Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 892 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very well done tour. I especially appreciate having been guided by a native Hawaiian who speaks both English and Hawaiian and knows a lot of the native culture of the islands.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

DEBRA O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sien is the GREATEST tour guide ever! This day of exploration was one of interest and of beauty. The lunch provided was excellent as well as the drop off and pick up service.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent introduction to the Big Island! Each stop was picturesque. Our guide Jonathan was amazing, with an encyclopedic knowledge of Big Island sites, nature, culture, history, etc. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

katey_did

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was awesome! Our tour guide was great and made it pleasurable! He was extremely knowledgable which made the trip great. Thank you!

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Jerry and Alba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was a lot of fun! Very informative and beautiful! Highly recommend this as the first activity when arriving to the island :)

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Teri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day. Our drive Jane was great at pointing out all the interesting sights. The only problem was the weather which was out of everyone's control.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All travel connections went as scheduled and the tour guide was excellent. We learned a lot, saw a lot, and had a lot of fun.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

brenda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely day, so much to see and experienced so much of the island. Only disappointment was volcano, no lava to be seen, of course not the trip's fault. Our guide was great a well worth trip to do.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

william L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long trip but worth the money. Saw the whole island with many stops. Pick us up at Kona, went north to see the valley, east to Hilo to see waterfalls, three stops at the volcanoes, south to the black sand beach. Then back to Hilo were we saw a nice sunset. We had a nice lunch at a beautiful bay near Hilo. There were plenty of drinks and snacks during the trip John the tour guide/driver was very informative and funny. Felt bad he had to drive 14 hours, tour was about 11 hours. Great day

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Lana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great family activity. Our two teens loved it. Great way to see the the volcano area. Guide and driver most helpful. Felt safe and had a fun adventure

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Edgar Chun Ho T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this private tour is way better than any other bus tours featured on viator. scott is a fantastic guide that took us to all the spots that regular tour bus wouldn't. detailed explanation. definitely a great experience.

Doing what: Volcanoes National Park Private Tour

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A terrific all-in-one tour of the Big Island - was a great way to start our week-long stay!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kala was very onsitefull and accommodating to us. We had a wonderful experience and the would recommend him to others. I hope everyone else had a wonderful time as well and we will surely let our friends know of your service and Kala's wonderful attentiveness to each and everyone of us. Nui Lao Aloha and Mahalo.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Linda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great tour, small group, covering both sides of Island, water falls, volcanos, beaches, John Preston was our driver/guide, very friendly and knowledgeable. Provided snacks, water, and delicious hot box lunch, lunch break was a lovely picnic, sitting next to a rocky beach. Would recommend to everyone

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing day....so many things to see and learn about...Chris our tour guide was full of wonderful information that he shared with our group throughout whole day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who has never been to Hawaii and/or to anyone who has a short visit there...you get the whole Island in ONE day...Thanks Chris...Aloha and Mahalo... Sharon

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bruce J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience. Learn a lot about the island, it's history, horticulture and volcanos. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and had a lot of great stories. He kept the tour moving along quite smoothly and got us to the airport on time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Janine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our guide. Top notch. So informative. Great day. But it's a long day so be prepared for a full day cruising the entire island. Highly reccomend this trip

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots of picture taking opportunities and driver Tito added lots to the experience.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

BRENDA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Auntie Sharon was fabulous, humorous and knowledgeable at the same time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour for people of all ages. Pretty and Mike were excellent tour guides and my boys and I had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

TJ Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience. The tour is something any level rider can do. We had people of all ages and fitness levels. Only 2 moderate inclines, and the rest was downhill. So much fun seeing the lava tube, rainforest, and volcano. our guide Mike was fantastic!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Rob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Shameelta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jam packed day and for our party of six this was the best way to see the Island in one day. The weather was mostly great which made things even more pleasant. Chris our tour guide was outstanding! Was exceptionally knowledgeable, entertaining, hospitable and high degree of safety when driving. Can not recommend this tour and tour guide Chris enough.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ibjansen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazong tour! John Preston was a fabulous guide, he saw to all our demands. Highly tekommended !

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message