Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 721 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was great! Our tour guide was a native and knew so much about the history, plantlife, and the ocean sealife. It was a last minute decision and it worked out perfectly. The reservation could not be confirmed right away so you stayed involved until we had confirmation. Thanks

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great tour with Jonathan - saw all the sights, learned a lot about Hawaii and didn't have to drive! He was terrific, both knowledgeable and personable. It was a long day, but well worth it!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great. I have an idea of what I want to see more of when I come back to the Big Island. I only had a couple days on shore to see the sights. This was definitely the easiest way to see them all in one day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pretty and Mike did a great job! Loved this tour and would highly recommend. They provided great commentary on the history of the volcano. Enjoyed the combination of biking and stops at highlights along the route.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Chris did a great job - very enthusiastic - learned much about the Big Island including history and about the Hawaiian people

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great for first time traveler to the Big island. I loved how much we saw on this tour. We went everywhere and didn't need a rental car and gas while on the tour. I do wish that the tour stops were longer, but we got so much done.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was well worth the money. Kala was a PHENOMENAL tour guide and a fountain of information. This turned out to be a great way to cross a few items off our list of things we wanted to do while in Hawaii, and provided a few extras that we wouldn't have done/seen otherwise. Lavatube tour, very cool! I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone thinking about going.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great. The Guide, Kala, was the best tour guide we have ever had. Very intellegient and friendly. The 10 hour tour went by fast. The only thing i wish we wouldve been able to get wet.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour with our very informative guide, Jonathan, taking us on a day long tour of the island. You get to see a lot of Big Island and learn a lot about its history. With snacks and picnic lunch included it is good value. Highlight has to be the volcano visit and walk through a lava tube. If you do not want to do a c300 mile drive yourself and just want to relax and learn about this fascinating island then this tour takes a lot to beat it.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour for those interested in volcanoes, it was a long day, make sure you take some food with you. The tour guide/driver was great Sharon, very informative and happy to answer questions. Great tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Ailene was very good!!! I got sick during the tour and she was very accommodating and helped me throughout the tour!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

EXCELLENT!!! As this tour group was new to Viator, I was a little nervous but took a chance. I'm so very glad I did. I received a confirmation call from Jill the day after I booked. Josh picked us up right on time from our hotel in Kona in the tour van. We were able to customize the trip to our liking and Josh was extremely informative. Josh was also very accommodating as one of our group was limited in their walking ability. Because of Josh's familiarity with the area, we were able to avoid the larger crowds which made the trip extremely enjoyable. Our tour was approximately 11 hours and we were able to see everything on the group wish list. Josh provided umbrellas and ponchos as needed along with a water and snacks. We were able to adjust stops to take photos and breaks. I would, without hesitation, recommend the local tour company to anyone that wishes to view the wonders of the Big Island. I will definitely use them on my next Kona trip. Thank you Jill and Josh for the professional services, friendly and informative trip and the perfect means to view the many beautiful sites of Hawaii. Mahalo!

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, we would love to have a closer view of the crater but we understand that is a matter of safety. Our Guide John was amazingly kind and knowledgeable. It was a long day but a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another great trip through Viator! Our trip was seamless. We drove to the airport and were met by a tour guide who helped us get our boarding pass. We took a 40 min flight to the Big Island where we were met by our Driver/Guide Walter, who was one of the best guides we've ever had. He grew up on Hawai'i so he gave us a local's perspective and knowledge. He kept us on task in a non-rushed way. We saw so much more than was on our itinerary. We walked on old lava flows and a black sand beach. We saw water falls, an orchid farm, and the Mauna Loa Macademia nut farm. There were plenty of gift shops, bathroom stops, and picture taking stops. We stopped at a restauant for optional lunch purchase, which was not made clear in the itinerary. We brought sandwiches but had them for dinner instead as food at the airport on the return trip was limited. Volcanoes National park is awesome! Overall, a fabulous trip through Viator, the local tour company and our Guide Walter, and one we highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bulldog
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour. Very knowledgeable driver/guide who kept us informed and busy the entire day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much fun! The best way to explore the beautiful volcanos. The guides, Andrea and Pretty were amazing, informative and fun.. The Highlight of our Hawaii family vacation

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Kala, was fantastic. Fluent in English and a treasure of local knowledge. Would take family photos for the group. Plenty of time at each stop.
Highly recommended tour.
If you want to see the lava from the Volcano, you should either do the night tour from Hilo or stay at Volcano for 1 night.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sarah N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour. We were picked up form the hotel at 6am and returned at 6pm having seen so much of the Big Island. We both fell in love with the place. We went to the Kona coffee place where you can try all the different coffees, we went to the macadamia nut factory, saw a live volcano whilst having lunch. We walked through the rainforest, saw beautiful waterfall, walked through lava tube, went to chocolate factory, orchid farm, several beaches just to name a few things! There was definitely something for everyone on the tour and it gave you a flavour of what the island is like with all it's micro climates. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The volcano was amazing! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While this tour was not cheap, it is well worth doing. You get to see the whole island in one very long day, lots of stops along the way, with great scenic shots available. The guide was brilliant, a local with heaps of knowledge. Was also good as it was only a small group.

Highly recommend this

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was an excellent tour of the island!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic day, made particularly great by our tour guide, Chris. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Big Island!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very cool tour and a really good and entertaining driver. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

David Barnes
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Priddy and Mike had us for the day and it was totally awesome.The bikes fit well and we had lots of narative about the area that we wouldn't have known otherwise.It was a beautiful and very fun ride all day that ended on the rocks of the coast at the southern end of the park with food that we picked for ourselves earlier in the booking.It couldn't have been more fun and will not be forgotten!!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great tour and very informative. A great way to see this beautiful island. Volcanoes and Waterfalls where amazing to see

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message