Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Byodo-In Temple

While most sights on the island of Oahu are located in an urban setting, the Byodo-In temple is a Buddhist sanctuary backed by the Ko’olau Mountains. Located in Oahu’s “Valley of Temples”, the Byodo-In temple is only ten minutes from the town of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was worth every penny. We saw everything we wanted to, at a great rate. There was no issue getting in. I just mentioned i had it and we were in. I highly recommend this card.

Doing what: Go Oahu Card

Helga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide told us that 500,000 people visit this landmark every year. With good reason: the site is movingly and tastefully done. We followed this with a circle Oahu tour, which was great, even though it rained torrentially for the rest of the day. Don't miss our guide, Cousin Kev: he was funny, flexible, and prepared for the weather, in all quite possibly the best tour guide I have ever traveled with. Even the touristy stops were fun, the waves on the North Shore were frighteningly huge, and you could get a feel for what the island was like in the days of the sugar and pineapple plantations. Be warned, it is a very looong day!

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Dennis Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent and the tour guideTony was very patient and
informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center, Dole Plantation and North Shore Day Trip

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an awesome tour. Our tour guide, Chris, was the best. We really felt like we had seen everything when we were done. The Polynesian Cultural Center was amazing. You could definitely spend a whole day there and of course, a visit to Oahu wouldn't be complete without seeing Pearl Harbor especially if you travel with history buffs. It was money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

John Patrick T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We highly recommend this tour especially if it is your first time to Oahu. If you can, ask for Ed - he was our bus driver/tour guide who was very knowledgeable, humorous, and added heaps of additional trivia which made the tour all the more interesting. Best of all, he was very professional, not once mentioning anything about tipping. Suffice to say that we left him with a nice tip and some New Zealand made Whittaker chocolates to try.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Jin Kyung Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour of the whole island. Learned a lot about Oahu and the people. Saw a lot of beautiful landscapes and beaches.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Jean Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour was excellent. Pearl Harbor was excellent and moving. Being able to see the remains of the USS Arizona and still see oil coming up. The documentary before the memorial was extremely moving.
We recommend this tour to anyone visiting Oahu.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

susanjxu USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful tour. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Eco-Tour Including Waimea Valley Hike

barbaraw50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Good value for money. Our driver was very experienced and we heard many stories about the different places we stopped at. He even gave the group tips on how to get back to some of the areas surf beaches in particular by public transport, if people had time. Tourists who have arrived on Oahu for the first time should go on the circle island day tour as it provides a good understanding of what the island has to offer beyond Waikiki.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Forrest R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Saw everything we wanted to see in our one day stop in Oahu.
Tour was perfect.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

terry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Was worried this trip would be too long of a day. But everything was fabulous. Stopped for a wonderful shrimp meal and beautiful sites. Great tour to start your vacation as you can see places you might want to visit again on your own time. We loved North Shore so we rented a car and visited it again.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

pammiprice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Enjoyable tour, the driver was very knowledgeable. Not so keen on the food stop as I don't eat seafood and didn't rate the chicken highly.

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

SO Traveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well worth the price - what a whirlwind day in O'ahu! Highly recommended.

My only advice: be sure to check with the company to confirm your pick-up time for the trip. It's not listed on the confirmation email that you receive when you book the trip. So...it's a bit confusing.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Maurita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and wonderful guide! Would do it again and hope we get the same lady.

Doing what: Small-Group Polynesian Cultural Center, Dole Plantation and North Shore Day Trip

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great to have only 12 on our tour. Bus is uncomfy in the backseat...avoid...needs new shocks! Also the only other complaints...not enough time at the Dole Plantation. Would love to have had time to ride the Pineapple Express train on the property. Our guide was FANTASTIC...I tipped him 20...he was that good! Polynesian Cultural Center has improved over the 38 years that I've been visiting Oahu. Do see it...lunch buffet was GREAT...so many times they are not. IMAX movie at PCC was terrific with atmospheric effects with seats that move...wind in your face, etc. There was a snafu on the reservations. The local tour operator hadn't receive my reservation info...even though I had my confirmation number. Took nearly one hour by phone to get it straightened out...but VIATOR was fantastic and most proficient in getting it resolved. I would still highly recommend this tour. It is long but very, very fast. Pearl Harbor was fantastic and very moving.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Craig I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were very fortunate to have a very experienced senior tour operator Ernie. Hew was very knowledgeable and made the trip alot of fun and found ways to make the day memorable. Great day and I have fond memories of all the sites we visited.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

Virgil J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very good route, saw a lot. Driver Ben was excellent. Very friendly and knew a lot about the area,

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Phil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had an awesome day. Our guide was the best. Very informative and fun. Pineapple sorbet was the bomb at the Dole Plantation.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Claire S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great 'over view' of the island. I'm sorry that I don't remember our driver's name, because he was extremely knowledgable and courteous. There were just enough stops for us and long enough to see everything. I would sign up again with Viator.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A must do. The whole day tour was great. Dole was very cool. The macadamian plantation was nice, since I love macadamians

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guide Karen was funny, informative and an awesome driver. Saw beautiful beaches, crashing surf, lovely japanese temples, and ate pineapple ice cream at the Dole factory. All in all, definitely worth it.

Doing what: North Shore and Circle Island Adventure

yuehuang58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Small group with high efficiency and flexibility! Got a big picture of Hololulu in just one day! Way to go!

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

Jane E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We did this tour the first full day we were in Oahu. It was a great overall view of the island! Lisa our busdriver/tour guide was so nice! She was informative and funny too! You could tell she was proud of her island. We were able to familiarize ourselves with Oahu and we recommend this tour if you are short on time. Waimea Falls was my favorite spot. Make sure your camera is good to go!

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Dianne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was great we had a driver Christine who was full of advice and was fun to be with. She made the trip a good time. She knew all the areas to point out and we didn't miss anything. we had lots of time to look around and take pictures which was great. Our lunch at the culture center was fantastic I ate until I was about to pop. the shows and all were fun and the i max movie was super. I would tell all my friends and everyone to take the tour. PS I liked being in the small group we all got to know each other and that was fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Oahu Highlights Tour from Waikiki

kingrat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Shannon was great ,he made the tour great

Doing what: Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message