Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology

The Vietnam Museum of Ethnology, or VME, has two distinct areas - indoor and outdoor. Indoors is a permanent exhibition divided into 9 sections proudly informing of Historical & Cultural Periods, the 3 Major Sub-Regions, and the 54 ethnic groups ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

From start to finish the tour was full of interesting sites and information - Mr Lucky our tour guide was just wonderful, very knowledgeable - the lunch was just great - would highly recommend this tour - very happy traveller

Doing what: Hanoi City Tour Including Water Puppet Show

Alexandra L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was a brilliant way to see Hanoi and it and #39;s main sites as well as learn about the city and talk to a local guide about their beautiful country.
You are rushed through a little bit, but you can always revisit any sites yourself and the guide always had a lot of information.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Marla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Huy was awesome. He was very punctual in picking us up and making sure we were comfortable. His English was awesome and was a well seasoned experienced guide. We had an awesome day seeing so much wonderful history we may have missed trying to do this ourselves. He took us to a lovely restaurant for lunch. Only negative was that it was supposed to be included with the tour and they had us pay the bill, but it was excellent dining and for less than 20 dollars for 3 people I am not going to complain. Our guide also wanted to know if there was anything special we wanted to see which was away from the tourist areas. He was happy to take us thru the neighborhoods and local market areas where the local people live each day. That was such a highlight for us. I would highly recommended this company and especially our tour guide to anyone visiting Hanoi. If I could give him 10 stars I would....

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Alwaleed A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was informative and fun. we enjoyed walking in the city and visiting all temples and museums. The food was so good :

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Carolyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is my second time seeing the Water Puppet Show so obviously you can't miss this.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Tour Including Water Puppet Show and Cyclo Ride

ANTHONY DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Mr. Lee was how we addressed our tour guide who was very knowledgeable in topics relating to this tour. At the end, we had a good pho which was unassuming and really delightful. He went out of his way to show us where to buy local fruits despite the tour has ended.
Good person.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Doreenda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and answered all of the questions we threw his way. The Pho we ate, too, was amazing!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide and driver could not do more to assist us. The day was an excellent introduction to Hanoi. They even changed the schedule to enable us to see some sights of our own choosing, once confirmed with their head office.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

That was my style of exploring a new city - with a great guide, able to ask all the questions that you normally don't ask in a group - it was relaxed and at my own pace. Will do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Raylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a must do in Hanoi, love, love, loved this tour with our tour guide Honest Felt like we were real locals with the experience. Thank you so much.
Raylee Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Sinead O'Byrne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Bravo for excellent services!!! Amazing Hanoi tour, taste some typical Hanoi foods like Bun Cha, Pho Con, etc...meet the locals while sipping a cup coffee, discover Hanoi history and cultural with guide Trung, a young and energic Hanoian who takes you everywhere with fun and knowledges. A full day of many activities, tired and so many fun.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Tour Including Water Puppet Show and Cyclo Ride

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Cyclo ride was a highlight. Luan was an amazing, knowledgeable guide. A great way to see the city, cover a lot of ground and history - a perfect day for my family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Knaap Joo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommend for one day tour combined sighseeing, then went for coffee and street food

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Tour Including Water Puppet Show and Cyclo Ride

Natalie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent in his historical and cultural information, conduct, hospitality in taking guests to local Pho bo eatery. Could not recommend him highly enough- thanks Cong. The behaviour conduct and what could be taken in (rules) were quite strict at the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and a little confusing but Cong navigated us through. We had a nice and friendly group of Aussies and a Brit lady. Would recommend to others.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Patrick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Patrick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide was amazing in explaining all the sights and was very good about taking photos all over Hanoi. Very enthusiastic guide. I highly do recommend this tour for anybody wanting to get the best out of Hanoi in a day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Valerie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour and well worth taking. Very knowledgeable guide whose English was excellent. Small numbers so easy to get around quickly, and ask lots of questions.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Nancy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good, included attractions not walking distance from old quarter, good craft store stop and very good guide

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Irene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I were the only people on the tour and we had a great day with our fabulous guide Trois. He gave a great mini history lesson of Ho Chi Minh's life and work. Lunch was good but it is a LOCAL restaurant so be prepared - no fancy tables and chairs, no a/c. It was fine and the food was good. Ladies make sure your shoulders are covered and your top is not revealing when visiting the mausoleum, as this will be considered disrespectful. Highly recommend this tour (base company is Intrepid Travel).

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

RANBIR S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good tour, even if it was a rather gray and rainy day. - our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging -

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Peggy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Good overview of the city of Hanoi and it's highlights. Lovely lunch. Friendly and knowledgable guide who spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

There were just 2 of us on this tour so it felt like a personal tour. Everything was carefully explained to us and we were able to move at our own pace. The guide was very good. Each of the locations we visited were interesting and significant locations in Hanoi. The guide was a delight.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

SallyB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a fantastic day and an excellent way to get a taste of "Hanoi" and all it has to offer. Our guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgable. A definite must for all first time visitors to Hanoi - highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Bill United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent overview of Hanoi. Our guide was excellent. He was able to work seamlessly through the logistics and he provided enlightening and highly interesting information throughout. A very memorable day.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

SHASHI KANT M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

In spite of the rain, our guide ensured that we got the maximum out of our tour. The line to enter Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was miles long and we decided to skip it. But we saw the museum, the houses he lived in, the One Pillar Pagoda, the Temple of Literature. We had a great lunch of Pho at a small restaurant. In the afternoon, we visited the Museum of Ethnography. We had asked to be directed to a water puppet show but in spite of his best efforts, our guide couldn't get us tickets for that day. Fortunately, there was a water puppet show on at the museum and we got a taste. Our guide was knowledgeable and shared some interesting details I had not found in guide books.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message