Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Literature (Quoc Tu Giam)

The Temple of Literature (or Quoc Tu Giam) was originally built as a Confucian Temple in 1070 AD. Six years later on the same grounds was founded Vietnam's first university to educate the administrative and military warrior Mandarin classes. Over ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide and driver could not do more to assist us. The day was an excellent introduction to Hanoi. They even changed the schedule to enable us to see some sights of our own choosing, once confirmed with their head office.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Booked a half day hanoi city tour during our short 4d3n stay in hanoi. Meet up with our tour guide elly and the intern girl in the afternoon. Elly is very accomodating, knowledgeable, friendly and nice. Gets to know more about vietnam's culture and history from her and pick up a few Vietnamese language from her. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Hanoi City Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

That was my style of exploring a new city - with a great guide, able to ask all the questions that you normally don't ask in a group - it was relaxed and at my own pace. Will do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was our second tour with Taylor and he is a very good English speaking Vietnamese guide who obviously loves his Hanoi. His enthusiasm for the place is infectious and he does not rush you through anything and allowed time for questions and to stop longer at places if you wish. Each tour we did ended over the stated time with him going the extra mile so we reckon we got good value. I would recommend either this tour or the night food tour early in your stay in Hanoi to get a reasonable understanding of the history and culture of the city.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a must do in Hanoi, love, love, loved this tour with our tour guide Honest Felt like we were real locals with the experience. Thank you so much.
Raylee Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent in his historical and cultural information, conduct, hospitality in taking guests to local Pho bo eatery. Could not recommend him highly enough- thanks Cong. The behaviour conduct and what could be taken in (rules) were quite strict at the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and a little confusing but Cong navigated us through. We had a nice and friendly group of Aussies and a Brit lady. Would recommend to others.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Cyclo ride was a highlight. Luan was an amazing, knowledgeable guide. A great way to see the city, cover a lot of ground and history - a perfect day for my family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide was amazing in explaining all the sights and was very good about taking photos all over Hanoi. Very enthusiastic guide. I highly do recommend this tour for anybody wanting to get the best out of Hanoi in a day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was day full of history :) but for me, the highlight was the cyclotour. We had fun roaming around the old quarter

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour and well worth taking. Very knowledgeable guide whose English was excellent. Small numbers so easy to get around quickly, and ask lots of questions.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good, included attractions not walking distance from old quarter, good craft store stop and very good guide

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Authentic Vietnamese lunch was good. If it looks like it'll rain, bring an umbrella or raincoat as tour involves walking a bit out in the open.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great introduction to the history of Hanoi. A little disappointed that we weren't told that Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was not open, but other points of interest made up for it.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I were the only people on the tour and we had a great day with our fabulous guide Trois. He gave a great mini history lesson of Ho Chi Minh's life and work. Lunch was good but it is a LOCAL restaurant so be prepared - no fancy tables and chairs, no a/c. It was fine and the food was good. Ladies make sure your shoulders are covered and your top is not revealing when visiting the mausoleum, as this will be considered disrespectful. Highly recommend this tour (base company is Intrepid Travel).

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

There were just 2 of us on this tour so it felt like a personal tour. Everything was carefully explained to us and we were able to move at our own pace. The guide was very good. Each of the locations we visited were interesting and significant locations in Hanoi. The guide was a delight.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Good overview of the city of Hanoi and it's highlights. Lovely lunch. Friendly and knowledgable guide who spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good tour, even if it was a rather gray and rainy day. - our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging -

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Unfortunately I was not feeling well on the day of this trip and had to cut it short. However, both the driver and tour guide were excellent and I enjoyed what time I spent with them.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

SallyB
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a fantastic day and an excellent way to get a taste of "Hanoi" and all it has to offer. Our guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgable. A definite must for all first time visitors to Hanoi - highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Like a lot of Vietnam tours booked before arrival, this seems very expensive for what it was. Uncle Ho's mausoleum was shut, we saw his house (worth seeing) and a few temples. Nice lunch included but really not that interesting or value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent overview of Hanoi. Our guide was excellent. He was able to work seamlessly through the logistics and he provided enlightening and highly interesting information throughout. A very memorable day.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

In spite of the rain, our guide ensured that we got the maximum out of our tour. The line to enter Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was miles long and we decided to skip it. But we saw the museum, the houses he lived in, the One Pillar Pagoda, the Temple of Literature. We had a great lunch of Pho at a small restaurant. In the afternoon, we visited the Museum of Ethnography. We had asked to be directed to a water puppet show but in spite of his best efforts, our guide couldn't get us tickets for that day. Fortunately, there was a water puppet show on at the museum and we got a taste. Our guide was knowledgeable and shared some interesting details I had not found in guide books.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The pick up was spot on for time, the english speaking tour guide was well informed and gave us lots of historical info, the visit to the Ho Chi Minh Complex and Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was great and gave you a real feel for the importance of Ho Chi Minh as a historical person and the importance he has for the country.
Tour The Temple of Literature and Museum of Ethnology gave a good insight into the people and history of the country this is a must to understand the various stages the country has gone through. The Vietnamese lunch was in a fairly decent relaxed restaurant and the food was an interesting introduction to Vietnamese food. The cycle ride through Hanoi's historic Old Quarter was a little too sedate for our 16 and 20 year olds but was a relaxed way to see the real city life as you pass along the streets.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message