Even though all of Hawaii has jaw-droppingly beautiful scenery, experts seem to agree that the island of Kaua’i is unparalleled in its rugged beauty. Seeing as the Garden Isle is the oldest of the main Hawaiian Islands, it consequently is the most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sean K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! Good mix of kayaking, hiking, and swimming!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an excellent excursion. We had Kelly as our guide and he was knowledgeable, patient, and interesting. The scenery is spectacular and the kayaking and hike were adventurous, but not difficult. Everyone at Smith's was very polite and accommodating.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Terry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! I really need to tell you how great Ari, Kelly and Julio are! They really make the trip fun. Bring bug spray and hiking shoes. Love the kayaking. Thank you Ari for your help, I would have had a hard time with out you
Terry Grandma

Doing what: Hidden Valley Falls Kayak and Kauai Hike Adventure

Mohan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an awesome one. We really enjoyed this tour. Bryan was our guide. He was very patient with us. We had some difficulties in the beginning with the kayak. He was patient enough to teach us and guide us. He was also very entertaining and knowledgeable of the local customers and events. He shared lots of information with us on the things to do there. The tour consists of about 2 miles of kayaking and 1 mile of hiking to the falls. Not a hard one. Nice experience getting to the falls.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Dennis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our kayak/hike tour guide, Michelle, was top notch. She kept us comfortable, informed us of what was around us, and had enough humor to keep us occupied and going. I would highly recommend this tour given Michelle as the guide. We were a party of 8 with 6 of us older than dirt.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Oliver B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Kayak down a beautiful river with a nice cool dip at Kauai's secret waterfall over packed lunch. The paddle home was pretty strenuous for us against the current and wind, but everybody made it safely.

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Leslie M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Cole our guide was outstanding! Very knowledgeable in all things Kauai, born and raised Kauai. Explained plants and uses when hiking. Always made sure we were safe Kyaking. The trip is not for those unfit. I must admit I did find some unknown musles. Would not have missed this experience.
If you are up for some fun exercise this is it!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was one of best things we did as a family in Kauai. Michelle was our guide, and she was awesome! She was super friendly and knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the island. Our girls, ages 6 and 10, loved talking to her as we hiked. The river, the hike, and especially the falls, were breathtaking and beautiful. This was such a fantastic experience, getting off the beaten path and experiencing Kauai's wild nature and beauty. I recommend this to anyone, any age, who wants to have a true experience with the nature of Kauai. Awesome trip, so worth it!!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Ryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was super fun! Our guide, Cole, was great. He was super nice and funny. He had a lot of interesting information to share with us and was very knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time on the both the river and the hike.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Joe A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Breathtaking! Elvis was great, we traveled as a family...kids still saying, well...Elvis said....

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Elaina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Web was a excellent guide, really knows the waters both ocean and river because he grew up in Kauai. We got to experience both river and ocean kayaking, as well as see an amazing variety of fish snorkeling in beautiful Hanalei Bay. Web is very safety conscious. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Stefanie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Terrific trip!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Cary V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a highlight! Nice workout! Hard work but not too bad! We went with the outfitters and the whole day was just so fun! We will do it again if we ever go back! The scenery was breathe taking!

Doing what: Na Pali Coast Sea Kayak

jandruka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely ride up the river and really cool hike through the jungle to a spectacular waterfall.

The kayak portion was very doable, even if you're not an experienced kayaker which we definitely aren't. One of the highlights was passing through a low tree tunnel en route to the hike. Water shoes are very highly recommended for getting in and out of the kayaks and wading through the river.

Our river guide, Sage, was born and raised on the island, and his knowledge of the plant life in the jungle was pretty astounding. Still can't believe he did the entire hike with his bare feet! The mile-long hike was very enjoyable, and Sage stopped to demonstrate how the ancient people used a lot of the flora in their everyday lives, which was fascinating. We stopped for lunch at the waterfall the vegetarian option, tofu sandwich, was great, as was the fresh pineapple and got a little time to swim in the watering hole there.

A great way to spend a day away from the resort and see the natural beauty of the island. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Jean O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Guides were great and very helpful. Had a wonderful time even though not great at Kayaking. Loved the snorkeling- good place for beginners! Would go again.

Doing what: Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Tara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour!!! Relaxing yet adventurous!

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Larry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tandom kayaking and hike trip up the Wailua River and the Valley of the Kings was very enjoyable and quite stunning. The guide was very informative regarding the extended history of the Hawaiin people and their habitation of the area.The adventurous walk on the jungle path was beautiful.

Doing what: Paddle Kauai Jungle Streams

Kaitlyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome! The scenery on the river was beautiful and the waterfall very secluded and majestic. The tour guide was great and very insightful as well. The hike wasn't very hard but I would definitely suggest tennis shoes or hiking boot because there was lots of mud, rocks, and tree roots

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Hawaii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our second time doing this tour. Our guide was great, we were a group of six adults and we have him just for us. After the kayaking you do some hiking. This time if was a little muddy, it had been raining a lot the previous week, definitely you need hiking shoes or good grip foot ware. When you get to the falls for a refreshing dip you will need for protection, there is a lot of rocks in the bottom.
The picnic lunch by the water fall is breathtaking ........don't expect much: Turkey sandwich, cookies and pineapple. Water and fruit juice is included. We had a great time.........

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Nasibo K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Brett K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Suzanne Saville S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my favorite excursion of all. The gentle 2 mile kayak followed by a little over a mile hike led to the beautiful falls. At one point all the other groups left and our small group had the falls all to ourselves for about 15 minutes.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Chris W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour was awesome. Our guide was very good with telling us about the area's flora and wildlife. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

rylenk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Mud and all this was a small group tour, four of us the other couple didn't show, their loss but waiting for them put a timmed crunch on us, that shouldn't be but guide Jessie was awesome. Pictures upload later.

Doing what: Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message