Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 366 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

BRENDA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Auntie Sharon was fabulous, humorous and knowledgeable at the same time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bruce J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience. Learn a lot about the island, it's history, horticulture and volcanos. Our guide John was very knowledgeable and had a lot of great stories. He kept the tour moving along quite smoothly and got us to the airport on time.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Karen T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour was very good, although a little too long. Expected to see more volcanic activity. Tour very expensive for what you get. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Lea-Anne G

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Don't expect to get close to any actual lava or volcano activity.. that is not possible.. other than that a really good day out.. well paced... the dry lava fields were amazing..

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carmel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very long day but well worth it. Our driver /guide was Jane, she was very informative,entertaining and a pleasure to spend the day with.We feel we have covered most of the Big Island in one day,especially loved staying to twilight to watch the crater change colour.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Captain Rob was fantastic! He was very informative and personable. He was extremely entertaining. Kept everyone's attention.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day of fun and adventure. Early pick and hotel, full day in the Big Island! Very informative tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Waltraud M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Simply great - very impressive - super organized - worth the money

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jean Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic. Transportation impeccable from our hotel to the big island and back to our hotel.
Great tour including full of happy surprises. The tour guide/driver Sharon was great and very informative.
We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Larry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Walter was amazing. He has unbelievable knowledge about the Volcano National Park and had the ability to share his information in a very easy to understand and interesting way. The entire day was very enjoyable and I highly recommend this day long trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Divya M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I would recommend this tour for everyone though the day went slightly slow for us, we still loved the experience.
When the day started off, they picked us up almost 45 minutes late, and hence we were slightly disappointed. But as the day went along it became better. We went to a black sand beach, saw an active volcano, the whole day was full of activities. We loved it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I love it. The hike was great and what can I say about the volcano. It was a must see

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I highly recommend this tour! Our guide Walter was a local who knew everything about the island and had a true passion to share history and sightseeing opportunities. He has made many visits to the volcano park in his life so he was able to tell us about lava activities and timelines. Great tour!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Martin J T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Great trip but you will be hungry. You get up to catch the bus to the airport at 5am and there are no restaurants open and you return around 10pm and again there are no restaurants open at the airport in Hilo or when you get back to Oahu unless you want bar food. Very poor tour planning for the price you pay to not include these meals as well as the lunch option.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Madeleine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a fantastic tour that ran smoothly from the pick up my hotel the flight to Hilo the marvelous tour with our leader Leroy, who was very knowledgeable and interesting, to seeing the Volcano and the return trip.
A day to remember.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Michelle B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This is an interesting day. Our driver/guide, Sharon, was very informative and a lot of fun. We had plenty of time at each stop and never felt rushed, especially at the Volcano. But don't expect to see lava flowing! We did however stop at some old flow sites and even walked on it, which was pretty cool. It is a good way to see some of the Big Island, and see that it is quite different to some of the other islands. But it is only a taste! The tour was well organised right from the pick up and flights, but it is a long day. I really enjoyed it

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

dykebrad

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was good. It was mostly rainy and overcast so difficult to see the steam vents and the caldera.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Greg M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

The thing that saved this tour was the magnificent scenery of the lava and the ocean in the afternoon. The tour driver was the worst I have ever had as he burped constantly into the microphone to the disgust of all of the tour. He would not shut up even after saying he was going to give us some rest time. There were too many stops during the tour and the time would be better spent up on the volcano and surrounding lava fields. It was a very expensive day trip and we came back very disappointed.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sammy B O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a full day tour, be prepared to wake early wake up and return late, but believe me its all worth it. Our trip was seamless, hotel pickup to the airport where our boarding passes where waiting. A short 45 min flight to the Big Island where we were met by our driver / guide Rob, who is one of the best guides we've ever had, very knowledgeable and easy going. The flow of the overall tour was conducted in a non-rushed way. We saw so much more than was on our itinerary. We walked on old lava flows, black sand beach and lava tunnel. We where taken to a waterfall, an orchid farm, and the Mauna Loa Macadamia nut farm. There were plenty of gift shops, bathroom stops, and picture taking stops. We brought our own snacks to nibble during the day but lunch at the Volcano House was average and rushed. Volcanoes National park is awesome and an overall a day that we will never forget. Final tip, there is limited food at Hilo airport for the trip back.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Debra E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a big day. An early pickup for the airport, but not too long to wait and then Sharon had us for the day. She talked non stop, telling us all about the Big Island, dropping us off at regular intervals to look at the sights. We were even entertained with an impromptu song and hula display by Sharon, wonderfully executed.
We only had the day and saw so much, getting home that night. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

gtrauner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was a good trip.Its a long day because you see a lot.Our driver was very knowledgeable of the area.You need good walking shoes for this as there is some rocky terrain.They have a restaurant at the edge of a crater were you have an amazing view of the area.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

airofft

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

I found this to be a great tour, but a long day. A few of the things we got to see/do was walk on a black sand beach, visit a macadamia nut farm, view a live caldera with steam coming out, plus view various steam and sulfur vents. Lunch was at the Volcano House, where you can see the live caldera with steam coming out of it. Walter, our tour guide, was excellent as he was very knowledgeable and friendly. The only negative was that it was a long day. Twelve hours in, all of the different volcano rocks and craters were hard to distinguish. This was because we were tired.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Dennis W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

Long long day,afternoon ok when your doing things relevant to the volcano but the morning is spent visiting irrelevant places like orchid factory and another one I can't even remember,a nut factory I think,tour guide very knowledgable about the geology of the region and kept us informed during the day,but it's a long day for a lot of money and can't really recommend this trip from Honolulu,however if your already on the big island,go for the afternoon section,it's decent

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Heidi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very fun and full day of learning about how the Hawaiian Islands were formed. Our guide Walter was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message