The northern Vietnamese city of Hanoi is a beguiling mix of modern and ancient, Asian traditions and colonial legacies. Elegant balconied buildings front tree-lined boulevards, while cyclists and mopeds weave through the city’s narrow backstreets. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Totally recommend this show - we went not sure what to expect but it was one of the highlights of our stay in Hanoi. Though we could not understand the whole story (told in Vietnamese), the puppets and the whole play were so lively that you know (or guess!) what is happening quite well. This is a small theater, very intimate and we were lucky to sit up close. We were happily surprised to hear live music and singing, which really made the whole evening memorable.

Doing what: Water Puppet Show with Buffet Dinner from Hanoi

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I was the only person on the tour, so I had the guide to myself. Quang's English was excellent and his local knowledge outstanding. There was also plenty of time for browsing the shops and lots of photo opportunities. A wonderful experience and insight into the real Vietnam.

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and Do Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A great evening out in Hanoi. The traditional water puppet show was entertaining and the international buffet dinner was sensational and quite unexpected. The guide was very happy to show us around parts of Hanoi that we may not of seen and took his lead from us.

Doing what: Water Puppet Show with Buffet Dinner from Hanoi

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful small group tour. We learnt much about the traditional food of the area as well as being offered samples of many. The evening concluded with a bbq meal, Vietnamese style!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing day in the countryside. I was the only person on the tour and Thoa, my guide was excellent. His English was faultless and his local knowledge extensive. The bike ride was along quiet, flat (bumpy) roads and very easy to manage. Lunch was a local buffet style meal with plenty of fresh local produce.

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Cuong Tran Duy, was exceptional with good insights about Vietnamese daily life and about the small restaurants and markets we visited. He was very personable and a really nice guy -- we recommend highly taking this tour, especially with Cuong.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

A real look at Hanoi, great guide and saw and learnt a lot, worth doing!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for money. An excellent introduction to Vietnamese food. Our guide was prompt and very knowledgeable with an excellent grasp of English and Vietnamese. Lovely friendly manner. We both tried many different things, including fried silk worms - interesting. Many things to see, taste and eat. You definitely won't need dinner afterwards. Final stop for coffee and wonderful view of Hoa Kiem Lake at night was perfect ending.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything about the junk boat was amazing.
Fantastic food and service. The kayaking was a lovely experience and so was watching the sunset on the deck.
Not a fan of sharing room with a few cockroaches but guess bugs are to be expected on a junk boat!
Long journey to get there though.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything about the junk boat was amazing.
Fantastic food and service. The kayaking was a lovely experience and so was watching the sunset on the deck.
Not a fan of sharing room with a few cockroaches but guess bugs are to be expected on a junk boat!
Long journey to get there though.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We decided to do this tour about 3pm when it took off at 5pm, so we were really happy that we were able to join in that day.

It cost $26USD through Viator, and it was probably some of the best money we spent whilst in Vietnam.

Only down side was trying to find the meeting site, as we couldnt work out where the meeting place was, but managed to find it with 5 mins to spare.

Starting with the best Bahn Mi in Hanoi, the tour was off to a good start. We then wandered around Dung Xuan market through the food part, looking at all the spices, dries seafood and other amazing things, before sampling some silk worms that tasted a lot like peanuts.

Next stop was to try the rice noodle dish Bahn Cuan with is filled with pork mince and mushrooms and was incredibly delicious.

Then taking us around beer corner (which we went back to the next day for a cooling ale), we walked along the train track, then ended up at the the most amazing BBQ restaurant where we sat on the footpath and feasted on BBQ beef wrapped around inoki mushrooms, marinated pork, frog, lamb, cherry tomatoes, calamari and grilled bread. So much food that we couldnt eat it all.

Following this was the local desert of fresh fruit and condensed milk - beyond delicious.

The final stop was the out of the way roof top bar that we had walked past for 3 days and didnt know existed. Views over the lake at night was beautiful. Some had the local egg coffee but we opted for a beer due to the hour of the day and the heat.

We left the tour completely sated by food and drink, and highly recommend the tour.

thank you Thao for your amazing tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome tour. Even though it was just my husband and I who had booked, the tour still went ahead so it became a private tour.

We were so impressed by the whole tour, from being able to buy in the local market places at market price, to the knowledge of the guide and amazing beef pho for lunch.

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and Do Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. And he is so active explain everthing. Fluent and clear English! Highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and Do Temple

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Very slow walk in fact got a bit boring waiting and there were only 4 of us in our group. Food was nothing special, bottom budget price wise and could have done it without a guide. What we did eat was ok but again could pick up on any street corner. If you're totally not adventurous and need your hand held you'd probably think it was great.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I booked the Food Tour for my first evening in Hanoi. This was perfect because I started to be able to find my way around, learned how to cross the road (not simple at first with so many motor scooters!), learned about the money and tasted many foods.

Thanh was an excellent guide and we all had a lot of fun. I learned so much from him about the food, customs and country. Review box would not let me complete my review ?? Many thanks, Renee from

Vancouver


I was a bit concerned that his badge did not say Viator (who I had booked through)n-

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message