Helsinki ATTRACTIONS See all

Helsinki Cruise Port

Once just a small fishing port, Helsinki has been the capital of Finland since 1812 and played host to the Olympic Games in 1952. Today, the port welcomes over 300 cruise ships carrying nearly half a million passengers annually. It is also a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rick Smith Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Of the 4 Baltic Countries that we visited Helsinki was my favourite - I have no idea why - it just appealed more. The buildings in all of the Countries/Cities are simply superb. The places are so clean and the people so friendly and welcoming. May, when we visited was wonderful not too clod but in fact quite warm considering its Geographic location.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful city, hop on bus excellent. Even supplied a shuttle bus for just the 4 of us back to our ship at the necessary time. Viator never let us down, have used them many times.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

travelertac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The hop-no hop-off tour is very good, nicely narrated. Stopped at all the major sites. Great w-fi!

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was very good. We were able to board the bus by our cruise ship and then make the loop to see all thing Helsinki. Afterwards, staying on the bus we were able to get off to visit the Rock Church, the Sibelius monument and the market square.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Winston S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent price and a great way to see Helsinki. Super WiFi.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Edward d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

You certainly see the city and get a sense of the various neighborhoods - totally worth it!

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

april

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Can't tell you anything as wind was too high for us to dock, Was very sorry not to see any of Helsinki I think based on other tours it would be about a 4 or very good.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Tess P Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great service, the hop-on-hop-off bus was located at the port!! We only had to walk a few steps, boarded and enjoyed the sights! I would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Stanley W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This is a well managed hop-on-off company. The driver was polite and very helpful, the map and bus stop sign are very clear.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

stulyn USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great hop on hop onhop off expertience

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Rodney H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great red bus tour. Picked us up from the ship terminal and really showed us the sights

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

ann R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was well planned and well organized. However the bus drivers do not even slow down for you to grasp what they and #39;re talking about. No allowing you to to see if you want to get off at a stop. The second bus we took, the driver never said a word. He took short cuts and skipped sites.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Fernando D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Very little time to cover the whole route, the northernmost points of the route could have been avoided and use the time to extend the time within the city's old downtown.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

KD

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The buses ran infrequently and sporadically the maps were unclear about routing when we finally did manage to get on a bus, the audio cut out enough that about every third word could be hear. I'm hoping this was just a bad day and not indicative of how this tour is usually run.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Roxanne S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This tour was a waste of money: buses were infrequent, very slow, and we were required to change buses twice, repeating parts of the circuit we had already seen. It took four hours for us to complete the circuit, with only one quick stop at the Church in the Rock. We would have been better off to take the cruise shuttle to the centre of town and walk around on our own.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Glenn K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Terrible operator. Bus intervals were not maintained properly. Waited over an hour at one stop and decided to return to ship. The bus finally showed up and when we sat we found that someone had been sick in the seat ahead of us. Made it to another stop and was told to get off bus or wait 15 minutes.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Lorraine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent way to see round the city easy to find the buses, good commentary on board.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Vicky Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The buses ran frequently and covered all the highlights of the city. A very cost effective and complete way to see Helsinki

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent way to see the city in a short amount of time. Plenty of stops that are close to everything you need to see in downtown Helsinki.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Eric

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Four of us assumed Helsinki was just a little necessary stop for our cruise ship. Not very many tours offered, so we opted for the Hop-On Hop-Off. Helsinki - by far - exceeded our expectations. It is a charming and delightful city filled with beautiful tree-lined streets. We went around the bus loop twice. The first time just to see the sights. The second to really hop-on hop-off. It was the perfect way to see a city. We all want to come back and spend a week here just to see everything in detail.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Alla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We bought 3 tours from Viator during our latest cruise vacation. This travel company is very reliable and well organized.
For sure we are going to buy from Viator again.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Anne B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

What a nice way to see Helsinki. The drivers were very courteous and helpful and Hop-On Hop-Off Bus was just the right way to get a good overview of the city and surrounding area. Plus Viator always offers a good price for their tours.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

SHIRLEY M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very interesting tour , except for the rainy weather, but had a good time anyway.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Bradley B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Hop on Hop off was interesting and went to the old town. I wish they would have been at the ship docks to pick us up. The city bus was the only one at the dock and charged what seems like a lot of money to go just a few blocks. We did not know it was just a few blocks or we would have walked to find the Hop on Hop off bus. It was raining and we didn't review our options.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Ishmael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

The bus stopped at all the major sites. The major problem here is that there weren't enough busses at the exchange point to take people back to the cruise terminal and there was lots of confusion. Eventually they had to call up another bus to accommodate all the passengers.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message