Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology

The Vietnam Museum of Ethnology, or VME, has two distinct areas - indoor and outdoor. Indoors is a permanent exhibition divided into 9 sections proudly informing of Historical & Cultural Periods, the 3 Major Sub-Regions, and the 54 ethnic groups ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour and well worth taking. Very knowledgeable guide whose English was excellent. Small numbers so easy to get around quickly, and ask lots of questions.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very good, included attractions not walking distance from old quarter, good craft store stop and very good guide

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I were the only people on the tour and we had a great day with our fabulous guide Trois. He gave a great mini history lesson of Ho Chi Minh's life and work. Lunch was good but it is a LOCAL restaurant so be prepared - no fancy tables and chairs, no a/c. It was fine and the food was good. Ladies make sure your shoulders are covered and your top is not revealing when visiting the mausoleum, as this will be considered disrespectful. Highly recommend this tour (base company is Intrepid Travel).

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good tour, even if it was a rather gray and rainy day. - our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging -

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Good overview of the city of Hanoi and it's highlights. Lovely lunch. Friendly and knowledgable guide who spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

There were just 2 of us on this tour so it felt like a personal tour. Everything was carefully explained to us and we were able to move at our own pace. The guide was very good. Each of the locations we visited were interesting and significant locations in Hanoi. The guide was a delight.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

SallyB
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a fantastic day and an excellent way to get a taste of "Hanoi" and all it has to offer. Our guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely knowledgable. A definite must for all first time visitors to Hanoi - highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent overview of Hanoi. Our guide was excellent. He was able to work seamlessly through the logistics and he provided enlightening and highly interesting information throughout. A very memorable day.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

In spite of the rain, our guide ensured that we got the maximum out of our tour. The line to enter Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum was miles long and we decided to skip it. But we saw the museum, the houses he lived in, the One Pillar Pagoda, the Temple of Literature. We had a great lunch of Pho at a small restaurant. In the afternoon, we visited the Museum of Ethnography. We had asked to be directed to a water puppet show but in spite of his best efforts, our guide couldn't get us tickets for that day. Fortunately, there was a water puppet show on at the museum and we got a taste. Our guide was knowledgeable and shared some interesting details I had not found in guide books.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh's Hanoi Small Group Adventure Tour

Phil
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great tour to get an overall picture of Hanoi, the culture of its people and their views on their life and history. The guide was full of knowledge and passed it on admirably.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Leesa F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Our guide "Dow' was great. She was very helpful, spoke good english and was very knowledgeable. Tour was very interesting and lunch was very up market and great food. highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

all you need to see in Hanoi, great

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Joey
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Although one can go around Hanoi on his own, I am really thankful that I took a tour, because to simply cross the streets in Vietnam is horrible with all the motorbikes not following traffic lights! To get a private tour is even better, because it saves a lot on the hotel pick-ups and drop-offs during rush-hour traffic. The lunch was a real treat, with so many courses, even though I am only a single traveler. The only "dampener" was the rain before my cyclo ride, but luckily it subsided, and the plastic around the cyclo was adequate. My tour guide Lan was very friendly and knowledgeable, and he helped make this tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

A great day with a very informative guide and great lunch very enjoyable

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Top guide, good coverage of the city, Cyclo Ride up to expectations. All in all value for money and something that should be done if visiting Hanoi for the first time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message