Aside from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the town of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii is one of the most popular attractions for island visitors. The hot, dry weather is a welcome change from the lush, tropical east side, and the nightlife in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our big Island tour. Our guide Joe was fantastic and was very knowledgeable about the history of the island from the Gods to the plants, he covered everything. The locations we visited were beautiful and interesting. The bus was comfortable and lunch was good and plenty of snacks were available. It was a lot to take in for a one day trip but a great way to get an overview of the island and its history and let someone else do the driving. Will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Diana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend a visit to the Polynesian Cultural Center and Luau! Great day trip! Lots to see! Recommend walking shoes. Loved the luau and evening show.

Doing what: Polynesian Cultural Center Luau

Amy G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this day trip to Hilo to tour the volcanoes and I am so glad we did. I really think this was the highlight of our trip. You really have no idea until you see the National Park the magnitude of the volcanoes. It's amazing. Captain Rob was our guide and he was terrific. He was so knowledgeable and funny. Be prepared for a very long day from the time you are picked up at your hotel, until the time you are dropped back off but you will not be disappointed. The waterfall we saw was picture perfect, the black sandy beach we stopped at was quaint, and everything else in between. We really appreciated the fact that if you didn't want to do a lot of walking you didn't have to. The shuttle bus took you everywhere and really I think there was only one point that an older person in our group was not able to participate in. and it was not something that he was deprived of, believe me Captain Rob even made sure to lock the bus when we were off exploring, so you never had to worry about your stuff. The lunch stop was great too! You ordered your food once you are on the bus so that the restaurant was prepared for us. Very well organized. We had the bacon cheeseburger and it was awesome! I was even amazed at the airport in Hilo. The departure lounge was nothing like I have ever seen in an airport before. Definitely Hawaiian. Very laid back and comfortable! I highly recommend this tour! If you are thinking about a day trip... just do it! You will not regret it!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

rayfrozen_98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day trip. We loved black sand beach and hardened lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mhairi-Anne M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way to see the island and do Pearl Harbor. Pearl Harbor is very moving and most days they have a Survivor who you can talk to. Have a look at other exhibitions there too and the submarine, it's all really interesting and informative.

The Circle Island Day trip takes you to some beautiful places. The guide we had, Robbie, was very funny and informative. The contract between Honolulu and the Windward side is quite staggering when you experience it. The temple and the ranch were stunning locations. On the trip around the North Shore we also got to see a turtle on the sand.

This trip covered everything we wanted to see in a short time and I'd recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

SY NGHIA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our fantastic and unforgettable trip to Hana.
You can start the trip from sunrise small fishing village with nice morning coffee and outgoing ferries. Firstly you can see a lot of beautiful beaches on the way to the mountain. And then you can see the most beautiful green fields and sand beaches, tropical forests and flowers, old bridges and water falls, cloudy volcano mountains and blue ocean together, lonely church and interesting history about first generation of people who came to the land. You also can swim in the place made from black volcano lava, that 's big different from sand beaches everywhere. You can try some special tropical Hawaii fresh fruits in the farm stop, and don't forget banana bread.
In the halfway of the trip, you can relax in green and quit small town of Hana, enjoy the local lunch at local restaurants with fresh vegetable, cold ice cream and nice view from the hill to the spectacular ocean.
We choose Viator services for the trip because of high quality of services, reasonable price and convenience . Specially for the trip to Hana, only Viator offers the right option. During the trip, the driver - tour guide was very friendly and gave us a lot of interesting stories about this island, its people and culture. He also gave us reasonable time to enjoy the nature, take some photos, go to the real North Pacific Ocean water and deeply breath fresh air.
It was the third destination of our 6-day trip to Hawaii islands. We have visited Honolulu Waikiki beaches for the first two days. And then we transferred to Big Island of Hawaii to explore the real active volcano for next two days. Before leaving Hawaii islands, we decided to stay 2 nights in Maui, and take one-day trip to Hana. We were very happy with this right decision.
It was the reason why the coast trip to Hana always ranked 1 of the most beautiful road trip in the whole America.
Just come and explore. You will enjoy it!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Julie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous day trip. The guides were wonderful and their passion about the island of Molokaii showed. It was a fun ferry ride including whale sightings and a beautiful sunset. The day was filled with some history, amazing views and some teaching about the culture. One of the guides danced while the other guide sang and then she told the story behind the kahiko dance during the lunch break.
I plan to return for more than a day trip in the future. The people are very friendly and the pace is different than on the mainland.

