Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The volcano was amazing! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another great trip through Viator! Our trip was seamless. We drove to the airport and were met by a tour guide who helped us get our boarding pass. We took a 40 min flight to the Big Island where we were met by our Driver/Guide Walter, who was one of the best guides we've ever had. He grew up on Hawai'i so he gave us a local's perspective and knowledge. He kept us on task in a non-rushed way. We saw so much more than was on our itinerary. We walked on old lava flows and a black sand beach. We saw water falls, an orchid farm, and the Mauna Loa Macademia nut farm. There were plenty of gift shops, bathroom stops, and picture taking stops. We stopped at a restauant for optional lunch purchase, which was not made clear in the itinerary. We brought sandwiches but had them for dinner instead as food at the airport on the return trip was limited. Volcanoes National park is awesome! Overall, a fabulous trip through Viator, the local tour company and our Guide Walter, and one we highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Walter, our tour guide was outstanding. I wish we were warned in advance that there were no active lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Jane was an amazing driver and tour guide. Long day but worth every minute. Perfectly organized. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our adventure day. Our guide was very pleasant, humorous, and knowledgeable. Wish we had more time at the Jagger museum. Other than that the day was perfect. Good selection for the lunch meal. The food was delicious. We are 70 years old but did not find the day to be too strenuous even though we went to many sites. Would definitely go on another tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. The tour guide (Captain Rob) has a passion for the island, and it showed. The raw power and devastation of the volcano was contrasted by the beauty of the flora it brings.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour- will do it again.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day but fantastic! Our guide Walter was so knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Can't rate this tour highly enough. Amazing to see something we may never see again.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was more than amazing I am so happy that I use Viator.com to help me put it together I highly recommended

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good. The guide was amazing, much better than some of the other tour guides.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

From start to finish it was easy to follow. They tour guide gives you up to date information. There are moments in the tour that are spectacular!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour last week and are glad we got to see the Big Island. It wasn't what we imagined it to be. I was disappointed in a number of things that had nothing to do with the tour but with my own preconceived ideas: there's so much rain in this area that everything smells musty, the landscape is so barren unlike other islands, the restaurant we stopped at was horrendous and the black sand beach was nothing like I imagined. The orchid factory was nice and the flowers were absolutely beautiful. The overlook at the Jaggar Museum was very busy but once your turn at the edge came, boy was that something to see. The museum was nice and I would have liked more time there only because it was so busy. I think the lava tube was kind of a let down only because it wasn't as long as I thought it would be. Be sure to stay far away from the bathrooms at the lava tube - they were beyond disgusting. Again, this is not the tours fault. The Japanese garden was nice to walk through and I'm sure it's even more beautiful when the sun is shining. Seeing the lava fields that seem to go on forever ending in the ocean really put an eruption into perspective. Our driver/tour guide was fantastic and we learned so much during this day. The day is very long we were picked up at 5am and returned about 10pm but we were all glad we experienced this at least once.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We saw a lot although it was a very long day. Flights were good and well organised. Would have preferrred more time in the Volcanoes National Park rather than other activities such as orchid sellers. Thurston lava tube was amazing. Be warned it was very wet and quite cold. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour great well worth the money. Tour guide Leroy was so knowledgeable, very accommodating. Long day but we had a great time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great time on our tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We were there when the lava was flowing and got to see it. It was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We enjoyed the tour however I think it was A Lot of money for what we got. It is also a long day and we would have preferred to have time for a nice dinner at the end of the day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This was a long day!! We got to see the active volcano!! We had a really nice time on this tour!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The guide was amazing! He gave us lots of informations! The volcanoes National Park is definitely a one of a kind place on earth and is totally worth seeing !

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well worth the effort of a very long day. It was exhilarating to stand on the edge of the main crater.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My sister and I enjoyed this excursion. It was a LONG day, but worth it. It includes many stops along the way but ultimately, the volcano, history, lava tube, and the lava fields were the most exciting.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Our guide/driver Hugh was very nice and informative, but there's no more visiting to the Rainbow Falls neither Black Sand Beachthis doesn't even exist anymore. At the moment there's nowhere you can actually see molten lava flowing. You should review information folio to avoid disappointment to customers. Besides that a nice day around lots of cooled down lava, craters from previous eruptions and some nice views around the park. Somewhat tiring for being an all day tour, and that's from 5:30 am to around 9:00 pm.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message