Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 307 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Captain Rob, was AWESOME! He was right with us in the museums and in the lava fields and explaining things up close and in person and it was so much better than any of the tours that I had otherwise taken. If you don't have time to spend more than a day on the Big Island than this tour is worth it because it was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide was very informative and kept everything exciting. Not everyday you get to see an active volcano, and an island still being born from lava deposits. Incredible sights. Although unforgettable, the long day does take it out of you...so be prepared.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This day was surprising and amazing. Perfect day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing Big Island !! so so beautiful !! I love it.. tour guide was very nice and sweet.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable. He was by far the best tour guide we had while on or visit to the Big Island. Had a blast and learned a lot from his show and tell. We would do it again if I knew I would have him to go with. Even thought we did not see Lava like we did 10 years ago. He made this trip enjoyable and very pleasant.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The only downside of trip was the lady who met us at the airport at the beginning of the day. She was very disorganized and could not believe we were there o early. We found her at 5:40- we were told to be there by 5:30!
Our day guide,Leroy Johnson, made up for the bad start. He was knowledgeable and quite personable. Leroy was very organized and professional

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Viator was a problem; the tour was good. We did not know where we were going and did not know what to bring. The hike ends with a walk through a knee-deep stream with a rocky bottom. We did not know what footwear to bring and cut our feet.
Do not use Viator. Contact the activity provider.

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This is one of those yours where the tour delivered exactly as advertised, the guide was great, and I had fun for the day, but I was expecting more and hoping to see more than what was there. That's not the guide's fault or anything it's just seeing the volcano just as a crater with steam coming out of it...I don't know. I was expecting more. The stops at the fields were lava had flowed over the land were great and the lava tube was very interesting albeit short. I guess it just has to do more with what I had in mind more than the quality of this tour. I guess to I'm bias in my review as I prefer Kuaui or Oahu to The Big Island. It's worth doing, but I found myself wanting to be on another island at the end of the day rather than returning to the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Not what I was led to believe from the advert. Our guide did nothing but complain about no jobs and yet did not want change or development of the Island. A lot of time sitting at airports.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I enjoyed the trip but it could easily have been a couple of hours shorter and made even more enjoyable. There were several stops (like at the orchids shop, the Japanese garden in Hilo, and the Volcano House hotel) that could have been eliminated, allowing folks to not have to leave their hotels at 5:00 am in order to catch a 6:50 flight.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was comprehensive, though rather touristy. Disappointed not to see flowing lava, but the guide was very informative. Very glad to have a small, rather than large, bus.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This was a BIG day and an expensive tour .. 17 hours in total (with 1 hour delay for our flight back) and not one i would recommend unfortunately.
It was promised as a day engulfed in the excitement of the Volcanoes however we were not allowed anywhere near the lava flow or even any vista of it .. so the day was spent walking over hardened flows from the 1960's and 80's, Orchid flower nursery(????? why ?) and macadamia nut factory (which was closed other than the store).
Not really recommended

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Jane our tour director was AWESOME!! Very knowledgeable, very pleasant, great speaking voice, very well spoken. Great trip!! Thank you!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must when visiting Hawaii. Was well and truly worth every cent. HUGE day but worth it. got to see everything up close. great bus driver had lots of local knowledge and was very entertaining. Lots of stops for food and breaks and freedom to go explore at your own leisure then meet back at the bus.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

All went well except the weather, no control over that. Foggy and drizzle most of day. But tour on bus was good guide was entertaining. Weather cleared for about 30 minutes and we did get to see the volcano, steam vents, walked on old lava flows, thru lava tubes, etc. I think we got on and off the bus at least 25 times at different places. All went well and my wife and I had a great time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message