• USD ($)
  • English
Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fun, stress free trip. The tour guide was funny, and very informative. We would defiantly go again!
It was very neat to see a different island, and learn about the Big Island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

pretesh patel
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour outside Oahu giving a different perspective of Hawaii in this area of Hilo on the big island. Our tour guide Laura who was very passionate and knowledgeable on the tour made it a worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It is very informative and we had fun on the places we stopped by.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, the trip was nice. There were too many sightseeing stops along the way, that were of little significance, making the trip a very long day. Towards the end of the trip, a lot of people were too tired to get off the bus to see some of the more significant sights. Plenty of opportunities to get something to eat. We brought our lunch and snacks and kept them on the bus. Saved us some money. The driver was very knowledgable and funny and everything ran efficiently and on time. Overall, I would do it again, but suggest they eliminate some unnecessary stops.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour started off blandly...the Japanese garden was a sluggish start. It gathered steam during the day, and the Volcanoes Nat'l Park made up for the early sluggishness.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The waterfall hike was fabulous! Definitely recommend it. Our guide, Ashley, from Hike Maui was great! The kayaking was a lot of fun also. It's a great way to see all the wonderful things Maui has to offer! It's an exhausting day, but it was also one of our best days there!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

First Thing: The spiel for this says: "Hike over the lava flow with the possibility of seeing lava flowing downstream" - There is NO possibility you will see lava flows. If that's why you are taking the tour, you will be disappointed. According to our guide it hasn't been possible to get to any of the flow areas for ten years as the only place that happens currently is on private land.

The tour itself is good but not mind blowing, you get too see many of the same areas of historic eruptions and a fair few craters, with some steam. Assuming you are OK with the price for that then you will enjoy the tour, its nice to get across to another island to see it as you do get to see a lot of the island and the rainforest areas etc.

The additional stops (A Nursery, Nut Factory and a Chocolate Shop) are all just filler and you aren't missing anything by not going to them..

Have a look at the recent photos from this trip gallery on Viator as that's pretty much the kind of things you will be able to see. As long as you set the necessary expectations, then you will enjoy the tour.

Would I do it again knowing what I do now - No I wouldn't, for what it is it's quite expensive. You can get a full holiday to Iceland for the same sort of money from the UK, and see much the same sort of thing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Disappointed based on photos from ads and what was actually experienced.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fun filled day of adventure. Guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. Great tie was had by all!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was very interesting, guide was knowledgable about the area

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour from the word go. The rep Robert (Cap'n Rob) was superb. He's funny, knowledgeable and very informative. There's never a dull moment and the Cap'n kept everyone upbeat and clued in all the time. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone coming to the islands.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great time. Guides were very nice and had good info. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The length and cost of the tour was not worth it. The volcano part was interesting however you don't get close enough to see lava, just a lot of steam. We started at 5am and didn't get to the volcano until 2pm. There was a lot of uninteresting stops on the way. Did not get back to the hotel until 9.30pm. All úp almost 17 hours instead of the estimated 15. It was interesting to see the big island and it would be worth doing if you flew to the island yourself (only took 40min) and hired a car and drove there yourselves.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The visit to the Volcanoes National Park was very good, but the rest of the tour was horrendous! It is a ploy that traps people into going to tourist trap purchasing venues, wastes an incredible amount of time getting on and off the bus to go into these venues, and takes about 15 hours to do what should be done in about 8 hours. The timing of flights to and back are awful, again wasting time. This is an expensive trip in the first place, with no benefit of food involved; instead the tour company forces participants to purchase food and drink. In addition, the "dinner stop" of about 20 minutes is at either Burger King or KFC! You should not condone this trip and should investigate as to why participants are trapped on a freezing bus, forced to go and do whatever the driver wants to do, spend additional money on junk, wolf down awful food, etc. Why in the world is there a stop at the Volcano House, unless it was to be the dinner venue?? Our driver allowed two people to hold us up there and at other stops throughout the trip! Overall a disappointing, very exhausting and too expensive trip!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message