Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 837 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jerry Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Extremely interesting and educating trip very knowledgable and engaging guide.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Fiona W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A well paced tour covering pretty waterfalls, very interesting landscape and fascinating volcanoes. Our tour guide Joe Joel? was exceptional with his local knowledge. A great day out!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful trip which gave us an excellent overview of the island. Our guide, Dan. was informative and enthusiastic. If you have limited time on Hawaii, this would give you a very complete tour in 1 day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Carmel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very long day but well worth it. Our driver /guide was Jane, she was very informative,entertaining and a pleasure to spend the day with.We feel we have covered most of the Big Island in one day,especially loved staying to twilight to watch the crater change colour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Larry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Walter was amazing. He has unbelievable knowledge about the Volcano National Park and had the ability to share his information in a very easy to understand and interesting way. The entire day was very enjoyable and I highly recommend this day long trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

David A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a very comprehensive tour of the significant sites on the island. Joe, our driver and guide, is very knowledgeable and helpful. We would certainly recommend this tour to anyone who hasn't seen the Big Island before.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

lakbcs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great way to see the highlights of the Big Island in one day! Our guide, Johnathan, was very knowledgeable and fun. He gave us plenty of time for photos and questions at each stop and pointed out a lot of unique plants and flowers. He also gave us tips on other sites to see during our visit The zen box lunches were great too! And the visit to the southern most bakery in the US was an added bonus!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jean Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic. Transportation impeccable from our hotel to the big island and back to our hotel.
Great tour including full of happy surprises. The tour guide/driver Sharon was great and very informative.
We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

brittonrex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a perfect way to see the highlights of the whole island. We enjoyed our tour leader and meeting other tourists. We would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My friend and I enjoyed the day very much. Our tour guide, John,was personable and informative. There was enough Time to explore the areas that we stopped at. We enjoyed our lunches and my girlfriend was appreciative that hers was vegetarian. If I have occasion to tour again in Hawaii or in other places where your tours are offered, I will be sure to take advantage of it

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

speedjacque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent! We were picked up on time. Tour was as described. Tour guide was fantastic. Driver was also top notch. Lunch was delicious. Weather was perfect. Views and history were beautiful and so interesting. Worth doing.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Waltraud M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Simply great - very impressive - super organized - worth the money

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

FELICITY E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a brilliant day, lasting about 9 hours. Josh was very knowledgable and friendly. He picked us up from Kona and took us for local pizza at our request and showed us round all the sites we wanted to go to as well as giviing us ideas for other places to visit during the rest of our stay. The views were stunning and we would highly recommend this tour as he tailors it to what you want to see in a private car, rather than a crowded bus where you only have a certain amount of time allocated to each stop which made the day really relaxing.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

Janice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We have a wonderful day. We hit the highlights of the big Island. And got some great photos. Dan was a wonderful guide. And Nathan the interpreter for part of our group was great also . A great lunch was provided along with snacks through out the day. We were an International group which made the trip even more fun.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our driver was very knowledgeable and made our experience one to remember. He had a lot of interesting facts and kept our tour bus engaged the whole trip. The stops were also very informational and showed the best sites on the island!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

sanford95

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best way to see all the sights in one day. We enjoyed every stop and our tour guide Jonathon was great! Every question that was asked on the trip he had an answer for. My two teenagers actually listened and observed instead of being on their phones the entire trip lol. We would recommend this trip to our friends and family.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day of fun and adventure. Early pick and hotel, full day in the Big Island! Very informative tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Wayne United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A real enjoyable tour with a lot of sight coverage for one day. Did not summit Mauna Loa. Our driver, Cousin Jeff, was informative, friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Always kept the tour fun and interesting for the entire day. Recommend bug spray. Trek through a part of the forest to the Lava tunnel can get a bit buggy, but still a great tour for the day. Lucky for us, Cousin Jeff hit up the Rainbow Falls last so there wasn't a lot of other tourists blocking our shots. Definitely recommend for Hawaii first timers like me and my wife.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Clara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Mabel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great tour despite that it was raining most of the time. Tour guide was very nice, n attentive. She even took us to a local restaurant for dinner, not a tourist spot.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

Rhodalyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Jeff was our tour guide Dec 3/15, he was courteous, knowledgeable, hands on and funny! He kept us in tune with Hawaiian history, nature and our surroundings. For a 10-11 hr tour it was well organized, my kids and I learned so much, and you didn and #39;t realize how fast the turn around was, time well spent!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I highly recommend this tour! Our guide Walter was a local who knew everything about the island and had a true passion to share history and sightseeing opportunities. He has made many visits to the volcano park in his life so he was able to tell us about lava activities and timelines. Great tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message