The northern Vietnamese city of Hanoi is a beguiling mix of modern and ancient, Asian traditions and colonial legacies. Elegant balconied buildings front tree-lined boulevards, while cyclists and mopeds weave through the city’s narrow backstreets. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Cuong Tran Duy, was exceptional with good insights about Vietnamese daily life and about the small restaurants and markets we visited. He was very personable and a really nice guy -- we recommend highly taking this tour, especially with Cuong.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for money. An excellent introduction to Vietnamese food. Our guide was prompt and very knowledgeable with an excellent grasp of English and Vietnamese. Lovely friendly manner. We both tried many different things, including fried silk worms - interesting. Many things to see, taste and eat. You definitely won't need dinner afterwards. Final stop for coffee and wonderful view of Hoa Kiem Lake at night was perfect ending.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything about the junk boat was amazing.
Fantastic food and service. The kayaking was a lovely experience and so was watching the sunset on the deck.
Not a fan of sharing room with a few cockroaches but guess bugs are to be expected on a junk boat!
Long journey to get there though.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything about the junk boat was amazing.
Fantastic food and service. The kayaking was a lovely experience and so was watching the sunset on the deck.
Not a fan of sharing room with a few cockroaches but guess bugs are to be expected on a junk boat!
Long journey to get there though.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We decided to do this tour about 3pm when it took off at 5pm, so we were really happy that we were able to join in that day.

It cost $26USD through Viator, and it was probably some of the best money we spent whilst in Vietnam.

Only down side was trying to find the meeting site, as we couldnt work out where the meeting place was, but managed to find it with 5 mins to spare.

Starting with the best Bahn Mi in Hanoi, the tour was off to a good start. We then wandered around Dung Xuan market through the food part, looking at all the spices, dries seafood and other amazing things, before sampling some silk worms that tasted a lot like peanuts.

Next stop was to try the rice noodle dish Bahn Cuan with is filled with pork mince and mushrooms and was incredibly delicious.

Then taking us around beer corner (which we went back to the next day for a cooling ale), we walked along the train track, then ended up at the the most amazing BBQ restaurant where we sat on the footpath and feasted on BBQ beef wrapped around inoki mushrooms, marinated pork, frog, lamb, cherry tomatoes, calamari and grilled bread. So much food that we couldnt eat it all.

Following this was the local desert of fresh fruit and condensed milk - beyond delicious.

The final stop was the out of the way roof top bar that we had walked past for 3 days and didnt know existed. Views over the lake at night was beautiful. Some had the local egg coffee but we opted for a beer due to the hour of the day and the heat.

We left the tour completely sated by food and drink, and highly recommend the tour.

thank you Thao for your amazing tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Awesome tour. Even though it was just my husband and I who had booked, the tour still went ahead so it became a private tour.

We were so impressed by the whole tour, from being able to buy in the local market places at market price, to the knowledge of the guide and amazing beef pho for lunch.

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and Do Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. And he is so active explain everthing. Fluent and clear English! Highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and Do Temple

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Very slow walk in fact got a bit boring waiting and there were only 4 of us in our group. Food was nothing special, bottom budget price wise and could have done it without a guide. What we did eat was ok but again could pick up on any street corner. If you're totally not adventurous and need your hand held you'd probably think it was great.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I booked the Food Tour for my first evening in Hanoi. This was perfect because I started to be able to find my way around, learned how to cross the road (not simple at first with so many motor scooters!), learned about the money and tasted many foods.

Thanh was an excellent guide and we all had a lot of fun. I learned so much from him about the food, customs and country. Review box would not let me complete my review ?? Many thanks, Renee from

Vancouver


I was a bit concerned that his badge did not say Viator (who I had booked through)n-

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great way to see Hanoi's old quarter and sample yummy street food. My favourite was the pork pancake with chilli and fried shallots.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a fabulous tour. Not only did we taste some new tantalising Vietnamese food, but we also learnt about the history and lifestyle of the Vietnamese people. As we meandered through the bustling markets, we saw how local traders showcased their wares. Most interesting was a woman who made gifts out of betel nuts, their leaves and rose petals. Also amazing was our walk through one neighbourhood close to the markets where people lived a metre from the train tracks. As we wandered through this dark street we thought the guide was joking about how these families lived each day with children and pets wandering out near the tracks - and then a train came along. We backed against the wall and could have touched the train as it passed if we had put our hands out. Makes use realise what a blessed life we have in Australia. The tour finished with a beer or Vietnamese coffee and a tiny, hidden hole-in-the-wall eatery. A great find with a great view.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I can recommend this tour. Ha Long Bay is worth seeing! We had only 3 of us on a boat that sleeps 24. The staff were very attentive. The activities were good and allowed sufficient free time. The food was very good with the Chef catering to individual requests. The accommodation was excellent. The air conditioning on the boat worked well - which was needed as it was extremely hot and humid. My only suggestion would be that some commentary in the bus trip from Hanoi to Ha Long would have been good. This could be provided by CD if an English speaking driver is not available.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting, and we saw many things that we would have not seen on our own. The only down side was being taken to a shop in the village of Bat Trang where the prices of ceramics were outrageous and then seeing the exact same things at the airport for 75% less. Not fun to be ripped off on a tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Cultural Tour: Bat Trang, Dong Ky and Do Temple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The street food tour great fun, Thoa made great effort cover all the types of food and also provide other interesting aspects of Hanoi.
Would recommend this tour, great value for money and great fun.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, Great way to explore the Hanoi street food culture.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message