Much more than just a popular Honolulu visitor attraction, ‘Iolani Palace is the only royal palace to exist within the United States of America. Constructed in 1882, this ornate palace served as the political centerpiece for the Kingdom of Hawaii, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was wonderful, she was very knowledgeable, outgoing, personable, and showed us different parts of the city Including the palace of Iolani, we even stopped to get hot dogs! Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

AMAZING!!!!
We did this tour 5hrs after we landed in Honolulu after a 10hr flight, so I was grumpy and tired and thought "why did I book this so soon after landing, its going to be a waste because I'm not in the mood" - I couldn't have been more wrong.
This was by far THE BEST TOUR we did the entire time we were in Hawaii on holidays. Our tour guide Amani was fabulous, a really great tour guide and segway instructor. The segways were good quality and easy to get the hang of. We got fabulous photos from this tour because we were amongst everything, and on the beach, and in the palace grounds - places you can't get to in buses. We travelled so far in such a short amount of time, the tour was such good value.
I would do it again in a heartbeat. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Honolulu History and Culture Segway Tour

Chloejay
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

I am not from America so didn't know a lot about American history and America's involvement in the second world war, but thought it was important to pay a visit to Pearl Harbor seeing as we were visiting Oahu. The tour was fantastic, and well worth the money. We went to Pearl Harbor in the morning and had time to explore before the visit to the Theatre which outlined the events before during and after Pearl Harbor. The short film was very moving and very tastefully done. We then got a shuttle boat over to the USS Arizona Memorial and had about half an hour to take photographs, read the information and pay our respects. It was a very beautiful and peaceful place. There was a lot more to see at Pearl Harbor than I had expected, you could easily fill two whole days there exploring the museums and memorials, battleship and submarine. After our Pearl Harbor tour we had an included tour of Honolulu. We saw parts of the Ko'olau Mountains, Iolani Palace - where the new series of Hawaii 5-0 headquarters is filmed, King Kamehameha Statue outside Ali'iolani Hale, Mission Houses Museum, The Eternal Flame Memorial built in memory of the victims of 9/11, The Honolulu State Capital Building and Punchbowl Cemetary. Overall you get to see an awful lot for the price you pay. Very impressed, the tour guide was amazing - knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This tour was very moving and educational, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very nice. Inaddition to Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl we saw the Royal Palace and the Mayor's home and their financial area. Very Nice!

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was perfect for us - a quick tour of the city highlights like Punchbowl, China Town and 'Iolani Palace then a drop off at the Arizona Memorial and some tips on how to make the most of our time there. The guide, Benny, was a wonderful local character and made it a great tour.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Naomi N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Don't know if I believe in the spirits & seeing orbs but the history & stories are worth the walk. Our guide was most informative & at no time did we feel unsafe. Nice to see the palace all lit up at night rather than in the daylight.

Doing what: Honolulu City Ghost Haunts Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Dwight was a great driver, since we only drove thru punch bowl I would have skipped so we could have more than 5 min at palace and didn't even have enough time to do the two small museums at Pearl Harbor.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour covered exactly what it was supposed to do, and included an extra stop at the palace and King Kamehameha statue. The driver/tour guide was both a positive and a negative. He related a lot of important historic information and pointed out interesting landmarks during the drive. However, he also continued lengthy historic lectures after stopping the bus, both at the palace and at the memorial parking lot. He was passionate about relating an accurate historic perspective, which is admirable, but for many people, it was too "heavy." Many folks left the bus before he finished his talk at the memorial.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We encountered no paranormal activity during this tour and we don't believe it goes anyplace (other than the exterior of the Iolani Palace) where activity has been reported, so if you are a seasoned investigator that travels around doing the tours, you should expect that. However the tour itself and the guide Uncle Joe were quite entertaining and worth the small amount of money for the tour. Basically, it was fun to watch. You also get to see where the original Hawaii Five-O was filmed and right across from the palace is where the current Five-O is being filmed and once you know where they are you can go back on your own in daylight. A caution: 1.) no restrooms within walking distance and it is long tour, if you feel the call of nature you have to tell them and the van driver will take you a distance away to a public 24 hr facility, but you will miss part of the tour in doing so. 2.) no trashcans for legally disposing of dead batteries, etc. that we could find. 3.) Hotel pickup advertised, but it may not be your hotel. We had to walk to another hotel and were not sure that we were at the right place as the van driver was a half hour late do to a function in Waikiki and the area traffic. We called the number only to get a recording as they were closed. However, I left my cell phone number and an operator called back almost immediately, so apparently the number transfers to a private residence and is monitored. She gave my cell phone number to the van driver and then all was explained and OK. It can take a good half hour or more to pick everyone up and get to the Iolani palace where the tour starts, so count that in to your bathroom time.

Doing what: Honolulu City Ghost Haunts Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message