The northern Vietnamese city of Hanoi is a beguiling mix of modern and ancient, Asian traditions and colonial legacies. Elegant balconied buildings front tree-lined boulevards, while cyclists and mopeds weave through the city’s narrow backstreets. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you love to try and taste different food, than this is it. Friendly and relax people, good food and just an amazing experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

That was my style of exploring a new city - with a great guide, able to ask all the questions that you normally don't ask in a group - it was relaxed and at my own pace. Will do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

gerry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Review Hanoi walking Tour

This was our first organised tour in Vietnam, we have several booked, they have a lot to live up to.
Our guide Thanh, a friendly young looking 28 year old, was an encyclopaedia of local information. What we discovered on our first night would have taken months to glean as tourists. The secret coffee house with the amazing view would never be found if you didn't know.
The street food BBQ 's bread, fruits and deserts were excellent, and if you are a tad more daring, that is catered for too. I tried silkworm larvae and frog for the first time, both were quite enjoyable. We also had barbecued meats and other local delicacies.
This is highly recommended, advise you to do it on you first night if possible. This set us up for 4 more nights of excellent cheap street food and good ridiculously cheap beer.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a great tour to do, I feel like you can't go to Hanoi/Vietnam for the first time without doing something like this. The food we tasted was incredible and our guide was great too. I spoke about this tour to a couple of my friends already. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best food tour we went on during our eighteen day multiple countries trip. Our tour guide was amazing! I loved that he showcased the culture of Hanoi along with the food. You could really tell he loved doing the tours and also Vietnam. My favorite stop was eating bbq on the street. The honey bread was amazing. He also gave us advice on crossing the street which is invaluable in Vietnam :

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the Hanoi street food tour with Thanh. It was great to have the chance to try things you wouldn't think to ask for from street vendors you may be cautious to buy from on your own. He assured us with the food health and safety of everywhere they take you. We especially enjoyed the pancake and watching them make the rice paper. We were so full by the BBQ at the end but it was just so delicious we ate it all! Loved his own dipping sauce he makes too! Was great being shown the secret cafe to end the night overlooking the lake. Thanh made sure everyone got on their way home safe, calling taxis and taking photos of the cars for extra safety. We were really impressed. He recommended further bars for us to continue our night after the tour had finished. Would thoroughly recommend. Thank you!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The staff were amazing, couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The weather was perfect, very picturesque area. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a must do in Hanoi, love, love, loved this tour with our tour guide Honest Felt like we were real locals with the experience. Thank you so much.
Raylee Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Love it, totally worth our extra money we paid for private, it was truly exclusive for me and my family of 3, got the whole medium size boat by ourselves, impressed by the tour guide "Toan" whose English was very good. We were taken care of by Toan in the most friendly and professional way, big thanks.

Doing what: Water Puppet Show with Buffet Dinner from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun! Great food, plenty of it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this more than anything else we did in Hanoi; an awesome idea for your first dinner or any dinner!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was a well organized and pleasant tour. The services of tour guide and cabin crew were very good.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

Theresa J
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The one night trip on bay is well worth doing. The views are incredible. My only complaint is the staff not very attentive to guest. We had to keep walking down stairs to another deck for drinks. When you got there staff on phone. Mist of trip staff and captain on phone!!!

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

That day there were only 3 of us in this tour and our local tour guild, Taylor. He asked about our dietary restriction and gave each of us a bottle of water, bought each a banh mi sandwich from a popular stall in front of the meeting point. No problem with his explanation since he spoke well in English.
He explained this busy Dong Xuan market as we walked through it and later walked to other streets in the Old Quarter to our next destination for our local food bite. Along the way, he had shown us the proper and safe way to walk cross the busy streets. He explained various streets name in Old Quarter are associated with certain products/goods commonly sold in that street. He also shared to us about the various sub-lots in a shop building and the influence of the building architecture.
The next stop was a shop selling Vietnamese steam thin rice crepes, banh cuon served with some other fillings. It was delicious and considered it as our starter for our dinner before continued the tour.
Next stop a BBQ stall for tasty various meats, vegetable, grilled bread and sat on small stool along the footpath. It was very filling, considered the main course for our dinner.
As for dessert, we walked to an alley for a popular local tasty desert of various fresh fruit mixed with coconut and condensed milk.
Last stop was at a roof top bar around the famous busy roundabout, Dai Phun Nuoc for drinks. This outlet is Radio Coffee Shop at Hang Gai Street with an interesting small alley entrance. The top roof bar offers spectacular night view of Hoan Kiem Lake.
I tried the local egg coffee here but only took a few sips as I noticed I could smelt and taste the egg. Others might like this egg coffee as its famous in Hanoi. Tour finished at around 1930 hrs.

This tour covered on the various foods and also on the area and shop lot buildings in the Old Quarter as we walked along. Get this tour arrange at your beginning of your stay in Hanoi to give an insight into the Old Quarter.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was great (unfortunately I've forgotten his name!). As we were all Aussies we had a good laugh. The food was amazing, very interesting and fun tour. I recommend it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic experience! The accommodation on the boat was great and the staff were all friendly and fun. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I took this tour on 1st of January. I absolutely loved it. The guide was always so kind and really looking after us the best he could, and the tour has a bit of everything: sightseeing, bike, boat! The best

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Went to cycle and float down the river in the Vietnamese countryside. Tuan was an amazing tour guide and was so knowledgeable about the history of Vietnam and in the temples. HIghly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Extremely beautiful bay. The room was good and food was too.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Cyclo ride was a highlight. Luan was an amazing, knowledgeable guide. A great way to see the city, cover a lot of ground and history - a perfect day for my family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

There were four of us on the tour, and our guide was excellent. We walked all over the old quarter sampling food. Our guide said we would eat like the local Vietnamese, and we did. The highlight was the outdoor barbecue where he picked out the meats to try. As a finale, we enjoyed a fantastic night skyline from the top of a café we entered through an embroidery shop. The egg coffee was too sweet. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this Street Food Walking Tour. The guide I believe was either Thanh or Hoang Le... sorry. Strolling through the old city along the railway tracks was unbelievable. Mingling and tasting the fresh fruit sold by the market vendors was exceptional. Sampling and eating the local food prepared by the local food vendors was fabulous. The food was scrumptious. The guide was super friendly and fun. Great time and great tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The crew on board were fantastic.
tour guide Chien was really good, communicated well.
The food was amazing to say the least, presented beautifully.
The room on board the boat was so comfortable.
It was a wonderful experience. Thankyou

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Informative and interesting. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message