Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 378 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Big Island Trip was fantastic. A very long day but worth the sites. Sites I will probably never see again. The driver/guide was great and everything was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

rayfrozen_98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day trip. We loved black sand beach and hardened lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Amy G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this day trip to Hilo to tour the volcanoes and I am so glad we did. I really think this was the highlight of our trip. You really have no idea until you see the National Park the magnitude of the volcanoes. It's amazing. Captain Rob was our guide and he was terrific. He was so knowledgeable and funny. Be prepared for a very long day from the time you are picked up at your hotel, until the time you are dropped back off but you will not be disappointed. The waterfall we saw was picture perfect, the black sandy beach we stopped at was quaint, and everything else in between. We really appreciated the fact that if you didn't want to do a lot of walking you didn't have to. The shuttle bus took you everywhere and really I think there was only one point that an older person in our group was not able to participate in. and it was not something that he was deprived of, believe me Captain Rob even made sure to lock the bus when we were off exploring, so you never had to worry about your stuff. The lunch stop was great too! You ordered your food once you are on the bus so that the restaurant was prepared for us. Very well organized. We had the bacon cheeseburger and it was awesome! I was even amazed at the airport in Hilo. The departure lounge was nothing like I have ever seen in an airport before. Definitely Hawaiian. Very laid back and comfortable! I highly recommend this tour! If you are thinking about a day trip... just do it! You will not regret it!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Terry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! I really need to tell you how great Ari, Kelly and Julio are! They really make the trip fun. Bring bug spray and hiking shoes. Love the kayaking. Thank you Ari for your help, I would have had a hard time with out you
Terry Grandma

Doing what: Hidden Valley Falls Kayak and Kauai Hike Adventure

Rodney S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a most fascinating tour although some things could have been better. The huge day starts with an early morning flight from Honolulu to Hilo. The breakfast stop soon after boarding the bus was most welcome. The next stop at the black sand beach could have benefited from the guide walking to the beach with us and explaining the black sand etc. Other stops on the way were ok except I dont get the relevance of the orchid nursery visit. Once we hit the solid lava fields our minds were totally captivated. The scenery is simply stunning and breathtakingly beautiful. Amazing shapes and formations. The end of the day visit to the observatory looking out over the caldera was truely amazing. Hints of molten rock could be seen in the distance as the light faded. A magic end to a most magical day. The transfers all were on time and hassle free. Well done to all involved. I would do this again but would like more time to walk around the caldera.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Linda S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very long day but well worth the effort. We were picked up on time and everything went according to plan. Lots of amazing sites to see. I must see for anyone who does not live with this kind of landscape.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mary Kae B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time and our tour guide was fabulous! Would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Teri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day. Our drive Jane was great at pointing out all the interesting sights. The only problem was the weather which was out of everyone's control.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All travel connections went as scheduled and the tour guide was excellent. We learned a lot, saw a lot, and had a lot of fun.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

jess Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very long day but with doing, tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. Good opportunity to see the island and volcanic landscape

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

BRENDA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Auntie Sharon was fabulous, humorous and knowledgeable at the same time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bruce J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience. Learn a lot about the island, it's history, horticulture and volcanos. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and had a lot of great stories. He kept the tour moving along quite smoothly and got us to the airport on time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Karen T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was very good, although a little too long. Expected to see more volcanic activity. Tour very expensive for what you get. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Lea-Anne G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Don't expect to get close to any actual lava or volcano activity.. that is not possible.. other than that a really good day out.. well paced... the dry lava fields were amazing..

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carmel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very long day but well worth it. Our driver /guide was Jane, she was very informative,entertaining and a pleasure to spend the day with.We feel we have covered most of the Big Island in one day,especially loved staying to twilight to watch the crater change colour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Captain Rob was fantastic! He was very informative and personable. He was extremely entertaining. Kept everyone's attention.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day of fun and adventure. Early pick and hotel, full day in the Big Island! Very informative tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Waltraud M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Simply great - very impressive - super organized - worth the money

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jean Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic. Transportation impeccable from our hotel to the big island and back to our hotel.
Great tour including full of happy surprises. The tour guide/driver Sharon was great and very informative.
We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Larry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Walter was amazing. He has unbelievable knowledge about the Volcano National Park and had the ability to share his information in a very easy to understand and interesting way. The entire day was very enjoyable and I highly recommend this day long trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Divya M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I would recommend this tour for everyone though the day went slightly slow for us, we still loved the experience.
When the day started off, they picked us up almost 45 minutes late, and hence we were slightly disappointed. But as the day went along it became better. We went to a black sand beach, saw an active volcano, the whole day was full of activities. We loved it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I love it. The hike was great and what can I say about the volcano. It was a must see

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message