Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 625 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great information. Great views. Biking was a great way to see the park.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful trip thru the local tour operator. Our guide Jesse was very knowledgeable about the island, the volcanic history and having grown up in Hawaii he had lots of great island stories. The dinner overlooking the volcano on a clear night was amazing. We saw the glow of the lava and my husband who is a photographer got great pictures. We saw steam coming out of the volcano besides the chemicals wafting out the volcano (which were drifting away from us). It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip to the Big Island with Granddaughters was very nice. I was there several years ago but saw different things on this trip. Our trip guide JANE was very good and answered any questions we had.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It has been a great experience for my family vacation and the tour was fun and educational. Thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was much better than expected. Our tour guide was perfect perhaps because he grew up and still lives there. That aside, his personality made us feel comfortable and informed. Everything was exactly as advertised. Would use your company again.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a very long but fascinating tour. The sights and driver were very interesting and entertaining. I'd say this is more of an adult tour, as young children and teens may quickly lose interest. The amount of time spent at each stop was definitely adequate, and I felt it was worth the money. We definitely gained a lot of insight into the island and gained a deeper understanding of earth science. I'd try to sit on the right side of the bus (the passenger side), if given the chance to redo one thing because that side had better oceanic views.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grant was an excellent guide and the tour was wonderful. His knowledge of The Big Island was incredibly impressive. It was a great experience from start to finish!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a very informative tour guide and the day was very interesting

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing! A must when visiting the Big Island so you can see all it has to offer!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very long day but great tour.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the island and volcanoes.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Evening Lava Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Couldn't have been better. Our guide, Greg, was superb!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides included a truck driver from one of the defunct sugar plantations, a competitive koa canoeist, and a recent geologist grad from Hilo University. These women knew their stuff, were fun, reassuring and provided us a great perspective on the volcano, flora, fauna, as well as history and culture of the area. They even brought out "the horse" for me to ride (nickname for the large frame bike frame that fit me well). Lunch was great. The ride is mostly downhill and a nice way to cover a lot of ground and learn a lot in a short time.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message