Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Hanoi Old Quarter

The Old Quarter is the cultural heart of Hanoi, where the pulse of life has been beating for nearly 2,000 years. Daily routine starts early and builds to a friendly bustle, while streets have distinct character and are named after the crafts once ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gabriela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The best way to experience the street food in Hanoi, especially in old quarter area. Our guide, Nguoc was really funny and informative. He even treated us free beer! One of the best experience. Really recommended!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Whyhaveone United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this walking/eating tour of Old Hanoi.

Lee our guide spoke pretty good English and was knowledgeable and informative. We tried more than we would have on our own - Vietnam's street food is more 'street' than Thailand's where we were happy to eat. We were also given the opportunity to try some unusual food but all bar one we declined much to the amusement of all. :-

We ended up at a coffee shop with a rooftop terrace overlooking Lake Ho Hoan Kiem. We would not have found this on our own and it was a treat.

All in all this was a great intro to the old quarter of Hanoi and some of the Vietnamese street culture.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Cristeena G N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

There were four of us on the tour, and our guide was excellent. We walked all over the old quarter sampling food. Our guide said we would eat like the local Vietnamese, and we did. The highlight was the outdoor barbecue where he picked out the meats to try. As a finale, we enjoyed a fantastic night skyline from the top of a café we entered through an embroidery shop. The egg coffee was too sweet. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Cristeena G N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We toured the old quarter and really got insights into how people live. Our guide was excellent. We ended with a bowl of pho at the first actual store set up to sell it. Fascinating.

Doing what: Private Hanoi Sightseeing with Electric Car Tour in the Old Quarter

Natalie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Highly Recommend. I really wanted to try Vietnam street food, but was a little worries about the hygiene and trying really strange food. I'm so glad we did this tour, everything we tried was delicious. The tour guide was very friendly, and took us on a tour of some streets of Old Quarter on the way.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Nancy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good, included attractions not walking distance from old quarter, good craft store stop and very good guide

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Stephen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great way to see Hanoi's old quarter and sample yummy street food. My favourite was the pork pancake with chilli and fried shallots.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Krista N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thank you, Viator, for highlighting this tour. My guide, Quan, was AWESOME. Seriously. I was lucky and had my own personal tour guide of the old quarter of Hanoi and got to taste all sorts of great things. Quan is fun to be with and informative and interesting. I would highly recommend booking this if you have the time and inclination!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first night in Hanoi and a great introduction to the local cuisine. We learnt about some of the local culture and more importantly we learnt how to cross streets in Hanoi. The secret coffee shop overlooking the lake was a great way to end the night. We got to eat more than enough of the local food, most of which was delicious. There was no pressure to eat anything we didn't want to. We were a small group of 6 people and we ended up having a great time together with the guide. This tour gave us the confidence to move around the Old Quarter on our own the next day.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Lee A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great way to experience the old quarter in Hanoi. It was a small group with a great guide who had a lot of information about local life to share. I am sure we saw and experienced things that we would not otherwise have had the opportunity to see and do.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Best thing we did in Hanoi! The food was devine and San the guide was so full of knowledge. We ate in 5 different places starting with the traditional pork paste baguette from a vendor outside the Market! We would never had tried the street food if we had not done this tour! We ended up on a gorgeous roof top garden for the egg coffee - yum yum. We also saw another side to Hanoi including walking down the railway line and getting some insight to how people live and work in the Old Quarter!! You will not be disappointed!! Thanks San!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Phil Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A fantastic introduction to Hanoi and my first visit to Vietnam. A walk through the old quarter of Hanoi and a three course meal plus coffee (all in different local eating establishments) was a top learning experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

kevin m

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

there were only two us on this tour which made it a bit more personal , are guide arrived on time , and gave us a tour of the old quarter of Hanoi , pointing out some interesting buildings and telling us about the history of Hanoi .
the tour took us to the temple of literature which was very interesting, then onto the infamous Hanoi Hilton , the tour concluded with lunch at a small local cafe .
i would recommend doing this tour while in Hanoi

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Will M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I recommend this tour for anyone interested in getting to know the old quarter and the cuisine of the area. We had a great guide but a rather large group 12 in total which made moving around in the busy area a bit difficult at times. I had to leave 3 hours into it missed the dessert and coffee stops to run to the airport as the tour was advertised for 2.5 hours. A solid Hanoi experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Benjamin C J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

