Aside from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the town of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii is one of the most popular attractions for island visitors. The hot, dry weather is a welcome change from the lush, tropical east side, and the nightlife in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fabulous day trip and one of the highlights of our stay in Hawaii. Great guide, great overview of the island, and a nice pace. We always take Viator tours wherever we travel - always top quality!

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a wonderful experience on our day trip around the island. Our guide was absolutely fantastic, I cannot remember his name, but he really was the best. Was picked up at our hotel and dropped back to our hotel which was fantastic.

Doing what: Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour with Dole Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful and informative trip. The guide really went out of his way to be entertaining and informative. In one day we got a great sense of the island of Oahu, Pearl Harbor and the memorials and so much more. I highly recommend this day trip. Everything was very well coordinated and planned, The guide was funny, informative and really went out of his way to ensure everyone's satisfaction.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an amazing day trip. Our tour guide Dwight was very knowledgeable and informative about the places he took us to see. A trip to Hawaii is not complete until you see Pearl Harbor. We learned a lot about the war that we weren't taught in school. It brought a whole new respect for the men and women who serve our country. These armed service members past, present and in the future will always receive my gratitude for giving me and my family the opportunity to travel and see the world and reflect on what we have to be thankful for.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was more than I could've asked for! Though it does make for a long day you get to experience so many great aspects of the big island. We were met at the airport by our guide for the day John. He was extremely knowledgeable as he has lived on the island for 20-30 years and had items for "show and tell" which gave you a great perspective on exactly what he was talking about. Our first stop was at a local store in order to stock up on water (which I promise you will want and need) as well as to get breakfast or snacks for the day. After that we were off to touring. Stops on the tour included a Japanese garden, a black sand beach with an opportunity to see a little bit of green sand, a visit to the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory, rainbow falls, visit to an orchid nursery, lunch and then the rest of the day was spent in volcanoes national park. You really get to experience so much on this tour and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Ample stops are made within the park getting to experience craters, different types and anomalies in lave flow, and the lava tube. You get back to the airport in plenty of time and we even ended up with extra time at the end of our tour so john stopped where there were some fast food and coffee options to choose from so that we could have dinner and not rely on the very limited options at the airport.

This is definitely a long day but without having to break up your vacation and actually stay on the big island ,this is the best way to get the total experience. We brought a small backpack with TSA size sunscreen, and rain jackets just in case but I would highly recommend some sort of jacket as the weather in different areas of the park can be quite different. We also brought some snacks that we purchased prior to this day trip so that for the day we only had to purchase lunch and water/beverages.

Highly, Highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I had a fantastic day exploring. The guide was totally awesome and very informative and knowledgeable. If ur looking for a day trip with some physical activity then this is for you. Swimming next to tortoise topped off the day

Doing what: Oahu Bike, Hike, Sail and Snorkel Combo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply amazing tour and guide. Sharon was fun and knowledgeable. Bus a/c died part of the day but windows down mode worked fine. Won't see spewing lava as sort of implied but lots of older lava flows and the crater. Left with 20 lbs of macadamia nuts i think! Great day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pearl Harbour was incredibly moving. A must "do" whilst in Hawaii. The day trip was great, really enjoyed seeing the Island and Garfield, our bus driver, was informatively fun.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The day trip to Oahu was well worth the time and money. The time at Pearl Harbor, including both the USS Arizona and USS Missouri, was a must-see for every American. The tour guide was very educational, funny, and flexible. He gave us many hints on how to make the most of our day. The trip was well organized. There were people on our tour from multiple islands, but we all got there about the same time and our departure flights were very close so there wasn't much wasted time. Our entire family enjoyed the day in Oahu.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of the many highlights of our trip. So many beautiful and different landscapes in one trip. Possibly the most efficient way to see the south side of Oahu in a short half-day trip. From Diamond Head to Hanauma Bay, to the countryside and Pali Lookout, we even got in some added bonus like Coconut Island where they filmed Gilligan's Island and several other iconic Hollywood filming locations. There were plenty of stops and photo ops along the way, and just the drive itself is amazing. I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages.

The tour itself is a must, but the company was fantastic, especially our guide, Cousin Dwight. The bus was practically new and very clean and comfortable. It had a bathroom and strong air conditioning. Our tour guide, Cousin Dwight is one of the most enthusiastic and passionate people I have ever met and he made our tour that much greater. He is hospitable and entertaining and has so much intricate knowledge of the island and culture. As a great added bonus, Cousin Dwight took us past the Hospital where President Obama was born, his grandmother's apartment, and even the local Baskin Robins where he worked as a kid scooping ice cream. I took so many beautiful photos on this trip and took home even more knowledge. Mahalo Cousin, and thanks for treating us all like Ohana!!!!

Doing what: Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great time really enjoyed the Circle Island Day trip, and the Pearl Harbor was something I will never forget. All in all I will never forget this Circle Island day it was just wonderful to see the sights and greenery and floral was all just beautiful. The tour guide was a great his name was Cousin Leo he was very informtive with all the history and current events of the trip of where we went. Cousin Leo also had a sense of humor made the trip great! Really enjoyed it I would go on this excrusion again. Thank you

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great all day trip. Our guide Katie was very knowledgeable. Wouldn't have been able to navigate through the park and had the experience we had without her.i

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a well organised day. Pearl Harbor experience was informative and fantastic especially meeting two pearl harbor survivors. Our Circle Island Day Trip was great. Our tour was small group and our driver funny and informative. We enjoyed the scenic drive around the famous beaches, lunch option was well priced with great variety, nut tasting and our pineapple ice cream at the pineapple plantation heavenly. Overall a great and enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona and Circle Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent Day trip - beautiful location, and plenty of tour options. Family had a wonderful day

Doing what: Full-Day or Half-Day Kualoa Ranch Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time on our city tour and Pearl Harbor Memorial tour. Our tour-guide was wonderful, engaging and informative. We were her Ohana (family) for a few hours. This 1/2 day tour was perfect for us as we weren't interested in an all day trip. (We wanted some valuable beach time!) The pick-up time was organized and punctual with our stop a block away from our hotel. We enjoyed seeing Honolulu from the open top of a double decker bus. For the first part, the city tour we stayed on the bus which slowed down for pictures. At Pearl Harbor, we were able to explore the museum which is mostly an outdoor venue with some indoor library/ galleries and shops. We then went into a theater area for a short narrated history of the attack on Pearl Harbor. We then exited the theater directly for the boat that made the short trip out to the memorial. It is a somber spot, the Arizona is a "burial ground" for those lost. I recommend that people dress and act appropriately with lowered voices. The return to our drop off area was direct and we were given earbuds to listen to Hawaiian music. I highly recommend this 1/2 day tour.

Doing what: Honolulu Sightseeing Tour Including Pearl Harbor and USS Arizona Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message