Of the Hawaiian islands, Oahu, Maui, and Big Island are best known for stellar whale watching. During high season the whales migrate to Hawaii, and you're likely to spot whales on any one of our cruises from November to May!

Click here for more details

Viewing All 441 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great day. The crew were extremely nice and professional, not stuffy. We saw 6-7 whales and the Captain always ensured to point the bow at the whales. Didn't see any dolphins, but that's not what the cruise is about. Its whales and we did see quite a few. Wish Captain could have gotten closer. Great Day on the water.

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

gerald s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The ship was stable in the water . The naturalist narrator onboard was well informed, humorous and maintained a running commentary throughout the voyage. A mother humpback, her calf and a male escort swam under our boat and came up on the other side. It don't get any better than that.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

backwardup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour operators were great. Ship clean and comfortable. Only problem was we saw no whales which was not their fault, however, we did receive a voucher for another trip that is good for several years. Pickup and drop off at hotel was an added bonus. Would definitely do this again!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice boat, great guides, unbelievable whale sightings.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a outstanding tour! From the great crew and hosts to the food chicken, fish, plenty of fresh vegetables and fruit to the beautiful scenery - yes we saw whales - everything was top notch. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

James H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Mediocre at best. Ship needs lots of upgrading. Saw two whales from a distance. These waters are supposedly teaming with whales at this time of year and we only see two whales. Thought I was booking a Viator trip but it actually ended up being an Atlantis trip which did not have favorable reviews. Did not like the bait and switch. DO NOT waste your money on the breakfast.

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed our time on the water - we had a challenger group two males and a female just 1000 yards away for about an hour. It was unreal and our guide taught us all about the behaviors we were seeing. I slap my pectoral fin in approval, guys - it was a terrific activity and I recommend it.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Nikithsereileen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great experience, boat crew and captain extremely knowledgable and informative. Loved it!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Nikithsereileen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, knowledgable and professional crew.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Pana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

it was so great! We got to see so many whales today I really did lose count. We saw so may spinner dolphins also. The team including Tamar were fantastic. Special thanks to the lovely woman who rescheduled my booking too. It was so much appreciated and it really was the highlight of my trip.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was wonderful. The tour was very well organized and the crew was knowledgeble. Gave up good information on the whale migration. We were not disappointed. We saw a lot of whales and we also saw a mother whake with her calf. A great tour

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour! Got to see dolphins, turtles, and whales! The staff is friendly and helpful as well!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Cary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic crew.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Dominik F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Friendly staff, great Snacks and perfect whale watching - Thank you!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

terry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great captain and friendly staff!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

Hafdis N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was in a word - awesome. Captain Anthony, Megan, Kelly and Rodney made the voyage a highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We will be bringing our own snorkeling gear and going again with you this year. The crew took care of our every need, from picking us up, getting us fed, getting us some time viewing whales and dolphins, and making sure everyone got some time swimming with turtles. Kudos to everyone!

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellently organized ,all on time including hotel pick up ,had light lunch ,informative crew and yes we did see some whales! Wonderful

Doing what: Oahu Whale Watching Cruise

FELICITY E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We loved this trip! The captain was determined to get us the best photos right until the last minute. Had a brilliant time, saw many whales and dolphins too!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Karen C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I enjoyed the crew and the boat tour into the open sea. I would like to have seen a few more whales but those we saw were a real treat.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Shawna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

SO much better than we expected! The girls who run the tour are absolutely sweethearts and total pros! We snorkeled with a HUGE pod of spinner dolphins about 200 of them I think, turtles, beautiful fish and got some amazing photos from the photographer on the trip with us.

You must do this tour!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Minosica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My parents and their friends went on this tour which was a gift from me. While I was not there in person, they called me to tell me that the tour was one of the highlights of their vacation. They saw many dolphins, sea turtles and colorful fish. The guides were well informed and shared many interesting facts about sea life. They spent 3 hours on the ocean which was plenty of time to relax and observe the marine life.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Lava Ocean Whale Watch excursion on the Lava Kea II was with Captain Shane, owner of the Lava Kea II Catamaran and lifelong Hawaiian seaman/biologist, and Captain William, recent migrant from Alaska whose passion it is to watch the these beautiful Humpback Whales along this southerly Island mating/birthing foray. We left in choppy waters for the 8am departure. Yet within a half hour we were running up the Kohala coast with Spinner dolphins on port, bow and starboard sides. After one hour of cruising, waters calmed and we ran into a pod of 100 Spinner dolphins, with females and their young calves. The sea swarmed with them! Its early in the season to always see the Humpbacks, but we will capitalize on this wildlife find and enjoy what we can, said one of the captains. We did! After a quarter an hour we were cruising along a second dolphin species the Bottlenose. They seemed to cozy up to us and swim with us. Then, an excited Capt. William spotted a big guy a huge Humpback and Captain Shane turned the boat for us to see this magnificent mammal roll into the sea several times before showing us his giant fluke. As the Captains predicted, the whale dove down for a 20 minutes. Patience. Hes not going to leave the area. Indeed, we spotted two just past the 20 min whale minute mark. These two came up together and stayed to give us another show of their magnificent gigantic hump rolls. I even saw a big fin out of the water. By the time these two dove again it was close to a 2 hour trip. Yet the sea had calmed considerably and William and Shane began to quiz us if we could stay a bit longer. Hey, none of us said no. Its rare indeed when we get a crew to be as adventurous and excited as the passengers! Uh, sure, PLEEZZZ can we stay. We had a total of a 3 hour adventure with at least two more great showings, and a final fluke up from one of the whales before he/she dove down. Okay, Im spoiled I wanted to see a flying fish, too. Shane suggested

Doing what: Whale Watching Tours in Waikoloa: Early Bird, Morning or Evening Departures

sandisp1

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

People were very nice and helpful. Weather was good and we got to see a large pod of dolphins and also sea turtles. The boat was very small and not bathroom facilities. Had thought the lunch would be on the boat but was at a restaurant after our return.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Lisa F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great experience! Just not that close to the whales in the beginning of December.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message