The northern Vietnamese city of Hanoi is a beguiling mix of modern and ancient, Asian traditions and colonial legacies. Elegant balconied buildings front tree-lined boulevards, while cyclists and mopeds weave through the city’s narrow backstreets. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 194 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Love it, totally worth our extra money we paid for private, it was truly exclusive for me and my family of 3, got the whole medium size boat by ourselves, impressed by the tour guide "Toan" whose English was very good. We were taken care of by Toan in the most friendly and professional way, big thanks.

Doing what: Water Puppet Show with Buffet Dinner from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun! Great food, plenty of it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this more than anything else we did in Hanoi; an awesome idea for your first dinner or any dinner!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was a well organized and pleasant tour. The services of tour guide and cabin crew were very good.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

Theresa J
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The one night trip on bay is well worth doing. The views are incredible. My only complaint is the staff not very attentive to guest. We had to keep walking down stairs to another deck for drinks. When you got there staff on phone. Mist of trip staff and captain on phone!!!

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

That day there were only 3 of us in this tour and our local tour guild, Taylor. He asked about our dietary restriction and gave each of us a bottle of water, bought each a banh mi sandwich from a popular stall in front of the meeting point. No problem with his explanation since he spoke well in English.
He explained this busy Dong Xuan market as we walked through it and later walked to other streets in the Old Quarter to our next destination for our local food bite. Along the way, he had shown us the proper and safe way to walk cross the busy streets. He explained various streets name in Old Quarter are associated with certain products/goods commonly sold in that street. He also shared to us about the various sub-lots in a shop building and the influence of the building architecture.
The next stop was a shop selling Vietnamese steam thin rice crepes, banh cuon served with some other fillings. It was delicious and considered it as our starter for our dinner before continued the tour.
Next stop a BBQ stall for tasty various meats, vegetable, grilled bread and sat on small stool along the footpath. It was very filling, considered the main course for our dinner.
As for dessert, we walked to an alley for a popular local tasty desert of various fresh fruit mixed with coconut and condensed milk.
Last stop was at a roof top bar around the famous busy roundabout, Dai Phun Nuoc for drinks. This outlet is Radio Coffee Shop at Hang Gai Street with an interesting small alley entrance. The top roof bar offers spectacular night view of Hoan Kiem Lake.
I tried the local egg coffee here but only took a few sips as I noticed I could smelt and taste the egg. Others might like this egg coffee as its famous in Hanoi. Tour finished at around 1930 hrs.

This tour covered on the various foods and also on the area and shop lot buildings in the Old Quarter as we walked along. Get this tour arrange at your beginning of your stay in Hanoi to give an insight into the Old Quarter.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was great (unfortunately I've forgotten his name!). As we were all Aussies we had a good laugh. The food was amazing, very interesting and fun tour. I recommend it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic experience! The accommodation on the boat was great and the staff were all friendly and fun. Beautiful part of the world.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I took this tour on 1st of January. I absolutely loved it. The guide was always so kind and really looking after us the best he could, and the tour has a bit of everything: sightseeing, bike, boat! The best

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Went to cycle and float down the river in the Vietnamese countryside. Tuan was an amazing tour guide and was so knowledgeable about the history of Vietnam and in the temples. HIghly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Vietnamese Countryside Tour by Bike and Boat from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Extremely beautiful bay. The room was good and food was too.

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Cyclo ride was a highlight. Luan was an amazing, knowledgeable guide. A great way to see the city, cover a lot of ground and history - a perfect day for my family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

There were four of us on the tour, and our guide was excellent. We walked all over the old quarter sampling food. Our guide said we would eat like the local Vietnamese, and we did. The highlight was the outdoor barbecue where he picked out the meats to try. As a finale, we enjoyed a fantastic night skyline from the top of a café we entered through an embroidery shop. The egg coffee was too sweet. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this Street Food Walking Tour. The guide I believe was either Thanh or Hoang Le... sorry. Strolling through the old city along the railway tracks was unbelievable. Mingling and tasting the fresh fruit sold by the market vendors was exceptional. Sampling and eating the local food prepared by the local food vendors was fabulous. The food was scrumptious. The guide was super friendly and fun. Great time and great tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The crew on board were fantastic.
tour guide Chien was really good, communicated well.
The food was amazing to say the least, presented beautifully.
The room on board the boat was so comfortable.
It was a wonderful experience. Thankyou

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Informative and interesting. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was good but I was expecting more food stops/tasting than just three. Perhaps this needs to be improved. Very good guide.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an outstanding culinary adventure!

I've been to Hanoi twice before, and never had this kind of experience. There were so many hidden food gems that I either didn't notice or wasn't brave enough to try- NOT ANYMORE!

A great idea for first timers and more seasoned travellers looking for the next level.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent guide and very good choice of locations. I recommend if you only have a day in Hue.

Doing what: Hue City Sightseeing Tour with Perfume River Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My tour guide was amazing in explaining all the sights and was very good about taking photos all over Hanoi. Very enthusiastic guide. I highly do recommend this tour for anybody wanting to get the best out of Hanoi in a day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hanoi City Full-Day Tour including Cyclo Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour. Learn lots about Hanoi and ate at some spots my husband and would have never have gone to. We returned the few days later and it was as amazing!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Tuan was a wonderful guide - good attitude, great smile, informative. He even helped me purchase a warm coat after the tour was over I was headed to Sa Pa where it was quite chilly.
The food on the tour was interesting and and tasty. Be adventurous and try everything offered - even if it is one little bite :

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was a great experience. The tourguide Thanh made for an enjoyable and productive use of the day. Many sights were visited and the personal knowledge of Hue by Thanh added a lot to the experience. The pickup at the hotel was on time and the pace of the day was good. The tour included the transportation, admissions to the sights, the boat ride, and lunch. With the limited time I had in Hue, it was the way to see and learn about the area.

Doing what: Hue City Sightseeing Tour with Perfume River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message