Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 685 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent experience. Everyone involved in the planning and execution of this trip were both professional, knowledgeable, and personable. Wonderful tour filled with learning and a great time. Would highly recommend this tour. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Experience Volcanoes National Park: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an excellent tour, and covers almost all the Big Island. It was well organized and spent just enough time in each spot. I especially loved the small group no more than 12 guests atmosphere as you didn't waste time getting on and off the tour van and everyone was mindful of being on time at each stop. Our driver/tour guide, Aileen was very friendly and accommodating and was quite knowledgeable about the Big Island. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Dan was excellent as a tour director. He was extremely knowledgable and entertaining. I'd recommend him to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was fantastic. We covered quite a bit in one day and learned so much about Hawaii. I would strongly recommend it for people who are visiting the island for the first time

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great day. Dan was very knowledgeable and fun. Would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great they knew a ton about the volcanoes!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day but fantastic! Our guide Walter was so knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was beyond our expectations, thank you very much. The guide was excellent, thanks Chris!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was more than amazing I am so happy that I use Viator.com to help me put it together I highly recommended

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Driver/guide was terrific. He shared much information about the island - history, current issues, living experience. Seemed rushed at times but he was trying and succeeded in taking us to two additional sites. Great overview of the island. He also made suggestions for follow up visits. Just what we were looking for in a tour. Liked the small group!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide is very informative . Food is very good . Just wish that we have more time swimming on the black beach.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't rate this tour highly enough. Amazing to see something we may never see again.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our first time to Big Island and this tour gave us a really great experience of the Island and it's diverse scenery and climate. So many beautiful sights to see! Our guide was informative and enthusiastic and we enjoyed a memorable day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour- will do it again.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our adventure day. Our guide was very pleasant, humorous, and knowledgeable. Wish we had more time at the Jagger museum. Other than that the day was perfect. Good selection for the lunch meal. The food was delicious. We are 70 years old but did not find the day to be too strenuous even though we went to many sites. Would definitely go on another tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip, enough exhiliration to keep it interesting! Robbie was great, the day was perfect and the sights were amazing! Thank you!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guides Robbie and Pretty are so informative! Great to hear about the volcano history, local cultural folklore, and ride bikes! 15 mile biking went by fast. Will do again!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thanks so much to our driver kala (I think), we learned so much about hawaii culture and saw lava,sea turtles and waterfalls. The 10hour journey did not drag because we had well timed stops and a very informative guide kept us entertained in between. Would highly recommend tour and guide.johnny may9

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour, Our guide, Hilary, was amazing, We learned so much and did so in comfort.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing trip. I would reccomend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Jane was an amazing driver and tour guide. Long day but worth every minute. Perfectly organized. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was the best part of my week on the Big Island. We were so fortunate to experience the Joel team! Our pilot Joel was so awesome, as was our ground tour guide Joel!!! The pictures we were able to take will make our memories of this special day last forever! Thank you both for such a wonderful day!

Doing what: Experience Volcanoes National Park: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour from Kona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. The tour guide (Captain Rob) has a passion for the island, and it showed. The raw power and devastation of the volcano was contrasted by the beauty of the flora it brings.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message