Helsinki ATTRACTIONS See all

Rock Church (Temppeliaukio Kirkko)

The Church in the Rock (or Temppeliaukio Church) designed in 1969, remains a foremost Helsinki attraction. Hewn into solid rock in the middle of an ordinary residential square, the Lutheran church features a stunning 78 foot (24 meter) diameter ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent tour - good commentary - excellent driver - would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Helsinki Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Must see the church in the rock.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a lovely and historic city. People are warm and friendly and we enjoyed the sights and scenery along the way. The Senate Square and the Market Square are a must to see. Worth recommending to people planning to see Helsinki.

Doing what: Helsinki Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good way to see the city.

Doing what: Helsinki Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We chose this activity for a one day visit on a cruise, having limited time. We'd read previous reviews and saw it as a reasonable way to see the most in the time available. We have enjoyed hop on hop off tours before. This didn't start until 10am but at least on days cruise ships are in they stop at the cruise terminal so no real difficulty. We were frustrated that discounts were being offered to on the spot customers making it cheaper than our advance purchase via Viator. The start of the tour was poor with commentary crackly and then cutting out and restarting repeatedly. We had no idea where we were or what we were looking at for the first 20 mins. We got off at the Church in the Rock, which was well worth a visit. However, having been told buses ran every 30 mins and returning to the bus stop after 25 mins we were frustrated to wait 50 mins for a bus. We then decided to stay on as time was limited till the ship sailed at 3pm. However when we got to the square by the cathedral we were told to get off the bus as it was stopping for 30 mins. We visited the cathedral, which was OK but not inspiring and then got back on the bus which returned us to our cruise terminal with 20 mins before sailing. With hindsight I would not have booked. I guess on a rainy day it might be ok but otherwise it would be easier to take a taxi to the centre and walk the sights. For me on a St Petersburg and Baltic capitals cruise Helsinki was the least interesting port of call and the bus tour slow, frustrating and not great value.

Doing what: Helsinki Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent waay to see a fascinating city

Doing what: Helsinki Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We'll organized, and on time. Good stop sign!

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A good tour....buses ran to time and had good audio system.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Hop on hop off bus was good way to see this city but would not go with green buses, driver didn't know how to deal with voucher and took some time before we got our tickets.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour that hit all the sights.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good overview if one has never been to Helsinki and then decide what sites one wants to go back to visit.
Free Wi-Fi onboard the bus was a bonus.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Guide was hard to understand but after awhile you could get used to her accent. Tour was fine and we think we saw the highlights of the city.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

It would have been better if the bus is more frequent at each stop, also that it is not a "one-way" type of itinerary.

Also, the Bus Stop needs to be more prominent... sometimes it is difficult to spot where the bus stop is.

Pricing is a bit high for a Hop-on-hop-off situation.

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The bus sound system very poor - kept going in and out and the commentary did not match what we were seeing

Doing what: Helsinki Shore Excursion: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message