Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Hanoi Old Quarter

The Old Quarter is the cultural heart of Hanoi where the pulse of life has constantly beat for nearly 2,000 years. Daily routine starts early and builds to a friendly bustle. Streets have distinct character and are named after the crafts once made ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Highly Recommend. I really wanted to try Vietnam street food, but was a little worries about the hygiene and trying really strange food. I'm so glad we did this tour, everything we tried was delicious. The tour guide was very friendly, and took us on a tour of some streets of Old Quarter on the way.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good, included attractions not walking distance from old quarter, good craft store stop and very good guide

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great way to see Hanoi's old quarter and sample yummy street food. My favourite was the pork pancake with chilli and fried shallots.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thank you, Viator, for highlighting this tour. My guide, Quan, was AWESOME. Seriously. I was lucky and had my own personal tour guide of the old quarter of Hanoi and got to taste all sorts of great things. Quan is fun to be with and informative and interesting. I would highly recommend booking this if you have the time and inclination!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first night in Hanoi and a great introduction to the local cuisine. We learnt about some of the local culture and more importantly we learnt how to cross streets in Hanoi. The secret coffee shop overlooking the lake was a great way to end the night. We got to eat more than enough of the local food, most of which was delicious. There was no pressure to eat anything we didn't want to. We were a small group of 6 people and we ended up having a great time together with the guide. This tour gave us the confidence to move around the Old Quarter on our own the next day.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great way to experience the old quarter in Hanoi. It was a small group with a great guide who had a lot of information about local life to share. I am sure we saw and experienced things that we would not otherwise have had the opportunity to see and do.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Best thing we did in Hanoi! The food was devine and San the guide was so full of knowledge. We ate in 5 different places starting with the traditional pork paste baguette from a vendor outside the Market! We would never had tried the street food if we had not done this tour! We ended up on a gorgeous roof top garden for the egg coffee - yum yum. We also saw another side to Hanoi including walking down the railway line and getting some insight to how people live and work in the Old Quarter!! You will not be disappointed!! Thanks San!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Phil
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A fantastic introduction to Hanoi and my first visit to Vietnam. A walk through the old quarter of Hanoi and a three course meal plus coffee (all in different local eating establishments) was a top learning experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Faded French colonial buildings are the background for the buzz of modern Hanoi. Wander these streets and you will see the juxtaposition of old and new, communism and capitalism, rich and poor. Sidewalks are filled with action, people eating, children playing and everywhere there is something for sale. Buy pineapples sold from a bicycle, turtles in plastic bowls, cheap t-shirts and brightly colored toys in small shops. This one is best experienced through the soles of your feet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Hanoi is one of the best destinations in Vietnam, and old Hanoi is the best of the best. The streets here are amazing. Choc-a-bloc with people, stalls, restaurants, bars. It's one of the finest open-air people-watching experiences you could ever wish for. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The pick up was spot on for time, the english speaking tour guide was well informed and gave us lots of historical info, the visit to the Ho Chi Minh Complex and Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was great and gave you a real feel for the importance of Ho Chi Minh as a historical person and the importance he has for the country.
Tour The Temple of Literature and Museum of Ethnology gave a good insight into the people and history of the country this is a must to understand the various stages the country has gone through. The Vietnamese lunch was in a fairly decent relaxed restaurant and the food was an interesting introduction to Vietnamese food. The cycle ride through Hanoi's historic Old Quarter was a little too sedate for our 16 and 20 year olds but was a relaxed way to see the real city life as you pass along the streets.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

The tour guide was very friendly although did not have the best command of English. She started out by taking us to the Ho Chi Minh complex which was indeed a very interesting site. However she could not give us any further information or answer even the most basic questions so there was really no point of a guide - we could just have hired a driver to drop us off. The tour continued to the Museum of Ethnology which was closed. I suspected it was closed as the Viator page says museums are closed Mondays and Fridays and I wrote to the tour company and said I'd be happy to do something else instead. Obviously they did not inform the tour guide who was surprised that the museum was closed. The lunch was a nice multi-course Vietnamese food and nicely presented and next the cyclo ride in the old quarter was interesting to see.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message