Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 882 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great family activity. Our two teens loved it. Great way to see the the volcano area. Guide and driver most helpful. Felt safe and had a fun adventure

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Edgar Chun Ho T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this private tour is way better than any other bus tours featured on viator. scott is a fantastic guide that took us to all the spots that regular tour bus wouldn't. detailed explanation. definitely a great experience.

Doing what: Volcanoes National Park Private Tour

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A terrific all-in-one tour of the Big Island - was a great way to start our week-long stay!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Kala was very onsitefull and accommodating to us. We had a wonderful experience and the would recommend him to others. I hope everyone else had a wonderful time as well and we will surely let our friends know of your service and Kala's wonderful attentiveness to each and everyone of us. Nui Lao Aloha and Mahalo.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Linda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great tour, small group, covering both sides of Island, water falls, volcanos, beaches, John Preston was our driver/guide, very friendly and knowledgeable. Provided snacks, water, and delicious hot box lunch, lunch break was a lovely picnic, sitting next to a rocky beach. Would recommend to everyone

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing day....so many things to see and learn about...Chris our tour guide was full of wonderful information that he shared with our group throughout whole day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who has never been to Hawaii and/or to anyone who has a short visit there...you get the whole Island in ONE day...Thanks Chris...Aloha and Mahalo... Sharon

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bruce J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience. Learn a lot about the island, it's history, horticulture and volcanos. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and had a lot of great stories. He kept the tour moving along quite smoothly and got us to the airport on time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Janine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our guide. Top notch. So informative. Great day. But it's a long day so be prepared for a full day cruising the entire island. Highly reccomend this trip

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots of picture taking opportunities and driver Tito added lots to the experience.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

BRENDA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Auntie Sharon was fabulous, humorous and knowledgeable at the same time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour for people of all ages. Pretty and Mike were excellent tour guides and my boys and I had a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

TJ Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience. The tour is something any level rider can do. We had people of all ages and fitness levels. Only 2 moderate inclines, and the rest was downhill. So much fun seeing the lava tube, rainforest, and volcano. our guide Mike was fantastic!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Rob United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Shameelta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jam packed day and for our party of six this was the best way to see the Island in one day. The weather was mostly great which made things even more pleasant. Chris our tour guide was outstanding! Was exceptionally knowledgeable, entertaining, hospitable and high degree of safety when driving. Can not recommend this tour and tour guide Chris enough.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ibjansen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazong tour! John Preston was a fabulous guide, he saw to all our demands. Highly tekommended !

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Chantale C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our first time in Big Island so we booked the Grand Circle Island Tour to see most of it. We enjoyed every stops.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour made for a memorable experience. Our guide, Kala, was extremely knowledgeable and really gave us an appreciation of the Hawaiian culture and history. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Lime Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Despite last minute change in tour guide and delayed start time the tour was very good. Nick the guide was extremely knowledgeable. Visited waterfalls, volcano crater, lava tube and black sand beach with turtles. Packed bento box lunch was excellent and liked smaller group size.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a highlight of our trip! The ride was mostly easy, with only a couple of hills. However, if you are not able to ride at least 10 miles, then you shouldn't do this tour. This is a great way to experience Volcano National Park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

DSLyles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

John is the best tour guide you could have when doing a tour of the Big Island! He is very knowledgeable, great at working around your schedule, and very entertaining. On this tour, you get to travel all the way around the island. There are many opportunities for picture-taking steam vents, volcanoes, black sand beach/sea turtles, African tulip trees, waterfalls, lava tubes, banyan trees, etc., lunch at a beautiful park, and perhaps a Malasala at a local bakery. Because of the small group, you have the opportunity to ask lots of questions. John is the best, so be sure to ask for him.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jesse E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this tour. From an organisational point of view, Viator was super flexible in accommodating my requests and last minute changes to the pick up location. They were very quick and responsive. The minibus was very comfortable. The lunch and snacks were very good, and I was pleased to see an attention to environmental sustainability in the way lunch and drinks were provided.
Our guide, Kala, was absolutely fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and had a wealth of information to share with us, on all aspects of Hawaii: from history, to nature, going through language and folklore. He was able to answer all questions we had. It was fascinating to hear him talk about nature: Kala has a lot of knowledge of local flora and shared a lot of amazing information with us. He was also incredibly passionate about environmental sustainability and the protection of the unique Hawaiian ecosystem. This gave a unique flavour to the tour.
On the day of the tour, one of the attractions we were meant to visit closed unexpectedly at short notice, but Kala quickly re-arranged the rest of the tour and added another stop to make up for it, which turned out to be very interesting and delicious, since it was the southernmost bakery in the US!.
In summary, this was an unforgettable experience. Thank you!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Vicki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wasabi Big Island in One Day tour was fantastic. Kala was the BEST tour guide with more knowledge about everything than you can imagine and all with a wonderful voice. Great day! John and Vicki

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I write this on behalf of my two friends who joined the tour. They are very happy with trip. And got deep impression with John's great service! If has any chance, they will come back again :

Thank you

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message