following day. Luckily a receptionist at our hotel made the call to a specific person whom on duty on Sunday and arranged the pic-up at our hotel lobby. The tour itself was great and on time with the itinerary schedules. With a small group of people we enjoyed the beautiful scenery of Halong Bay. A trip of a lifetime to take for everyone who comes to visit Hanoi Vietnam.

Doing what: Halong Bay Cruise - Overnight Cruise from Hanoi

Ismail Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Words are not enough to describe how amazing this was :
Beside the bad road to halong bay and the driver, this was more than perfect

I missed the pick up time so they sent me an employee to pick me up
The tour guide was more than helpful, a million thank you wont be enough
The food was awesome, i ate everything they served!
Drinks are good and prices are pretty good for a four star cruise
The stops were super cool with the kyaking, swiming, visiting wondercave and more
The cruise is super clean and neat, the stuff is super helpful and the cruise had working wifi most of the time although we were in the middle of no where

Doing what: Halong Bay 2-day Royal Palace Cruise

Anish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour and boat ride around Halong Bay. Hotel pick was on time and the journey to Halong Bay from centre of Hanoi was a nice comfortable journey. Very interesting and funny guide. Great English too which makes a big difference. Boat ride was nice and relaxed. Lunch was very nice too. Overall a very nice tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Deluxe Halong Bay Day Cruise including Seafood Lunch from Hanoi

Kriszti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Halong Bay is a beautiful natural beauty. Everybody needs to see it once in his/her life.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Virandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was the best way to see and enjoy Halong Bay. Everything was very professionally done. I will highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Ultimate Halong Bay: Seaplane and Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

Kelly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Halong Bay is beautiful- can't really take a bad photo there :
We didn't have a long time in Hanoi area so going to Halong Bay via bus and returning that same day was perfect! It's fun to see the landscape shift from the city to rural to coast. Our tour guide San was GREAT! Very friendly, knowledgeable, conversant and easy to be around. The boat tour and lunch great food, great scenery. It's a fun stop at the big cave on one of the islands- like some kooky Disney film meets early Star Trek. A bit crowded with boats and people but all part of the experience.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Raylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So worth the day trip if you don't have a lot of time. The drive its self is worth it just to experience and observe the countryside, then arriving at Halong Bay is so beautiful. Excellent

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Stephanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Not only was the boat luxurious, clean and well-kept, but the staff were extremely accommodating and could not do enough to help us. The excursions were great fun and the scenery was out of this world. Do not leave Vietnam without taking a tour of Halong Bay particularly on this boat - from what I could see, it was the only one with a balcony for each room!!

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

Sana Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour itself was great - great tour leader, safe driver, large sized boat to ourselves, beautiful tour of Halong bay. Had lunch on the boat while cruising past the islands which was amazing.

Just note that the drive to Halong Bay is long. Be prepared for a lot of sitting and waiting - bring a book, pillow, and snacks.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was great day long tour. You really see and learn a lot without having to spend days in Halong. I really enjoyed the boat ride and the seeing the cave.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Shu Jun N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My friends and I were the only ones on the trip and we had a good time with our guide San. The visibility was not the best but nonetheless Halong Bay still looks very beautiful.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Gemma Lisa V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Such an amazing experience! Was great to see Halong Bay from above as well as explore from the water. All staff were welcoming and willing to go over and above to make sure we were happy.

Doing what: Ultimate Halong Bay: Seaplane and Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time in Halong bay. Our guide was so nice and informative. We had a beautiful boat to ourselves and a delicious meal. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Deluxe Halong Bay Day Cruise including Seafood Lunch from Hanoi

Nida P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was magnificent! If you want to see Halong Bay in one day, this is definitely the tour. Good food and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Valerie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you only have one day to do Halong then this is a great way to do it. Breathtaking scenery! Be prepared for the long 4 hour driving journey there and back.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences!!

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Hanoi Highlights and Halong Bay Cruise

lottie799

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - a long day trip but well worth it. I would recommend if you have time to stay over but if you only have one day this is the perfect one day trip to see Halong Bay. It was beautiful and stunning, really amazing.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Yuen Sang C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was fabulous - for a Vietnamese his English is incredibly fluent and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was also very patient with everyone - whenever we requested a photo he would happily take it for us and his photo-taking skill was great! We did many jumping shots at Halong Bay. I also like that the tour was small in number.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

RANBIR S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An amazing excursion - Halong Bay is spectacular. Our guide was awesome.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. Yes there are a lot of tourists and tourist boats but the area is so beautiful that everyone deserves the opportunity to see it. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The boat was not large so it gave us the opportunity to get to know some of the other tourists. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences. Kayaking on the bay was hard work but has given us great memories.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

Jackie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good trip to do if you do not have much time to spend in Halong Bay. Guide was very informative and friendly and the seafood lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was an amazing experience for me and my daughter. The small group made it more personal and everyone on the trip shared an amazing experience. The food on board the boat was excellent and the rew could not have been nicer. Our tour guide did an amazing job. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone. I have made some new friends as a result and found Halong Bay to be mystical and magical.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Laurie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I have taken tours with Viator in several different countries and have never been disappointed. This tour to Halong Bay was no exception. Great communication, friendly and knowledgeable guide who spoke English. Clean and comfortable tour bus with safe driver. It turned out to just be 4 of us on the tour and that was fantastic. The boat was beautiful inside and the lunch was fresh and delicious. Most people who visit Halong Bay do an overnight but we were very happy with this day trip, just enough time to cruise about and also visit a cave. The little stops on the way were interesting and we didn't feel pressure to buy anything. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

SHASHI KANT M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had an absolutely unforgettable time. My husband and I had the whole boat with a crew of 6 to ourselves. Our guide was well versed in the history and was able to answer all the questions we asked. He kept the trip flexible enough to accommodate a visit to a souvenir shop on the way to Halong Bay and a pottery shop on the way back. It was raining but the mist only made the view more beautiful. The stop at an underground cave was equally memorable. Once again we had the whole place to ourselves with our guide showing us all the different formations. The food was divine. My husband unfortunately does not eat seafood while I love it. Our guide had managed to get a complete seafood meal for me while organising chicken for my husband. The crew were friendly and fulfilled our every wish including allowing my husband to take the controls for a while. I took so many pictures, the hardest part was deciding which ones to put on Facebook.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Virginia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I was expecting a fairly standard boat trip into the bay, and was pleasantly surprised with 3 days of luxury. The cabin was beautiful, with a lovely bathroom and excellent shower. The crew were so attentive and fun, and we had a very knowledgable tour guide. The food was amazing and very plentiful. A highlight was the meal in the cave, which was an experience I shan't forget. Overall, this was a wonderful trip and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to see the best of Halong Bay.

Doing what: Halong Bay 3-Day Junk Boat Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message