Ask anyone who’s been to Vietnam what their favorite part was, and many will likely gush about the food. The heady mix of Asian and French influences has created a cuisine famous the world over, and this cuisine is at its best in Hanoi. Some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A true experience of Hanoi, eating with the locals and seeing the amazing way of life. This tour is a must do!!!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent taster of Vietnam. The tour started with a taste of street food in the form of a pork baguette and proceeded to take us through a variety of cuisine in places we would not have found ourselves. The guide had excellent english and took into account the fact that the group included people of all ages. The highlight for us was probably the bbq including pork, chicken, tofu and frog, though my daughter was a big fan of the egg coffee!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

gerry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Review Hanoi walking Tour

This was our first organised tour in Vietnam, we have several booked, they have a lot to live up to.
Our guide Thanh, a friendly young looking 28 year old, was an encyclopaedia of local information. What we discovered on our first night would have taken months to glean as tourists. The secret coffee house with the amazing view would never be found if you didn't know.
The street food BBQ 's bread, fruits and deserts were excellent, and if you are a tad more daring, that is catered for too. I tried silkworm larvae and frog for the first time, both were quite enjoyable. We also had barbecued meats and other local delicacies.
This is highly recommended, advise you to do it on you first night if possible. This set us up for 4 more nights of excellent cheap street food and good ridiculously cheap beer.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was amazing! The friendly people, the experience, the good food and the opportunity to meet the locals personally was a blessing to me.

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you love to try and taste different food, than this is it. Friendly and relax people, good food and just an amazing experience.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great experience cooking, dining and conversing with locals who are very competent in English. The staff are very friendly and extremely hospitable. A must if you want an authentic experience of Hanoi lifestyle as well as cuisine.

Doing what: Hanoi Cooking Class with Local People

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the Hanoi street food tour with Thanh. It was great to have the chance to try things you wouldn't think to ask for from street vendors you may be cautious to buy from on your own. He assured us with the food health and safety of everywhere they take you. We especially enjoyed the pancake and watching them make the rice paper. We were so full by the BBQ at the end but it was just so delicious we ate it all! Loved his own dipping sauce he makes too! Was great being shown the secret cafe to end the night overlooking the lake. Thanh made sure everyone got on their way home safe, calling taxis and taking photos of the cars for extra safety. We were really impressed. He recommended further bars for us to continue our night after the tour had finished. Would thoroughly recommend. Thank you!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a great tour to do, I feel like you can't go to Hanoi/Vietnam for the first time without doing something like this. The food we tasted was incredible and our guide was great too. I spoke about this tour to a couple of my friends already. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best food tour we went on during our eighteen day multiple countries trip. Our tour guide was amazing! I loved that he showcased the culture of Hanoi along with the food. You could really tell he loved doing the tours and also Vietnam. My favorite stop was eating bbq on the street. The honey bread was amazing. He also gave us advice on crossing the street which is invaluable in Vietnam :

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We enjoyed this more than anything else we did in Hanoi; an awesome idea for your first dinner or any dinner!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun! Great food, plenty of it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this Street Food Walking Tour. The guide I believe was either Thanh or Hoang Le... sorry. Strolling through the old city along the railway tracks was unbelievable. Mingling and tasting the fresh fruit sold by the market vendors was exceptional. Sampling and eating the local food prepared by the local food vendors was fabulous. The food was scrumptious. The guide was super friendly and fun. Great time and great tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

There were four of us on the tour, and our guide was excellent. We walked all over the old quarter sampling food. Our guide said we would eat like the local Vietnamese, and we did. The highlight was the outdoor barbecue where he picked out the meats to try. As a finale, we enjoyed a fantastic night skyline from the top of a café we entered through an embroidery shop. The egg coffee was too sweet. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was great (unfortunately I've forgotten his name!). As we were all Aussies we had a good laugh. The food was amazing, very interesting and fun tour. I recommend it.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent tour. Learn lots about Hanoi and ate at some spots my husband and would have never have gone to. We returned the few days later and it was as amazing!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an outstanding culinary adventure!

I've been to Hanoi twice before, and never had this kind of experience. There were so many hidden food gems that I either didn't notice or wasn't brave enough to try- NOT ANYMORE!

A great idea for first timers and more seasoned travellers looking for the next level.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome tour, a lot of different food samples tried and sightseeing along the way. The best tour we have ever done

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Tour with a very knowledgeable guide, Thanh Vu. All the food was delicious and made a good start to our holiday. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Craige P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An excellent tour to take in Hanoi. A great way of helping us overcome our reluctance to partake of street food. Good fun and culturally very worthwhile.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Highly Recommend. I really wanted to try Vietnam street food, but was a little worries about the hygiene and trying really strange food. I'm so glad we did this tour, everything we tried was delicious. The tour guide was very friendly, and took us on a tour of some streets of Old Quarter on the way.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Cuong Tran Duy, was exceptional with good insights about Vietnamese daily life and about the small restaurants and markets we visited. He was very personable and a really nice guy -- we recommend highly taking this tour, especially with Cuong.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We decided to do this tour about 3pm when it took off at 5pm, so we were really happy that we were able to join in that day.

It cost $26USD through Viator, and it was probably some of the best money we spent whilst in Vietnam.

Only down side was trying to find the meeting site, as we couldnt work out where the meeting place was, but managed to find it with 5 mins to spare.

Starting with the best Bahn Mi in Hanoi, the tour was off to a good start. We then wandered around Dung Xuan market through the food part, looking at all the spices, dries seafood and other amazing things, before sampling some silk worms that tasted a lot like peanuts.

Next stop was to try the rice noodle dish Bahn Cuan with is filled with pork mince and mushrooms and was incredibly delicious.

Then taking us around beer corner (which we went back to the next day for a cooling ale), we walked along the train track, then ended up at the the most amazing BBQ restaurant where we sat on the footpath and feasted on BBQ beef wrapped around inoki mushrooms, marinated pork, frog, lamb, cherry tomatoes, calamari and grilled bread. So much food that we couldnt eat it all.

Following this was the local desert of fresh fruit and condensed milk - beyond delicious.

The final stop was the out of the way roof top bar that we had walked past for 3 days and didnt know existed. Views over the lake at night was beautiful. Some had the local egg coffee but we opted for a beer due to the hour of the day and the heat.

We left the tour completely sated by food and drink, and highly recommend the tour.

thank you Thao for your amazing tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great value for money. An excellent introduction to Vietnamese food. Our guide was prompt and very knowledgeable with an excellent grasp of English and Vietnamese. Lovely friendly manner. We both tried many different things, including fried silk worms - interesting. Many things to see, taste and eat. You definitely won't need dinner afterwards. Final stop for coffee and wonderful view of Hoa Kiem Lake at night was perfect ending.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a fabulous tour. Not only did we taste some new tantalising Vietnamese food, but we also learnt about the history and lifestyle of the Vietnamese people. As we meandered through the bustling markets, we saw how local traders showcased their wares. Most interesting was a woman who made gifts out of betel nuts, their leaves and rose petals. Also amazing was our walk through one neighbourhood close to the markets where people lived a metre from the train tracks. As we wandered through this dark street we thought the guide was joking about how these families lived each day with children and pets wandering out near the tracks - and then a train came along. We backed against the wall and could have touched the train as it passed if we had put our hands out. Makes use realise what a blessed life we have in Australia. The tour finished with a beer or Vietnamese coffee and a tiny, hidden hole-in-the-wall eatery. A great find with a great view.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great way to see Hanoi's old quarter and sample yummy street food. My favourite was the pork pancake with chilli and fried shallots.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message