• USD ($)
  • English

Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Perfume Pagoda (Chua Huong)

The Perfume Pagoda located in a vast grotto on Huong Son mountain, in a national park where the scent of flowers lends the shrine its name. Enjoy the scenery as you are rowed up a winding river to the site. You can hike the 2 kilometers (1.25 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

A wonderful and interesting day, we were so thankful we were in the off season, after we heard what it is like during the "Pilgrimage". season. Good guide and driver. Well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Fantastic trip. The pagoda was beautiful as was the monastery. The person rowing the boat will "require" a tip once you have returned from the pagoda.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was definitely not a typical 'air-conditioned bus' type tour, it was a full-on experience that I will never forget. I was surprised by how remote this tour felt when it was just a day trip from Hanoi. I definitely recommend it for anybody who wants a bit of an adventure and something that is off the beaten track. Just be aware that it's not easy to climb the mountain.

Note from Viator: This review is from Melinda Harrington, who wrote about her Perfume Pagoda tour experience over on the Viator blog.

Margaret H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was well worth the experience. We went on a Sunday, which we found to be a mistake, since that's the day the locals go. If you want to see the locals and soak up the atmosphere then go on a Sunday; if you want the tourist in your photos, then go during the week. The trip down the river is great and relaxing, just watch out when you get out the boat! We got picked up by a car with a guide, so the car stopped on the way to take photos whenever we wanted. Highly recommended!

Caroline Y
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great experience, great guide!

Colin M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

This was a fantastic experience with many different people there. We didn't see another western face, which we liked. We fully recommend this tour, but be warned that even if dinner is not at a place that you may enjoy, don't let that put you off the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Interesting and thorughly enjoyable. Something out of the ordinary but perhaps there should be safety vests provided for the river boat trip. Not for children though !

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Good excursion very beautiful the places

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Loved this trip, it was pouring rain, but warm, the chairlift was closed and the steps very slippery but a special place. The lunch left a bit to be desired.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Our guide was excellent. The tour was good in general. The only thing I did not like was that there was a lot of construction going on. It definitely detracted from the experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

The Perfume river was beautiful and the row very relaxing. A fun trip.

Johan K
Denmark

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

XXX

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

We enjoyed our day trip. It was a long tiring day. The river was beautiful, calming and serene. Our guide was very good and told us a lot about Vietnam. Buffet lunch was also good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

Interesting tour - I'm very glad I chose it. Future visitors beware the hike up the mountain takes an EXTRA 2 beyond what the itinerary advertises because they seem to expect visitors to pay extra to take the lift to the top of the mountain. We took the lift up and got back exactly when the itinerary said we should have gotten back if we'd done the hike, though taking the hike would have actually put us back 2 more hours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

The Perfume Pagoda was beautiful but the negative portion of the tour was when the assigned tour guide was upset that I chose to utilize the cable car. He was in such a hurry to get home to his family he allowed only about 10 minutes at the top. Also, the tour stopped at two locations during the trip and both where tourist sales points. Made the tour seem less important. The guide slept most of the journey. Also, the guide told me to pay the little boat paddler a tip since she deserves it for all she did. I would figure the tour company would paid for this service with the tour. I don't believe the tour would have been as bad if I gotten a better guide like the one I had in Ho Chi Minh just days before.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message