It’s fair to say that when most visitors think about Hawaii, cattle ranching isn’t the first thought that comes to mind.  Believe it or not, however, ranches in Hawaii were operating long before those of the American West, and the Parker ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 298 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, great sunset and the stars just unbelievable
Great tour guide

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

GRAMMIE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

EVERYONE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOUR..FOR WHAT IT WAS...THE GUIDE DID A SUPER JOB EXPLAINING EVERYTHING....
.I WAS VERY, VERY, DISAPPOINTED THAT THEY NEVER GOT TO ENTER THE BUILDINGS TO SEE THROUGH THE TELESCOPES...THAT IS THE IMPRESSION I WAS GIVEN WHEN I SPENT 1,300.00 ON A GREAT TOUR THAT INCLUDED THE OBSERVATORY BUILDING BEING ENTERED and THEN GETTING TO LOOK THROUGH THEIR HUGH TELESCOPES....JANET HILL

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was amazing . Our guide Chris was fantastic. Would do this again .

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Jean Luc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very impressive! fantastic guide, highly redommended!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the views on this tour while the tour guide did the driving!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Chantale C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our first time in Big Island so we booked the Grand Circle Island Tour to see most of it. We enjoyed every stops.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Jesse E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

glees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great time

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

brittonrex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a perfect way to see the highlights of the whole island. We enjoyed our tour leader and meeting other tourists. We would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our driver was very knowledgeable and made our experience one to remember. He had a lot of interesting facts and kept our tour bus engaged the whole trip. The stops were also very informational and showed the best sites on the island!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Incredible! Informative guides. A must do. There was plenty of time at the summit. So many stars in the sky. Everyone had time looking through the telescope

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Cora G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

not to be missed. Spectacular! Well informed guide. Delicious dinner!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Rick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was well run and enjoyable.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We did a bunch of tours while on the big island helicopter trip, snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, national part, but this Mauna Kea trip was the best of all of them. Our guide Maka was AMAZING!!! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone going to the island.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

long day. plenty of free time. the waterfalls are gorgeous. definitely do not need a swim suit there is no opportunity to go in the water.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was excellent

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Rosalie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Mauna Kea summit view is breathtaking. Even the drive up is amazing. What is even better is the star gazing after. The skies are so clear, you feel like your in on of those dome light amphitheaters. SO MANY STARS! You can see the Milky Way, Andromeda, the ISS all with the naked eye! Dinner was delicious and desserts w/hot cocoa really topped off the night.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Jing L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It is an amazing and unforgettable tour! It was super cold up on the summit but the view totally worth it. The jacket they provided is basically for wind and rain, so better to prepare clothing layers, gloves and hat to keep you warm. Due to winter time, our dinner was a little early at 3:30pm. Bring some snacks if possible, as the tour ends around 9:30pm. The tour guide Nick is very knowledgeable and wiling to share. He controls the time really well and knows how to avoid the crowd. We all enjoy the time seeing the nature from the ice age and how incredible about the super sunset, the cloud, and of course, the hundreds of thousands of stars!!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Steven C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excursion was above what was expected. Our guide, Joe, was outstanding! Very knowledgable
and a great personality.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

norsonbotrel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing place to go. Beautifull sunset over the summit with some Astronomy.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Incredibly good! Gene was so knowledgeable that I felt like I was dealing with a guy with multiple Ph.D.s - geology, history, archaeology, astronomy, etc. Definitely give that man a raise! The trip itself was wonderful. I saw Saturn for the first time. I also enjoyed seeing all the observatories and hearing about the issues involved in the protest against the new telescope. Thank you!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Dennis C V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful driver, Kimo Sabe, who keep us informed with the behind the scenes story along the way. Good way to start a stay at the big Island.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Maurice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome! Is my one word description. Best birthday shared with my lovely wife!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message