Even though all of Hawaii has jaw-droppingly beautiful scenery, experts seem to agree that the island of Kaua’i is unparalleled in its rugged beauty. Seeing as the Garden Isle is the oldest of the main Hawaiian Islands, it consequently is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Oliver B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Kayak down a beautiful river with a nice cool dip at Kauai's secret waterfall over packed lunch. The paddle home was pretty strenuous for us against the current and wind, but everybody made it safely.

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Leslie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cole our guide was outstanding! Very knowledgeable in all things Kauai, born and raised Kauai. Explained plants and uses when hiking. Always made sure we were safe Kyaking. The trip is not for those unfit. I must admit I did find some unknown musles. Would not have missed this experience.
If you are up for some fun exercise this is it!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of best things we did as a family in Kauai. Michelle was our guide, and she was awesome! She was super friendly and knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the island. Our girls, ages 6 and 10, loved talking to her as we hiked. The river, the hike, and especially the falls, were breathtaking and beautiful. This was such a fantastic experience, getting off the beaten path and experiencing Kauai's wild nature and beauty. I recommend this to anyone, any age, who wants to have a true experience with the nature of Kauai. Awesome trip, so worth it!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Ryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was super fun! Our guide, Cole, was great. He was super nice and funny. He had a lot of interesting information to share with us and was very knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time on the both the river and the hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Joe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Breathtaking! Elvis was great, we traveled as a family...kids still saying, well...Elvis said....

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Elaina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Web was a excellent guide, really knows the waters both ocean and river because he grew up in Kauai. We got to experience both river and ocean kayaking, as well as see an amazing variety of fish snorkeling in beautiful Hanalei Bay. Web is very safety conscious. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Stefanie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Terrific trip!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Cary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a highlight! Nice workout! Hard work but not too bad! We went with the outfitters and the whole day was just so fun! We will do it again if we ever go back! The scenery was breathe taking!

Doing what: Na Pali Coast Sea Kayak

jandruka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely ride up the river and really cool hike through the jungle to a spectacular waterfall.

The kayak portion was very doable, even if you're not an experienced kayaker which we definitely aren't. One of the highlights was passing through a low tree tunnel en route to the hike. Water shoes are very highly recommended for getting in and out of the kayaks and wading through the river.

Our river guide, Sage, was born and raised on the island, and his knowledge of the plant life in the jungle was pretty astounding. Still can't believe he did the entire hike with his bare feet! The mile-long hike was very enjoyable, and Sage stopped to demonstrate how the ancient people used a lot of the flora in their everyday lives, which was fascinating. We stopped for lunch at the waterfall the vegetarian option, tofu sandwich, was great, as was the fresh pineapple and got a little time to swim in the watering hole there.

A great way to spend a day away from the resort and see the natural beauty of the island. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Jean O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Guides were great and very helpful. Had a wonderful time even though not great at Kayaking. Loved the snorkeling- good place for beginners! Would go again.

Doing what: Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Tara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour!!! Relaxing yet adventurous!

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Larry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tandom kayaking and hike trip up the Wailua River and the Valley of the Kings was very enjoyable and quite stunning. The guide was very informative regarding the extended history of the Hawaiin people and their habitation of the area.The adventurous walk on the jungle path was beautiful.

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Kaitlyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome! The scenery on the river was beautiful and the waterfall very secluded and majestic. The tour guide was great and very insightful as well. The hike wasn't very hard but I would definitely suggest tennis shoes or hiking boot because there was lots of mud, rocks, and tree roots

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Hawaii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our second time doing this tour. Our guide was great, we were a group of six adults and we have him just for us. After the kayaking you do some hiking. This time if was a little muddy, it had been raining a lot the previous week, definitely you need hiking shoes or good grip foot ware. When you get to the falls for a refreshing dip you will need for protection, there is a lot of rocks in the bottom.
The picnic lunch by the water fall is breathtaking ........don't expect much: Turkey sandwich, cookies and pineapple. Water and fruit juice is included. We had a great time.........

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Nasibo K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Brett K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Suzanne Saville S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my favorite excursion of all. The gentle 2 mile kayak followed by a little over a mile hike led to the beautiful falls. At one point all the other groups left and our small group had the falls all to ourselves for about 15 minutes.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Chris W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was awesome. Our guide was very good with telling us about the area's flora and wildlife. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

rylenk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Mud and all this was a small group tour, four of us the other couple didn't show, their loss but waiting for them put a timmed crunch on us, that shouldn't be but guide Jessie was awesome. Pictures upload later.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Kristien M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was by far the coolest thing I've done on the island! When they say... The trail is a bit muddy.. They mean it! First you get to experience the beauty of Kauai by kayak and then you get to forge a river, sludge through mud pits and then enjoy lunch by the beauty of the waterfall. l loved it!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

renee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Lucas was awesome!!!!! This was a lot of fun even though we were walking through mud up to our knees practically. They were honey from the get go. Everyone was really nice. Will do this one again when we go back and ask for Lucas!!!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Doug G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Kelly was Fab!! Loooooved the mud :) It's the perfect amount of on the water and hiking time! Great time for experienced and novice outdoors people!! Thanks Kayak Kauai!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Cathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour with our guide Kelly. He was very knowledgable about the island, history and plants. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was comfortable with the kayaking and hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

joe b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were a little worried because when we got there, we found out that we were the only 2 participants that were not part of a large wedding party. As it turned out, our worries were unfounded because we had a great time with both the kayaking experience and the hike. Thank you very much!
Joe and Cheryl Brown

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

JOHN B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a great trip. Not only was the Kayaking a bunch of fun but the hiking was amazing through the jungle and mud. Lot's of fun and exercise. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message