Makena has the notorious distinction of being the first place where a Western explorer set foot on the island of Maui. When Jean Francois de La Perouse first “discovered” the island of Maui in 1786, he found a thriving population of Native Hawaiians ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The actual surfing and kayak/snorkeling experiences were outstanding. I did not realize that we had to drive from the surfing to the kayak/snorkeling takeoff points on our own. I was alone and was handed a paper with directions after surfing on how to get to the kayak takeoff. There was a vague map and tiny print directions, which I could not read while driving, so got very lost. I wish we could have gone as a group to the second site. I eventually found it and they were waiting for me, so it turned out OK.

Doing what: Paddle, Snorkel and Learn to Surf - All in a Day on Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this "tour." The visibility wasn't great, but our guide made the most of the conditions, and we saw many fascinating fish, several turtles - and a manta ray! The guide was informative and clearly had a strong interest in the environment. He informed us without being tedious, and his knowledge certainly enhanced our experience. We were pleased we did it this way rather than with a larger group off a boat.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing! Heaps of turtles and a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour and Maui Surf Instruction 101

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved this tour! The snorkeling was amazing, saw more with this tour than other places we went to on our own. Surfing was great too, way easier than I expected.

Doing what: Paddle, Snorkel and Learn to Surf - All in a Day on Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really great Tour. Had Steve as our guide he was funny and knowledgable of the area and the marine life, great guy. Would definitely recommend doing. The snorkelling was great and we were able to see heaps of turtles up close

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, saw and swam with 6 green turtles. Fantastic guide.
5/5

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fun filled day of adventure. Guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. Great tie was had by all!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Wife and I went on this kayak tour and it was great! We had a small group and our guide was very knowledgeable about the islands and its history. My wife went snorkeling while I stayed behind in the kayak and she enjoyed it very much. It was her first time snorkeling despite her fears of the ocean

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, highly recommend for all level kayakers and snorkelers.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved our guide, Garrett. He was very patient, well-informed and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it! Garrett was so great. We liked that it was so exclusive. Kayaking was troublesome for us but the snorkeling was amazing. We will be back.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The kyak and snorkel - waterfall hike and paddle tour was awesome. We saw lots of fish and turtles. Our guide was very attentive and assisted when needed. He was great at pointing out the fish and spotting turtles for us. Our hiking guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It was a great tour and it is highly recommended.

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Jeremiah, our guide, was very helpful with a not so coordinated me. We saw a great variety of fish and amazing sea turtles. Well worth it.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Awesome! We loved Garrett. He was patient, accommodating our family's individual quirks and concerns, and incredibly knowledgeable and well-versed in Hawaiian culture, kayaking, and the marine life of the area . . . and he's only lived in Hawaii for a year!

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is well worth the money. We saw many turtles while snorkeling not far from shore. We were given plenty of time in the water. From there we were driven to a place to go hiking in the rainforest. What an amazing hike. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us plenty of time to enjoy our surroundings. Lunch was excellent, especially since we ate sitting by a beautiful waterfall.

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message