Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 918 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ornelashmimprstllc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was awwwweesome !!!! It was the guide first time and we had fun with him you have to book this tour.
He was very knowledgeable about his surrounding. What really inperst me is that he would pick up any little trash he saw. These people are proud of there island and i would be too!!! So don't mess with Hawaii !!!!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour!! I recommend for a great overview of the island. John our tour guide was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and great sense of humor. He went the extra mile to make our tour unforgettable. Thank you John!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jack E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun and interesting tour. The guide was very knowledgeable about the sites as well as Hawaiian history and lore. He was able to answer many random questions about the Island and the culture and was a very adept storyteller. By the end of the day the tour was getting to be a bit long but it was interesting the whole way.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our big Island tour. Our guide Joe was fantastic and was very knowledgeable about the history of the island from the Gods to the plants, he covered everything. The locations we visited were beautiful and interesting. The bus was comfortable and lunch was good and plenty of snacks were available. It was a lot to take in for a one day trip but a great way to get an overview of the island and its history and let someone else do the driving. Will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Marcus was an outstanding tour guide very knowledgeable in history and science of the Big island. He was very prompt and kept the tour moving so that we were done by the 10-11 hour range. thanks for a great time!!!

Joanne and Mark Tajima

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though it rained most of the bike ride it was still amazing! We would do it again, no questions!! :) once in a life time experiences!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! I would recommend this trip to everyone I know that is going to Kona. We were treated special.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! We got to see many sights on the island in one fell swoop. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. They provided rain jackets, water, juice, and snacks which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable. He gave us great ideas for the rest of our trip. Food was good too.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Amy G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this day trip to Hilo to tour the volcanoes and I am so glad we did. I really think this was the highlight of our trip. You really have no idea until you see the National Park the magnitude of the volcanoes. It's amazing. Captain Rob was our guide and he was terrific. He was so knowledgeable and funny. Be prepared for a very long day from the time you are picked up at your hotel, until the time you are dropped back off but you will not be disappointed. The waterfall we saw was picture perfect, the black sandy beach we stopped at was quaint, and everything else in between. We really appreciated the fact that if you didn't want to do a lot of walking you didn't have to. The shuttle bus took you everywhere and really I think there was only one point that an older person in our group was not able to participate in. and it was not something that he was deprived of, believe me Captain Rob even made sure to lock the bus when we were off exploring, so you never had to worry about your stuff. The lunch stop was great too! You ordered your food once you are on the bus so that the restaurant was prepared for us. Very well organized. We had the bacon cheeseburger and it was awesome! I was even amazed at the airport in Hilo. The departure lounge was nothing like I have ever seen in an airport before. Definitely Hawaiian. Very laid back and comfortable! I highly recommend this tour! If you are thinking about a day trip... just do it! You will not regret it!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hilary was very knowledgeable and kept the ride fun with his stories

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

rayfrozen_98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day trip. We loved black sand beach and hardened lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Big Island Trip was fantastic. A very long day but worth the sites. Sites I will probably never see again. The driver/guide was great and everything was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I recommend doing this tour on your first full day on the island for two reasons: first, it will give you a good overview of what's there so you'll know where to go on the rest of your vacation, and second, it starts early, and if you're coming from the mainland USA, you're going to be at least two hours ahead so you'll be up early anyway.
I was told the bus would be at my hotel at 7 am, we got to the pick up point about 6:45 and he was already there. Lunch is at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, if you choose to eat there the other option is to bring your own lunch, you'll be given a menu on the bus, make your selection and it's called ahead and your table is ready for you when you get there.
Our driver, Kala, seemed to know everything there is to know about the island, its history, and Hawaiian culture, and freely shared it.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Jan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and excellent guide Dave. A lot to see and learn. I recommend to all.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Leonard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a wonderful tour and allowed us to see the highlights of the Big Island. It is a long tour 12 hours, but well worth it.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyed the all day tour of the island. It was a little long but full of interesting sights and we had a great narrator

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sherry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There was a lot of traveling by vehicle but I realize that couldn't be helped.
Mike was an extraordinary tour guide....very knowledgeable, excited, and his personality was a hit with us since he and we are from Texas and could relate to one another!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very well done tour. I especially appreciate having been guided by a native Hawaiian who speaks both English and Hawaiian and knows a lot of the native culture of the islands.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

DEBRA O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sien is the GREATEST tour guide ever! This day of exploration was one of interest and of beauty. The lunch provided was excellent as well as the drop off and pick up service.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Helen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An excellent introduction to the Big Island! Each stop was picturesque. Our guide Jonathan was amazing, with an encyclopedic knowledge of Big Island sites, nature, culture, history, etc. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

katey_did

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was awesome! Our tour guide was great and made it pleasurable! He was extremely knowledgable which made the trip great. Thank you!

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Jerry and Alba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was a lot of fun! Very informative and beautiful! Highly recommend this as the first activity when arriving to the island :)

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message