Aside from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the town of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii is one of the most popular attractions for island visitors. The hot, dry weather is a welcome change from the lush, tropical east side, and the nightlife in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My sister and I booked this day trip having read Moloka'i by Alan Brennert, and falling in love with the island of Molokai and its history. After a beautiful flight from Oahu be prepared for a tiny airplane, we arrived at the Kalaupapa Airport. While there is some downtime waiting for other tour members, we just enjoyed the idyllic setting of the island and the true peace and quiet that can only come from a place like Molokai. Our tour guide, Norman, was the most authentic human being I've ever met. The tour was a little slow off the start, and I was anxious to get to more of the history and story of the island, but that came eventually. If you haven't read the aforementioned book before booking this tour, do so. You will have a greater appreciation for all that you are seeing and experiencing. I re-read the book immediately afterward and fell in love with the history all over again and especially loved having true scenery to connect to what I'd read. A very special experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

dhelusay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was amazing....From seeing the lava red glow in the sky, to walking in the lava tube and also in the rising steam from the volcano, simply amazing. Our guide, Marcus, was extremely knowledgeable and very personable as well. The only downside was that we didn't see any spewing lava, but that had nothing to do with the tour, only with mother nature. A long day trip, about 11 hours, but worth every minute of it.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Kona

Joy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. A great half day trip, if you want to see more, do the the whole day. Extremely moving and a lot of interesting history here.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great half-day trip to snorkel. We saw a huge eel, a squid, and swam with many colorful fish. Another highlight was a giant sea turtle! Staff was very friendly, you have a lot of time to snorkel. Food was better than we expected as well! Good for families.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Ralene O United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed our all day trip around the island. Our tour guide/driver was excellent. He was very informative as to the history of the Island and all of the sites. We enjoyed each of our many stops along the way and are so glad that we spent the to see the Island. Will definitely take other tours through Viator.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

TERRY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant half day trip the boat, crew and lunch were excellent. Saw small pods of dolphins and swam with a large variety of fish and a couple of turtles. Would definitely use this boat company again for future trips in Hawaii.

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Joseph L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a very enjoyable day trip from Maui. After taking the ferry from Lahaina, I was met by Jeremiah at the dock in Lanai. He was very informative on the past, present, and future plans for Lanai. The ride showed off the many beautiful sights of the island. After riding down the hills, we were met by his wife who transported us and the bikes back to the top of the hill to go in another direction. At the end of the tour there was an included lunch and time to enjoy a beautiful beach before taking the ferry back to Maui.
This company specializes in small group tours and they were very friendly, personable, and passionate about what they were doing. The smaller size allows them to personalize the tour and tailor it to the needs of the group. It was much more enjoyable than some of the larger bike tours on Maui where the process felt like an assembly line and the guides did not have much interest in being there.
Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Lanai Full Day Bike Tour And Ferry With Lunch

Adrienne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The flight to and from Mololai was a great experience, providing the three of us with some great views of Honolulu and of Molokai. A bonus benefit was meeting at the Kalaupapa airfield an old friend of mine whom I had not seen for forty years, plus a couple of other folks from our home state of Michigan . We were joined on the bus tour by the hikers and the mule riders who made the trip up and down the trail instead of flying in and who joined us for the bus tour. The gentleman tour guide and driver of the 1992 school bus was very informative, insightful, and inspiring. All in all, I consider this day trip the highlight of my entire ten days in Hawaii.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Michele T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome day trip. Z was a terrific tour guide, very knowledgeable and great driver. Bring a bathing suit and towel for a little swimming. Leave the driving to your guide it is well worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We spent 9 days in Oahu, made a day trip to the big island and did something different every day - this tour was the highlight! The experience was amazing and the crew was excellent. We saw too many sharks to count, some 12-14 ft and the visibility underwater was amazing, I am told it was 150ft. I wanted to do something adventurous while in Hawaii and this had good reviews and I decided to give it a shot. My wife told me to have fun since neither she of the kids would be jumping in a tank with sharks outside. Guess what - both she and my two 9 year old's ended up in the tank and had a blast. You don't need to be great in the water either, you get a snorkel kit, fins aren't needed, and climb down off the boat in to the cage - it is moored out at sea and you meet it with the boat, maybe a 20 minute ride form the dock. One more note about the crew - awesome. I had a nice talk with the captain and he gave me some great tips about the area. Finally, there is a nice little historic town next to the harbor from which the boat leaves, Haleiwa, be sure to give yourselves some time to check it out as well! The shave ice stand there is supposed to be awesome, there were about 50 people lined up when we were there.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

MARK A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Super experience. The highlight of our holiday trip to HI,

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very nice tour. It started off a bit disorganized as the scheduled pick-up time on Viator was not the actual pick-up time of the tour. However, once we got picked up, everything went well. Pearl Harbor was a must-see attraction, and we are very happy we went there. The Circle Island day trip was also great. We had Kala for our guide and even though he talked non-stop in a monotonous way, he was a very friendly person. Our favorite stops were the Buddhist temple, Sunset Beach where we saw a monk seal--a rare treat!, and the Pali Lookout.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

Donna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

One of the best tours to take to get an overview of The Big Island in one day with a tour guide that does all the driving! Thank you, Kala and Wasabi Tours for taking me on an awesome day trip. I enjoyed seeing all the waterfalls and scenery but the best part was seeing the Kilauea lava flow from the Jaggar lookout. Kala was great in giving our tour so much interesting information and history. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting The Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome day trip. Would definitely recommend but go early in the morning. My family had a great time but it got really full by 11am and then the water got cloudy and more difficult to see as clearly in the wrapper. The fish were thick in the bay and didn't seem to mind you were there. Will do this again next time we're in Oahu.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

JSCarterCRNA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great day trip. The 7-hour day trip starts out early (630 a.m. from Port Allen, near Hanepepe), but you begin with a continental breakfast, followed by beautiful views of Kaua'i as you head across the channel to Ni'ihau (The Forbidden Island). Once anchored off the coast, the snorkelling is excellent. There is a vast array of colourful fish, caves to swim into, and honu (sea turtles) gracefully gliding past as you snorkel. After snorkelling, a quick trip back across the channel takes you along the breathtaking NaPali coast. Drinks and lunch are provided before the return trip to Port Allen.

