Halong Bay, located 103 miles (165 kilometers) from the capital city of Hanoi, is made up of more than 1,600 limestone islands and islets, creating a drowned Karst landscape of immense beauty. Visiting this UNESCO World Heritage Site has become the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So worth the day trip if you don't have a lot of time. The drive its self is worth it just to experience and observe the countryside, then arriving at Halong Bay is so beautiful. Excellent

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Not only was the boat luxurious, clean and well-kept, but the staff were extremely accommodating and could not do enough to help us. The excursions were great fun and the scenery was out of this world. Do not leave Vietnam without taking a tour of Halong Bay particularly on this boat - from what I could see, it was the only one with a balcony for each room!!

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour itself was great - great tour leader, safe driver, large sized boat to ourselves, beautiful tour of Halong bay. Had lunch on the boat while cruising past the islands which was amazing.

Just note that the drive to Halong Bay is long. Be prepared for a lot of sitting and waiting - bring a book, pillow, and snacks.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was great day long tour. You really see and learn a lot without having to spend days in Halong. I really enjoyed the boat ride and the seeing the cave.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My friends and I were the only ones on the trip and we had a good time with our guide San. The visibility was not the best but nonetheless Halong Bay still looks very beautiful.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time in Halong bay. Our guide was so nice and informative. We had a beautiful boat to ourselves and a delicious meal. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Deluxe Halong Bay Day Cruise including Seafood Lunch from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was magnificent! If you want to see Halong Bay in one day, this is definitely the tour. Good food and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you only have one day to do Halong then this is a great way to do it. Breathtaking scenery! Be prepared for the long 4 hour driving journey there and back.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences!!

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Hanoi Highlights and Halong Bay Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - a long day trip but well worth it. I would recommend if you have time to stay over but if you only have one day this is the perfect one day trip to see Halong Bay. It was beautiful and stunning, really amazing.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was fabulous - for a Vietnamese his English is incredibly fluent and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was also very patient with everyone - whenever we requested a photo he would happily take it for us and his photo-taking skill was great! We did many jumping shots at Halong Bay. I also like that the tour was small in number.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An amazing excursion - Halong Bay is spectacular. Our guide was awesome.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. Yes there are a lot of tourists and tourist boats but the area is so beautiful that everyone deserves the opportunity to see it. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The boat was not large so it gave us the opportunity to get to know some of the other tourists. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences. Kayaking on the bay was hard work but has given us great memories.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good trip to do if you do not have much time to spend in Halong Bay. Guide was very informative and friendly and the seafood lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was an amazing experience for me and my daughter. The small group made it more personal and everyone on the trip shared an amazing experience. The food on board the boat was excellent and the rew could not have been nicer. Our tour guide did an amazing job. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone. I have made some new friends as a result and found Halong Bay to be mystical and magical.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I have taken tours with Viator in several different countries and have never been disappointed. This tour to Halong Bay was no exception. Great communication, friendly and knowledgeable guide who spoke English. Clean and comfortable tour bus with safe driver. It turned out to just be 4 of us on the tour and that was fantastic. The boat was beautiful inside and the lunch was fresh and delicious. Most people who visit Halong Bay do an overnight but we were very happy with this day trip, just enough time to cruise about and also visit a cave. The little stops on the way were interesting and we didn't feel pressure to buy anything. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had an absolutely unforgettable time. My husband and I had the whole boat with a crew of 6 to ourselves. Our guide was well versed in the history and was able to answer all the questions we asked. He kept the trip flexible enough to accommodate a visit to a souvenir shop on the way to Halong Bay and a pottery shop on the way back. It was raining but the mist only made the view more beautiful. The stop at an underground cave was equally memorable. Once again we had the whole place to ourselves with our guide showing us all the different formations. The food was divine. My husband unfortunately does not eat seafood while I love it. Our guide had managed to get a complete seafood meal for me while organising chicken for my husband. The crew were friendly and fulfilled our every wish including allowing my husband to take the controls for a while. I took so many pictures, the hardest part was deciding which ones to put on Facebook.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I was expecting a fairly standard boat trip into the bay, and was pleasantly surprised with 3 days of luxury. The cabin was beautiful, with a lovely bathroom and excellent shower. The crew were so attentive and fun, and we had a very knowledgable tour guide. The food was amazing and very plentiful. A highlight was the meal in the cave, which was an experience I shan't forget. Overall, this was a wonderful trip and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to see the best of Halong Bay.

Doing what: Halong Bay 3-Day Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had a fabulous day trip to Halong Bay. Small group tours are so much better as you don't waste time waiting for everyone. We had five on our trip and our guide was great, unfortunately we could not remember his name. Yes it takes 3 hours from Hanoi and part of the trip can be a little rough due to the road conditions, but it is soon forgotten when you see the spectacular scenery! The crew on the boat were very friendly and the lunch was fresh and delicious. The nicest part was the peacefulness of cruising the bay and especially having only 5 others on the boat, we felt like we had lots of space and the only tourists on the boat. We had limited time and were unsure as to whether it would be worth doing just a one day trip, but can happily recommend that it is worth it and we didn't feel rushed at any stage. We booked with Viator on the internet before we left and would thoroughly recommend this company.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Halong Bay is a definite must see! Our tour guide Named Guong spoke very good english and was the best tour guide we've had in our Vietnam vacation. I can't speak enough of the Halong Bay scenery and the tour guide.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Absolutely the highlight of our Vietnam visit. An interesting and passionate guide who answered our many and varied questions not only about Halong Bay but also about Vietnamese life in general. The Bay and karsts are exquisitely beautiful, and the whole area, especially the inner lagoon hold a mystical atmosphere which is quite awesome.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

What a beautiful part of the world!!! HALONG Bay did not disappoint and more than what I expected to see. There were only five of us in the tour and the whole boat to ourselves together with our very informative tour guide. The included lunch was Vietnamese cuisine and though not buffet as specified, was more than enough to satisfy your appetite. The trip to the cave was amazing!!! The cruise along Halong Bay was really something!!! A tour not to be missed!!!

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Had an amazing time at Halong Bay. It is totally breath taking. The junk boat was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The food was amazing and so much of it. Definately do this again but would do for 3 days instead of just overnight.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a fantastic time on the junk boat cruise and highly recommend it to others. The sleeping cabins were delightful, clean and surprisingly spacious. The crew were friendly, helpful and seemed to really enjoy their jobs. The scenery in Halong Bay was beautiful, including the cave tour and the kayaking tour. This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Vietnam.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

Bud46
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was a long day but worth it. Its amazing to see so many natural limestone rocks. We had already seen some in Krabi but not on this scale. Our guide for the day was able to share his knowledge about Halong bay and general life for a local Vietanmese person. it was grey and cloudy as we started the cruise which was disappointing however we were fortunate enough to have blue skies on the return leg of the cruise. I was also provided with a vegetarian lunch on my request and i have to say the food was lovely. There were only 5 of us on this big junk so we didnt need to fight over any space when taking our pics.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message