That day there were only 3 of us in this tour and our local tour guild, Taylor. He asked about our dietary restriction and gave each of us a bottle of water, bought each a banh mi sandwich from a popular stall in front of the meeting point. No problem with his explanation since he spoke well in English.
He explained this busy Dong Xuan market as we walked through it and later walked to other streets in the Old Quarter to our next destination for our local food bite. Along the way, he had shown us the proper and safe way to walk cross the busy streets. He explained various streets name in Old Quarter are associated with certain products/goods commonly sold in that street. He also shared to us about the various sub-lots in a shop building and the influence of the building architecture.
The next stop was a shop selling Vietnamese steam thin rice crepes, banh cuon served with some other fillings. It was delicious and considered it as our starter for our dinner before continued the tour.
Next stop a BBQ stall for tasty various meats, vegetable, grilled bread and sat on small stool along the footpath. It was very filling, considered the main course for our dinner.
As for dessert, we walked to an alley for a popular local tasty desert of various fresh fruit mixed with coconut and condensed milk.
Last stop was at a roof top bar around the famous busy roundabout, Dai Phun Nuoc for drinks. This outlet is Radio Coffee Shop at Hang Gai Street with an interesting small alley entrance. The top roof bar offers spectacular night view of Hoan Kiem Lake.
I tried the local egg coffee here but only took a few sips as I noticed I could smelt and taste the egg. Others might like this egg coffee as its famous in Hanoi. Tour finished at around 1930 hrs.

This tour covered on the various foods and also on the area and shop lot buildings in the Old Quarter as we walked along. Get this tour arrange at your beginning of your stay in Hanoi to give an insight into the Old Quarter.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

anarica m

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was day full of history :) but for me, the highlight was the cyclotour. We had fun roaming around the old quarter

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Trevor

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The pick up was spot on for time, the english speaking tour guide was well informed and gave us lots of historical info, the visit to the Ho Chi Minh Complex and Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was great and gave you a real feel for the importance of Ho Chi Minh as a historical person and the importance he has for the country.
Tour The Temple of Literature and Museum of Ethnology gave a good insight into the people and history of the country this is a must to understand the various stages the country has gone through. The Vietnamese lunch was in a fairly decent relaxed restaurant and the food was an interesting introduction to Vietnamese food. The cycle ride through Hanoi's historic Old Quarter was a little too sedate for our 16 and 20 year olds but was a relaxed way to see the real city life as you pass along the streets.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Robert M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I had an enjoyable time wandering around the Old Quarter, stopping at a few places though some were closed, sampling a bit of local food and drink.

Doing what: Hanoi Old Quarter Half-Day Walking Tour

Stacey K USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

The tour guide was very friendly although did not have the best command of English. She started out by taking us to the Ho Chi Minh complex which was indeed a very interesting site. However she could not give us any further information or answer even the most basic questions so there was really no point of a guide - we could just have hired a driver to drop us off. The tour continued to the Museum of Ethnology which was closed. I suspected it was closed as the Viator page says museums are closed Mondays and Fridays and I wrote to the tour company and said I'd be happy to do something else instead. Obviously they did not inform the tour guide who was surprised that the museum was closed. The lunch was a nice multi-course Vietnamese food and nicely presented and next the cyclo ride in the old quarter was interesting to see.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

ritamarieazarcon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We did not enjoy our tour. Our tour guide arrived 20 minutes late. We started the electric car tour around 2:20pm on a very hot day. It was totally not comfortable and enjoyable. We did not learn much from our tour guide on the cultural and historical side of the Old Quarter. He showed us the silk market , the candy market, fruit market and grocery store while waiting for the water puppet show to start. He took us to the Thang Long Water Puppet Show after the side tour and got us seats but did not explain what the show was all about as
the laungage spoken was in all Vietnamese. Our tour guide did not also personally bring us back to the Sofitel Metropole Legend Hanoi Hotel but got us instead a taxi to bring us to our hotel. We paid 20Vnd extra for the taxi. We won't recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Private Hanoi Sightseeing with Electric Car Tour in the Old Quarter

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message