Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Captain Rob showed us so many things on this tour and was very knowledgeable about volcanoes and The Big Island. The tour was very well paced and managed to fit in a great diversity of places of interest. I'd also like to say how very grateful I am that the tour operator was willing to change our tour dates when our whole Hawaiian trip was rescheduled due to the hurricanes. We are extremely appreciative of the flexibility shown to us and the efficiency of the good people at Viator for sorting things out for us.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Simply amazing tour and guide. Sharon was fun and knowledgeable. Bus a/c died part of the day but windows down mode worked fine. Won't see spewing lava as sort of implied but lots of older lava flows and the crater. Left with 20 lbs of macadamia nuts i think! Great day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a great trip! Well worth the early flight. Our driver, Leroy, was knowledgable and funny and knew the answer to every question. We had plenty of opportunities to eat, take pictures and bathroom breaks. I highly recommend doing this rather than trying to organize it yourself .

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with a great guide , unfortunately we did not see lava flowing

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Overall, this was a fabulous day. Upon arrival in Hilo, it started a little slowly, with sights and locations en route to the Volcano National Park. But overall it was a fascinating and really enjoyable tour. Well worth the long day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Tour was fair to OK, but padded out with frequent stoppages to fill in the day. Half hour stops at gardens and black sands/canoes are a waist of time. Just filling in the morning. Orchid displays and macadamia nut farm were ok, but could be classed as time fillers also. Time was also waisted at cemeteries, to help fill in the morning and time allocated at these morning stops was not enforced by tour guide. e.g. the 30 minutes allowed often expanded to 45 minutes and guide was not worried by this extended time. This only indicated that he was filling in time. Waited all day to see larva flow, larva tube and volcano, which was very good. Tour promotion is over rated and not good value for money. Shot gun approach to seat allocation on plane was another minus for the tour. Could not recommend tour at its current price and time wasting format. Day on island could be shorter, just concentrate on main features. I.E. Volcano, larva flow, larva tube, and Rainbow falls. The day is very long, pick up at 5am, return home at 9:30pm. So consider this before booking

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

False advertising at its greatest. The Lava hasn't flowed for 2 years. How can they justify advertising this when it it only possible to see some smoke ( not even a peak of red ) from 3 miles away. I was very disappointed as i paid for 6 members of my family to have an adventure. Shame shame

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

carolmiller
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Oh dear, this trip was one of the longest trips ever and rather tideous at times !!
We had our departure time changed from 7.30 am to 5.30am !! Not really what you want on your holidays!
We then had 4 hours of going too the Macademia Nut company and the orchid nursery ,we didn't see any volcanic scenery till after 1pm !!
The scenery was stunning but unfortunately the weather had turned and we were all losing the will listening to our guide Cousin Lauren who droned on about anything !!
We didn't see any lava flows although apparently there were some but not safe to see them which when you think about it,it was always going to be the case really .
The black beach was very disappointing and if you have visited the Canary Islands youu will be disappointed .
We wished we had taken a helicopter tour of Big Island as you would see more.
We didn't get back till 9.30 pm , it was a very long day indeed .We would not recommend this trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fun, stress free trip. The tour guide was funny, and very informative. We would defiantly go again!
It was very neat to see a different island, and learn about the Big Island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip to the Big Island with Granddaughters was very nice. I was there several years ago but saw different things on this trip. Our trip guide JANE was very good and answered any questions we had.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

pretesh patel
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour outside Oahu giving a different perspective of Hawaii in this area of Hilo on the big island. Our tour guide Laura who was very passionate and knowledgeable on the tour made it a worthwhile day out.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It is very informative and we had fun on the places we stopped by.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Overall, the trip was nice. There were too many sightseeing stops along the way, that were of little significance, making the trip a very long day. Towards the end of the trip, a lot of people were too tired to get off the bus to see some of the more significant sights. Plenty of opportunities to get something to eat. We brought our lunch and snacks and kept them on the bus. Saved us some money. The driver was very knowledgable and funny and everything ran efficiently and on time. Overall, I would do it again, but suggest they eliminate some unnecessary stops.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour started off blandly...the Japanese garden was a sluggish start. It gathered steam during the day, and the Volcanoes Nat'l Park made up for the early sluggishness.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The waterfall hike was fabulous! Definitely recommend it. Our guide, Ashley, from Hike Maui was great! The kayaking was a lot of fun also. It's a great way to see all the wonderful things Maui has to offer! It's an exhausting day, but it was also one of our best days there!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message