• USD ($)
  • English

Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 556 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was well worth the time, 12 hours. Our guide Hilary, was wonderful giving so much information about the island.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

great.. five stars... our guide was wonderful and full of information.. he was funny too.. thanks for wonderful experience

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing tour!! We started in Kona and went to try coffee and tea for free at an organic farm...Hawaiian coffee is delicious!. Our guide, Grant, was very knowledgable and funny. Dinner was very good...recommend to eat the fish, you will love it too. The volcano experience is a WOW!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

John was the most informative tour guide ever! He provided dates, great stories and knew history, plants
Etc. of the island. Very interesting and informative. The tour with John was definitely the highlight of our trip.
The your went to every destination we'd wanted to visit...highly recommend

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Captain rob was on point, it's like he owned the company. He is always researching ways to make his tour better. Captain rob is what all of driver should be if their not. Great job captain rob

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour guide, Rick is very informative and knowledgeable of the Big Island. Great way to sample the island if you do not have much time or not planning to drive around.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. The tour guide was fantastic. Great knowledge of the area, what we were seeing and answered all questions thrown his way. Brilliant. I would recommend this.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Definitely a must-do for active people, as the ride is around fifteen miles (with breaks, water and snacks provided). I learned a lot more about the park than I ever had before. Our guide Megan was very well-versed in the area, its history and topography.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide gave lots of information and was funny also, this was great to do in the beginning so we could see where to go later in our trip.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

wonderful trip very informative

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

deluded
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This one was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide (Sharon) was very knowledgeable and kept the day interesting.

We had a clear sunny day and was able to take in the beautiful surroundings.

Doing a day trip means that it was a very long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour......especially the 2 tour guides,Megan and Pretty,....they were knowledgeable,pleasant and engaged whichade all of us enthralled

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Outstanding experience. The logistics all worked as advertised, and the tour itself was amazing. Our guide Robert (aka Capt. Rob) was simply the best. He was a botanist, a vulcanologist and and expert on all things about the island of Hawai'i. His narrative was so informative, and his demeanor was so pleasant and accessible, that it was truly a pleasure to be on an organized guided tour with him - something we usually avoid as a rule. The guides for this trip rotate, so I can assure you that it is worth finding out when Capt. Rob is going to do the trip (if possible) and book the day he is the lead.

Wonderful, memorable trip!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was perfect in every sense of the word. Our guide, (Auntie) Sharon Simoes was very, very knowledgable and informative of the area. And humorous as well. It was a great day. Whatever Ms. Simones is paid (excluding tips) it can't possibly be enough. She deserves a raise!!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message