Of the Hawaiian islands, Oahu, Maui, and Big Island are best known for stellar whale watching. During high season the whales migrate to Hawaii, and you're likely to spot whales on any one of our cruises from November to May!

Click here for more details

Viewing All 446 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great day. The crew were extremely nice and professional, not stuffy. We saw 6-7 whales and the Captain always ensured to point the bow at the whales. Didn't see any dolphins, but that's not what the cruise is about. Its whales and we did see quite a few. Wish Captain could have gotten closer. Great Day on the water.

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

gerald s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The ship was stable in the water . The naturalist narrator onboard was well informed, humorous and maintained a running commentary throughout the voyage. A mother humpback, her calf and a male escort swam under our boat and came up on the other side. It don't get any better than that.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

backwardup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour operators were great. Ship clean and comfortable. Only problem was we saw no whales which was not their fault, however, we did receive a voucher for another trip that is good for several years. Pickup and drop off at hotel was an added bonus. Would definitely do this again!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice boat, great guides, unbelievable whale sightings.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a outstanding tour! From the great crew and hosts to the food chicken, fish, plenty of fresh vegetables and fruit to the beautiful scenery - yes we saw whales - everything was top notch. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was wonderful. We saw lots and lots of whales. This is a 120 foot yacht and the largest whale watching boat on Maui. I prefer a sturdy boat as opposed to the small ones, even though the smaller boats are allowed to get closer to active whales. There were drinks and snacks available for purchase on board, but we were too busy watching the whales cavort.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

So fun! So many whales are out there! Learned a lot!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Daniela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If you are in Waikiki and thinking about doing this tour, no hold it, if you are in Waikiki book this tour now!
It starts by getting picked up at about 5:30 there is a later tour and then driven about an hour north west of Waikiki. After a quick check in, which includes choosing you lunch dont be shy Spinners food is fantastic you are soon heading off on the water.
Our first encounter with the whales was via the on board hydrophone which allowed us to hear these giants of the sea sing to each other. Not too long after this we were amazed with several whales breaching and breathing within meters of the boat!
After watching the whales pass us by, we then made our way to the pod of spinner dolphins. We donned our snorkelling gear and slipped into the water and got up close and personal with these extraordinary creatures. We spent at least 30 minutes snorkelling with them, and there must have been around 100 dolphins around us. Unbelievable!
Soon after the dolphin encounter we were in the water with some green sea turtles which capped off our snorkelling adventure. To our surprise, on the way back to the harbour we noticed there were dolphins riding the bow and wake of the boat. It was as if they were saying good bye to us!
The all-female crew were very knowledgeable and professional in all aspects of the tour.
We rate this as one of the best tours on Oahu

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Ciana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The three ladies who took us out that morning were wonderful! One of the best days of our trip was spent on this boat! There were so many dolphins and whales that morning that I was in heaven! Such an incredible experience and I recommend it to everyone!!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Kathryn B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

A little too early in the season to see whales. Did see a couple who stayed mostly under water. Crew was helpful and liked the steadiness of the ship.

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

James H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Mediocre at best. Ship needs lots of upgrading. Saw two whales from a distance. These waters are supposedly teaming with whales at this time of year and we only see two whales. Thought I was booking a Viator trip but it actually ended up being an Atlantis trip which did not have favorable reviews. Did not like the bait and switch. DO NOT waste your money on the breakfast.

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed our time on the water - we had a challenger group two males and a female just 1000 yards away for about an hour. It was unreal and our guide taught us all about the behaviors we were seeing. I slap my pectoral fin in approval, guys - it was a terrific activity and I recommend it.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Nikithsereileen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great experience, boat crew and captain extremely knowledgable and informative. Loved it!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Nikithsereileen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, knowledgable and professional crew.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Pana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

it was so great! We got to see so many whales today I really did lose count. We saw so may spinner dolphins also. The team including Tamar were fantastic. Special thanks to the lovely woman who rescheduled my booking too. It was so much appreciated and it really was the highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was wonderful. The tour was very well organized and the crew was knowledgeble. Gave up good information on the whale migration. We were not disappointed. We saw a lot of whales and we also saw a mother whake with her calf. A great tour

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! Got to see dolphins, turtles, and whales! The staff is friendly and helpful as well!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Cary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic crew.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Dominik F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Friendly staff, great Snacks and perfect whale watching - Thank you!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

terry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great captain and friendly staff!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

Hafdis N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was in a word - awesome. Captain Anthony, Megan, Kelly and Rodney made the voyage a highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We will be bringing our own snorkeling gear and going again with you this year. The crew took care of our every need, from picking us up, getting us fed, getting us some time viewing whales and dolphins, and making sure everyone got some time swimming with turtles. Kudos to everyone!

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellently organized ,all on time including hotel pick up ,had light lunch ,informative crew and yes we did see some whales! Wonderful

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

FELICITY E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved this trip! The captain was determined to get us the best photos right until the last minute. Had a brilliant time, saw many whales and dolphins too!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Karen C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I enjoyed the crew and the boat tour into the open sea. I would like to have seen a few more whales but those we saw were a real treat.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Shawna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

SO much better than we expected! The girls who run the tour are absolutely sweethearts and total pros! We snorkeled with a HUGE pod of spinner dolphins about 200 of them I think, turtles, beautiful fish and got some amazing photos from the photographer on the trip with us.

You must do this tour!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message