Like a large thumb jutting into the sea, the Kohala district occupies the northwestern tip of the sprawling Big Island of Hawaii. Formed by a 5,400 ft. volcano which last erupted over 120,000 years ago, the Kohala district today is dominated by lush ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Friendly staff, smooth ride, and gorgeous views. What more could we ask?

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour! Whales, snorkeling and sailing -- what could be better?

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

Ronald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Josh was an excellent host. He was very knowledgeable had all the best things to tell you about this island. Was very in tune to your wants and places to see and gave plenty of time, to be sure you got to enjoy the island.
We highly recommend using this tour, it was superior

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Michael F M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour. Very informative and interesting. Very knowledgeable tour guide Mateo.

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

Brenda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Josh at Mauka Makai Adventures is AWESOME!! In less than 20 minutes I knew the 12 hour adventure was going to be the best. Within 2 hours I felt like I had grown up on the island. We stopped for a real Hawaiian lunch that was big enough one plate served 2 and we like to eat! Josh loves his island and loves his job and I can't simply tell you enough how much we got for our money! This tour made the whole trip worth it and it was just one day out of 9!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Sue O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The snorkel tour was really good. The crew was very knowledgable about the island and the fish. We saw lots of beautiful fish and coral. We even saw whales very close to the boat! Unfortunately, we did not see any turtles. FYI - if you book a tour with this local tour operator, you get discounts on other tours, shops and restaurants in the area. Check out their web site. I wish we knew this in advance.

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

Ruchit N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time!!! I would highly recommend this tour. FIVE STAR.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Michael J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

SPECTACULAR!! AMAZING!! SUPERB!! Add about 30 more adjectives and you will get an idea of how fun this was. Our pilot, CHRIS, was a Marine helicopter pilot for a couple of decades, and took us up close and personal into the narrowest of canyons, with 4 waterfalls each a few hundred feet high flowing heavily, and we were right next to them. He landed us in the remote valley where King Kamehameha was hidden when he was a child from the rulers who were trying to kill him before he could claim the throne. We spent an hour having a picnic and hiking around. We made alot of memories on this flight, and cannot thank Chris and Paradise Helicopters enough. I would absolutely recommend everyone do this. There is a point where you are looking at the cost and going Thats a helluva lotta money for three hours but trust me, just do it. The money will come and go but the memories from this ride will last forever.

A note of caution, this is a weather dependent thing - the island has almost daily rain on one side, and I would really recommend getting a clear understanding how it will work if you need to reschedule. We drew very lucky, huge rains the day before and after our ride, but spectacular clear skies were what we got. Sometimes you just get lucky, as I said. Also, my wife experienced nausea because she got the seat facing backwards in the copter. If anyone in your party is prone to sea/air sickness or motion sickness, let them know so they can do their best to minimize anything in that regard.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Stephanie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very fun and a great staff!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great zip line. Guides were fun and safe. Thanks guys.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great crew and wonderful experience. Boat was clean and well stocked. Got to see sea turtles and my daughter saw a reef shark! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

RONALD P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was everything we expected and more. Josh was on time, courteous, considerate of our needs and wishes. He not only gave us much information but shared a lot about local life on the Big Island. He was born and raised here so he knew every good place to go and seemed like everyone as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Seth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had such an amazing time! The guides were a lot of fun, helpful and super nice. It was only my second time snorkeling and they made me feel very safe. I will highly recommend this to all of my friends. Thanks again!

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

Allison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was alot of fun!!! Our ziplining guides - John and Ashley - were really wonderful, helpful and entertaining. I felt totally safe with the two of them at either end of the zip line. The views of the forest floor were quite beautiful and not too blurry, considering that we could reach speeds of up to 60km/hr. The scariest part, for me, was the 5 suspension bridges and being able to see the ground below my feet as I stepped from board to board - even though I was securely clipped onto the line - I took my time - my teenage daughter traversed the bridges like a little monkey. John was the photographer for our group - but you can bring your GoPro along as long as you can strap it to yourself securely and don't mind letting go of the handle bar of your steering gear to take a video of your zipping.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Victor Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful spot to snorkel! The crew and the boat were great. Would go again!

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great! Especially for someone who hasn't ziplined before. Great guides!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Phillip H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great zipline experience. The staff and guides were fantastic. They were fun but most importantly very attentive to safety and helped each individual in the group as required. Pretty setting and a very local feel to the town.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

LeRoy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The helicopter tour was absolutely fantastic. The staff was excellent and professional - very helpful from start to finish. Our pilot gave us great information, made us feel safe and gave us a smooth, beautiful ride. This was certainly the most exciting and memorable experience of our trip to Hawaii.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a,great trip.

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

anhtranassociates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our family first zipline. The crew team was outstanding. The zipline was amazing. Highly recommend to everyone. It was a blast.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I already responded to this right after our trip. It was a fabulous snorkel trip. The captain and crew could not have been better

Doing what: Big Island Snorkel Cruise Along Kohala Coast

Joyce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome...everything we expected and more...we will do it again.

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Greg H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed our thrilling, yet very safe, Zipline adventure with our experienced, professional and humorous guides Liesel and BooBoo. Although the rope bridges were a little unsettling for some, they were overshadowed by the beautiful scenery and complete exhilarating Zipline experience. Top marks and 5 stars to the Kohala Zipline crew. Thank you for a great morning and we'll definitely be back for another round of fun next time we're on the Big Island. Loved It!!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Leslie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great ride! we really enjoyed it all. Landing was fun for a quick sto over

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip, amazing views, with expert narration!

Doing what: Volcano Helicopter Tour and Private Paradise Landing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message