• USD ($)
  • English
Aside from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the town of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii is one of the most popular attractions for island visitors. The hot, dry weather is a welcome change from the lush, tropical east side, and the nightlife in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

deluded
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This one was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide (Sharon) was very knowledgeable and kept the day interesting.

We had a clear sunny day and was able to take in the beautiful surroundings.

Doing a day trip means that it was a very long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would highly recommend this day trip. The bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable. Each place that we stopped we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Oahu Shark Dive was by far my favorite event during a 9-day trip that included sky diving and horseback riding. The staff was knowledgable, accommodating, and all-around nice guys. The shark cage was an amazing experience. If I lived on Oahu, I'd go all the time.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The views are breathtaking. Tom our guide was full of knowledge. Fun day trip.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic day trip. Could not be bettered. Shame we could not stay until dark due to sailing time of the ship. Very knowledgable and friendly guide.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The Pearl Harbor experience was a great history lesson and helped a person to understand what led up to our involvement in World War II. The Circle Island Day trip was a highlight. Our Bus driver, "Nappy", was very informative and entertaining. We enjoyed the various stops and the good overview of the Island and its offerings. I would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Oahu.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Guide was great, very knowledgeable and interesting. Beautiful geography, hiking was really not part of this which is fine if you have limitations or are not up for physical adventure.Lots of great photo ops. Easy day trip, small group worked great and I would do it again.

Doing what: Natural Highlights of Oahu Small Group Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was great! It started with a short hike through the area of the island where most of Jurassic Park was filmed followed by a short kayak ride out to a small uninhabited island just off shore. It rained pretty hard the way out but wasn't bad. The only disappointment was the lack of fish while snorkeling in the water around the island but that may have been due to the rainstorms that swung through at times. We ate a light lunch on the island and kayaked back to shore. There was enough time to do all of the activites and our guide was great - he was knowledgable about the islands and was very helpful with the kayaking and snorkeling. Great day trip!

Doing what: Oahu Kayak, Hike and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The day trip to the Big Island (Hawaii) was wonderful. It was like stepping back in time but with all of today’s luxuries. Our tour guide /bus driver was a wealth of local and historical knowledge. He gave us a grand tour of the local attractions including the magnificent scenery of black sandy beaches, local wild life that included the large turtles that visit the island, remnants of age old lava flows and the experience of seeing a live volcano and the after effects of many eruptions. It was like being in Jurassic Park without the dangers. A great day’s adventure. Well worth the experiencing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This day trip was well worth the money we spent. We had the pleasure of having Ernie as our tour bus driver. He was very engaging and informative. He knew the area very well and was able to relate interesting information about the various places we drove by and each place we stopped. We stopped frequently enough so we didn't get tired of being on the bus.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Awesome time. If you have never been on an ATV before and you like high energy fun you must do this tour. Great guides, very safe and professional, amazing scenery and views, super fun riding these vehicles. I want to get one once I get home. The stop at the waterfall for lunch, swimming, and picture taking was incredible. A highlight of our 2 island 9 day trip.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This is the best way to know about the Island, we took the tour the next day we arrived to Oahu, and never regreted, was a wise decision, from that we could select where to go as a day trip..... Mr. and Mrs Santana

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

mirry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent all round trip! Very well organised - everything ran very smoothly. An amazing and emotional day trip. Our driver/guide was very good, kept us on time and well informed all day.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was terrific! We had originally booked a half day trip, but Donna actually phoned me in Spain from Las Vegas to tell me that the tour was now a full day, but that Viator would make up the difference in cost, if we still wanted to take it, as it wasn't on the original day, then called me back to confirm! We did take it, and the company collected us from our hotel, which we had not expected, and took us to their office, where we picked up the off-road vehicle. The driver, Danny, was Hawaiian, and told us lots of stories about Hawaii and the various lava flows. He took us through gates to where no private cars or tour buses could go and we saw ancient craters and lava tubes. We then went to a coffee plantation, where there was plenty of coffee on offer (I don't drink coffee, but never mind!) and a nice picnic lunch was provided. Again, we had not expected this. We were shown coffee trees and how they grow, and how the coffee was extracted from the beans. We also saw a beautiful chameleon living in one of the trees. The jeep we travelled in was not too uncomfortable-I had been worried about spending all day in it, but provided you held on tight to the safety straps, it was fine. Then we were taken back to our hotel when we returned to the office. Great tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Kona Coffee and Craters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

It was a really long day, but totally worth the day trip to the Big Island. It made me want more adventure though! A couple of stops were so beautiful or made me want to venture deeper, but were too short of a stay. I guess I will have to make another vacation for the Big Island to hike the volcano and hang out at Black Sand Beach longer.

Also, I don't know if it's just me wanting to know the plan, but I felt out of the loop from the pick-up at the hotel, to the airport heading to the Big Island. We waited for the bus to pick us up at 5 am, so we were out there at 4:50am, but that's when the bus STARTED pick-ups. We were the last to be picked up.. Then after going through security at the airport, I felt lost on where we were heading. I would've felt comfortable having a guide because I was nervous that we'd miss the plane.

Tip: Bring a jacket! It rained on and off the entire day (September).

Tip: Eating at Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory is cheaper than the restaurant they take you before the volcanoes. The restaurant wasn't too bad though, just a little expensive.

In the end, I would recommend this tour because we did A LOT in one day! I would totally look for another tour like this for future vacations.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message