Doing what: Molokai Day Trip from Maui

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My sister and I booked this day trip having read Moloka'i by Alan Brennert, and falling in love with the island of Molokai and its history. After a beautiful flight from Oahu be prepared for a tiny airplane, we arrived at the Kalaupapa Airport. While there is some downtime waiting for other tour members, we just enjoyed the idyllic setting of the island and the true peace and quiet that can only come from a place like Molokai. Our tour guide, Norman, was the most authentic human being I've ever met. The tour was a little slow off the start, and I was anxious to get to more of the history and story of the island, but that came eventually. If you haven't read the aforementioned book before booking this tour, do so. You will have a greater appreciation for all that you are seeing and experiencing. I re-read the book immediately afterward and fell in love with the history all over again and especially loved having true scenery to connect to what I'd read. A very special experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

dhelusay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was amazing....From seeing the lava red glow in the sky, to walking in the lava tube and also in the rising steam from the volcano, simply amazing. Our guide, Marcus, was extremely knowledgeable and very personable as well. The only downside was that we didn't see any spewing lava, but that had nothing to do with the tour, only with mother nature. A long day trip, about 11 hours, but worth every minute of it.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Kona

Joy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. A great half day trip, if you want to see more, do the the whole day. Extremely moving and a lot of interesting history here.

Doing what: Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor and Punchbowl Sightseeing Tour

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great half-day trip to snorkel. We saw a huge eel, a squid, and swam with many colorful fish. Another highlight was a giant sea turtle! Staff was very friendly, you have a lot of time to snorkel. Food was better than we expected as well! Good for families.

Doing what: Molokini Snorkeling Adventure

Ralene O United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We really enjoyed our all day trip around the island. Our tour guide/driver was excellent. He was very informative as to the history of the Island and all of the sites. We enjoyed each of our many stops along the way and are so glad that we spent the to see the Island. Will definitely take other tours through Viator.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

TERRY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant half day trip the boat, crew and lunch were excellent. Saw small pods of dolphins and swam with a large variety of fish and a couple of turtles. Would definitely use this boat company again for future trips in Hawaii.

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Joseph L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a very enjoyable day trip from Maui. After taking the ferry from Lahaina, I was met by Jeremiah at the dock in Lanai. He was very informative on the past, present, and future plans for Lanai. The ride showed off the many beautiful sights of the island. After riding down the hills, we were met by his wife who transported us and the bikes back to the top of the hill to go in another direction. At the end of the tour there was an included lunch and time to enjoy a beautiful beach before taking the ferry back to Maui.
This company specializes in small group tours and they were very friendly, personable, and passionate about what they were doing. The smaller size allows them to personalize the tour and tailor it to the needs of the group. It was much more enjoyable than some of the larger bike tours on Maui where the process felt like an assembly line and the guides did not have much interest in being there.
Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Lanai Full Day Bike Tour And Ferry With Lunch

