Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Literature (Quoc Tu Giam)

The Temple of Literature (or Quoc Tu Giam) was originally built as a Confucian Temple in 1070 AD. Six years later on the same grounds was founded Vietnam's first university to educate the administrative and military warrior Mandarin classes.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elisabetta V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hong Anh was our guide. Extremely knowledgeable, cordial and eager to show the history of her native Vietnam. Beside the sites, which were simply amazing, we had a delicious lunch at a place where locals eat, followed by tea at a tea house where Anh proceeded to show us the proper way to serve and drink tea. Her English was very good as well.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Derek P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A lovely tour but be prepared for a lot of walking , nice lunch in a typical Vietnamese restaurant , finished off with a 30 minute cyclo ride through the very busy streets of Hanoi , just sit back and enjoy the ride.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Jim H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good whistle stop tour around Hanoi - with experienced local guide. Although the tour is only half a day it did not feel rushed and the guide Anh was excellent

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

kevin m

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

there were only two us on this tour which made it a bit more personal , are guide arrived on time , and gave us a tour of the old quarter of Hanoi , pointing out some interesting buildings and telling us about the history of Hanoi .
the tour took us to the temple of literature which was very interesting, then onto the infamous Hanoi Hilton , the tour concluded with lunch at a small local cafe .
i would recommend doing this tour while in Hanoi

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Marla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Huy was awesome. He was very punctual in picking us up and making sure we were comfortable. His English was awesome and was a well seasoned experienced guide. We had an awesome day seeing so much wonderful history we may have missed trying to do this ourselves. He took us to a lovely restaurant for lunch. Only negative was that it was supposed to be included with the tour and they had us pay the bill, but it was excellent dining and for less than 20 dollars for 3 people I am not going to complain. Our guide also wanted to know if there was anything special we wanted to see which was away from the tourist areas. He was happy to take us thru the neighborhoods and local market areas where the local people live each day. That was such a highlight for us. I would highly recommended this company and especially our tour guide to anyone visiting Hanoi. If I could give him 10 stars I would....

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Alexandra L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was a brilliant way to see Hanoi and it and #39;s main sites as well as learn about the city and talk to a local guide about their beautiful country.
You are rushed through a little bit, but you can always revisit any sites yourself and the guide always had a lot of information.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Alwaleed A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was informative and fun. we enjoyed walking in the city and visiting all temples and museums. The food was so good :

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Natalia L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I expected to visit Ho Chi Minh museum based on the tour front page photo.
It was nothing about Ho Chi Minh. I found the advertisement misleading.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Maureen M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyed this tour. Guide was knowledgeable and Hanoi Hilton prison was worth visiting.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Matthew H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Was a fun time for sure. The guide's english was good but not great, so didn't get as much detail as I wanted. Still a fun tour.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

ANTHONY DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mr. Lee was how we addressed our tour guide who was very knowledgeable in topics relating to this tour. At the end, we had a good pho which was unassuming and really delightful. He went out of his way to show us where to buy local fruits despite the tour has ended.
Good person.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Doreenda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and answered all of the questions we threw his way. The Pho we ate, too, was amazing!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide and driver could not do more to assist us. The day was an excellent introduction to Hanoi. They even changed the schedule to enable us to see some sights of our own choosing, once confirmed with their head office.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

William S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Booked a half day hanoi city tour during our short 4d3n stay in hanoi. Meet up with our tour guide elly and the intern girl in the afternoon. Elly is very accomodating, knowledgeable, friendly and nice. Gets to know more about vietnam's culture and history from her and pick up a few Vietnamese language from her. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Hanoi City Half-Day Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

That was my style of exploring a new city - with a great guide, able to ask all the questions that you normally don't ask in a group - it was relaxed and at my own pace. Will do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

C J F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was our second tour with Taylor and he is a very good English speaking Vietnamese guide who obviously loves his Hanoi. His enthusiasm for the place is infectious and he does not rush you through anything and allowed time for questions and to stop longer at places if you wish. Each tour we did ended over the stated time with him going the extra mile so we reckon we got good value. I would recommend either this tour or the night food tour early in your stay in Hanoi to get a reasonable understanding of the history and culture of the city.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Raylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a must do in Hanoi, love, love, loved this tour with our tour guide Honest Felt like we were real locals with the experience. Thank you so much.
Raylee Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent in his historical and cultural information, conduct, hospitality in taking guests to local Pho bo eatery. Could not recommend him highly enough- thanks Cong. The behaviour conduct and what could be taken in (rules) were quite strict at the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and a little confusing but Cong navigated us through. We had a nice and friendly group of Aussies and a Brit lady. Would recommend to others.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Cyclo ride was a highlight. Luan was an amazing, knowledgeable guide. A great way to see the city, cover a lot of ground and history - a perfect day for my family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Patrick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Patrick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide was amazing in explaining all the sights and was very good about taking photos all over Hanoi. Very enthusiastic guide. I highly do recommend this tour for anybody wanting to get the best out of Hanoi in a day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

anarica m

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was day full of history :) but for me, the highlight was the cyclotour. We had fun roaming around the old quarter

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Valerie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour and well worth taking. Very knowledgeable guide whose English was excellent. Small numbers so easy to get around quickly, and ask lots of questions.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Nancy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good, included attractions not walking distance from old quarter, good craft store stop and very good guide

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message