Like a large thumb jutting into the sea, the Kohala district occupies the northwestern tip of the sprawling Big Island of Hawaii. Formed by a 5,400 ft. volcano which last erupted over 120,000 years ago, the Kohala district today is dominated by lush ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great zipline experience. The staff and guides were fantastic. They were fun but most importantly very attentive to safety and helped each individual in the group as required. Pretty setting and a very local feel to the town.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The helicopter tour was absolutely fantastic. The staff was excellent and professional - very helpful from start to finish. Our pilot gave us great information, made us feel safe and gave us a smooth, beautiful ride. This was certainly the most exciting and memorable experience of our trip to Hawaii.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a,great trip.

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our family first zipline. The crew team was outstanding. The zipline was amazing. Highly recommend to everyone. It was a blast.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I already responded to this right after our trip. It was a fabulous snorkel trip. The captain and crew could not have been better

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome...everything we expected and more...we will do it again.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed our thrilling, yet very safe, Zipline adventure with our experienced, professional and humorous guides Liesel and BooBoo. Although the rope bridges were a little unsettling for some, they were overshadowed by the beautiful scenery and complete exhilarating Zipline experience. Top marks and 5 stars to the Kohala Zipline crew. Thank you for a great morning and we'll definitely be back for another round of fun next time we're on the Big Island. Loved It!!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great ride! we really enjoyed it all. Landing was fun for a quick sto over

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip, amazing views, with expert narration!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter and myself had a great time. Josh was very nice and very knowledgable of the Island. He took us to some very interesting and lovely places. The van was very comfortable and he was a good driver.
I would recommend this tour to others. I loved that it was just the two of us on the tour so we could do and see what we wanted to, and stay as long or short as we wanted to. It was great.
Thanks Josh!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent event. Great to sample variety of foods from the islands. Interesting and informative show.

Doing what: Gathering of the Kings Luau on the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you are looking for a fun, relaxing day of sailing and snorkeling, this is for you! The crew are fun, knowledgeable, and snorkel with you to ensure you see all the right spots. The fact that the crew are with you is also great for novice snorkelers. The catamaran was spacious and clean, and the open bar well-stocked.

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a must for first timers to the island. Incredible experience

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

GREAT WAY TO SEE THE ISLAND. WONDERFUL PILOT AND LANDING IN THE VALLEY WAS BEAUTIFUL.. NOT TO BE MISSED

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a wonderful experience with paradise helicopters! Marco was a great guide, the scenery was amazing. This is an incredible overall view of the big island that you will not experience from the ground. It was a great way to start off our 10 day Hawaiian adventure! Definitely worth the money. By the way, I was in the middle seat and still had an awesome view!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very good tour, incredible views. Highly recommend. The birds eye view of the current lava flow and the cone of the volcano was awesome.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sunset Champagne Helicopter Tour from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Service on the catamaran was awesome. It was the first time for me and I felt very safe. We saw eels, turtles, the state fish, and so much more.

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Pilot Dan was awesome! There are views of the Island you can only see from plane or helicopter. It was beautiful! I highly recommend this tour, especially if you want to see the volcano action.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Son who is 9 yrs old and has ADHD and ASD did not want to take that first step off to zip. Our two guides, Tim and Dave, were caring, calm, and excellent when dealing with him!
We were not rushed and truly enjoyed the beautifully exciting zip course!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great Comfortable Catamaran. Crew friendly and helpful. Great dive spot, not some where you could get to by shoreline dive. We were fed and treated great before and after. Bar opens after your dive, great beer on tap! along with island drinks.

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The zip line was excellent. The tour guides Aaron and Ezra were very knowlegeable and made the ride fun.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is the coolest thing on the island - by far!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our pilot Danny provided instructions early in the morning for our trip. We had 6 people on the trip (3 in my party) tha had never flown in a helicopter. Danny has military background in piloting that showed when he flew us around the island. Danny flew us with precision and precise positioning to see the island of Hawaii including mountains (volcanos), gulleys, cliffs, beaches, lava flows, and landmarks. He keep the trip focused on areas that you cannot see by car so it was a more unique and valuable sightseeing experience. We spent about 90 minutes flying from Kona airport over the South Kona Forest Reserve to the Kilauea volcano. We flew over the Volcanoes National Park and hovered above flowing lava within the volcano. Danny flew us in several directions above the lava so both sides of the helicopter could view/take pictures of the lava. He changed directions many times on this trip to allow both sides to get gret views. We then flew up the coast from Hilo (rainforest) and over massive cliffs. He hovered over the ocean so we could view the cliffs and awsome views of the island. We flew up some gulleys on the north part of the island where we landed on top of a mountain. We walked to a house built in 1950s secluded in the forest (privately owned) that you cannot reach unless by helicopter. Nice hike and rest stop of about an hour. Then back to the tour of the western coast of Hawaii for about 30 minutes flying over Parker Ranch, Kohalo Coast, and beaches while viewing Mauna Kea. The entire trip you view the old lava flows throughout the island with brown, black and multicolored lava dried up for years flowing to the sea. I HIGHLY recommend this specific tour and tour company. Best views of the island that you can experience and worth every penny. I also recommend paying extra for a window seat for better photo ops and face forward seating if you get motion illness.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message