• USD ($)
  • English
Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 273 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Captain rob was on point, it's like he owned the company. He is always researching ways to make his tour better. Captain rob is what all of driver should be if their not. Great job captain rob

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

The volcanoes tour was way to long .we seen a volcanoes and lots of lava rock and more lava rock and more.,We spent five and a half hours looking at lava rock. I would not recommend this tour to anyone .It should be shorter.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

deluded
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This one was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide (Sharon) was very knowledgeable and kept the day interesting.

We had a clear sunny day and was able to take in the beautiful surroundings.

Doing a day trip means that it was a very long day, so be prepared.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

wonderful trip very informative

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

I'm sure I wouldn't be the first person to start a review of this tour with the words "It was an early start and a very long day...", but there was so much to squeeze in it couldn't be any other way. My partner and I have a great day and our tour guide was a fountain of information, although I think the poor guy was fighting a losing battle to entice a sense of enthusiasm out of any of us towards the end of the long, tiring day. The volcano park was amazing and spectacular, well worth the journey even without seeing any flowing lava. At times it was like walking on another planet. If I had any suggestion at all, however, it may be to offer a shorter day's tour just to the Volcanoes National Park. As much as the orchid farm and macadamia factory were interesting, and I know these tours help support the local economy (which I am all in favour of), it made for a really, really long day. But really, it was a great day, one which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our review is somewhat mixed. The tour operator was well organized and there were no issues with logistics. Our "day" in Volcanoes NP didn't start until 2pm although we arrived in Hilo airport just after 8am. We made several stops along the way before our arrival. A short stop viewing a waterfall in Hilo, a couple of souvenir stops, and lunch. After arrival in the park we spent too much time walking on lava rock and not much time at the craters. Would have liked to have seen the lava flows or perhaps have the option of a hike into a crater. Weather didn't cooperate as the last stop was supposed to be the highlight of the trip which was a stop at Jaggar Museum for a view of Kilauea Caldera. Clouds/Fog/Rain which arrived later in the afternoon obstructed the views. Well worth a return visit.....in a rental car.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

flor_dli
Argentina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Ww wanted to see the volcano, and it was only possible in the afternoon. All morning we visited boring things, like a macadamia nuts factory (just take us there to buy things).
It was nice, but there should be a good description of the tour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I would like more stars to rate this experience properly!!!.................

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Outstanding experience. The logistics all worked as advertised, and the tour itself was amazing. Our guide Robert (aka Capt. Rob) was simply the best. He was a botanist, a vulcanologist and and expert on all things about the island of Hawai'i. His narrative was so informative, and his demeanor was so pleasant and accessible, that it was truly a pleasure to be on an organized guided tour with him - something we usually avoid as a rule. The guides for this trip rotate, so I can assure you that it is worth finding out when Capt. Rob is going to do the trip (if possible) and book the day he is the lead.

Wonderful, memorable trip!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic on the volcanoes which was after lunch time. Thoroughly enjoyed these 4 hours.
In the morning coming from Honolulu we had to get up at 4 am - no problem with that. But although we reached Big Island by 8am there was hardly anything happening ( except a short 20 minutes trip to the black sands beach which was nice) - ended up spending a lot of time in garden nursery, Macademia shop etc. All in the group felt it was such a waste of time coming to the Big Island for the first time and May be the only time. There must be more in the island to explore than having to spend time in Garden Nursery and shop outlets!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Very long day. The highlights were really the black sand beach which you see first and the volcano which you see last. The guide we had was hilarious and it was cool to see what resembled another planet.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a great tour! Our guide Leroy was very knowlegable and made the trip enjoyable! I would def recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Big Island tour of the volcanoes was the unexpected highlight of my recent trip to Hawaii. We started off bumpy. I purposely booked the Hawaiian Air ticket which costs more but even so, unexpected mechanical problems caused us to switch aircrafts and we were delayed in getting to Hilo on the Big Island by about an hour. We were picked up by Polynesian Adventures right away at the airport and our day began!
Our tour guide, Jane, was fantastic. Our tour group was small, less than 10 of us all together. She tailored the day to what we wanted to do and see and the pace of all our stops seemed just perfect. She let us know exactly where we were going and why we were making our stops in that order. She made it so that we would be able to squeeze in time to see the light from the lava in the caldera at twilight. We had a jam packed day but it was all worth it. You will have to wake up before dawn and you will get back to your hotel at 9 or 10pm but it will be an experience you'll always remember. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has never seen the volcanoes in Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message