Captain Wendell and his crew (Zena, Jay and Kama) were great. They introduced themselves and asked about where we were visiting from, kept checking in to make sure we didn't need any more food or drinks, and answered our questions about the island and some of the things we saw. Captain Wendell did a great job narrating the snorkel cruise, and Zena spent time telling us some of the places the locals like to visit. Definitely worth it!

PS: If you get motion sickness, take some dramamine BEFORE hopping on board. You don't want to have your head in a bucket and miss these gorgeous sites!

Doing what: Napali and Ni'ihau 'The Forbidden Island' Kauai Snorkel Cruise

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fabulous day trip and one of the highlights of our stay in Hawaii. Great guide, great overview of the island, and a nice pace. We always take Viator tours wherever we travel - always top quality!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a wonderful experience on our day trip around the island. Our guide was absolutely fantastic, I cannot remember his name, but he really was the best. Was picked up at our hotel and dropped back to our hotel which was fantastic.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Marty R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful and informative trip. The guide really went out of his way to be entertaining and informative. In one day we got a great sense of the island of Oahu, Pearl Harbor and the memorials and so much more. I highly recommend this day trip. Everything was very well coordinated and planned, The guide was funny, informative and really went out of his way to ensure everyone's satisfaction.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from Maui

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an amazing day trip. Our tour guide Dwight was very knowledgeable and informative about the places he took us to see. A trip to Hawaii is not complete until you see Pearl Harbor. We learned a lot about the war that we weren't taught in school. It brought a whole new respect for the men and women who serve our country. These armed service members past, present and in the future will always receive my gratitude for giving me and my family the opportunity to travel and see the world and reflect on what we have to be thankful for.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from Maui

Tory P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was more than I could've asked for! Though it does make for a long day you get to experience so many great aspects of the big island. We were met at the airport by our guide for the day John. He was extremely knowledgeable as he has lived on the island for 20-30 years and had items for "show and tell" which gave you a great perspective on exactly what he was talking about. Our first stop was at a local store in order to stock up on water (which I promise you will want and need) as well as to get breakfast or snacks for the day. After that we were off to touring. Stops on the tour included a Japanese garden, a black sand beach with an opportunity to see a little bit of green sand, a visit to the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory, rainbow falls, visit to an orchid nursery, lunch and then the rest of the day was spent in volcanoes national park. You really get to experience so much on this tour and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Ample stops are made within the park getting to experience craters, different types and anomalies in lave flow, and the lava tube. You get back to the airport in plenty of time and we even ended up with extra time at the end of our tour so john stopped where there were some fast food and coffee options to choose from so that we could have dinner and not rely on the very limited options at the airport.

This is definitely a long day but without having to break up your vacation and actually stay on the big island ,this is the best way to get the total experience. We brought a small backpack with TSA size sunscreen, and rain jackets just in case but I would highly recommend some sort of jacket as the weather in different areas of the park can be quite different. We also brought some snacks that we purchased prior to this day trip so that for the day we only had to purchase lunch and water/beverages.

Highly, Highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

svenfr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I had a fantastic day exploring. The guide was totally awesome and very informative and knowledgeable. If ur looking for a day trip with some physical activity then this is for you. Swimming next to tortoise topped off the day

Doing what: Oahu Bike, Hike, Sail and Snorkel Combo

Bradley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply amazing tour and guide. Sharon was fun and knowledgeable. Bus a/c died part of the day but windows down mode worked fine. Won't see spewing lava as sort of implied but lots of older lava flows and the crater. Left with 20 lbs of macadamia nuts i think! Great day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pearl Harbour was incredibly moving. A must "do" whilst in Hawaii. The day trip was great, really enjoyed seeing the Island and Garfield, our bus driver, was informatively fun.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

Stephanie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The day trip to Oahu was well worth the time and money. The time at Pearl Harbor, including both the USS Arizona and USS Missouri, was a must-see for every American. The tour guide was very educational, funny, and flexible. He gave us many hints on how to make the most of our day. The trip was well organized. There were people on our tour from multiple islands, but we all got there about the same time and our departure flights were very close so there wasn't much wasted time. Our entire family enjoyed the day in Oahu.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

AL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the many highlights of our trip. So many beautiful and different landscapes in one trip. Possibly the most efficient way to see the south side of Oahu in a short half-day trip. From Diamond Head to Hanauma Bay, to the countryside and Pali Lookout, we even got in some added bonus like Coconut Island where they filmed Gilligan's Island and several other iconic Hollywood filming locations. There were plenty of stops and photo ops along the way, and just the drive itself is amazing. I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages.

The tour itself is a must, but the company was fantastic, especially our guide, Cousin Dwight. The bus was practically new and very clean and comfortable. It had a bathroom and strong air conditioning. Our tour guide, Cousin Dwight is one of the most enthusiastic and passionate people I have ever met and he made our tour that much greater. He is hospitable and entertaining and has so much intricate knowledge of the island and culture. As a great added bonus, Cousin Dwight took us past the Hospital where President Obama was born, his grandmother's apartment, and even the local Baskin Robins where he worked as a kid scooping ice cream. I took so many beautiful photos on this trip and took home even more knowledge. Mahalo Cousin, and thanks for treating us all like Ohana!!!!

Doing what: Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message