• USD ($)
  • English
The northern Vietnamese city of Hanoi is a beguiling mix of modern and ancient, Asian traditions and colonial legacies. Elegant balconied buildings front tree-lined boulevards, while cyclists and mopeds weave through the city’s narrow backstreets. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Best tour we booked, the guide was great and despite a large group of us we were given a great insight in to the city and the food!! the variety of food we tried was amazing and they were very accommodating for all types of eaters! brilliant tour and a MUST if stopping in Hanio, we wouldn't have tried what we did without the local knowledge, defiantly do this tour!!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was good, the boat had been recently refitted and cabin was great and the food was of consistently good quality but they need to let participants know that non-fish options can be requested (didn't apply for us, we love fish! but one other hardly ate) Probably the main downside on this tour was outside the control of the operator - the area of Halong Bay where we had to anchor overnight was a tip! Or at least, the sea was being used as a rubbish tip, it really was such a pity. The same applied to the area we did the little paddle around which just took an edge off. We felt that one night was enough to give us a feel for the area. Will say that, as we expected for this time of year, there was very low visibility on the first afternoon, though no rain. The next morning the mist was at the 'romantic' level so that was just fine. But, as I said, we were aware of this possibility/probability but this was the only time we could come. I would have no problem recommending this tour.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. Yes there are a lot of tourists and tourist boats but the area is so beautiful that everyone deserves the opportunity to see it. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The boat was not large so it gave us the opportunity to get to know some of the other tourists. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences. Kayaking on the bay was hard work but has given us great memories.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a very small group with a fantastic guide and driver. It is possible to do this tour and not have to participate in the bike ride. Instead I wandered around the small town and explored the back streets and alleys however my travel partner really enjoyed the bike ride and believes it was a highlight. There are quite a few tourists riding on the small boats on the river but this did not impact on our enjoyment. Just be prepared for the hard sell for souvenirs and demands for extra money by the person piloting the little boat and stick to your plan (either buy and pay up because it is worth it or politely refuse). Our guide was very helpful with advice in managing these demands. Consider it all part of the fun of travelling. This is a beautiful part of Vietnam.

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first night in Hanoi and a great introduction to the local cuisine. We learnt about some of the local culture and more importantly we learnt how to cross streets in Hanoi. The secret coffee shop overlooking the lake was a great way to end the night. We got to eat more than enough of the local food, most of which was delicious. There was no pressure to eat anything we didn't want to. We were a small group of 6 people and we ended up having a great time together with the guide. This tour gave us the confidence to move around the Old Quarter on our own the next day.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Good overview of the city of Hanoi and it's highlights. Lovely lunch. Friendly and knowledgable guide who spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Thank you, Viator, for highlighting this tour. My guide, Quan, was AWESOME. Seriously. I was lucky and had my own personal tour guide of the old quarter of Hanoi and got to taste all sorts of great things. Quan is fun to be with and informative and interesting. I would highly recommend booking this if you have the time and inclination!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good tour, even if it was a rather gray and rainy day. - our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging -

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a great introduction to street food. Our guide was great,on time funny and very informative.We went on the night of the 8th of March and would not have known these places existed if we hadn't have gone.I can now say I have tasted Duck tongue and frothy egg coffee.The people you met also on the tour were great as well a mixture of ages and nationalities.Keep up the good work and will do it again next time I am back in Hanoi.Thanks Chris and Denise from NZ

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a great trip. Really enjoyed the bay, the boat and the crew, the kayaking, the food and the Tai Chi. $ hour drive each way was less fun.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Beautiful scenery, quiet bays, kyaking, great food, what more could you ask for? This was agreat tour, should have gone for the two night cruise.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

picked up on time in a comfortable van; didn't realize that Hoa Lu was 2 1/2 hours from the Old Quarter in Hanoi. Ride was somewhat enjoyable watching the passing scenery. The first part of the tour was thru a few ancient temples. This was followed by a few hours of biking thru the countryside, and finally a barge ride thru a gorge as well as thru some underground river passages.

The temples were interesting. The barge ride was a bit long and a bit touristy. The bike ride was fantastic. Two+ hours of riding thru villages on small lanes with local people living their daily lives; and thru rice paddies with the planting season in full swing - plowing with some mechanization, but also occasionally with a wooden plow and Oxen; planting the rice seedlings by hand. We saw many other bicycles- locals transporting food to market or back to home. We also saw a half dozen motorbikes; but not once a car or truck. This was one of the most rewarding few hours of touring I've ever done. I'd recommend less barging and more biking ! The tour is highly recommended just for the biking portion.

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great way to experience the old quarter in Hanoi. It was a small group with a great guide who had a lot of information about local life to share. I am sure we saw and experienced things that we would not otherwise have had the opportunity to see and do.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour to get an idea of what kind of food is on offer! Our guide was great and showed us loads of places to eat! Fantastic!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message