• USD ($)
  • English

Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 609 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a very long but fascinating tour. The sights and driver were very interesting and entertaining. I'd say this is more of an adult tour, as young children and teens may quickly lose interest. The amount of time spent at each stop was definitely adequate, and I felt it was worth the money. We definitely gained a lot of insight into the island and gained a deeper understanding of earth science. I'd try to sit on the right side of the bus (the passenger side), if given the chance to redo one thing because that side had better oceanic views.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grant was an excellent guide and the tour was wonderful. His knowledge of The Big Island was incredibly impressive. It was a great experience from start to finish!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a very informative tour guide and the day was very interesting

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing! A must when visiting the Big Island so you can see all it has to offer!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very long day but great tour.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the island and volcanoes.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Couldn't have been better. Our guide, Greg, was superb!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fun, stress free trip. The tour guide was funny, and very informative. We would defiantly go again!
It was very neat to see a different island, and learn about the Big Island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour from the word go. The rep Robert (Cap'n Rob) was superb. He's funny, knowledgeable and very informative. There's never a dull moment and the Cap'n kept everyone upbeat and clued in all the time. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone coming to the islands.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour of the Big Island without you driving and looking for the landmark stops. Our driver John took care of us for the 12 hour trip. John educated us as well as showed us everything around the island. The tour includes stops in the morning at a Kona Coffee store, black sand beach, Kailua Town for lunch (on your own but food was good) then on to the Volcano National Park and Jagger Museum. We saw smoke but no lava flows from the viewing area but walked through a lava tube (like a cave). We went to Hilo for a stop at a macadamia packaging place for snacks. We went to falls in Hilo then a long drive along the east and north coasts back to Kona area. Greatest way to spend one day viewing the entire island. We had a rental car but wanted this tour early on our visit to get a bearings on the areas to view. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed this trip due to the lovely lady tour guide who made it a pleasurable and enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide, Hilary, was great, very informative, and helpful, loved him. He kept the tour going with wonderful historoy, folk stories and legends, and up to day information about the Big Island. When we went back to places we wanted to spend more time at his information made our own tour enhanced. We love history and that we had on this trip as well as where all the good food and snacks, oh of course the clean bathrooms, are.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message