Ask anyone who’s been to Vietnam what their favorite part was, and many will likely gush about the food. The heady mix of Asian and French influences has created a cuisine famous the world over, and this cuisine is at its best in Hanoi. Some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gregory L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great food, great guide, great value!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Meghan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was definitely a great experience and value. We got an incredible walking tour and so much delicious food and insight into the culture. I'd highly recommend!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Stacey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I am Vietnamese American and I really enjoyed this tour. I brought my New Zealand, American, and Taiwanese friend, and they all loved it. We had banh mi delicious, rambutan yummy, banh cuon BEST, BBQ so much fun! decent, lots of meat, fruitcondensed milk desert sweet, delicious, and egg coffee super sweet, too late in the night for coffee, but fun to try. Would recommend to any of my friends. Best way to get an intro to the city, especially if you're shy about going to street food stands on your own. The food is well-prepared so no need to be afraid!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Bengt J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, good composition of the group. And the food was all the way through excellent. Took very good care of my spouse's dietary restrictions.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent. We enjoyed it so much that we went for a second day. The market tour was very informative. The cooking was very tasty, hands on. Good recipes. Very good english. Very friendly. My wife and I both loved it

Doing what: Vietnamese Cooking Class at Hanoi's Cooking Centre

Maureen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very good and knowledgeable. We got to eat in places we would not have tried on our own.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Lee was a really generous and thoughtful guide. Really was a highlight of our tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was awesome Luisa my tour guide was excellent and she took me to her Aunt and Uncles place. We shopped in the local market in their village first, then took all the ingredients back to their home and cooked up a yummy feast, together. Totally recommend

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

Hani M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Thoa was an amazing guide.
His tour was much more beyond the food, he made us understand the culture, the people and the city. And most importantly, he show us how to cross the roads!

I recommend you to do this tour in your first day in Vietnam.

THANK YOU THOA...

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Raylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A true experience of Hanoi, eating with the locals and seeing the amazing way of life. This tour is a must do!!!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Andrew N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent taster of Vietnam. The tour started with a taste of street food in the form of a pork baguette and proceeded to take us through a variety of cuisine in places we would not have found ourselves. The guide had excellent english and took into account the fact that the group included people of all ages. The highlight for us was probably the bbq including pork, chicken, tofu and frog, though my daughter was a big fan of the egg coffee!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

gerry United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Review Hanoi walking Tour

This was our first organised tour in Vietnam, we have several booked, they have a lot to live up to.
Our guide Thanh, a friendly young looking 28 year old, was an encyclopaedia of local information. What we discovered on our first night would have taken months to glean as tourists. The secret coffee house with the amazing view would never be found if you didn't know.
The street food BBQ 's bread, fruits and deserts were excellent, and if you are a tad more daring, that is catered for too. I tried silkworm larvae and frog for the first time, both were quite enjoyable. We also had barbecued meats and other local delicacies.
This is highly recommended, advise you to do it on you first night if possible. This set us up for 4 more nights of excellent cheap street food and good ridiculously cheap beer.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing! The friendly people, the experience, the good food and the opportunity to meet the locals personally was a blessing to me.

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you love to try and taste different food, than this is it. Friendly and relax people, good food and just an amazing experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Sahan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great experience cooking, dining and conversing with locals who are very competent in English. The staff are very friendly and extremely hospitable. A must if you want an authentic experience of Hanoi lifestyle as well as cuisine.

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the Hanoi street food tour with Thanh. It was great to have the chance to try things you wouldn't think to ask for from street vendors you may be cautious to buy from on your own. He assured us with the food health and safety of everywhere they take you. We especially enjoyed the pancake and watching them make the rice paper. We were so full by the BBQ at the end but it was just so delicious we ate it all! Loved his own dipping sauce he makes too! Was great being shown the secret cafe to end the night overlooking the lake. Thanh made sure everyone got on their way home safe, calling taxis and taking photos of the cars for extra safety. We were really impressed. He recommended further bars for us to continue our night after the tour had finished. Would thoroughly recommend. Thank you!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jean-Simon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a great tour to do, I feel like you can't go to Hanoi/Vietnam for the first time without doing something like this. The food we tasted was incredible and our guide was great too. I spoke about this tour to a couple of my friends already. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best food tour we went on during our eighteen day multiple countries trip. Our tour guide was amazing! I loved that he showcased the culture of Hanoi along with the food. You could really tell he loved doing the tours and also Vietnam. My favorite stop was eating bbq on the street. The honey bread was amazing. He also gave us advice on crossing the street which is invaluable in Vietnam :

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this more than anything else we did in Hanoi; an awesome idea for your first dinner or any dinner!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Alex T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun! Great food, plenty of it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Gloria D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this Street Food Walking Tour. The guide I believe was either Thanh or Hoang Le... sorry. Strolling through the old city along the railway tracks was unbelievable. Mingling and tasting the fresh fruit sold by the market vendors was exceptional. Sampling and eating the local food prepared by the local food vendors was fabulous. The food was scrumptious. The guide was super friendly and fun. Great time and great tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Cristeena G N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

There were four of us on the tour, and our guide was excellent. We walked all over the old quarter sampling food. Our guide said we would eat like the local Vietnamese, and we did. The highlight was the outdoor barbecue where he picked out the meats to try. As a finale, we enjoyed a fantastic night skyline from the top of a café we entered through an embroidery shop. The egg coffee was too sweet. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Sheila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was great (unfortunately I've forgotten his name!). As we were all Aussies we had a good laugh. The food was amazing, very interesting and fun tour. I recommend it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Angela B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour. Learn lots about Hanoi and ate at some spots my husband and would have never have gone to. We returned the few days later and it was as amazing!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an outstanding culinary adventure!

I've been to Hanoi twice before, and never had this kind of experience. There were so many hidden food gems that I either didn't notice or wasn't brave enough to try- NOT ANYMORE!

A great idea for first timers and more seasoned travellers looking for the next level.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message