Adrienne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The flight to and from Mololai was a great experience, providing the three of us with some great views of Honolulu and of Molokai. A bonus benefit was meeting at the Kalaupapa airfield an old friend of mine whom I had not seen for forty years, plus a couple of other folks from our home state of Michigan . We were joined on the bus tour by the hikers and the mule riders who made the trip up and down the trail instead of flying in and who joined us for the bus tour. The gentleman tour guide and driver of the 1992 school bus was very informative, insightful, and inspiring. All in all, I consider this day trip the highlight of my entire ten days in Hawaii.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Michele T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome day trip. Z was a terrific tour guide, very knowledgeable and great driver. Bring a bathing suit and towel for a little swimming. Leave the driving to your guide it is well worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We spent 9 days in Oahu, made a day trip to the big island and did something different every day - this tour was the highlight! The experience was amazing and the crew was excellent. We saw too many sharks to count, some 12-14 ft and the visibility underwater was amazing, I am told it was 150ft. I wanted to do something adventurous while in Hawaii and this had good reviews and I decided to give it a shot. My wife told me to have fun since neither she of the kids would be jumping in a tank with sharks outside. Guess what - both she and my two 9 year old's ended up in the tank and had a blast. You don't need to be great in the water either, you get a snorkel kit, fins aren't needed, and climb down off the boat in to the cage - it is moored out at sea and you meet it with the boat, maybe a 20 minute ride form the dock. One more note about the crew - awesome. I had a nice talk with the captain and he gave me some great tips about the area. Finally, there is a nice little historic town next to the harbor from which the boat leaves, Haleiwa, be sure to give yourselves some time to check it out as well! The shave ice stand there is supposed to be awesome, there were about 50 people lined up when we were there.

Doing what: Oahu Shark Dive

MARK A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Super experience. The highlight of our holiday trip to HI,

Doing what: Oahu Submarine Scooter Adventure

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very nice tour. It started off a bit disorganized as the scheduled pick-up time on Viator was not the actual pick-up time of the tour. However, once we got picked up, everything went well. Pearl Harbor was a must-see attraction, and we are very happy we went there. The Circle Island day trip was also great. We had Kala for our guide and even though he talked non-stop in a monotonous way, he was a very friendly person. Our favorite stops were the Buddhist temple, Sunset Beach where we saw a monk seal--a rare treat!, and the Pali Lookout.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

Donna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

One of the best tours to take to get an overview of The Big Island in one day with a tour guide that does all the driving! Thank you, Kala and Wasabi Tours for taking me on an awesome day trip. I enjoyed seeing all the waterfalls and scenery but the best part was seeing the Kilauea lava flow from the Jaggar lookout. Kala was great in giving our tour so much interesting information and history. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting The Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome day trip. Would definitely recommend but go early in the morning. My family had a great time but it got really full by 11am and then the water got cloudy and more difficult to see as clearly in the wrapper. The fish were thick in the bay and didn't seem to mind you were there. Will do this again next time we're in Oahu.

Doing what: Hanauma Bay Snorkeling Adventure Half-Day Tour

JSCarterCRNA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great day trip. The 7-hour day trip starts out early (630 a.m. from Port Allen, near Hanepepe), but you begin with a continental breakfast, followed by beautiful views of Kaua'i as you head across the channel to Ni'ihau (The Forbidden Island). Once anchored off the coast, the snorkelling is excellent. There is a vast array of colourful fish, caves to swim into, and honu (sea turtles) gracefully gliding past as you snorkel. After snorkelling, a quick trip back across the channel takes you along the breathtaking NaPali coast. Drinks and lunch are provided before the return trip to Port Allen.

Captain Wendell and his crew (Zena, Jay and Kama) were great. They introduced themselves and asked about where we were visiting from, kept checking in to make sure we didn't need any more food or drinks, and answered our questions about the island and some of the things we saw. Captain Wendell did a great job narrating the snorkel cruise, and Zena spent time telling us some of the places the locals like to visit. Definitely worth it!

PS: If you get motion sickness, take some dramamine BEFORE hopping on board. You don't want to have your head in a bucket and miss these gorgeous sites!

Doing what: Napali and Ni'ihau 'The Forbidden Island' Kauai Snorkel Cruise

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great day trip. Informative island history, blended with just the right amount of "star tour". We would recommend this one to anyone! Plus, the sunset on top is FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fabulous day trip and one of the highlights of our stay in Hawaii. Great guide, great overview of the island, and a nice pace. We always take Viator tours wherever we travel - always top quality!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a wonderful experience on our day trip around the island. Our guide was absolutely fantastic, I cannot remember his name, but he really was the best. Was picked up at our hotel and dropped back to our hotel which was fantastic.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message