• USD ($)
  • English
Makena has the notorious distinction of being the first place where a Western explorer set foot on the island of Maui. When Jean Francois de La Perouse first “discovered” the island of Maui in 1786, he found a thriving population of Native Hawaiians ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, saw and swam with 6 green turtles. Fantastic guide.
5/5

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fun filled day of adventure. Guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. Great tie was had by all!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Wife and I went on this kayak tour and it was great! We had a small group and our guide was very knowledgeable about the islands and its history. My wife went snorkeling while I stayed behind in the kayak and she enjoyed it very much. It was her first time snorkeling despite her fears of the ocean

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The entire day was great. We saw many whales, had great snorkeling and very nice lunch. The captain and staff were very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Kahului Shore Excursion: Snorkeling Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Definitely worth the money. My friend and I had a great time surfing, our Instructor Matt was very professional and also lots of fun to learn from. We had a wicked morning of surfing. The lunch that was included was filling and easy to eat on the drive to kayaking. Our instructor, Tyler for kayaking and snorkeling was very knowledgeable and we could tell he had a genuine passion for the island and the activities. We swam with plenty of sea turtles and had a baby humpback whale come out to play 20 feet away from our kayak. It was amazing and a day we won't quickly forget. Only thing I wish there was more of was different kinds of fish while snorkelling. The volcanic rock and the sea turtles were neat, but more fish would have been nice to see...(out of the instructors control).

Doing what: Paddle, Snorkel and Learn to Surf - All in a Day on Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, highly recommend for all level kayakers and snorkelers.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved our guide, Garrett. He was very patient, well-informed and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it! Garrett was so great. We liked that it was so exclusive. Kayaking was troublesome for us but the snorkeling was amazing. We will be back.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The kyak and snorkel - waterfall hike and paddle tour was awesome. We saw lots of fish and turtles. Our guide was very attentive and assisted when needed. He was great at pointing out the fish and spotting turtles for us. Our hiking guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It was a great tour and it is highly recommended.

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Jeremiah, our guide, was very helpful with a not so coordinated me. We saw a great variety of fish and amazing sea turtles. Well worth it.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Awesome! We loved Garrett. He was patient, accommodating our family's individual quirks and concerns, and incredibly knowledgeable and well-versed in Hawaiian culture, kayaking, and the marine life of the area . . . and he's only lived in Hawaii for a year!

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is well worth the money. We saw many turtles while snorkeling not far from shore. We were given plenty of time in the water. From there we were driven to a place to go hiking in the rainforest. What an amazing hike. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us plenty of time to enjoy our surroundings. Lunch was excellent, especially since we ate sitting by a beautiful waterfall.

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This excursion was awesome! Dan, our guide, was really patient with me since I was pretty nervous--it was my first time kayaking. He even dove down into the reef to take some close up shots of the many sea turtles that were out while we snorkeled. His wife even joined the tour and she was super helpful in instructing me on how to paddle. I would definitely tour with this group again!

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic way to snorkel! Saw sea turtles, a dolphin, and all sorts of marine life. Our guide, Dan, was informative, personable, and ensured my family's safety foremost. Great time, great memories!

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, great guide

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message