Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 676 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Mark Rico was great...friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive to our needs.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our hosts, Alexis and Pretty, had supportive and cheerful manners and all members of the group (10) were made to feel competent and welcome. Even a little precipitation didn't diminish the experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver Greg was very knowledgable, kept the long tour interesting. Would take it again

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a great trip to start with. You get a taste of everything on the Island. We also got a better idea of travel times for other excursions we wanted to do. Our bus driver Sal was very informative.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great introduction to the island with a very capable driver/guide. We had enough time at the stops and still got to see a lot. I would have appreciated more details in the advertising at the front end -- lunch options, OK to bring snacks, etc.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The guide was awesome and cooperative.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing Big Island !! so so beautiful !! I love it.. tour guide was very nice and sweet.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable. He was by far the best tour guide we had while on or visit to the Big Island. Had a blast and learned a lot from his show and tell. We would do it again if I knew I would have him to go with. Even thought we did not see Lava like we did 10 years ago. He made this trip enjoyable and very pleasant.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The only downside of trip was the lady who met us at the airport at the beginning of the day. She was very disorganized and could not believe we were there o early. We found her at 5:40- we were told to be there by 5:30!
Our day guide,Leroy Johnson, made up for the bad start. He was knowledgeable and quite personable. Leroy was very organized and professional

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This day was surprising and amazing. Perfect day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide was very informative and kept everything exciting. Not everyday you get to see an active volcano, and an island still being born from lava deposits. Incredible sights. Although unforgettable, the long day does take it out of you...so be prepared.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day. I highly recommend this trip. Our guide Jane, was knowledge and did her very best to make sure very one had a great time. The best part was Rainbow Falls.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific. A perfect combination, exercise, information, natural beauty and fun!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the best tours I have been on. The Tour Guide was outstanding, really knew the history of the Big Island. Fantastic to see volcanoes, lava tube etc. The drive through the rainforest was such a contrast to the volcanic rocky areas. It was a long day but worth the early start. Saw so much. A good group of fellow passengers. Would certainly recommend this tour. Barbara Finley Melbourne, Australia

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message