Ask anyone who’s been to Vietnam what their favorite part was, and many will likely gush about the food. The heady mix of Asian and French influences has created a cuisine famous the world over, and this cuisine is at its best in Hanoi. Some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MICHAEL E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide. Great time. Great food. Would gladly do again with another first-timer in Hanoi.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Gabriela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The best way to experience the street food in Hanoi, especially in old quarter area. Our guide, Nguoc was really funny and informative. He even treated us free beer! One of the best experience. Really recommended!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Sandrajw Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely Brilliant!
I booked this just before leaving Australia, being our first night in Hanoi, it was wonderful introduction in experiencing the Vietnamese food and culture
Our guide Anh was amazing, and as well as the food tour she should us extra sights and shared information along the way
A definate do

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Tyrone G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide, Anh, was very knowledgeable, friendly and funky. She was able to answer all our questions really well.

Great way to eat a bucketload of good, local food and see what the locals do.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Whyhaveone United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this walking/eating tour of Old Hanoi.

Lee our guide spoke pretty good English and was knowledgeable and informative. We tried more than we would have on our own - Vietnam's street food is more 'street' than Thailand's where we were happy to eat. We were also given the opportunity to try some unusual food but all bar one we declined much to the amusement of all. :-

We ended up at a coffee shop with a rooftop terrace overlooking Lake Ho Hoan Kiem. We would not have found this on our own and it was a treat.

All in all this was a great intro to the old quarter of Hanoi and some of the Vietnamese street culture.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

what a fantastic food tour,have done a few off these around the world and this has got be one off the best , helped by are great guide Thoa , there were only four off us on this tour which made it a bit more personal.
Thoa took us to some great street food vendors which we would not have found if we were on are own
and also would not off tried some off the great food we tried, my highlight was the street food bar b q, which was delicious, though i must admit i did not try the grilled frog, but a couple who were with us did try it.
at the end off the tour Thoa took us to a secret cafe overlooking the lake , which again we would never have found on are own , i tried the egg yolk coffee which was fabulous
if you are a foodie i would recommend this trip

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Hyung Ran M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great! Our guide, Ching, was friendly and knowledgeable. All the dishes we tried were delicious and very good value.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

robbe v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!! I highly recommend taking it. Our guide/chef was terrific. We had a great little tour of the morning market. Then off to the very clean,well set up kitchen to prepare our Vietnamese dishes. After we completed our dishes we were then sat at a table to enjoy our creations.
If given the chance I definitely would do this again.

Doing what: Vietnamese Cooking Class at Hanoi's Cooking Centre

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good variety of places visited. Great final stop with view over lake.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Anne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was so very good. Our guide Cherry was a bubbly person who took us to some great speciality restaurants which showcased great food. My only complaint was that there was too much food! I really could not eat it all but it certainly was not because the food was good, except did not like the seafood hotpot which featured freshwater fish which we do not eat in Australia.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Tour Including Seafood Hotpot Dinner

Gregory L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great food, great guide, great value!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Meghan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was definitely a great experience and value. We got an incredible walking tour and so much delicious food and insight into the culture. I'd highly recommend!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Stacey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I am Vietnamese American and I really enjoyed this tour. I brought my New Zealand, American, and Taiwanese friend, and they all loved it. We had banh mi delicious, rambutan yummy, banh cuon BEST, BBQ so much fun! decent, lots of meat, fruitcondensed milk desert sweet, delicious, and egg coffee super sweet, too late in the night for coffee, but fun to try. Would recommend to any of my friends. Best way to get an intro to the city, especially if you're shy about going to street food stands on your own. The food is well-prepared so no need to be afraid!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Bengt J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, good composition of the group. And the food was all the way through excellent. Took very good care of my spouse's dietary restrictions.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent. We enjoyed it so much that we went for a second day. The market tour was very informative. The cooking was very tasty, hands on. Good recipes. Very good english. Very friendly. My wife and I both loved it

Doing what: Vietnamese Cooking Class at Hanoi's Cooking Centre

Maureen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very good and knowledgeable. We got to eat in places we would not have tried on our own.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Lee was a really generous and thoughtful guide. Really was a highlight of our tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was awesome Luisa my tour guide was excellent and she took me to her Aunt and Uncles place. We shopped in the local market in their village first, then took all the ingredients back to their home and cooked up a yummy feast, together. Totally recommend

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

Hani M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Thoa was an amazing guide.
His tour was much more beyond the food, he made us understand the culture, the people and the city. And most importantly, he show us how to cross the roads!

I recommend you to do this tour in your first day in Vietnam.

THANK YOU THOA...

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Raylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A true experience of Hanoi, eating with the locals and seeing the amazing way of life. This tour is a must do!!!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Andrew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent taster of Vietnam. The tour started with a taste of street food in the form of a pork baguette and proceeded to take us through a variety of cuisine in places we would not have found ourselves. The guide had excellent english and took into account the fact that the group included people of all ages. The highlight for us was probably the bbq including pork, chicken, tofu and frog, though my daughter was a big fan of the egg coffee!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

gerry United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Review Hanoi walking Tour

This was our first organised tour in Vietnam, we have several booked, they have a lot to live up to.
Our guide Thanh, a friendly young looking 28 year old, was an encyclopaedia of local information. What we discovered on our first night would have taken months to glean as tourists. The secret coffee house with the amazing view would never be found if you didn't know.
The street food BBQ 's bread, fruits and deserts were excellent, and if you are a tad more daring, that is catered for too. I tried silkworm larvae and frog for the first time, both were quite enjoyable. We also had barbecued meats and other local delicacies.
This is highly recommended, advise you to do it on you first night if possible. This set us up for 4 more nights of excellent cheap street food and good ridiculously cheap beer.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing! The friendly people, the experience, the good food and the opportunity to meet the locals personally was a blessing to me.

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you love to try and taste different food, than this is it. Friendly and relax people, good food and just an amazing experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Sahan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great experience cooking, dining and conversing with locals who are very competent in English. The staff are very friendly and extremely hospitable. A must if you want an authentic experience of Hanoi lifestyle as well as cuisine.

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message